DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 5/6/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 4/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that limitations reciting establishing wireless communication in group I are linked to receiving surgical/video data in Group II and that the machine learning limitation recited in claim 8 of Group I is linked to the surgical machine learning process of claim 15 of Group II. This is not found persuasive because the machine learning process of claim 8 of Group I occurs locally at the data adaptors prior to data transmission while the machine learning process of claim 15 of Group II occurs at the central hub after data/video has been received. Further, the machine learning limitation of claim 15 of Group II makes phase predictions of a surgical procedure. No claim in Group I recite matter related to phase predictions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “video sources” and “data sources” in claims 11-13.
Regarding claim 11, “video sources” will be interpreted as cameras or similar generic image detectors as described in ¶0056. “Data sources” will be interpreted as medical devices with sensors as described in ¶0056.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, they are interpreted similarly due to their dependencies.
Positive Statement Regarding - 35 USC § 101
The Examiner’s 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis recognizes that the claimed subject matter is directed to a practical application of a technical solution. The claimed elements, establishing wireless communication to transfer data and processing of surgical and video data, which in light of the specification is understood to mean for example synchronizing data or adding metadata, cannot be reasonably interpreted as an abstract idea such as a mental process. Because the claims recite specific, claimed steps and structural elements that produce a tangible technical result, they are not directed to an abstract idea absent additional inventive concept limitations. Accordingly, the record supports a positive 101 determination for the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grantcharov et al. (US 2018/0122506) (hereafter, “Grantcharov”) (IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Grantcharov discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: establishing wireless communication between one or more data adaptors and a central processing hub in a surgical system (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards. Examiner considers the CCS a “central processing hub”), each of the one or more data adaptors configured to provide surgical data associated with a surgical procedure (¶0253, The data capture devices may provide output data feeds to encoders 174, 176, other data capture devices or a patient observation system 178. The medical or surgical data; ¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on); performing localized processing of the surgical data at the one or more data adaptors prior to sending the surgical data to the central processing hub (¶0258, the smart enabled device or adaptor may incorporate and utilize a SOC device (system-on-chip) or FPGA device (Field Programmable Gate Array) in conjunction with on-board storage, power management and wireless radio(s). It may manage device requirements, device-to-device authentication, storage, communications, content processing, clock synchronization, and time stamping); establishing wireless communication between one or more video adaptors and the central processing hub, where at least one of the one or more video adaptors is configured to provide video associated with the surgical data (¶0257, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards); performing localized processing of the video associated with the surgical data at the one or more of the video adaptors prior to sending the video to the central processing hub (¶0258, smart cameras 1604 … the smart enabled device or adaptor may incorporate and utilize a SOC device (system-on-chip) or FPGA device (Field Programmable Gate Array) in conjunction with on-board storage, power management and wireless radio(s). It may manage device requirements, device-to-device authentication, storage, communications, content processing, clock synchronization, and time stamping); and capturing and processing the surgical data and the video at the central processing hub (¶0261, he CMMS 1620 may aggregate, package, compress and encrypt captured audio, video, medical device data, sensor data, logs, and so on … The CMMS 1620 provides processing and data transformation for clock broadcast for device synchronization; ¶0262, The CCS Server 1614 acts as conduit to black box analytics software and databases).
Regarding claim 2, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses receiving video and/or data through one or more wired connections at the central processing hub (¶0259, The black box encoder 1610 … may be resident on the client network connected via Ethernet … the black box encoder 1610 may connect directly to the CCS 1614 to provide data. Examiner considers providing data to the CCS to imply that the CCS “receives data”); and receiving one or more wireless communications at the central processing hub from one or more wireless-enabled sources (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards).
Regarding claim 3, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses wherein wireless communication between the one or more data adaptors and the central processing hub passes through a hub adaptor configured to synchronize the surgical data from the one or more data adaptors (¶0260, The Media Management Hub (MMH) 1612 may be a computing machine or server responsible for running the client media management software; ¶0261, The CMMS 1620 provides processing and data transformation for clock broadcast for device synchronization. Examiner considers the MMH as the “hub adaptor”).
Regarding claim 4, in which claim 3 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses wherein wireless communication between the one or more video adaptors and the central processing hub passes through the hub adaptor (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … the black-box recording device 1600 may be provided by an encoder 1610 that connects via a wireless station 1616 to a media management hub (MMH) 1612 … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards), and hub adaptor is configured to synchronize the surgical data from the one or more data adaptors with the video from the one or more video adaptors (¶0164, all video feeds and audio feeds may be recorded and synchronized for an entire medical procedure; ¶0260, The Media Management Hub (MMH) 1612 may be a computing machine or server responsible for running the client media management software; ¶0261, The CMMS 1620 provides processing and data transformation for clock broadcast for device synchronization).
Regarding claim 10, in which claim 3 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses a system comprising: a central processing hub (¶0257, This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards. Examiner considers the CCS a “central processing hub”); one or more data adaptors configured to perform localized processing of surgical data associated with a surgical procedure and provide the surgical data to the central processing hub through wireless communication (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards; ¶0258, the smart enabled device or adaptor may incorporate and utilize a SOC device (system-on-chip) or FPGA device (Field Programmable Gate Array) in conjunction with on-board storage, power management and wireless radio(s). It may manage device requirements, device-to-device authentication, storage, communications, content processing, clock synchronization, and time stamping); and one or more video adaptors configured to perform localized processing of video associated with the surgical data and provide the video to the central processing hub through wireless communication (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards; ¶0258, the smart enabled device or adaptor may incorporate and utilize a SOC device (system-on-chip) or FPGA device (Field Programmable Gate Array) in conjunction with on-board storage, power management and wireless radio(s). It may manage device requirements, device-to-device authentication, storage, communications, content processing, clock synchronization, and time stamping).
Regarding claim 11, in which claim 10 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses one or more video sources and one or more data sources coupled to the central processing hub through wired connections (¶0238, two wall-mounted high-definition wide-angled cameras; two omnidirectional microphones; a laparoscopic camera view; and a vital signs display. These are example data capture devices of a hardware unit. This example application may use an Internet Protocol (“IP”) network in which each data signal may be fed into an Ethernet switch (“ES”). Examiner considers the Ethernet switch a wired connection); and one or more wireless-enabled sources coupled to the central processing hub (¶0257, client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards; ¶0258, the smart enabled devices and adaptors may connect directly to the CCS 1614 to provide data from the operating site via secure client network infrastructure 1618).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grantcharov et al. (US 2018/0122506) (hereafter, “Grantcharov”) (IDS) in view of Essinger et al. (US 2010/0177660) (hereafter, “Essinger”)
Regarding claim 5, in which claim 4 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses configuring one of the one or more data adaptors or one of the one or more video adaptors (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on) [to operate as] the hub adaptor (¶0260, The Media Management Hub (MMH) 1612 may be a computing machine or server responsible for running the client media management software; ¶0261, The CMMS 1620 provides processing and data transformation for clock broadcast for device synchronization. Examiner considers the MMH as the “hub adaptor”).
However, Grantcharov fails to explicitly disclose interchanging the data or video adaptor with the hub adaptor.
Essinger teaches interchanging the data or video adaptor with the hub adaptor (¶0201, the router device of the present invention may serve multiple functions and dynamically switch and reconfigure into a coordinator device. Essinger teaches interchanging devices on a network, which when combined with Grantcharov’s surgical adaptors and hubs, would yield an adaptor operating as a hub).
Both Grantcharov and Essinger are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks and Essinger is in the field of networked devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interchangeable devices of Essinger into the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the network against device failure, as suggested by Essinger at ¶0201, these is no need to wait for a network user to find a failed network coordinator and replace it.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Essinger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Essinger to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses establishing wireless communication between one or more [display adaptors] and the central processing hub (¶0257, Example platform components to provide this capability include autonomous and semi-autonomous smart-enabled devices and adaptors such as medical devices 1602, cameras 1604, microphones 1606, sensors 1608 and so on. … This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards. Examiner considers the CCS a “central processing hub”); and transmitting display data and/or video through one or more [wireless connections to the one or more display adaptors] for output on one or more display devices coupled to the one or more display adaptors (¶0251, These feeds may be displayed on a single interface (e.g., control interface 14) providing a comprehensive overview of the operation).
However, Grantcharov fails to explicitly disclose display adaptors and wireless connections to the one or more display adaptors.
Essinger teaches display adaptors and wireless connections to the one or more display adaptors (Fig. 5A, 5B; ¶0133, As shown in FIG. 5A, the wireless electronic-based display device; ¶0259, display electronic-ink display device in the wireless network. Examiner considers the processing circuitry illustrated in Fig. 5A and 5B to be the “display adaptor”).
Both Grantcharov and Essinger are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks and Essinger is in the field of networked devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interchangeable devices of Essinger into the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the network against device failure, as suggested by Essinger at ¶0201, these is no need to wait for a network user to find a failed network coordinator and replace it.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Essinger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Essinger to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, in which claim 10 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses [one or more display adaptors configured to establish wireless communication with the central processing hub] and output display data to one or more display devices (¶0251, These feeds may be displayed on a single interface (e.g., control interface 14) providing a comprehensive overview of the operation).
However, Grantcharov fails to explicitly disclose one or more display adaptors configured to establish wireless communication with the central processing hub.
Essinger teaches one or more display adaptors configured to establish wireless communication with the central processing hub (Fig. 5A, 5B; ¶0133, As shown in FIG. 5A, the wireless electronic-based display device; ¶0259, display electronic-ink display device in the wireless network. Examiner considers the processing circuitry illustrated in Fig. 5A and 5B to be the “display adaptor”).
Both Grantcharov and Essinger are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks and Essinger is in the field of networked devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interchangeable devices of Essinger into the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the network against device failure, as suggested by Essinger at ¶0201, these is no need to wait for a network user to find a failed network coordinator and replace it.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Essinger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Essinger to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grantcharov et al. (US 2018/0122506) (hereafter, “Grantcharov”) (IDS) in view of Essinger et al. (US 2010/0177660) (hereafter, “Essinger”) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Torabi (US 2022/0076020).
Regarding claim 7, Grantcharov in view of Essinger discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6.
However, neither Grantcharov nor Essinger, whether considered individually or in combination, fail to explicitly disclose identifying, by one of the display adaptors, a user of one of the display devices; and customizing an aspect of a user interface or information presented in the user interface to display on one of the display devices based on identifying the user
Torabi teaches identifying, by one of the display adaptors, a user of one of the display devices (¶0081, Upon detecting the second user entering the user seating area, process 900 subsequently generates a dialog window on the monitor of the surgeon console asking the second user to confirm whether he/she is the same user as the first user); and customizing an aspect of a user interface or information presented in the user interface to display on one of the display devices based on identifying the user (¶0082, process 900 can simply generate another dialog window prompting the user to enter his/her identify, which causes robotic surgical system 100 to load new surgeon-console-settings, such as user gaze-tracking settings, user UID-control settings, and user seat settings for the second user. Examiner considers surgeon-console-settings to be “user interface” information).
Grantcharov, Essinger, and Torabi are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks, Essinger is in the field of networked devices, and Torabi is in the field of networked surgical devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the user detection and display of Torabi into the interchangeable devices of Essinger and the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to ensure proper user calibration, as suggested by Torabi at ¶0004, When this user-swap event occurs, the robotic surgical system needs to ensure that the eye tracking settings are recalibrated or reconfigured for the new surgeon.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Essinger and Torabi.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Essinger and Torabi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grantcharov et al. (US 2018/0122506) (hereafter, “Grantcharov”) (IDS) in view of Sherkat et al. (US 2021/0125722) (hereafter, “Sherkat”).
Regarding claim 8, Grantcharov discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
However, Grantcharov fails to explicitly disclose wherein performing localized processing of the surgical data comprises performing at least a portion of a surgical machine learning process on at least one of the data adaptors
Sherkat teaches wherein performing localized processing of the surgical data comprises performing at least a portion of a surgical machine learning process on at least one of the data adaptors (Fig. 4A; ¶0070, Example internal blocks of the edge ML systems 130 and 150 are shown in FIG. 4A. A quad-core ARM processor 410 (four A53) is an example of a CPU inside the edge system 130, 150. A neural processing unit (NPU) 420 is a hardware accelerator to perform, for example, Tensor operations required for neural network models. The NPU 420 can be obtained from ARM or Samsung, for example. The NPU 420 can perform the forward path (inference) of neural network models).
Both Grantcharov and Sherkat are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks and Sherkat is in the field of networked medical devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the local machine learning of Sherkat into the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve performance, as suggested by Sherkat at ¶0070, at a much higher speed and can achieve lower inference time.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sherkat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Sherkat to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grantcharov et al. (US 2018/0122506) (hereafter, “Grantcharov”) (IDS) in view of Sherkat et al. (US 2021/0125722) (hereafter, “Sherkat”) further in view of Thienphrapa et al. (US 2022/0358773) (hereafter, “Thienphrapa”).
Regarding claim 9, Grantcharov discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
However, Grantcharov fails to explicitly disclose wherein performing localized processing of the video associated with the surgical data comprises modifying one or more aspects of the video based on performing at least a portion of a surgical machine learning process on at least one of the video adaptors.
Sherkat teaches wherein [performing localized processing of the video associated with the surgical data comprises modifying one or more aspects of the video based on] performing at least a portion of a surgical machine learning process on at least one of the video adaptors (Fig. 4A; ¶0070, Example internal blocks of the edge ML systems 130 and 150 are shown in FIG. 4A. A quad-core ARM processor 410 (four A53) is an example of a CPU inside the edge system 130, 150. A neural processing unit (NPU) 420 is a hardware accelerator to perform, for example, Tensor operations required for neural network models. The NPU 420 can be obtained from ARM or Samsung, for example. The NPU 420 can perform the forward path (inference) of neural network models).
Both Grantcharov and Sherkat are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks and Sherkat is in the field of networked medical devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the local machine learning of Sherkat into the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve performance, as suggested by Sherkat at ¶0070, at a much higher speed and can achieve lower inference time.
However, neither Grantcharov nor Sherkat, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose performing localized processing of the video associated with the surgical data comprises modifying one or more aspects of the video based on a machine learning process.
Thienphrapa teaches performing localized processing of the video associated with the surgical data comprises modifying one or more aspects of the video based on a machine learning process (¶0040, machine learning is applied to the interventional imagery with the annotation overlaid, and an optimized placement of the annotation is identified based on the machine learning).
Grantcharov, Sherkat, and Thienphrapa are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks, Sherkat is in the field of networked medical devices, and Thienphrapa is applied towards using machine learning in medical settings. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the machine learning based overlay of Thienphrapa into the local machine learning of Sherkat and the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to inform medical professionals during a procedure, as suggested by Thienphrapa at ¶0028, informative annotations to assist personnel involved in medical interventions.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sherkat and Thienphrapa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Sherkat and Thienphrapa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grantcharov et al. (US 2018/0122506) (hereafter, “Grantcharov”) (IDS) in view of Shelton et al. (US 2022/0108783) (hereafter, “Shelton”).
Regarding claim 12, in which claim 11 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses a hub adaptor coupled by a wireless connection to the central processing hub (¶0257, a media management hub (MMH) 1612 storing Client Media Management Software instruction code (CMMS) 1620. This connects to a Central Content Server and management software (CCS) 1614 via client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards. Examiner considers the MMH as a “hub adaptor” and the CCS as a “central processing hub”) and through two or more wireless connections to the one or more data adaptors and the one or more one or more video adaptors (¶0257, client network infrastructure 1618 configured for adoption and utilization of high performance wireless communication standards; ¶0258, The smart enabled devices and adaptors may autonomous or semi-autonomous intelligent devices including but not limited to smart cameras 1604, microphones 1606, data and media converters 1612, encoders 1610, adaptors and sensors 1608 … the smart enabled devices and adaptors may connect directly to the CCS 1614 to provide data from the operating site via secure client network infrastructure 1618 and may receive data, commands, and configuration controls from CCS 1624 directly or via MMH 1612. Examiner considers parts 1604-1612 as the “two or more” data/video adaptors and receiving data/commands/configurations from the MMH to indicate being connected), [wherein the hub adaptor is configured to pair with the central processing hub, the one or more data adaptors, and the one or more one or more video adaptors using a manual mode, a semi-automatic mode, or an automatic mode].
However, Grantcharov fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hub adaptor is configured to pair with the central processing hub, the one or more data adaptors, and the one or more one or more video adaptors using a manual mode, a semi-automatic mode, or an automatic mode.
Shelton teaches wherein the hub adaptor is configured to pair with the central processing hub, the one or more data adaptors, and the one or more one or more video adaptors using a manual mode, a semi-automatic mode, or an automatic mode (¶0165, At 16104, one or more hub connectivity control parameters may be identified. At 16108, a hub connectivity mode may be determined based on the identified hub connectivity control parameter(s). For example, the surgical hub 7006 shown in FIG. 11 may determine the hub connectivity mode based on a hub connectivity control parameter. The hub connectivity mode may be selected from multiple connectivity modes that may be preconfigured, dynamically updated, semi-dynamically updated, periodically updated, or preset. Examiner considers dynamically updated connectivity modes to be “automatic”).
Both Grantcharov and Shelton are analogous to the claimed invention because Grantcharov is in the field of wireless medical device networks and Sherkat is in the field of networked surgical devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the local machine learning of Shelton into the medical device network of Grantcharov. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to select compatible devices, as suggested by Shelton at ¶0166, if a surgical instrument lacks the hardware capability to provide indications of instructional information, the surgical hub may switch to a connectivity mode that may disable providing instructional information to the surgical instrument.
This method of improving Grantcharov was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shelton.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Grantcharov with the teachings of Shelton to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, in which claim 12 is incorporated, Grantcharov discloses wherein the hub adaptor is configured to perform preprocessing of the surgical data and the video prior to sending the surgical data and the video to the central processing hub (¶0260, The Media Management Hub (MMH) 1612 may be a computing machine or server responsible for running the client media management software; ¶0261, The CMMS 1620 provides processing and data transformation for clock broadcast for device synchronization).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mahadik et al. (US 2021/0196406) discloses a surgical hub with data and video inputs and a touch panel display (Fig. 1; ¶0051, an operating room (OR) hub coupled to one or more medical devices in the operating room and providing an operations user interface).
Wiener et al. (US 2019/0207911) discloses surgical hubs that communicate data to a central cloud server (¶0311, data can be communicated from the surgical hubs to the cloud-based system).
Parihar et al. (US 2019/0125457) discloses wireless communication between modules of a hub (¶0623, facilitate a wireless interactive communication between the modules housed in the hub).
/XIAOMAO DING/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673