Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to a communication received on July 3, 2026.
This application has been reassigned to a new examiner, the examiner’s contact information is found at the end of this office action.
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 18, 19, 23, 25, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33, and 37-39 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 15-17, 20-22, 24, 26, 28, 31, and 34-36 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments received July 3, 2026 have been considered. The rejection has been reconsidered in light of applicants’ amendments. The 35 USC §103 rejection is hereby withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection has been made in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 15-17, 20-22, 24, 26, 28, 31, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US 11637670, hereinafter “Lin”)
Regarding claims 1 and 35, Lin teaches a resource configuration method performed by a network device, comprising:
sending configuration indication information and/or resource configuration information of a target reference signal to a terminal device in an idle mode or in an inactive mode, by using system information block SIB messages (col. 14, ll. 28-39, 51-65, col. 13, ll. 16-20, col. 43, ll. 59-61, wherein the gNB transmits to the UE an indication that configuration is in a idle mode CSI-RS/TRS, wherein the indication and configuration can be in system information, which can be a system information block, please note, only either the configuration indication information or resource configuration is required to anticipate this claim);
wherein the configuration indication information is configured to indicate a generation method of the resource configuration information of the target reference signal (col. 14, ll. 28-36, wherein the system information can indicate idle mode CSI-RS/TRS);
the resource configuration information (please note this isn’t required if the prior art teaches the configuration indication information, as claimed, Lin additionally teaches col. 14, ll. 58-65, wherein the UE can receive idle most configuration of TRS) comprises at least one of the following:
a first parameter set applied to a single target reference signal resource;
a second parameter set applied to each target reference signal resource in a target reference signal resource set (see col. 15, ll. 4-7, wherein the parameters of the resource configuration can be for each resource in each resources set);
a third parameter set applied to each target reference signal resource in each target reference signal resource set in a target reference signal resource set group,
wherein the resource configuration information comprises: configuration information generated using a first method or configuration information generated using a second method (Note: this isn’t required since Lin teaches the configuration indication information and the resource configuration information is alternatively claimed, additionally, applicant’s specification indicates that the first and second methods can be either the configurations are in connected or idle mode (see ¶136), Lin col. 14, ll. 31-36 teaches that the configuration can be indicating resources in an idle mode, which is one of the disclosed generation methods taught in the specification).
Regarding claims 20 and 36, Lin teaches a resource configuration method performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving configuration indication information and/or resource configuration information of a target reference signal sent by a network device through system information block SIB messages (col. 14, ll. 28-39, 51-65, col. 13, ll. 16-20, col. 43, ll. 59-61, wherein the gNB transmits to the UE an indication that configuration is in a idle mode CSI-RS/TRS, wherein the indication and configuration can be in system information, which can be a system information block, please note, only either the configuration indication information or resource configuration is required to anticipate this claim);
wherein, the configuration indication information is configured to indicate a generation method of the resource configuration information of the target reference signal;
the resource configuration information (Note: this isn’t required if the prior art teaches the configuration indication information, as claimed, Lin additionally teaches col. 14, ll. 58-65, wherein the UE can receive idle most configuration of TRS) comprises at least one of the following:
a first parameter set applied to a single target reference signal resource;
a second parameter set applied to each target reference signal resource in a target reference signal resource set (see col. 15, ll. 4-7, wherein the parameters of the resource configuration can be for each resource in each resources set);
a third parameter set applied to each target reference signal resource in each target reference signal resource set in a target reference signal resource set groups,
wherein the resource configuration information comprises: configuration information generated using a first method or configuration information generated using a second method (Note: this isn’t required since Lin teaches the configuration indication information and the resource configuration information is alternatively claimed, additionally, applicant’s specification indicates that the first and second methods can be either the configurations are in connected or idle mode (see ¶136), Lin col. 14, ll. 31-36 teaches that the configuration can be indicating resources in an idle mode, which is one of the disclosed generation methods taught in the specification)..
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Lin teaches the method according to claims 1 and 20, wherein the target reference signal resource set group satisfies at least one of the following:
a maximum quantity is less than or equal to 6;
a quantity of occupied bits is less than or equal to 3.
(Note, this is alternatively claimed limitation in claim 1. Lin teaches sending a configuration indication information as required in claim 1, the resource configuration information is alternatively claimed. Whether there is a target resource signal resource set group is an alternative of that alterative. Since Lin teaches the configuration indicate information, it anticipates this feature since that limitation is alternatively claimed in claim 1)
Regarding claims 3 and 22, Lin teaches the method according to claims 1 and 20, wherein the configuration indication information is configured to indicate whether the resource configuration information is generated by the first method or the second method (Note: there is no context to any of the claimed “methods”, any configuration information is generated using a method. Lin, col. 14, ll. 31-36, additionally teaches an indication that the CSI-RS/TRS are configured within the idle mode) ; or
when the resource configuration information is generated by using the first method (this is a contingent limitation (see MPEP §2111.04(II)), there exists an embodiment where the resource configuration information is not generated using the first method, so BRI doesn’t include any of these additional process steps), the resource configuration information satisfies one of the following:
there are simultaneously the first parameter set, the second parameter set and the third parameter set;
there are simultaneously the second parameter set and the third parameter set;
there is only the first parameter set and/or there are simultaneously the second parameter set and the third parameter set.
Regarding claims 5 and 24, Lin teaches the method according to claims 1 and 20, wherein the target reference signal comprises: channel-state-information reference signal CSI-RS, the CSI-RS is a channel tracking reference signal TRS (see col. 14, ll. 51-65, wherein the configuration is for CSI-RS/TRS).
Regarding claims 7 and 26, Lin teaches the method according to claims 1 and 20, wherein the first parameter set comprises at least one of the following parameters:
scrambling identification of the target reference signal;
a validity duration of the target reference signal indicated based on layer-one signaling;
and/or,
the second parameter set comprises at least one of the following parameters:
scrambling identification of the target reference signal;
periodicity and an offset value of the target reference signal;
quasi co-location QCL reference;
quantity of slots in which the target reference signal is located;
identification of the target reference signal resource set;
a validity duration of the target reference signal indicated based on layer-one signaling;
and/or,
the third parameter set comprises at least one of the following parameters:
periodicity and an offset value of the target reference signal;
a value of a frequency-domain starting resource block RB;
quantity of RBs occupied by a frequency domain;
a validity duration of the target reference signal indicated based on layer-one signaling;
quantity of slots in which the target reference signal is located;
a ratio of a power of each resource element in a non-zero power target reference signal to a power of each resource element in synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block SS/PBCH block;
identification of the target reference signal resource set group.
(Note: The first, second, and third parameters are alternative limitations of the resource configuration information, and the resource configuration information, is itself an alternative requirement with the configuration indication information. Lin teaches the configuration indication information as mapped in claim 1, so it teaches the alternative. Additionally, BRI of claim 7 is any of the alternative features claimed here, so as Lin also teaches a second parameter set, as mapped in claim 1, one of the further limitations of claim 7, limiting the first or third parameter, would still be anticipated by showing the second parameter set.)
Regarding claims 9 and 28, Lin teaches the method according to claims 7 and 27, wherein the quantity of slots in which the target reference signal is located satisfies at least one of the following: occupying 0 to 2 bits; indication through an explicit or implicit manner; and/or, the validity duration of the target reference signal indicated based on layer-one signaling satisfies at least one of the following: a quantity of occupied bits is less than or equal to 4; a maximum quantity is less than or equal to 16.
(Note: The first, second, and third parameters are alternative limitations of the resource configuration information, and the resource configuration information, is itself an alternative requirement with the configuration indication information. Lin teaches the configuration indication information as mapped in claim 1, so it teaches the alternative. Additionally, BRI of claim 7 is any of the alternative features claimed here, so as Lin also teaches a second parameter set, as mapped in claim 1, one of the further limitations of claim 7, limiting the first or third parameter, would still be anticipated by showing the second parameter set. The BRI of claim 9 only limits one of the multiple alternative limitations of claim 7, so if another embodiment is taught amount all the various alternative possible limitations, then claim 9 is anticipated according to the BRI as long as any one alternative limitation is taught. Lin shows the configuration indication information of claim 1 as mapped)
Regarding claims 12 and 31, Lin teaches the method according to claims 1 and 20, wherein the target reference signal resource set satisfies at least one of the following: a maximum quantity is less than or equal to 128; a quantity of occupied bits is less than or equal to 7; and/or, the target reference signal resource satisfies at least one of the following: a maximum quantity is less than or equal to 89; a quantity of occupied bits is less than or equal to 7.
(Note: The first, second, and third parameters are alternative limitations of the resource configuration information, and the resource configuration information, is itself an alternative requirement with the configuration indication information. Lin teaches the configuration indication information as mapped in claim 1, so it teaches the alternative. The BRI of claim 12 further narrows an element of the second and third parameter sets, however they are additionally being claimed in the alternative, so the BRI includes any of the possible iterations of the alternative limitations of claim 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 15, Lin teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending receiving indication information to the terminal device, wherein the receiving indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal device is to receive the target reference signal (see col. 22, ll. 23-26; col. 23, ll. 20-23, wherein the information can be transmitted to the UE that indicates whether the UE is part of a group to received CSI-RS/TRS signals).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches the method according to claim15, wherein sending the receiving indication information to the terminal device comprises: determining the layer-one signaling used for sending the receiving indication information; sending the receiving indication information to the terminal device through the layer-one signaling (see col. 23, ll. 13-23, wherein DCI format is used to provide the MTC).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein determining the layer-one signaling used for sending the receiving indication information comprises: determining, based on first information, the layer-one signaling used for sending the receiving indication information; wherein, the first information comprises at least one of the following: terminal capability information; second information, wherein the second information comprises: indication information of a sending method, wherein the indication information of the sending method is configured to indicate that the receiving indication information is sent to the terminal device through at least one of a paging early indication PEI and paging downlink control information DCI; wherein the terminal capability information is capability of whether the terminal device supports detection of the receiving indication information carried by at least one of the PEI and the paging DCI (see col. 23, ll. 13-23 and col. 23, l. 64- col. 24, l. 7 wherein the paging downlink DCI is used to determine the layer 1 signaling to be used to send the MTC and the UE can be notified whether to expect CSI-RS/TRS based upon UE capability information).
Regarding claim 34, Lin teaches the method according to claim 20, further comprising: receiving, from a network device, receiving indication information, wherein the receiving indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal device is to receive the target reference signal (col. 23, ll. 20-36 and col. 24, ll. 1-7, wherein the MTC can be provided to identified UEs); when the receiving indication information indicates the terminal device to receive the target reference signal, receiving the target reference signal based on the resource configuration information of the target reference signal (col. 22, ll. 30-48, wherein the MTC is used to receive CSI-RS/TRS signals).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472