DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations (Claim 24) in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Figure 2 discloses the specific structure for the claimed “means”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim (s) 1-11, 14-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0215117 A1) (Lee herein after) in view of Ye et al. (US 2023/0232325 A1) (Ye herein after) . Re Claim 1, Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a configuration defining uneven reference signals in a time domain ( UE(s) 115 may receive, based at least in part on the determining, a trigger signal that identifies resources to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The UE(s) 115 may receive the aperiodic TRS based at least in part on the trigger signal and the identified resources [0156]); exiting a sleeping mode to receive the uneven reference signals ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]); performing a tracking loop adjustment based on the uneven reference signals; decoding a paging message after the tracking loop adjustment ( UE(s) 115 may perform at least one of a tracking function, or a synchronization function, or an alignment function, or a combination thereof, in response to the occurrence of the triggering event and based at least in part on the aperiodic TRS [0158]); and returning to the sleeping mode ( C-DRX state manager 750 may determine that data is to be communicated to the UE while the UE is operating in a connected mode discontinuous reception state, identify an on period where the UE wakes from the discontinuous reception state, and transmit the aperiodic TRS prior to or during the on period according to the transmission timing parameter [0208]). Lee discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches including defining the uneven reference signals to be received before a paging early indication (PEI) and between the PEI and a paging occasion (PO); exiting a sleeping mode to receive the uneven reference signals before the PEI and between the PEI and the PO. However, Ye discloses system and method for paging early indication and paging subgrouping wherein transitioning from a sleep state to an awake state prior to the PO ; the method 400 may include remaining in the awake state to monitor the PO when 1) the PEI is not received after transitioning to the awake state, or 2) the PEI indicates the PO includes a page for the UE ([0041]-[0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Lee, by making use of the technique taught by Ye, in order to improve the energy usage efficiency. Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal paging, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lee, nor does Lee teach away from the modification (Lee merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the paging early method taught by Ye is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of including defining the uneven reference signals to be received before a paging early indication (PEI) and between the PEI and a paging occasion (PO); exiting a sleeping mode to receive the uneven reference signals before the PEI and between the PEI and the PO. Re Claim 2, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals comprise at least one item selected from a list consisting of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); and a tracking reference signal (TRS) ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 3, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals are unevenly spaced in the time domain ( trigger signal may identify some or all of the resources that are to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The identified or otherwise indicated resources may include time and/or frequency resources [0164]). Re Claim 4, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals include aperiodic occurrences of the uneven reference signals ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 5, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a sequence ( the network element may signal a reference DRX cycle to at least one UE via a communications interface of the network element, and populate a sequence of multiple bit PEI fields. Each multiple bit PEI field in the sequence of multiple bit PEI fields may be mapped to a predetermined subset of PFs within the reference DRX cycle [0085]), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts configured by a system information block (SIB) ( the reference DRX cycle may be signaled in a system information block (SIB) [0082]). Re Claim 6, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts triggered by information bits within the PDCCH ( there can be eight (8) bits in PEI PDCCH, but the network may indicate, to UEs, that there are seven (7) paging subgroups from which UEs configured with UE_ID based subgrouping can derive a subgroup ID. This allows a bit in a multiple bit PEI field to be used for UEs that are not configured with paging subgrouping [0074]). Re Claim 7, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals comprise tracking reference signals (TRSs), and wherein an aperiodic burst of the TRS is conditioned upon a corresponding periodic TRS resource being transmitted ( base station may transmit (and the UE may receive) the aperiodic TRS using the resource(s) identified or otherwise indicated in the trigger signal. The UE may use the aperiodic TRS for synchronization, tracking, and the like. [0116]). Re Claim 8, Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code comprising: code for configuring reference signals ( UE(s) 115 may receive, based at least in part on the determining, a trigger signal that identifies resources to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The UE(s) 115 may receive the aperiodic TRS based at least in part on the trigger signal and the identified resources [0156]); and code for transmitting the reference signals unevenly spaced within a time domain ( trigger signal may identify some or all of the resources that are to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The identified or otherwise indicated resources may include time and/or frequency resources [0164]). Lee discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches code for configuring reference signals based on one or both of paging early indication (PEI) and a paging occasion (PO) of a user equipment (UE) served by a wireless network. However, Ye discloses system and method for paging early indication and paging subgrouping wherein transitioning from a sleep state to an awake state prior to the PO ; the method 400 may include remaining in the awake state to monitor the PO when 1) the PEI is not received after transitioning to the awake state, or 2) the PEI indicates the PO includes a page for the UE ([0041]-[0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Lee, by making use of the technique taught by Ye, in order to improve the energy usage efficiency. Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal paging, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lee, nor does Lee teach away from the modification (Lee merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the paging early method taught by Ye is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of configuring reference signals based on one or both of paging early indication (PEI) and a paging occasion (PO) of a user equipment (UE) served by a wireless network. Re Claim 9, the combined teachings disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the reference signals comprise at least one item selected from a list consisting of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); and a tracking reference signal (TRS) ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, Ye discloses wherein the reference signals are configured within a plurality of time periods, a first time period being before the PEI and a second time period being between the PEI and the PO, the non-transitory computer-readable medium including: code for, within the first time period, configuring a first offset from a first reference signal burst to the PEI, a first number of bursts in the first time period, and a first interval between any adjacent bursts ( the network may choose to transmit multiple PEIs for one PO, with each PEI having a different time offset relative to the PO. This enables the UE to choose which PEI to monitor, and allows the UE to monitor the PEI that provides the most power saving. In these embodiments, the network may in some cases choose the different time offsets based on UE assistance information [0058]); and code for, within the second time period, configuring a second offset from a second reference signal burst to the PO, a second number of bursts in the second time period, and a second interval between any adjacent bursts ( the network may choose to transmit multiple PEIs for one PO, with each PEI having a different time offset relative to the PO. This enables the UE to choose which PEI to monitor, and allows the UE to monitor the PEI that provides the most power saving. In these embodiments, the network may in some cases choose the different time offsets based on UE assistance information [0058]). Re Claim 11, the combined teachings disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, Ye discloses wherein the reference signals are configured within a plurality of time periods, a first time period being before the PEI and a second time period being between the PEI and the PO, the non-transitory computer-readable medium including: code for, within the first time period, configuring a first aperiodic reference signal ( the network may choose to transmit multiple PEIs for one PO, with each PEI having a different time offset relative to the PO. This enables the UE to choose which PEI to monitor, and allows the UE to monitor the PEI that provides the most power saving. In these embodiments, the network may in some cases choose the different time offsets based on UE assistance information [0058]); and code for, within the second time period, configuring a second aperiodic reference signal in response to determining that a UE group or subgroup has been paged ( PEI may include multiple bits (e.g., M*N bits, with M being the number of indications (or subgroups) per PO, and N being the number of POs within one or more than one PF) [0064]). Re Claim 14, the combined teachings disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a sequence, and wherein configuring the second aperiodic reference signal is based at least in part on information within a system information block (SIB) ( the network element may signal a reference DRX cycle to at least one UE via a communications interface of the network element, and populate a sequence of multiple bit PEI fields. Each multiple bit PEI field in the sequence of multiple bit PEI fields may be mapped to a predetermined subset of PFs within the reference DRX cycle [0085]), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts configured by a system information block (SIB) ( the reference DRX cycle may be signaled in a system information block (SIB) [0082]). Re Claim 15, the combined teachings disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein triggering the second aperiodic reference signal is based at least in part on information within the PDCCH ( there can be eight (8) bits in PEI PDCCH, but the network may indicate, to UEs, that there are seven (7) paging subgroups from which UEs configured with UE_ID based subgrouping can derive a subgroup ID. This allows a bit in a multiple bit PEI field to be used for UEs that are not configured with paging subgrouping [0074]). Re Claim 16, the combined teachings disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the reference signals comprise tracking reference signals (TRSs), and wherein an aperiodic burst of the TRS is conditioned upon a corresponding periodic TRS resource being transmitted within the second time period ( base station may transmit (and the UE may receive) the aperiodic TRS using the resource(s) identified or otherwise indicated in the trigger signal. The UE may use the aperiodic TRS for synchronization, tracking, and the like. [0116]). Re Claim 17, Lee discloses an apparatus comprising: a transceiver (transmitter receiver [0187]); and a processor (processor [0187]) coupled to the transceiver and configured to: receive a configuration defining uneven reference signals in a time domain ( UE(s) 115 may receive, based at least in part on the determining, a trigger signal that identifies resources to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The UE(s) 115 may receive the aperiodic TRS based at least in part on the trigger signal and the identified resources [0156]); exit a sleeping mode as part of an idle mode ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]); perform a tracking loop adjustment based on the uneven reference signals; and decode a paging message after the tracking loop adjustment ( UE(s) 115 may perform at least one of a tracking function, or a synchronization function, or an alignment function, or a combination thereof, in response to the occurrence of the triggering event and based at least in part on the aperiodic TRS [0158]). Lee discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches including defining the uneven reference signals to be received before a paging early indication (PEI) and between the PEI and a paging occasion (PO); receive the uneven reference signals, via the transceiver, before the PEI and between the PEI and the PO. However, Ye discloses system and method for paging early indication and paging subgrouping wherein transitioning from a sleep state to an awake state prior to the PO ; the method 400 may include remaining in the awake state to monitor the PO when 1) the PEI is not received after transitioning to the awake state, or 2) the PEI indicates the PO includes a page for the UE ([0041]-[0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Lee, by making use of the technique taught by Ye, in order to improve the energy usage efficiency. Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal paging, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lee, nor does Lee teach away from the modification (Lee merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the paging early method taught by Ye is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of including defining the uneven reference signals to be received before a paging early indication (PEI) and between the PEI and a paging occasion (PO); receive the uneven reference signals, via the transceiver, before the PEI and between the PEI and the PO. Re Claim 18, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals comprise at least one item selected from a list consisting of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); and a tracking reference signal (TRS) ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 19, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals are unevenly spaced in the time domain ( trigger signal may identify some or all of the resources that are to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The identified or otherwise indicated resources may include time and/or frequency resources [0164]). Re Claim 20, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals include aperiodic occurrences of the uneven reference signals ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 21, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Lee discloses wherein the PEI is based on a sequence ( the network element may signal a reference DRX cycle to at least one UE via a communications interface of the network element, and populate a sequence of multiple bit PEI fields. Each multiple bit PEI field in the sequence of multiple bit PEI fields may be mapped to a predetermined subset of PFs within the reference DRX cycle [0085]), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts configured by a system information block (SIB) ( the reference DRX cycle may be signaled in a system information block (SIB) [0082]) Re Claim 22, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts triggered by information bits within the PDCCH ( there can be eight (8) bits in PEI PDCCH, but the network may indicate, to UEs, that there are seven (7) paging subgroups from which UEs configured with UE_ID based subgrouping can derive a subgroup ID. This allows a bit in a multiple bit PEI field to be used for UEs that are not configured with paging subgrouping [0074]). Re Claim 23, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Lee discloses wherein the uneven reference signals comprise tracking reference signals (TRSs), and wherein an aperiodic burst of the TRS is conditioned upon a corresponding periodic TRS resource being transmitted ( base station may transmit (and the UE may receive) the aperiodic TRS using the resource(s) identified or otherwise indicated in the trigger signal. The UE may use the aperiodic TRS for synchronization, tracking, and the like. [0116]). Re Claim 24, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) (transmitter, receiver, processor [0187]) comprising: means for communicating with a network base station (BS) to receive a configuration defining a plurality of uneven reference signals within a paging cycle ( UE(s) 115 may receive, based at least in part on the determining, a trigger signal that identifies resources to be used for transmission of an aperiodic TRS. The UE(s) 115 may receive the aperiodic TRS based at least in part on the trigger signal and the identified resources [0156]); means for waking during the paging cycle to receive a first uneven reference signal ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]); and means for updating a tracking loop based at least in part on the second uneven reference signal and decoding a paging message ( UE(s) 115 may perform at least one of a tracking function, or a synchronization function, or an alignment function, or a combination thereof, in response to the occurrence of the triggering event and based at least in part on the aperiodic TRS [0158]). Lee discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches means for waking during the paging cycle to receive a first uneven reference signal before a paging early indication (PEI); means for receiving a second uneven reference signal between the PEI and a paging occasion (PO). However, Ye discloses system and method for paging early indication and paging subgrouping wherein transitioning from a sleep state to an awake state prior to the PO ; the method 400 may include remaining in the awake state to monitor the PO when 1) the PEI is not received after transitioning to the awake state, or 2) the PEI indicates the PO includes a page for the UE ([0041]-[0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Lee, by making use of the technique taught by Ye, in order to improve the energy usage efficiency. Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal paging, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lee, nor does Lee teach away from the modification (Lee merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the paging early method taught by Ye is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of means for waking during the paging cycle to receive a first uneven reference signal before a paging early indication (PEI); means for receiving a second uneven reference signal between the PEI and a paging occasion (PO). Re Claim 25, the combined teachings disclose the UE of claim 24, Lee discloses wherein the plurality of uneven reference signals comprise at least one item selected from a list consisting of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); and a tracking reference signal (TRS) ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 26, the combined teachings disclose the UE of claim 24, Lee discloses wherein the first uneven reference signal includes an aperiodic occurrence ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 27, the combined teachings disclose the UE of claim 24, Lee discloses wherein the second uneven reference signal includes an aperiodic occurrence ( aperiodic TRS may be transmitted when the UE is paged and/or when the UE is scheduled in that cycle, e.g., may not always be transmitted with periodic events such as every DRX cycle. Thus the aperiodic TRS may serve as a wake-up signal for the UE [0178]). Re Claim 28, the combined teachings disclose the UE of claim 24, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a sequence ( the network element may signal a reference DRX cycle to at least one UE via a communications interface of the network element, and populate a sequence of multiple bit PEI fields. Each multiple bit PEI field in the sequence of multiple bit PEI fields may be mapped to a predetermined subset of PFs within the reference DRX cycle [0085]), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts configured by a system information block (SIB) ( the reference DRX cycle may be signaled in a system information block (SIB) [0082]). Re Claim 29, the combined teachings disclose the UE of claim 24, Ye discloses wherein the PEI is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and wherein the uneven reference signals include reference signal bursts triggered by information bits within the PDCCH ( there can be eight (8) bits in PEI PDCCH, but the network may indicate, to UEs, that there are seven (7) paging subgroups from which UEs configured with UE_ID based subgrouping can derive a subgroup ID. This allows a bit in a multiple bit PEI field to be used for UEs that are not configured with paging subgrouping [0074]). Re Claim 30, the combined teachings disclose the UE of claim 24, Lee discloses wherein the plurality of uneven reference signals comprise tracking reference signals (TRSs), and wherein an aperiodic burst of the TRS is conditioned upon a corresponding periodic TRS resource being transmitted ( base station may transmit (and the UE may receive) the aperiodic TRS using the resource(s) identified or otherwise indicated in the trigger signal. The UE may use the aperiodic TRS for synchronization, tracking, and the like. [0116]). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Niu et al. (US 2022/0312371 A1) – wake-up signal design and configuration for paging Lee et al. (US 2019/0059054 A1) – advanced grant indicator and aperiodic tracking reference signal in discontinuous reception Shrivastava et al. (US 2022/0052808 A1) – method and system for provisioning radio resources for idle or inactive mode user equipment in wireless network Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KENNETH T LAM whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1862 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-5:00 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Hannah S. Wang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-9018 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENNETH T LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631