DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 3, lines 15, 17, and 22 (per applicant’s line numbering), change “12” to --13--; and
Failure to include proper section headings.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The following phrases invoke 112(f): claim 16, line 3, “measuring means”; and claim 16, line 4, “lifting means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 19, 22, 24, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear if the cooperating “columns” and “uprights” recited in claim 17 are referencing and/or include the “lifting means” previously recited in claim 16, line 4.
In claim 19, lines 1-2, “the columns” lacks antecedent basis. It is noted the “columns” are first introduced in claim 17. The following change would receive favorable consideration:
Claim 18. (proposed amendment) The device according to claim [[16]] 17, wherein the work platform is provided with supports for a person standing on it.
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend from a rejected claim.
It is unclear if the “tubes” and “drive” recited in claims 25 and 26 are referencing and/or include the “lifting means” previously recited in claim 16, line 4.
Regarding claim 26, line 2, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The following change would receive favorable consideration:
Claim 26. (proposed amendment) The device according to claim 25, wherein the drive comprises
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-24, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baxter (US#1981941).
Regarding claim 16, Baxter discloses a device for measuring footwear ergonomically, comprising a base 10 (Fig. 2) and a frame 44,48 (Fig. 2), which is mounted on the base, wherein the frame comprises a work platform 44 with a standing surface for a person, which is suitable for placing measuring means (e.g. see element 46 placed thereon), wherein the device comprises lifting means (col. 2, lines 34-49, “suitable means…for raising and lowering”) for moving the frame relative to the base between a rest position, wherein the frame occupies a lowest position and an adjustable working position, wherein the frame occupies a higher position. It is noted the measuring means is not being claimed.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the device comprises one or more uprights 48, which extend from the base 10, and wherein the frame comprises one or more columns 50,52, which extend from the work platform 44, wherein the columns are slidable over the uprights as the uprights slidably move within the columns.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the work platform 44 is “provided with” (i.e. indirectly coupled to) supports 18 for a person standing on it.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the supports 18 are indirectly attached to the columns 50,52.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the work platform 44 extends substantially above the base 10 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the device also comprises a chair 14 for the person.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the device also comprises a chair 14 for the person and the chair is indirectly attached to the columns 50,52.
Regarding claim 23, wherein the chair 14 extends at least partially outside of the work platform 44 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the lifting means are “accommodated in” the uprights 48 via the threading of the uprights.
Regarding claim 27, wherein the frame is “detachably” mounted on (i.e. capable of being detached from) the base 10.
Regarding claim 30, wherein the work platform 44 is “detachably” mounted to (i.e. capable of being detached from) the frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baxter (US#1981941) in view of Spence (US#2019/0142665).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Baxter fails to disclose wherein the uprights 48 comprise a number of telescopically slidable tubes and an electric spindle drive for sliding the tubes. However, as evidenced by Spence, such a configuration is known in the analogous art, see the device of Fig. 1 wherein the uprights 14 comprise a number of telescopically slidable tubes 22,24 and an electric 60,52 (electric motor) spindle drive 54 for sliding the tubes (Fig. 5). Therefore, as evidenced by Spence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baxter by replacing its uprights and lifting means with uprights comprising a number of telescopically slidable tubes and an electric (electric motor) spindle drive for sliding the tubes. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The substitution of the uprights comprising a number of telescopically slidable tubes and an electric spindle drive for sliding the tubes would simplify lifting movement via an automated system.
Regarding claim 28, Baxter fails to disclose wherein the base is provided with a number of wheels. However, as evidenced by Spence, such a configuration is known in the analogous art, see the device of Fig. 2 and base 84 provided with wheels 26. Therefore, as evidenced by Spence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baxter by including wheels on the base. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of wheels on the base would facilitate relocation and/or transport of the device if required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 29, Baxter fails to disclose wherein the device further comprises an auxiliary platform, which is arranged on the frame above the work platform and is slidable between a position of use, wherein the auxiliary platform is located substantially above the work platform, and a rest position, wherein the auxiliary platform largely leaves the standing surface on the work platform free. GB 255800 teaches an auxiliary platform 7 (Fig. 2), which is arranged on the frame above the work platform 1 and is slidable between two positions on the work platform (see Fig. 4) However, GB255800 does not teach a position wherein the auxiliary platform does not largely leave the standing surface on the work platform free.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677