DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the adequate sterilization process" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend to, “the sterilization process”. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia (Document Identification No. WO 2020/217173 A1).
Concerning claims 1, 15 & 16, Xia discloses a sterilization system and method, comprising:
A sterilizer (104) having a chamber (112) configured to receive medical devices for sterilization (paragraphs 30-34); and
Providing a sensor (102) device disposed in the chamber (112), and exposing the sensor device to a sterilant in a sterilization process (Figure 1; paragraphs 30-37, 110 & 111);
Wherein the sensor device comprises:
A first electrode and a second electrode (214 and 216), each of the first and second electrodes being electrically coupled to an electrical bridge (208) as set forth in paragraphs 43-46 and 52;
The electrical bridge comprising:
A conductive polymer having a first impedance state and a second impedance state that is different than the first impedance sate (paragraphs 43-45, 48 & 49); and
A latent base (204) as set forth in paragraphs 45 & 57.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 6 and 7, Xia continues to disclose that the conductive polymer is configured to change from the first impedance state to the second impedance state in response to a change and exposure to one or more adequate environmental adequate environmental condition(s) comprising presence of a steam sterilant (paragraphs 47-49 and 111-113).
With respect to claims 4 & 5, the reference also discloses that the latent base (204) is configured to activate upon a change and exposure to an adequate environmental condition (paragraphs 57-59).
Regarding claim 8, Xia continues to disclose that the latent base (204) is disposed relative to the conductive polymer such that upon activation of the latent base (204) the conductive polymer changes from the first impedance state to the second impedance state (paragraphs 45-50).
Concerning claim 9, Xia further discloses that the first and second electrodes (214 and 216) are electrically coupled to the electrical bridge (208) such that when the conductive polymer is in the first impedance state, a first resistance is measurable across the first and second electrode (214 and 216), and when the when the conductive polymer is in the second impedance state a second resistance is measurable across the first and second electrode (214 and 216), and wherein the first resistance is different than the second resistance (paragraphs 43-47).
Concerning claims 10-12, Xia further discloses that the conductive polymer comprises a repeat unit of pyrrole or thiophene, and/or comprises an acid doped polyaniline (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 13, Xia continues to disclose that the latent base (204) comprises a metal carbonate (paragraphs 57, 77 & 130).
With respect to claim 14, Xia also discloses that the electrical bridge (208) further comprises a polymeric binder and wherein the conductive polymer and latent base (204) are dispersed in the polymeric binder (paragraphs 47-51, 56, 101 and 102).
With respect to claim 17, Xia also discloses that the sterilant comprise at least 95% saturated steam and the adequate sterilization process is at least 132 degrees Celsius for at least 2 minutes or at least 121 degrees Celsius for at least 8 minutes (paragraph 111).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-14 of copending Application No. 18/555,642 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-17 are met by claims 1-4 and 6-14 of the reference application. More specifically, each disclose a sterilization system and method that includes a sterilizer having a chamber configured to receive medical devices for sterilization by providing a sensor device disposed in the chamber, and exposing the sensor device to a sterilant in a sterilization process (claims 11-13 of the reference application). Each further disclose that the sensor device includes a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein each of the first and second electrodes are electrically coupled to an electrical bridge (claim 1 of reference application). Further, each disclose that the electrical bridge includes a conductive polymer having a first impedance state and a second impedance state that is different than the first impedance sate (claim 1 of reference application), and a latent base (as broadly defined, the metal containing particles and/or polymeric binder as set forth in claims 1, 6 & 7 of the reference application will meet the limitations of a latent base).
As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799