DETAILED ACTION
Change of Examiner
This application has been reassigned to Examiner Valenrod whose contact information is provided in the conclusion portion of this document.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 14-15, 24-26, 28-29, 33-34, 39-40, 45, 51-52, 57, 59-61, 69-70 and 78 in the reply filed on 7/15/26 is acknowledged. Election of compound I-3 as a species for examination is acknowledged. Examiner is interpreting election of I-3 to encompass the salts I-3a, I-3b, I-3c. I-3e and I-3j.
Claims 80-84, 89, 92 and 95 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/15/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 29, 34, 40 and 52 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims are directed to crystal forms of compounds I-3, I-3a, I-3b, I-3c and I-3j characterized by X-ray powder diffraction pattern containing at least three characteristic peaks selected from numerous peaks listed in the claims. Applicants have support for crystal forms of the compounds recited above where all the peaks recited in the claims are present. However, the claims encompass crystal forms that have only three or only four of the listed peaks and not others. There is no evidence that such crystal forms were prepared or that applicant was in possession of non-exemplified polymorphs. Preparation of new crystal forms with predetermined x-ray powder diffraction peaks is not currently possible.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite specific species within the scope of compound of formula (I). The claims also recite “stereoisomer thereof”. Since the recited compounds are not chiral, as lack a stereocenter, it is not clear what the limitation “stereoisomer thereof” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-11, 14, 24-26, 28, 33, 39, 51, 57, 59-61, 69, 70, 78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slassi et al (CA 3,166,936; publication date 8/12/21) in view of Chedeayne et al (WO 2018/148605) and Berge et al (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 1977, 66(1) 1-19).
Scope of prior art
Slassi teaches compound I-45 or pharmaceutically acceptable sale thereof (page 47). Compound I-45 has the same structure as the elected compound I-3. Slassi also teaches formulating the compound into a composition and various routes of administration (paragraphs [00149]-[00150]). Art teaches adjusting pH of the composition via addition of a buffer. Slassi teaches reconstitution from a solid form (paragraph [00156]). Lastly, in paragraph [00215] Art teaches purification of products using various techniques including recrystallization (last 3 lines).
Ascertaining the difference
Slassi teaches compound I-45 and pharmaceutically acceptable salts, but fails to recite the anion for the salt.
Slassi teaches use of a buffer but does not recite citric acid used as a buffer.
Secondary reference
Chadeayne teaches preparation of composition comprising psilocin and teaches addition of a buffer to the composition. On page 45, lines 5-12, art teaches addition of a stabilizer, referring to a compound useful for preventing degradation of the active ingredient. As a stabilizer art teaches use of buffers (p 45, line 12). With regards to buffer, art teaches addition of a weak acid and a corresponding conjugate base and lists citric acid as a suitable acid for use as a buffer. (page 45, last paragraph – page 46 lines 1-12).
Berge teaches the currently claimed anions as FDA approved anions for pharmaceutical salts (page 2, Table 1).
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to prepare a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound I-45 of Slassi. Since Slassi teaches both free base and salts of the compound, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to prepare a composition comprising free base or a salt. While Slassi does not identify which salts to prepare, it would have been obvious to use one of the FDA approved anions taught by Berge as a counterion for the positively charged ammonium ion.
A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to add a citric acid based buffer to the composition. Chadeayne teaches formulations comprising psilocin based compounds and teaches that a buffer serves as a stabilizer that reduces the degradation of the active agent. Since art describes citric acid can be used as a buffer, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to add citric acid/citrate buffer with an expectation that degradation of psilocin derivative of Slassi would be reduced.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 14-15, 24-26, 28-29, 33-34, 39-40, 45, 51-52, 57, 59-61, 69-70, 78, 80-84, 89, 92 and 95 are pending
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 14-15, 24-26, 28-29, 33-34, 39-40, 45, 51-52, 57, 59-61, 69-70 and 78 are rejected
Claims 80-84, 89, 92 and 95 are withdrawn
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628