This office action is in response to the election filed on 8/18/26. Upon further consideration, the election of species is withdrawn. All claims will be examined. Claims 1-4,7-10,13-23 and 35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-10,13-23 and 35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “ a nutritionally acceptable carrier” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what would be considered as an nutritionally acceptable carrier; it’s unclear what is intended or encompassed in a “ carrier”. The specification does not disclose the ingredient for the nutritionally acceptable carrier. Also, the composition claimed in vague and indefinite. The claim recites the composition comprising a carrier in combination with a diester compound. However, it’s unclear what the form of the composition is; it’s unclear if the carrier is mixed with the compound or the carrier is coated over the compound or what. The recitation of “ combination” is unclear in denoting the form of the composition. On line 7, the limitation “ * denotes a chiral carbon atom” is vague and indefinite because it’s not clear what the “*” is point to. There is no “ *” in the structural formula.
In claim 8, the limitation “ at least on of the chiral carbon atoms” is vague and indefinite because it’s not clear what chiral carbon atoms the claim is referring to. Claim 1 does not set forth any chiral carbon atoms. There is no recitation of multiple chiral carbon atoms.
Claim 20 is vague and indefinite. The method reciting “ increasing (R)3-hydroxybutyrate”; however, it’s unclear what increasing encompasses. There is no frame of reference; increasing in comparison to what. The enzyme also recites “ enzymatic conversion” but it’s unclear if it’s an actual step because there is no recitation or any parameter defining enzymatic conversion. It’s unclear how this conversion is measured to determine the increase, what enzyme is needed for the conversion and what would be considered as an increase. The scope of the claim is unclear. ( For prior art application, the claim is interpreted as just comprising the step of administering the composition).
In claim 23, the step of “ combining” , “ nutritionally acceptable carrier”, “ chiral carbon atom” have the same problem as claim 1. Also, the step “ formulating” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what processing step “ formulating” encompasses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10,13-23,35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson ( 4701443)
For claims 1-4,14,16,20, 23 and 35, Nelson discloses diester compound which are hydrolyzed by the tissue or intestinal flora to intermediate respiratory metabolites. The compound is provided in conventional parenteral solution along with other nutrients such as vitamins, electrolystes, trace metals and amino acids. These nutrients are considered the same as the claimed nutritionally acceptable carrier because the claims do not define any parameter to the carrier. The forming of solution inherently includes the step of combining the compound with the nutrients. The compound that the formula of G-(OOCACOOY)—nE where the G branched chain is as disclosed on column 2 line 25 through col. 3. The compound is formed by linking polyhydroxyl and polycarboxylic acids by bester bond. The A group is the residue of Krebs cycle carboxylic acid such as succinate, alpha-ketoglutarate, malate or oxaloacetate. The G has the structure ( QCOO) with different groups as shown in col. 4 lines 45-60. Preferably QCOO is the residue of a ketone body, e.g. acetoacetyl or 3 hydroxybutyryl. The polyesters must be hydrolyzed in the body after infustion or ingestion. Most likely hydrolysis is the primary result of enzymatic action in blood cells, plasma and body tissues and organs. Table 2 shows samples of compounds formed and administered as parenteral solution. The polyesters can be taken orally. Examples 1-4 show preparation of different polyester compounds. ( see col. 2-5,10-11, examples)
Nelson does not disclose the specific hydrolysable form as in claim 1,10,23, the configuration as in claims 7-8, the enzyme as in claim 9, the intermediate as in claim 13, additional compound as claim 15, the form as in claim 17, the dosage as in claims 18-19,21-22 and the method of increasing as in claim 20.
Nelson discloses diester compound having basic chemical structure as claimed. Different compounds can be formed by the use of different dicarboxylic acids and substitutions. Nelson also discloses that diester compounds hydrolyze in vivo after ingestion by enzymatic reaction. Thus, it’s obvious the hydrolysable intermediates can vary depending on the compounds formed and the hydrolyzing reaction in the body. Nelson discloses administering to mammal; thus, it’s obvious the enzyme lipase and esterase are present. It would have been obvious to have different configuration depending on the reaction. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art. Nelson discloses the compound is given as an oral solution. However, Nelson also discloses that the compound can be given as component of ordinary meals. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the compound in other forms such as snack bar to be given during meal time. Nelson discloses on col. 11 lines 10-11 that the polyester concentration is not critical. Thus, it would have been within the skill of one in the art to determine the dosage that is optimum for nutritional and caloric benefits through routine experimentation. Nelson discloses other nutrients can be added to the solution. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add other compounds. The specific compounds selected would depend on the nutritional needs and would be within the determination of one skilled in the art. Claim 20 is vague and indefinite as explained above. In any event, Nelson discloses administering the compound orally to mammal. Nelson discloses diester compound having basic chemical structure as claimed. Different compounds can be formed by the use of different dicarboxylic acids and substitutions. Nelson also discloses that diester compounds hydrolyze in vivo after ingestion by enzymatic reaction. Thus, it’s obvious the hydrolysable intermediates can vary depending on the compounds formed and the hydrolyzing reaction in the body.
Conclusion
October 25, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793