DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura (JP2003279758A) in view of Takeshima (JP2005205464A).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuura teaches an optical component manufacturing method, comprising: preparing a glass member in which a continuous refractive index changing region is to be provided (P0054), irradiating femtosecond laser light onto the glass member so as to condense it within the glass member (P0054-55), a light intensity distribution of the femtosecond laser light on a plane including the condensed point and orthogonal to a thickness direction of the glass member has a flat-top region (fig.4b, P0056-57), and a beam irradiation region on the plane including the condensed point and orthogonal to the thickness direction of the glass member is a beam spot of the femtosecond laser light and is a single continuous region defined by a contour of a region (fig.4b), wherein the femtosecond laser light has an energy amount that causes a light-induced refractive index change in the glass member (P0054). Matsuura is not specific to moving a condensed point of laser light.
Takeshima, in the same field of endeavor, laser processing, teaches moving a position of a condensed point of the femtosecond laser light relative to the glass member along a scanning direction (P0024, P0117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the methods of Takeshima for the purpose of keeping chromatic aberration low as taught by Takeshima (P0040).
Modified Matsuura is not specific to the details of a light intensity in the light intensity distribution is 1/e2 or more of a maximum light intensity, the flat-top region is a region of 1/2 or more of the maximum light intensity, an area of the flat-top region is 0.45 times or more that of the beam irradiation region, an angle between a direction in which a width of the beam irradiation region is widest and a scanning direction is 70 degrees or more and 110 degrees or less, and an angle between the scanning direction and the plane orthogonal to the thickness direction of the glass member is 20 degrees or less.
However, these limitations amount to optimization within routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized these process parameters to achieve the desired effect.
Regarding claim 3, Modified Matsuura is silent to the light intensity distribution having a central region forming a part of the flat-top region, including a center of gravity of the beam irradiation region, and accounting for 50% of the area of the flat-top region, and the central region has a flatness such that a maximum light intensity and a minimum light intensity within the central region fall within a range of 55% or more and 145% or less of an average light intensity in the central region.
However, these limitations amount to optimization within routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized these process parameters to achieve the desired effect.
Regarding claim 4, Takeshima teaches the beam spot is formed by a second optical system including a condenser lens (3) and a cylindrical lens (2, P0048, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Takeshima teaches in a cross-section of the glass member orthogonal to the scanning direction, the refractive index changing region includes no refractive index periodic structure in which a refractive index periodically fluctuates along an axis passing through the refractive index changing region (fig.7, 21, uniform index of refraction, P0116).
Regarding claim 6, Takeshima is silent to the axis for checking the refractive index periodic structure is an axis that makes an angle from 0 to 10 degrees with respect to a reference axis orthogonal to both the scanning direction and an irradiation direction in which the laser light is irradiated. However, these limitations amount to optimization within routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized these process parameters to achieve the desired measurement as the goal is to isolate a value of a homogeneous region in an overall heterogeneous structure.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura (JP2003279758A) in view of Takeshima (JP2005205464A) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Troy (Optical Materials, 2012).
Regarding claim 2, modified Matsuura is silent to injecting hydrogen into the glass member.
Troy, in the same field of endeavor, laser processing, teaches the preparing includes injecting hydrogen into the glass member (ABS, Intro, ¶ 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have injected hydrogen into the glass member for the purpose of faster processing as taught by Troy (Results ¶ 2).
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/ERICA HARTSELL FUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1741