DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202111316207.6, filed on 11/08/2021.
This Office Action is responsive to a response filed on June 25th, 2026. In this office action:
Claims 3-5, 7-9, 15-17, 19, and 21-22 are pending.
Claims 3-5, 7-9, 15-17, 19, and 21-22 are rejected.
Summary of Previous Office Action
In the Non-final Office Action mailed on March 27th, 2026:
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 15-19, and 21-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, and 21-22 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0060881), hereinafter Wang.
Claims 6-7, 10, 18-19, and 23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0060881), hereinafter Wang; in view of Wu (Pub. No. US 2021/0076192).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 25th, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 3-4, 7-9, 15-16, 19, and 21-22 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 12-13, 18, and 23 have been canceled.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn for claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 18, and 21-23 in light of the amendments, and partially withdrawn for claim 3, as presented in this Office action; see 35 USC § 112 section below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 25th, 2026, regarding 35 USC § 102 rejection have been fully considered by the Examiner, and they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as presented in this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because it recites acronyms that are not defined within the claim. The acronyms are: DNN, S-NSSAI, AF, NEF, and SMF.
Claim 4 is objected to because it recites acronyms that are not defined within the claim. The acronyms are: UDR and UDM.
Claim 8 is objected to because it recites acronyms that are not defined within the claim. The acronyms are: NEF and SMF.
Claim 9 is objected to because it recites an acronym that is not defined within the claim. The acronym is: EASDF.
Claim 15 is objected to because it recites acronyms that are not defined within the claim. The acronyms are: DNN, S-NSSAI, AF, NEF, and SMF.
Claim 16 is objected to because it recites acronyms that are not defined within the claim. The acronyms are: UDR and UDM.
Claim 21 is objected to because it recites acronyms that are not defined within the claim. The acronyms are: NEF and SMF.
Claim 22 is objected to because it recites an acronym that is not defined within the claim. The acronym is: EASDF.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 7, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the first information” in “obtaining, by the second device, second information based on the first information.” Independent claim 3 recites (A) “receiving, by a second device, edge application server deployment information sent by a first device, wherein the edge application server deployment information comprises first information, ...” and (B) “receiving, by the second device, edge application server deployment information and first information sent by the first device ...” It’s unclear to which first information ((A) or (B)) “the first information” is referring to. Therefore, the Examiner is unable to determine the metes and the bounds of the claim language.
Claim 3 recites the terms “the DNN” and “the S-NSSAI” which have never been introduced in the instant claim. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-5, 7, 15-17, and 19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as they depend on the rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0060881), hereinafter Wang; in view of Wu (Pub. No. US 2021/0076192).
Claim 3. Wang discloses [a]n information transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a second device, edge application server deployment information sent by a first device, wherein the edge application server deployment information comprises first information, and the first information is an external group identifier; or receiving, by the second device (See Fig. 7; “NEF” (network exposure function)), edge application server deployment information and first information sent by the first device (See Fig. 7; “AF” (Application function network element)) (See Parag. [0167-0170]; the NEF receives the third group request from the AF. The third group request carries an external group identifier (first information) and first group information. The first group information includes slice information (edge application server deployment information). See Parag. [0097]; The slice information of the group may be, for example, single group management assistance information (single network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI)). Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner interprets the claim as “receiving, by the second device, edge application server deployment information and first information sent by the first device”);
wherein the first information is an external group identifier (See Parag. [0170]; The third group request carries an external group identifier);
obtaining, by the second device, second information based on the first information, wherein the second information is an internal group identifier (See Parag. [0024]; the NEF (the second device) stores internal group identifiers and external group identifiers of one or more groups, subsequently, when the NEF receives an external group identifier (first information) from the AF, the NEF may determine whether an internal group identifier corresponding to the external group identifier has been stored. If the NEF does not store the internal group identifier corresponding to the external group identifier, the NEF requests the UDM to allocate the internal group identifier to the newly created group. See also Parag. [0221-0226] and Fig. 7 “S704”),
wherein the first device is an AF, the second device is an NEF (See Parag. [0167-0170]; the NEF receives the third group request from the AF).
Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device, a first subscription request sent by a fourth device, wherein the first subscription request carries the DNN and/or the S-NSSAI; sending, by the second device, the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information to the fourth device according to the first subscription request, [and] the fourth device is an SMF.
However, Wu discloses wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the second device, a first subscription request sent by a fourth device, wherein the first subscription request carries the DNN and/or the S-NSSAI (See Parag. [0029]; receiving a first message sent by a session management function entity (a fourth device), where the first message is used to subscribe to a terminal event. See Parag. [0007-0016]; the terminal event is subscribed to from the session management function entity that manages a specific service, and the session management function entity manages a network configuration subsequent to the terminal event ... when the terminal event is subscribed to from the session management function entity, the event correlation identifier and the event type information are carried. A function entity that subscribes to the terminal event may be identified based on the event correlation identifier, and an event type of the terminal event may be identified based on the event type information ... See Parag. [0204]; The terminal event may be an event that various types of statuses or information need to be obtained from the network, or the event type of the terminal event may be various defined terminal events. For example, the event type of the terminal event includes an event of terminal availability after DDN failure, a terminal reachability event, and the like. Further, the event type may be represented by an event ID. The event ID indicates a type of an event that is being subscribed to, for example, availability after DDN failure. See Parag. [0169-0170]; FIG. 5A is a schematic flowchart of an example of configuring, by an AF, subscription of a terminal event for a UDM/PCF using an NEF ... See Parag. [0215]; The function entity that subscribes to the terminal event may be the SMF. See also Parag. [0074-0075] [0133] [0201] [0214];
sending, by the second device, the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information to the fourth device according to the first subscription request, [and] the fourth device is an SMF (See Parag. [0029]; receiving a first message sent by a session management function entity (the fourth device is an SMF), where the first message is used to subscribe to a terminal event, monitoring the subscribed terminal event, and when the terminal event is detected, sending a terminal event notification to a function entity (i.e., SMF) that subscribes to the terminal event, where the terminal event notification includes at least one of the following information an identifier of a terminal corresponding to the terminal event and an event correlation identifier of the terminal event, where the event correlation identifier is used to identify a correlation relationship between the terminal event and the function entity that subscribes to the terminal even. See Parag. [0204]; The terminal event may be an event that various types of statuses or information need to be obtained from the network, or the event type of the terminal event may be various defined terminal events. For example, the event type of the terminal event includes an event of terminal availability after DDN failure, a terminal reachability event, and the like).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the second device, taught by Wang, to include receiving a first subscription request sent by a fourth device, wherein the first subscription request carries the DNN and/or the S-NSSAI; sending the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information to the fourth device according to the first subscription request, where the fourth device is an SMF, as taught by Wu. This would be convenient such that the terminal event may be subscribed to and monitored for a specific service in a 5G architecture (Wu, Parag. [0008]).
Claim 4. Wang in view Wu discloses [t]he method according to claim 3,
Wang discloses the method further comprising: sending, by the second device, the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information to a third device; or sending, by the second device, the second information and the edge application server deployment information to the third device, where the third device is a UDR or UDM (See Parag. [0191-0193]; The NEF (the second device) sends a fourth group request to the UDM (third device) ... The fourth group request includes one or more of the internal group identifier of the group (the second information), the network slice information of the group (the edge application server deployment information). Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner interprets the claim as “sending, by the second device, the second information and the edge application server deployment information to the third device”).
Claim 5. Wang in view Wu discloses [t]he method according to claim 4,
Wang further discloses wherein the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information further comprises at least one of data network name (DNN), single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), application information, and domain name system (DNS) server information (See Parag. [0097]; The slice information (the edge application server deployment information) of the group may be, for example, single group management assistance information (single network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI)).
Claim 7. Wang in view of Wu discloses [t]he method according to claim 4,
Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose the method further comprising: after receiving the first subscription request, the second device requesting the third device to return the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or requesting the third device to return the edge application server deployment information and the second information.
However, Wu discloses after receiving the first subscription request, the second device requesting the third device to return the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or requesting the third device to return the edge application server deployment information and the second information (See Parag. [0172-0173]; The NEF sends a second message to the UDM/PCF, where the second message is used to subscribe to the terminal event ... after receiving the event information from the AF, the NEF may send a message to the UDM and the PCF separately. The message sent to the UDM may include a terminal identifier (or a group identifier), event type information, and an event correlation identifier. The message sent to the PCF includes the terminal identifier (or the group identifier), the event type information, the event correlation identifier, service description information, and a DNN/S-NSSAI/AF-service-ID. The event type information is determined based on the event type information provided by the AF, and may indicate a same event type, or a new event type generated for supporting the event that is to be subscribed to by the AF. Optionally, the NEF may map the AF-service-ID to the DNN/S-NSSAI. In this case, stored information is the DNN/S-NSSAI).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang, to include after receiving the first subscription request, the second device requesting the third device to return the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or requesting the third device to return the edge application server deployment information and the second information, as taught by Wu. This would be convenient in resolving the problem of how a network configures a corresponding terminal event and activates the reported event (Wu, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 15 is taught by Wang in view of Wu as described for claim 3.
Claim 16 is taught by Wang in view of Wu as described for claim 4.
Claim 17 is taught by Wang in view of Wu as described for claim 5.
Claim 19 is taught by Wang in view of Wu as described for claim 7.
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (Pub. No. US 2021/0076192); in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0060881), hereinafter Wang.
Claim 8. Wu discloses [a]n information transmission method, comprising:
obtaining, by a fourth device (“SMF”), edge application server deployment information comprising second information, wherein the second information is an internal group identifier; or obtaining, by the fourth device, edge application server deployment information and second information (See Parag. [0029]; ... when the terminal event is detected, sending a terminal event notification to a function entity (i.e., SMF) that subscribes to the terminal event, where the terminal event notification includes at least one of the following information an identifier of a terminal corresponding to the terminal event and an event correlation identifier of the terminal event, where the event correlation identifier is used to identify a correlation relationship between the terminal event and the function entity that subscribes to the terminal even. See Parag. [0204]; The terminal event may be an event that various types of statuses or information need to be obtained from the network, or the event type of the terminal event may be various defined terminal events. For example, the event type of the terminal event includes an event of terminal availability after DDN failure, a terminal reachability event, and the like);
wherein the second information is [a] group identifier (See Parag. [0029]; ... when the terminal event is detected, sending a terminal event notification to a function entity (i.e., SMF) that subscribes to the terminal event, where the terminal event notification includes at least one of the following information an identifier of a terminal corresponding to the terminal event),
wherein the obtaining, by the fourth device, the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information comprises:
sending, by the fourth device, a first subscription request to a second device, wherein the first subscription request carries a data network name (DNN) and/or single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) See Parag. [0029]; receiving a first message sent by a session management function entity (a fourth device), where the first message is used to subscribe to a terminal event. See Parag. [0007-0016]; the terminal event is subscribed to from the session management function entity that manages a specific service, and the session management function entity manages a network configuration subsequent to the terminal event ... when the terminal event is subscribed to from the session management function entity, the event correlation identifier and the event type information are carried. A function entity that subscribes to the terminal event may be identified based on the event correlation identifier, and an event type of the terminal event may be identified based on the event type information ... See Parag. [0204]; The terminal event may be an event that various types of statuses or information need to be obtained from the network, or the event type of the terminal event may be various defined terminal events. For example, the event type of the terminal event includes an event of terminal availability after DDN failure, a terminal reachability event, and the like. Further, the event type may be represented by an event ID. The event ID indicates a type of an event that is being subscribed to, for example, availability after DDN failure. See Parag. [0169-0170]; FIG. 5A is a schematic flowchart of an example of configuring, by an AF, subscription of a terminal event for a UDM/PCF using an NEF ... See Parag. [0215]; The function entity that subscribes to the terminal event may be the SMF. See also Parag. [0074-0075] [0133] [0201] [0214];
receiving, by the fourth device, the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information returned by the second device, wherein the fourth device is an SMF (See Parag. [0029]; ... when the terminal event is detected, sending a terminal event notification to a function entity (i.e., SMF) that subscribes to the terminal event, where the terminal event notification includes at least one of the following information an identifier of a terminal corresponding to the terminal event and an event correlation identifier of the terminal event, where the event correlation identifier is used to identify a correlation relationship between the terminal event and the function entity that subscribes to the terminal even. See Parag. [0204]; The terminal event may be an event that various types of statuses or information need to be obtained from the network, or the event type of the terminal event may be various defined terminal events. For example, the event type of the terminal event includes an event of terminal availability after DDN failure, a terminal reachability event, and the like).
Wu doesn’t explicitly disclose the group identifier as an internal group identifier; and wherein the second device is an NEF.
However, Wang discloses receiving the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information returned by the second device; wherein the second device is an NEF; and wherein the second information is an internal group identifier (See Parag. [0158]; where the group response carries the internal group identifier newly allocated by the UDM. Then, the NEF sends the group response to the AF. In this way, the NEF can obtain the internal group identifier corresponding to the external group identifier).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fourth device, taught by Wu, to receiving the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information returned by the second device; wherein the second device is an NEF; and wherein the second information is an internal group identifier, as taught by Wang. This would be convenient provide a solution provided for UE to establish and manage a session of the virtual LAN service when the virtual LAN service technology is used (Wang, Parag. [0005]).
Claim 21 is taught by Wu in view of Wang as described for claim 8.
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (Pub. No. US 2021/0076192); in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0060881), hereinafter Wang; and further in view of Shen (Pub. No. US 2025/0240241).
Claim 9. Wu in view of Wang discloses [t]he method according to claim 8,
Wu discloses the method further comprising:
generating, by the fourth device, third information based on the edge application server deployment information comprising the second information, or the edge application server deployment information and the second information, wherein the third information comprises: information identification and/or domain name system (DNS) information (See Parag. [0029]; receiving a first message sent by a session management function entity (the fourth device is an SMF), where the first message is used to subscribe to a terminal event, monitoring the subscribed terminal event, and when the terminal event is detected, sending a terminal event notification to a function entity (i.e., SMF) that subscribes to the terminal event, where the terminal event notification includes at least one of the following information an identifier of a terminal corresponding to the terminal event and an event correlation identifier of the terminal event, where the event correlation identifier is used to identify a correlation relationship between the terminal event and the function entity that subscribes to the terminal even. See Parag. [0204]; The terminal event may be an event that various types of statuses or information need to be obtained from the network, or the event type of the terminal event may be various defined terminal events. For example, the event type of the terminal event includes an event of terminal availability after DDN failure, a terminal reachability event, and the like);
Wu in view of Wang doesn’t explicitly discloses sending, by the fourth device, the third information to a fifth device, wherein the fifth device is an EASDF.
However, Shen wherein the third information comprises: information identification and/or domain name system (DNS) information; and sending, by the fourth device, the third information to a fifth device, wherein the fifth device is an EASDF (See Parag. [0272]; the SMF sends the selected EASDF a Neasdf_DNSContext_Create Request message carrying information such as a UE IP address, a SUPI, a DNN, a notification endpoint, and a DNS message processing rule).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Wu in view of Wang, to include sending, by the fourth device, the third information to a fifth device, wherein the fifth device is an EASDF, as taught by Shen. This would be convenient in providing high-quality edge computing services (Shen, Parag. [0004]).
Claim 22 is taught by Wu in view of Wang and Shen as described for claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shen et al. (US 2024/0414119) – Related art in the area of selecting edge application server, network element device, a terminal (UE, User Equipment) and a storage medium, (Abstract; The present disclosure relates to method and apparatus for selecting an edge application server, and element network device, user equipment and storage medium. The method includes: a user equipment receiving first indication information, which is sent by an SMF, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the priority of domain name system (DNS) information; and the user equipment making a DNS policy decision according to the first indication information, and sending a DNS query request to an EASDF, wherein the DNS query request is used by the EASDF to execute the discovery or selection of an edge application server (EAS)).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445