Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed on 08/25/26 have been entered. The examiner notes that claims 8 – 12 are listed as “withdrawn” but have been canceled and are treated as such. This cancellation is acknowledged in the response on 08/25/26. Claims 1 – 7 remain pending.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1 – 7 in the reply filed on 08/25/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §102
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Althues (US2021/0320288, cited with the IDS on 05/06/24)
Regarding claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 5, Althues teaches a method of producing a dry electrode film [title, 0021]. The method comprises providing a powder material to a pair of rollers to be pressed into a film [Fig 1, 0009, 0011], meeting the claimed limitation of contacting a roller with a dry electrode/electrode precursor powder and imparting at least one force to form a film.
The rollers are chrome-plated [0036] and can have a diamond-like carbon coating for anti-adhesion [0015], meeting the claimed limitation of surface hardened. Wherein the diamond-like carbon coating meets the limitation of claim 2 and the chrome-plated structure of the roller meets the limitation of an underlayer (claim 4) that is chrome (claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Althues teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Althues teaches that the rollers can be calender rolls [0022], meeting the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althues (US2021/0320288, cited with the IDS on 05/06/24), as applied to claims 2 and 4 respectively, in further view of Kim (US2012/0301605)
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Althues teaches the invention as applied in claims 2 and 4. Althues teaches that the rollers have a chrome layer [0036] and a diamond -like carbon (DLC) coating [0015] but does not expressly disclose the thickness of these layers.
Kim teaches a roller structure with enhanced abrasion resistance and durability [0003] for use in forming material from powder in the electronics industry [0007] including electrodes [0152, 0153]. Kim teaches that the roller has a structure with a first reinforcement layer [Fig 4D, “110”] made of Cr-plating [0030] with a thickness of 0.1 – 10 µm [0032], which overlaps with the claimed range of the underlayer of claim 6, and a second reinforcement layer [Fig 4D, “170”] made of DLC [0031] with a thickness of 0.2 – 2 µm [0033], which overlaps with the claimed range of the hardening layer of claim 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Althues and Kim to use the thicknesses and layer structure taught by Kim as/in the rollers of Althues to achieve predictable results. Kim teaches that the rolls can be used for formation of electronic material from powder, including the formation of electrodes. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings of Kim to be pertinent to the disclosure of Althues. Moreover, Althues expressly acknowledges that the rolls can have a chrome-plated layer and a DLC coating and therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the thickness of the Cr-plated layer and DLC coating disclosed by Kim, to the rolls of Althues.
The combination of prior art elements to yield predictable results is a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2143 A). “In KSR, the Supreme Court particularly emphasized "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art," Id. at 415, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.”. “Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that "[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.” (See MPEP 2141).
With regards to the overlapping ranges taught, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”, absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05 I). "The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range." In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05 III A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 17/983,778 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application ‘778 claims a method of forming a dry electrode film by contacting electrode/electrode precursor powder with a surface hardened roller by imparting a force on the powder. The hardened layer is DLC or tungsten carbide, the underlayer is tungsten carbide, and their respective thicknesses overlap with/fall within the claimed ranges. The roller is a nip roller or calendaring roller.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The examiner notes that “If both the application under examination and the reference application have the same patent term filing date, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection made in each application should be maintained until it is overcome.” (MPEP 804 I B 1(b)(ii))
Additionally, “A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.
As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03.” (see MPEP 804 I B 1)
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2019/0165358 – Device for producing electrode laminate with rollers that have a DLC coating, and chrome-plated underlayer
US2014/0109642 – Roll arrangement and roll nip regulation with chrome-plating and carbide coating
US2012/0231353 – formation of electrode film with roller possessing tungsten carbide coating
US2009/0075116 – Gravure roll(s) with DLC coating, copper layer, and metal carbide layer, overlapping thicknesses
WO2022/266528 – Formation of coated surface for improved wear resistance to various components
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738