DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/3/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note applicable to all claims being rejected in this Office action: Examiner notes that the limitations "overlap", "layer", "portion" “on” are being interpreted broadly in accordance with MPEP. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. The claim presently disclose a structural limitation (i.e. overlap, layer, portion, contact) that is taught by prior art of record, therefore, the limitation is considered met by the prior art of record. Additionally, Merriam Webster dictionary defines the above limitations as “to occupy the same area in part”, “one thickness lying over or under another”, “an often limited part of a whole” “used as a function word to indicate position in close proximity with” respectively. Further note the limitation “contact” is being interpreted to include "direct contact" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between) and "indirect contact" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goward et al (US 2019/0066571 A1 hereinafter Goward).
Regarding Claim 1, Goward discloses in Fig 10: A multi-layer display comprising:
an upper substrate (900) including light emitting diodes (LEDs) (410/416 See Fig 1) fabricated on a topside of the upper substrate, and LED bonding pads (See mark-up below) fabricated on a bottom side of the upper substrate, the LED bonding pads being electrically connected to the LEDs through vias (912) extending through the upper substrate; and
a lower substrate (1006) including LED driver circuits and driver bonding pads (1008) fabricated on a topside of the lower substrate, the driver bonding pads being electrically connected to the LED driver circuits, wherein the LED bonding pads and driver bonding pads are aligned and electrically connected to each other, thereby electrically connecting the LED driver circuits to the LEDs [0057-0062].
Regarding Claim 4, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 1, wherein the lower substrate (1006) is releasable from the multi-layer display (410/900/1006). Examiner notes that any given substrate is releasable while exposed to the ideal process conditions.
Regarding Claim 11, Goward discloses in Fig 10: A multi-layer display comprising: an upper substrate (900) including light emitting diodes (LEDs) (410/412-416) fabricated on a topside of the upper substrate, and LED bonding pads (See mark-up for claim 1) fabricated on a bottom side of the upper substrate; and vias (912) extending through the upper substrate and electrically connecting the LEDs to the LED bonding pads,
wherein the LED bonding pads are aligned with driver bonding pads (1008) of a lower substrate (1006) including LED driver circuits, to facilitate electrical connection of LEDs to the LED driver circuits [0057-0062].
Regarding Claim 14, Goward discloses in Fig 10: A method of manufacturing a multi-layer display, the method comprising:
fabricating light emitting diodes (LEDs) (410/412-416) on a topside of an upper substrate (900); fabricating LED bonding pads on a bottom side of the upper substrate; and
fabricating vias (912) extending through the upper substrate and electrically connecting the LEDs to the LED bonding pads,
wherein the LED bonding pads are fabricating to align with driver bonding pads of a lower substrate (1006) including LED driver circuits, to facilitate electrical connection of LEDs to the LED driver circuits [0057-0062].
Regarding Claim 17, Goward discloses in Fig 10: A multi-layer display comprising: a substrate including a topside and a bottom side opposite the topside; light emitting diodes (LEDs) fabricated on a topside of the substrate;
LED driving circuits fabricated on a bottom side of the substrate; and through vias extending through the substrate and electrically connecting the LEDs to the driving circuits [0057-0062].
Regarding Claim 20, Goward discloses in Fig 10: A method of manufacturing a multi-layer display, the method comprising: fabricating light emitting diodes (LEDs) (410/412-416) on a topside of the substrate (900);
fabricating LED driving circuits (1006) on a bottom side of the substrate opposite the topside of the substrate; and
fabricating through vias (912) extending from the topside of the substrate to the bottom side of the substrate to electrically connect the LEDs to the driving circuits [0057-0062].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 12, 15, 18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goward et al (US 2019/0066571 A1 hereinafter Goward) in view of Bibl et al (US 2021/0265330 A1 hereinafter Bibl).
Regarding Claim 2, Goward discloses in Fig 10: multi-layer display of claim 1.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: micro-integrated circuits (micro-ICs) fabricated on the topside of the upper substrate, the micro-ICs for driving the LEDs based on signals received from the LED driver circuits.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: further comprising: micro-integrated circuits (micro-ICs) (216) fabricated on the topside of the upper substrate (202), the micro-ICs for driving the LEDs based on signals received from the LED driver circuits [0071].
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that further comprising: micro-integrated circuits (micro-ICs) fabricated on the topside of the upper substrate, the micro-ICs for driving the LEDs based on signals received from the LED driver circuits as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, the sensors measures ambient light 0073].
Regarding Claim 3, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 1.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: sensors fabricated on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: sensors (216) fabricated on the topside of the upper substrate (215) in between the LEDs (214).
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that sensors fabricated on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, the sensors measures ambient light 0073].
Regarding Claim 12, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 11.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: sensors (216) on the topside of the upper substrate (215) in between the LEDs (214).
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, the sensors measure ambient light 0073].
Regarding Claim 15, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 14.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: fabricating sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: further comprising: fabricating sensors (216) on the topside of the upper substrate (215) in between the LEDs (214).
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that fabricating sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, the sensors measure ambient light 0073].
Regarding Claim 18, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 17.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: sensors (216) on the topside of the upper substrate (215) in between the LEDs (214).
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, the sensors measure ambient light 0073].
Regarding Claim 21, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 20.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: fabricating sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: further comprising: fabricating sensors (216) on the topside of the upper substrate (215) in between the LEDs (214).
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that fabricating sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs as taught by Bibl in the method of Goward since, the sensors measure ambient light 0073].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goward et al in view of Meitl et al (US 2021/0120650 A1 hereinafter Meitl) and further in view of Bibl et a (US 2021/0265330 A1 hereinafter Bibl).
Regarding Claim 8, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 6.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: fabricating sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs.
However, Bibl in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: further comprising: fabricating sensors (216) on the topside of the upper substrate (215) in between the LEDs (214).
References Goward and Bibl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Bibl so that fabricating sensors on the topside of the upper substrate in between the LEDs as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, the sensors measure ambient light 0073].
Claim(s) 5, 13, 16, 19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goward in view of Harris et a (US 2015/0261057 A1 hereinafter Harris).
Regarding Claim 5, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 1.
Goward does not disclose: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display.
However, Harris in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display [0033, 0057, 0030].
References Goward, Harris are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward and Harris with the specified features of Harris because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Harris so that the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display as taught by Harris in the device of Goward since, this provides large area displays without introducing inactive areas in peripheral portions of the individual displays [0033].
Regarding Claim 13, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 11.
Goward does not disclose: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display.
However, Harris in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display [0033, 0057, 0030].
References Goward, Harris are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward and Harris with the specified features of Harris because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Harris so that the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, this provides large area displays without introducing inactive areas in peripheral portions of the individual displays [0033].
Regarding Claim 16, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 14.
Goward does not disclose: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display.
However, Harris in a similar method teaches in Fig 4: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display [0033, 0057, 0030].
References Goward, Harris are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward and Harris with the specified features of Harris because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Harris so that the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, this provides large area displays without introducing inactive areas in peripheral portions of the individual displays [0033].
Regarding Claim 19, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The multi-layer display of claim 17.
Goward does not disclose: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display.
However, Harris in a similar device teaches in Fig 4: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display [0033, 0057, 0030].
References Goward, Harris are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Goward and Harris with the specified features of Harris because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Harris so that the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, this provides large area displays without introducing inactive areas in peripheral portions of the individual displays [0033].
Regarding Claim 22, Goward discloses in Fig 10: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 20.
Goward does not disclose: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display.
However, Harris in a similar method teaches in Fig 4: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display [0033, 0057, 0030].
References Goward, Harris are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward and Harris with the specified features of Harris because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Harris so that the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display as taught by Bibl in the device of Goward since, this provides large area displays without introducing inactive areas in peripheral portions of the individual displays [0033].
Claim(s) 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goward et al in view of Meitl et al (US 20210120650 A1 hereinafter Meitl).
Regarding Claim 6, Goward discloses in Fig 10: A method of manufacturing a multi-layer display, the method comprising:
fabricating light emitting diodes (LEDs) (410/412-416) on a topside of an upper substrate (900);
fabricating LED bonding pads (See mark-up for claim 1) on a bottom side of the upper substrate;
fabricating vias (912) through the upper substrate, the vias electrically connecting the LED bonding pads to the LEDs (See Fig 10);
fabricating LED driver circuits and driver bonding pads on a topside of a lower substrate (1006), the driver bonding pads being electrically connected to the LED driver circuits [0057-0062];
Goward does not disclose: temporarily connecting the LED bonding pads to a test circuit and confirming operation of the LEDs;
removing the LED bonding pads from the test circuit when operation of the LEDs are confirmed; and
aligning and electrically connecting the LED bonding pads to the driver bonding pads, thereby electrically connecting the LED driver circuits to the LEDs (30).
However, Meitl in a similar method teaches: temporarily connecting the LED bonding pads to a test circuit and confirming operation of the LEDs;
removing the LED bonding pads from the test circuit when operation of the LEDs are confirmed; and
aligning and electrically connecting the LED bonding pads to the driver bonding pads, thereby electrically connecting the LED driver circuits to the LEDs [052, 0059, 0060] Fig 5.
References Goward and Meitl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward with the specified features of Meitl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Meitl so that temporarily connecting the LED bonding pads to a test circuit and confirming operation of the LEDs; removing the LED bonding pads from the test circuit when operation of the LEDs are confirmed; and aligning and electrically connecting the LED bonding pads to the driver bonding pads, thereby electrically connecting the LED driver circuits to the LEDs as taught by Meitl in the device of Goward since this provides LED circuits that can control or avoid problems resulting from LEDs in a display, lamp, or other light-emitting device that undesirably conduct too much current [0007].
Regarding Claim 9, Goward and Meitl disclose: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 6.
Goward does not disclose: further comprising: releasing the lower substrate from the multi-layer display.
However, Meitl in a similar method teaches: further comprising: releasing the lower substrate from the multi-layer display [0082] Fig 11.
References Goward and Meitl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward with the specified features of Meitl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward and Meitl so that further comprising: releasing the lower substrate from the multi-layer display as taught by Meitl in the device of Goward since this provides LED circuits that can control or avoid problems resulting from LEDs in a display, lamp, or other light-emitting device that undesirably conduct too much current [0007].
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goward et al in view of Meitl et al (US 2021/0120650 A1 hereinafter Meitl) and further in view of Bibl et al (US 2021/0265330 A1 hereinafter Bibl).
Regarding Claim 7, Goward and Meitl disclose: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 6.
Goward and Meitl do not disclose: further comprising: fabricating micro-integrated circuits (micro-ICs) on the topside of the upper substrate, the micro-ICs for driving the LEDs based on signals received from the LED driver circuits.
However, Bibl in a similar method teaches in Fig 2A: further comprising: fabricating micro-integrated circuits (micro-ICs) (216) on the topside of the upper substrate, the micro-ICs for driving the LEDs based on signals received from the LED driver circuits [0071].
References Goward, Bibl and Meitl are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward and Meitl with the specified features of Bibl because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Bibl and Meitl so that further comprising: fabricating micro-integrated circuits (micro-ICs) on the topside of the upper substrate, the micro-ICs for driving the LEDs based on signals received from the LED driver circuits as taught by Meitl in the device of Goward since this improves system performance due to shorter interconnects between components. [0038].
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goward et al in view of Meitl et al (US 2021/0120650 A1 hereinafter Meitl) and further in view of Harris et al.
Regarding Claim 10, Goward and Meitl disclose: The method of manufacturing a multi-layer display of claim 6.
Goward and Meitl do not disclose: further comprising: fabricating the vias with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display.
However, Harris in a similar method teaches in Fig 4: wherein the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display [0033, 0057, 0030].
References Goward, Meitl and Harris are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Goward, Meitl with the specified features of Harris because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Goward, Meitl and Harris so that the vias are arranged with respect to the LEDs in a manner to produce a bezel free multi-layer display as taught by Harris in the device of Goward and Meitl since, this provides large area displays without introducing inactive areas in peripheral portions of the individual displays [0033].
Conclusion
/NISHATH YASMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811