DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on May 24, 2024, August 7, 2025, and July 6, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The amendments to the specification received on May 6, 2024. These amendments to the specification are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onggosanusi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0329945 A1) in view of R1-2106941 (“Discussion on CSI enhancements for Rel-17”, August 16th-27th,2021) (This reference is cited in the IDS filed on 8/7/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Onggosanusi et al. teach a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1, 3A, and 8 @ 800), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity (read as eNB), a codebook configuration (Fig(s).1, 3A @ 8 @ 801)
determining, in accordance with the codebook configuration, channel state information (CSI) based on one or more factors (Fig.8 @ 805, 810); and
transmitting the CSI to the network entity.(Fig(s).1, 3A-3B; 8 @ 807, 812, and 9)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach a codebook configuration indicating at least two of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases, or
a number of non-zero coefficients;
The R1-2106941 document teaches a codebook configuration indicating at least two (read as “possible parameter combinations among codebook parameters of Rel-17 port selection codebook, e.g. {K1, Mv, Beta},”(Section 2, page 3) For example, “Exact parameters (e.g. with 2 or 3 parameters) within each combination are FFS”(Section 2, page 3)) of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases (read as FD bases (Section 2, page 1)), or
a number of non-zero coefficients (read as “A polarization-specific bitmap for indication non-zero coefficients …”(Section 2, page 2));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting codebook parameters using a port selection codebook as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the UE as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 6, Onggosanusi et al. teach a method for wireless communications by a network entity (Fig(s).1, 3B, 9 @ 900), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1, 3A, 8), a codebook configuration (Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, 8 @ 801, and 9 @ 901) and
receiving, from the UE (Fig(s).1, 3A, 8), channel state information (CSI) determined, in accordance with the codebook configuration, based on one or more factors. (Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, 8, and 9 @ 903)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach a codebook configuration indicating at least two of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases, or
a number of non-zero coefficients;
The R1-2106941 document teaches a codebook configuration indicating at least two (read as “possible parameter combinations among codebook parameters of Rel-17 port selection codebook, e.g. {K1, Mv, Beta},”(Section 2, page 3) For example, “Exact parameters (e.g. with 2 or 3 parameters) within each combination are FFS”(Section 2, page 3)) of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases (read as FD bases (Section 2, page 1)), or
a number of non-zero coefficients (read as “A polarization-specific bitmap for indication non-zero coefficients …”(Section 2, page 2));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting codebook parameters using a port selection codebook as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the base station as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 11, Onggosanusi et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1, 3A, 8), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.3A @ 340) and a memory (Fig.3A @ 360) configured to
receive, from a network entity, a codebook configuration (Fig(s).1, 3A @ 8 @ 801);
determine, in accordance with the codebook configuration, channel state information (CSI) based on one or more factors (Fig.8 @ 805, 810); and
transmit the CSI to the network entity. (Fig(s).1, 3A-3B; 8 @ 807, 812, and 9)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach a codebook configuration indicating at least two of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases, or
a number of non-zero coefficients;
The R1-2106941 document teaches a codebook configuration indicating at least two (read as “possible parameter combinations among codebook parameters of Rel-17 port selection codebook, e.g. {K1, Mv, Beta},”(Section 2, page 3) For example, “Exact parameters (e.g. with 2 or 3 parameters) within each combination are FFS”(Section 2, page 3)) of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases (read as FD bases (Section 2, page 1)), or
a number of non-zero coefficients (read as “A polarization-specific bitmap for indication non-zero coefficients …”(Section 2, page 2));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting codebook parameters using a port selection codebook as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the UE as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 16, Onggosanusi et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity (Fig(s).1, 3B, 9), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.3B @ 378) and a memory (Fig.3B @ 380) configured to
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1, 3A, 8), a codebook configuration and
receive, from the UE (Fig(s).1, 3A, 8), channel state information (CSI) determined, in accordance with the codebook configuration, based on one or more factors. (Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, 8, and 9 @ 903)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach a codebook configuration indicating at least two of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases, or
a number of non-zero coefficients;
The R1-2106941 document teaches a codebook configuration indicating at least two (read as “possible parameter combinations among codebook parameters of Rel-17 port selection codebook, e.g. {K1, Mv, Beta},”(Section 2, page 3) For example, “Exact parameters (e.g. with 2 or 3 parameters) within each combination are FFS”(Section 2, page 3)) of
a number of selected ports,
a number of spatial bases,
a number of frequency domain bases (read as FD bases (Section 2, page 1)), or
a number of non-zero coefficients (read as “A polarization-specific bitmap for indication non-zero coefficients …”(Section 2, page 2));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting codebook parameters using a port selection codebook as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the base station as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17, and as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 above, Onggosanusi et al. teach “Methods and apparatuses for CSI reporting mechanisms are provided. ”(Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, and 8-9; Abstract)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more factors comprise an applicability of the codebook configuration in terms of at least one of a number of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports or subbands.
The R1-2106941 document teaches a method wherein the one or more factors comprise an applicability of the codebook configuration in terms of at least one of a number of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports or subbands. (read as a number of CSI-RS ports (Section 2.1, page 3))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a number of CSI RS ports using a port selection codebook as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the base station and UE as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, and as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 above, Onggosanusi et al. teach “Methods and apparatuses for CSI reporting mechanisms are provided. ”(Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, and 8-9; Abstract)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the CSI comprises determining a number of non-zero coefficients KNZ by mapping candidate values to a set of codepoints of a KNZ indicator in increasing order.
The R1-2106941 document teaches a method wherein the CSI is determined by determining a number of non-zero coefficients KNZ by mapping candidate values to a set of codepoints in increasing order.(read as “the overhead of Mv=2 is significantly larger than that of Mv=1 due to more NZC reported and indication of NZC increased.”(Section 2, page 10))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for determining overhead based on NZC reported as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the base station and UE as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19, and as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 above, Onggosanusi et al. teach “Methods and apparatuses for CSI reporting mechanisms are provided. ”(Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, and 8-9; Abstract)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the CSI comprises determining a coefficients partitioning to non-zero coefficients other than the strongest non-zero coefficients of each layer.
The R1-2106941 document teaches a method wherein the CSI is determined by determining a coefficients partitioning to non-zero coefficients other than the strongest non-zero coefficients of each layer. (read as “• For coefficients other than the strongest coefficient
o differential amplitude is calculated relative to the associated polarization-specific reference amplitude and quantized to 3 bits”(Section 2, page 2))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for calculating a differential amplitude as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the base station and UE as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, and as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 above, Onggosanusi et al. teach “Methods and apparatuses for CSI reporting mechanisms are provided. ”(Fig(s).1, 3A-3B, and 8-9; Abstract)
However, Onggosanusi et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the CSI comprises determining a coefficients partitioning to non-zero coefficients based on an actual number of non-zero values and rank.
The R1-2106941 document clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the CSI is determined by determining a coefficients partitioning to non-zero coefficients based on an actual number of non-zero values and rank. (read as “At least for rank 1 and 2, for the compression coefficient Beta for non-zero coefficients of W2, values of Beta are {[1/4], 1/2, 3/4, 1} ”(Section 2, page 2))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for calculating a compression coefficient Beta for non-zero coefficients as taught by the R1-2106941 document with the base station and UE as taught by Onggosanusi et al. for the purpose of enhancing codebook architecture(s) by devices in a communication network.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Wang (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0193720 A1) teaches “a method for obtaining a Channel State Information (CSI) report and a communication apparatus.”(Fig(s).1-2 and 4; Paragraph [0002])
Rahman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0235790 A1) teaches “A method for operating a user equipment (UE) for channel state information (CSI) feedback in a wireless communication system is provided.”(Fig(s).1-3 and 14-15; Abstract)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
July 23, 2026