DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 6/28/24 and 6/19/24 all have been considered and placed of record. The three (3) initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “the insertion device” lacks proper antecedent basis. The claim should have depended on claim 15, 20 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-26, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burger et al. (US 2015/0151423A1).
Re claim 14, the reference discloses a battery connection apparatus 21 on a rechargeable battery 18 for releasably connecting the rechargeable battery to a power tool 1 (fig 1), the battery connection apparatus having, inter alia, an outer frame 47 (fig 4); and an inner frame 36 (fig 2), the inner frame including first and second contacts 31 (fig 3) and a holding device 43 (fig 5), the inner frame being positionable by at least one elastic element 52 (fig 3) in a force-loaded manner in at least one direction.
Re claim 15, the reference further discloses the outer frame 47 includes an insertion device 39 (fig 5).
Re claim 16, the reference further discloses the outer frame having a guide 49 (figs 4-5).
Re claim 17, the reference further discloses insertion device and the holding device having cutouts (shown as item 39 (fig 5)).
Re claim 18, the reference further discloses the battery is rechargeable and powered the tool 1 (para 1).
Re claim 19, the reference discloses a power tool connection apparatus 21 on a power tool 1 for releasably connecting the power tool 1 to a rechargeable battery 18, the power tool connection apparatus having, inter alia, an outer frame 47; and an inner frame 36, the inner frame including first and second contacts 31 and a holding device 43, the inner frame being positionable by at least one elastic element 52 in a force-loaded manner in at least one direction (same rejection as claim 14).
Re claim 20, the reference further discloses the outer frame 47 includes an insertion device 39 (fig 5).
Re claim 21, the reference further discloses the outer frame having a guide 49 (figs 4-5).
Re claim 22, the reference further discloses insertion device and the holding device having cutouts (shown as item 39 (fig 5)).
Re claim 23, the reference further discloses the battery is rechargeable and powered the tool 1 (para 1).
Re claim 24, the reference further discloses a system comprising: a power tool connection apparatus on a power tool; and a battery connection apparatus on a rechargeable battery, the battery connection apparatus including first and second contacts and the power tool connection apparatus including first and second mating contacts for releasable connection to each of the first and second contacts, the battery connection apparatus or the power tool connection apparatus including an outer frame and an inner frame, the inner frame being positionable by at least one elastic element in a force- loaded manner in at least one direction, and wherein the inner frame includes first and second contacts and also a holding device for releasably holding at least a portion of the first and second mating contacts in the inner frame or a further inner frame includes the first and second mating contact element and also a further holding device for releasably holding at least a portion of the first and second contacts in the inner frame. It is a combination of claims 14 and 19 and same rejections applied here.
Re claim 25, the reference further discloses the outer frame 47 includes an insertion device 39 (fig 5).
Re claim 26, the reference further discloses insertion device and the holding device having cutouts (shown as item 39 (fig 5)).
Re claim 28, the reference further discloses the outer frame having a guide 49 (figs 4-5).
Re claim 29, the reference further discloses the battery is rechargeable and powered the tool 1 (para 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger et al. (US 2015/0151423A1). The reference discloses a receiving region for holding the battery connection apparatus (fig 2). However, the reference does not disclose the specific length and width ratios between the different lengths and widths. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have devised the specific length and width to fit the particular tool and battery pack since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087
**All communications after 10/31/26 should be directed to SPE Drew Dunn at his phone number.