DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 1 July 2026: claim(s) 2 have been amended. Thus, claims 2 and 7-13 are presently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Scalise et al. (US 20210022911 A1) as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalise et al. (US 20200046543 A1) and Scalise et al. (US 20210022911 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Scalise discloses a valve ("interface assembly 122" [0045]; FIGs. 9-14) for a urostomy appliance ("drainable ostomy system 10" [0032]; FIG. 1) including:
a body ("outlet body 1050" [0059]) for connection to the urostomy appliance ([0059]; FIG. 2);
an inlet and an outlet (opposite sides of "opening 1056" [0059]), connected by a flow path (interior lumen of "opening 1056" [0059]); and
a closure arrangement (comprising "cap 1052" [0059]) which is moveable between a closed position, in which the closure arrangement blocks the outlet, such that liquid cannot flow through the outlet, and an open position in which the outlet is open, such that liquid is permitted to flow out of the outlet ("cap 152 may be removably disposed over the discharge end 158 of the outlet body 150" [0046]),
wherein the closure arrangement includes a first and a second connection member ("second latch 1068 includes a pair of loop or hook-like tabs" [0059]; FIG. 48), each of which connects to the body ("configured to engage the first latch 1060" [0059]; FIG. 48).
The Scalise fails to specify the closure arrangement is held against and contacts the body when the closure arrangement is in the open position. However, Scalise’911 teaches “an ostomy collection and drainage system” ([0011]) comprising a body (“outlet body 520” [0140]) and a closure arrangement (“closure 540” [0140]; FIGs. 45-50) wherein the closure arrangement is held against and contacts the body when the closure arrangement is in the open position (“outlet body 520 may include a docking system configured to hold the closure 540 in place when the closure 540 is not engaged in an outlet opening 522 of the outlet body 520” [0141]; FIG. 46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Scalise to arrive at the claimed invention “such that the closure 540 does not interfere with draining of body waste collected in the ostomy pouch 500 through the outlet opening 522” ([0141]).
Regarding Claim 7, Scalise discloses the first connection member connects to a first side of the body and the second connection member connects to a second side of the body ([0059]; FIG. 48).
Regarding Claim 8, Scalise discloses the closure arrangement further includes a closure body ("cap 1052" [0059]; FIGs. 48-50).
Regarding Claim 9, Scalise discloses the first and / or second connection members include an elongate portion that extends from away from the closure body ([0059]; FIG. 50).
Regarding Claim 10, Scalise discloses the first connection member and the second connection member are located on opposing sides of the closure body ([0059]; FIG. 50).
Regarding Claim 11, Scalise discloses the first and second connection members hold the closure body in contact with the outlet when the closure arrangement is in its closed position ([0059]; FIG. 48).
Regarding Claim 12, Scalise teaches an embodiment wherein the first and / or the second connection members are resiliently deformable ("second latch 268 may be formed as a resilient arm" [0049]), so the connection between the closure arrangement and the body is flexible ("the cap and the bedside drainage adapter may be removable from the outlet body and interchangeable with one another depending on a condition, i.e., open or closed" [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Scalise "to properly position the cap 752 on the outlet body 750" [0055] such that "the cap is configured to couple with the outlet body so as to substantially or completely close and/or seal the outlet body against inadvertent leakage" ([0080]).
Regarding Claim 13, Scalise discloses a urostomy appliance including: an adhesive member for attaching to a user ("adhesive barrier" [0002]), a collecting volume defined by a first and second wall connected about their peripheries ("Ostomy pouches typically include flat, opposing side walls defining an internal collection cavity" [0002]), and a valve according to claim 2 ([0059]; FIGs. 48-52; see rejection for claim 2 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781