DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 12-13, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 4, 6, 7, 10 of claim 1, please spell out what “/” means.
In the last 3 lines of claim 1, “used for at least one of (i)… (ii)…or (iv)..etc. it is unclear if there (iii) is messed or just a typo. The examiner will interpret as a typo.
In line 3 of claim 2, please spell out what “/” means.
In line 2 of claim 5, please spell out what “/” means.
In line 2 of claim 9, please spell out what “/” means.
In lines 5, 7 of claim 12, please spell out what “/” means.
In lines 1, 4 of claim 13, please spell out what “/” means.
In the last 3 lines of claim 13, “used for at least one of (i)… (ii)…or (iv)..etc. it is unclear if there (iii) is messed or just a typo. The examiner will interpret as a typo.
In lines 3, 5 of claim 15, please spell out what “/” means.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "logic" in line 6. It is unclear if it means “an instruction stored in the control unit or it mean a logical comparison element. Note: for the purpose of examination the examiner will interpret the limitation such as “an instruction logarithm stored inside the control unit or stored a smart phone ” see ¶0032-¶0036 of the current specification.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "an application" in line 2. It is unclear if it means “a graphical user interface stored in the smart phone” or it means “the smart phone can be used as a tool for an entry input in the control unit ”. Note: for the purpose of examination the examiner will interpret the limitation such as “graphical user interface stored in the smart phone” see ¶0023 of the current specification.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "logic" in line 8. It is unclear if it means “an instruction stored in the control unit or it mean a logical comparison element. Note: for the purpose of examination the examiner will interpret the limitation such as “an instruction logarithm stored inside the control unit or stored a smart phone ” see ¶0032-¶0036 of the current specification.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "smart device" in line 1. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation in line 3 of claim 12 or it is referring to new limitation . Note: for the purpose of examination the examiner will interpret the limitation is referring to the limitation in claim 12..
Claim 15 recites the limitation "an application" in line 3. It is unclear if it means “a graphical user interface stored in the smart device” or it means “the smart device can be used as a tool for an entry input in the control unit ”. Note: for the purpose of examination the examiner will interpret the limitation such as “graphical user interface stored in the smart phone” see ¶0023 of the current specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 20100010423 A1 )(“Yu”).
Re claim 1, Yu discloses a peritoneal dialysis ("PD") system (Figs. 1-29, abstract, ¶0064) comprising: a PD machine (10) including a control unit storing a treatment prescription (APD controller, ¶0086) that provides at least one parameter for performing a PD treatment using the PD machine (¶0018); at least one sensor having an output indicative of a fluid/caloric intake by a PD patient (UF line by measuring fill and drain fluid volumes, ¶0082, ¶0174 or feature 22 /bio-impedance sensor, ¶0069, ¶0182, ¶0220, it is senses weight or blood pressure ¶00220); and logic configured to determine that the PD patient has performed a fluid/caloric intake based on the output from the at least one sensor (¶0010, ¶0200), the determination of the fluid/caloric intake used for at least one of (i) choosing one of a plurality of treatment prescriptions stored by the control unit for an upcoming treatment (¶0028, ¶0200), (ii) determining if a treatment prescription needs updating (¶0200), or (iv) developing a fluid/caloric intake trend (¶0024).
Re claim 2, Yu discloses which includes a cloud/mobile network in operable communication with the control unit (¶0011, ¶0068), and wherein the logic is implemented at the cloud/mobile network (¶0068).
Re claim 3, Yu discloses wherein the logic is implemented at the control unit of the PD machine (¶0011, ¶0126).
Re claim 4, Yu discloses which includes a smart device in operable communication with the at least one sensor (¶0068, cell phone), the smart device including an application configured to cooperate with the at least one sensor (¶0068, communication and software).
Re claim 5, Yu discloses wherein the application is configured to at least one of(i) provide information to the PD patient concerning the fluid/caloric intake and/or operation of the at least one sensor (¶0068, ¶0067, ¶0086) or (ii) receive information from the PD patient concerning the fluid/caloric intake (¶0068, ¶0067, ¶0086).
Re claim 6, Yu discloses wherein the logic is implemented by the application (¶0068).
Re claim 7, Yu discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to be worn by the PD patient (can be with blood pressure cuff that can be worn, ¶0182).
Re claim 10, Yu discloses which is configured to prompt the PD patient to perform a reference fluid/caloric intake to obtain a reference output from the at least one sensor (¶0068, ¶0136).
Re claim 11, Yu discloses wherein the reference fluid/caloric intake is of a known quantity, and wherein the logic is configured to determine a quantity of the fluid/caloric intake that the PD patient has consumed by comparing the output from the at least one sensor to the reference output and knowing the known quantity (¶0136).
Re claim 12, Yu discloses a peritoneal dialysis ("PD") system (Figs. 1-29, abstract, ¶0064) comprising: at least one sensor (UF line by measuring fill and drain fluid volumes, ¶0082, ¶0142, or feature 22 /bio-impedance sensor, ¶0069, ¶0182, ¶0220, it is senses weight or blood pressure ¶00220); a PD machine (10) including a control unit (APD controller, ¶0086), the control unit or a patient smart device (¶0068, cell phone) in communication with the control unit (¶0068) configured to prompt a PD patient to perform a reference fluid/caloric intake (target amount, ¶0144) to obtain a reference output from the at least one sensor (¶0068, ¶0142, ¶0144), the reference output including a known intake quantity (target amount, ¶0144); and logic configured to determine a quantity of a fluid/caloric intake that the PD patient has consumed by comparing an output from the at least one sensor (¶0010, ¶0200) to the reference output and knowing the known quantity (¶0144).
Re claim 13, Yu discloses wherein the determination of the quantity of the fluid/caloric intake is used for at least one of (i) choosing one of a plurality of treatment prescriptions stored by the control unit for an upcoming treatment (¶0028, ¶0200), (ii) determining if a treatment prescription needs updating (¶0200), or (iv) developing a fluid/caloric intake trend (¶0024).
Re claim 14, Yu discloses wherein the logic is implemented at (i) a cloud/mobile network in operable communication with the control unit (¶0011, ¶0068) or (ii) the control unit of the PD machine (¶0011, ¶0068).
Re claim 15, Yu discloses which includes a smart device (¶0068, cell phone) in operable communication with the at least one sensor (¶0068), the smart device including an application configured to at least one of the application is configured to at least one of(i) provide information to the PD patient concerning the fluid/caloric intake and/or operation of the at least one sensor (¶0068, ¶0067, ¶0086) or (ii) receive information from the PD patient concerning the fluid/caloric intake (¶0068, ¶0067, ¶0086).
Re claim 16, Yu discloses wherein the logic is implemented by the application (¶0068).
Re claim 17, Yu discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to be worn by the PD patient (can be with blood pressure cuff that can be worn, ¶0182).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Plahey et al. (US 20190083692 A1) (“ Plahey”).
Re claim 8, Yu fails to disclose wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor.
However, Plahey discloses a PD dialysis (Fig. 1-5) and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor (340 can be a motion sensor or a microphone/audio sensor, ¶0041).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the at least one sensor of Yu so that the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor as taught by Plahey for the purpose of using an art recognizing sensor for improving the dialysis treatment (Plahey, ¶0041).
Re claim 9, Yu fails to disclose wherein an output from the motion sensor is used to detect a fluid/caloric intake movement and an output from the microphone is used to detect a swallowing sound.
However, Plahey discloses a PD dialysis (Fig. 1-5) and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor (340 can be a motion sensor or a microphone/audio sensor, ¶0041) and wherein an output from the motion sensor is used to detect a fluid/caloric intake movement (flow rate, ¶0041)and an output from the microphone is used to detect a swallowing sound.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the at least one sensor of Yu so that an output from the motion sensor is used to detect a fluid/caloric intake movement and an output from the microphone is used to detect a swallowing sound as taught by Plahey for the purpose of using an art recognizing sensor for improving the dialysis treatment (Plahey, ¶0041).
Re claim 18, Yu fails to disclose wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor.
However, Plahey discloses a PD dialysis (Fig. 1-5) and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor (340 can be a motion sensor or a microphone/audio sensor, ¶0041).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the at least one sensor of Yu so that the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor as taught by Plahey for the purpose of using an art recognizing sensor for improving the dialysis treatment (Plahey, ¶0041).
Re claim 19, Yu fails to disclose wherein an output from the motion sensor is used to detect a fluid/caloric intake movement.
However, Plahey discloses a PD dialysis (Fig. 1-5) and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor (340 can be a motion sensor or a microphone/audio sensor, ¶0041) and wherein an output from the motion sensor is used to detect a fluid/caloric intake movement (flow rate, ¶0041)and an output from the microphone is used to detect a swallowing sound.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the at least one sensor of Yu so that an output from the motion sensor is used to detect a fluid/caloric intake movement as taught by Plahey for the purpose of using an art recognizing sensor for improving the dialysis treatment (Plahey, ¶0041).
Re claim 20, Yu fails to disclose wherein an output from the microphone is used to detect a swallowing sound.
However, Plahey discloses a PD dialysis (Fig. 1-5) and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor (340 can be a motion sensor or a microphone/audio sensor and it capable to detect sound such as swallowing sound ¶0041).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the at least one sensor of Yu so that the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, microphone or blood sugar sensor as taught by Plahey for the purpose of using an art recognizing sensor for improving the dialysis treatment (Plahey, ¶0041).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783