DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 05/06/2024 is received prior to the examination of the instant application and has not introduced any new matter, thus, has been entered and is examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-18 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0263560 A1 to Cai et al. (hereafter refers as Cai) in view of US 2022/0217567 A1 to Ren et al. (hereafter refers as Ren).
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Cai teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for channel state information (CSI) reporting (a method performed by a UE for reporting CSI, paragraphs [246-247, 273-274] and Fig. 2-3), and a user equipment for performing channel state information (CSI) reporting (the UE for reporting CSI, paragraphs [246-247, 273-274] and Fig. 2-3), comprising:
a transceiver (the UE includes a transceiver unit, paragraphs [337, 340, 354, 356]), a processor (the UE includes a processor, paragraphs [354-358, 363-369, 375-377]), and a memory (the UE includes a memory, paragraphs [354-355, 363, 369]), said memory containing instructions executable by the processor whereby the UE is operative to perform a method (wherein the memory stores instructions which when executed by the processor, cause the UE to perform the method, paragraphs [354-358, 363-369, 375-377]), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration of one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for channel measurements (receiving a configuration on reference signal resources for channel measurements/estimations, paragraphs [160, 180, 214, 249]);
performing the channel measurements on the one or more CSI-RS resources according to the received configuration (performing the channel measurements/estimations on the one or more CSI-RS resources, paragraphs [124, 132, 157, 160, 180, 214, 249, 258]);
determining one of:
a set of spatial domain basis vectors (determining at least spatial domain basis vectors, paragraphs [141-142, 149-152]), a set of frequency domain basis vectors (a set of frequency domain basis vectors, paragraphs [163-167]) and a set of combination coefficients for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors (a set/plurality of spatial frequency combination coefficients, paragraphs [173, 179-181]);
a set of spatial domain basis vectors (determining at least spatial domain basis vectors, paragraphs [141-142, 149-152]) and a set of frequency domain basis vectors (a set of frequency domain basis vectors, paragraphs [163-167]); and
sending a CSI report to a network node (the UE sends a CSI report to a base station/network node, paragraphs [122, 180]), the CSI report comprising an indication of one of the set of combination coefficients (wherein the CSI report comprising at least indication of one of spatial frequency combination coefficients, paragraphs [180, 214]).
However, Cai does not explicitly teach determining “time-domain information” or a plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors “for one or more time steps” and “an indication of the time-domain information” or “an indication of the plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for the one or more time steps”.
Ren teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for channel state information (CSI) reporting (a method performed by a UE for reporting CSI, paragraphs [442-443, 450, 476-477] and Fig. 4, 6), and a user equipment for performing channel state information (CSI) reporting (the UE for reporting CSI, paragraphs [442-443, 450, 476-477] and Fig. 4, 6), comprising:
a transceiver (transceiver unit, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [107, 482, 486, 487, 490-492]), a processor (transceiver unit, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [486, 487, 491-492]), and a memory (a memory, Fig. 8-9 and paragraphs [493-494, 503, 510-512]), said memory containing instructions executable by the processor whereby the UE is operative to perform a method (wherein the memory stores instructions which when executed by the processor, cause the UE to perform the method, paragraphs [354-358, 363-369, 375-377]), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration of one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for channel measurements (receiving a configuration specifying CSI reference signal resources, i.e. timing and quantity of transmissions, for channel measurement, paragraphs [203-205, 207-210, 313-318, 403]);
performing the channel measurements on the one or more CSI-RS resources according to the received configuration (performing the channel measurements on CSI reference signals during the CSI-RS timing(s), paragraphs [203-205, 207-210, 403]);
determining one of:
a set of combination coefficients for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors (a set/plurality of spatial frequency combination coefficients, paragraphs [198, 254, 332, 350, 469]) and time-domain information (determining time domain information associated with a set of combination coefficients, paragraphs [220-223, 281, 332-335]);
a plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors for one or more time steps (a weighted coefficient of each component characteristic, paragraphs [272-274], wherein the component characteristic is a change of spatial-frequency coefficient of each of spatial -frequency vector pairs with time, [188, 278-279, 301-303, 480]); and
sending a CSI report to a network node (sending a CSI report to a network device, Fig. 4, step 440 and paragraphs [338, 442-446]), the CSI report comprising an indication of one of the set of combination coefficients (wherein the CSI report comprising an indication of spatial frequency vector pairs, paragraph [338]) and an indication of the time-domain information (and the time domain information, abstract and paragraphs [220, 273, 278, 332]), and an indication of the plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for the one or more time steps (an indication of weighting coefficient per layer of spatial-frequency vector pair for one or more times, abstract and paragraphs [220, 273, 278, 332]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of determining time-domain information or a plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors for one or more time steps, and the CSI report comprising an indication of one of the set of combination coefficients and an indication of the time-domain information, and an indication of the plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for the one or more time steps as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing time domain information associated with the measurement, thus provide a comprehensive feedback on a status of a channel (see Ren, paragraphs [4-7, 272-276]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cai and Ren further teaches comprising receiving a CSI reporting configuration, the CSI reporting configuration indicating reporting an indication of one of the set of combination coefficients (indicating one or more combination coefficients to be reported, see Cai, paragraphs [160, 180, 214, 249]) and an indication of the time-domain information (and time domain information to be reported, see Ren, paragraphs [360, 385, 396, 398]), and, an indication of the plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for the one or more time steps (and weighting coefficient per layer of spatial-frequency vector pair for one or more times to be reported, abstract and paragraphs [220, 273, 278, 332, 360, 385, 398]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cai and Ren further teaches when the CSI reporting configuration indicates reporting the indication of the set of combination coefficients and the indication of the time-domain information, further comprising:
determining a compressed beam-delay domain channel based on the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors (determining delay associated with beam based on the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors, see Ren, paragraphs [152, 173, 177], which is compressed, see Ren, paragraphs [188, 195, 206, 225-228]); and
determining the time-domain information of the compressed beam-delay domain channel (determining the time vary(s) of the compressed beam-delay, see Ren, paragraphs [37, 152, 176, 206, 210, 266, 275, 327]),
wherein the set of combination coefficients is computed for a single time step (wherein the set of combinations coefficients is determined for one time point, see Ren, paragraph [21, 50, 52, 154-161, 322, 326]), and wherein the CSI report further comprises the indication of the set of spatial domain basis vectors (sending CSI report including indication of spatial domain vectors, see Cai, abstract and paragraphs [4, 173, 205, 311]) and the indication of the set of frequency domain basis vectors (and an indication of a plurality of frequency domain vectors, see Cai, abstract and paragraphs [4, 173, 205]).
Regarding claim 4, Ren further teaches wherein the CSI reporting configuration further comprises at least one of:
one or more time steps over which the time-domain information is determined (specifying a plurality of time points for time-domain measurements, paragraphs [15, 37, 48, 208, 307, 308, 319]); and
a quantity of the one or more time steps (specifying a quantity of time points for time-domain measurements, paragraphs [15, 37, 48, 208, 307, 308, 319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the CSI reporting configuration further comprises at least one of: one or more time steps over which the time-domain information is determined; and a quantity of the one or more time steps as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing necessary information for determining time-domain information (see Ren, paragraphs [15, 37, 48, 208, 307, 308, 319]).
Regarding claim 5, Ren further teaches wherein the indication of the time-domain information comprises a quantization and approximation of a time-domain correlation matrix (wherein the indication of the time-domain information, i.e. time varies of channel characteristics, comprises a quantization, paragraphs [10, 45, 422, 436, 438, 464], and approximation of a time-domain correlation matrix, paragraphs [188, 257, 274, 279, 371, 375]) by a linear combination of a set of basis vectors (by a linear combination of basis vectors, paragraphs [189, 352, 371]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the indication of the time-domain information comprises a quantization and approximation of a time-domain correlation matrix by a linear combination of a set of basis vectors as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing the time-domain correlation matrix for the set of basis vectors, thus providing a comprehensive feedback on a status of a channel (see Ren, paragraphs [4-7, 15, 37, 48, 208, 272-276, 307, 308, 319]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cai and Ren further teaches wherein the set of basis vectors are discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) vectors (wherein the set of basis vectors are DFT vectors, see Cai, paragraphs [143-146, 151-153, 210-212], see Ren, paragraphs [158-160, 165, 371, 414]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cai and Ren further teaches wherein the indication of the time-domain information comprises indices of basis vectors selected from the set of basis vectors (wherein the indication comprises indexes of basis vector selected, see Cai, paragraphs [184, 189, 210, 214, 258], see Ren, paragraphs [27, 29, 234, 401, 419, 422]).
Regarding claim 11, Ren further teaches wherein at least one of the set of the combination coefficients or the plurality of sets of combination coefficients comprise combination coefficients for one or more previous time steps (wherein the set of combination coefficients comprises combination coefficients for one or more times, prior to the future measurements, paragraphs [256, 261, 266, 464, 469-470] and Fig. 2, 3f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein at least one of the set of the combination coefficients or the plurality of sets of combination coefficients comprise combination coefficients for one or more previous time steps as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of using the combination coefficients for one or more previous time steps to predict the combination coefficients, thus increase efficiency in determining the channel characteristics (see Ren, paragraphs [256, 261, 266, 464, 469-470] and Fig. 2, 3f).
Regarding claim 12, Ren further teaches wherein at least one of the set of the combination coefficients or the plurality of sets of combination coefficients comprise predictions of combination coefficients for one or more future time steps (wherein the set of combination coefficients comprises predictions of combination coefficients for one or more future times, paragraphs [256, 261, 266, 464, 469-470]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein at least one of the set of the combination coefficients or the plurality of sets of combination coefficients comprise predictions of combination coefficients for one or more future time steps as taught by Ren, with the teachings of set of the combination coefficients as taught by Cai, for a purpose of determining a precoding matrix adapted for future channel (see Ren, paragraphs [10, 45, 256, 261, 469-470]).
Regarding claim 13, Ren further teaches wherein a time step of the one or more time steps corresponds to a resolution of one of the plurality of the sets of combination coefficients in a time domain (wherein the time unit corresponds to determination of one of sets of combination coefficients in a time domain, paragraphs [12-15, 199, 221-223, 228, 256]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of time step of the one or more time steps corresponds to a resolution of one of the plurality of the sets of combination coefficients in a time domain as taught by Ren, with the teachings of set of the combination coefficients as taught by Cai, for a purpose of determining the sets of combination coefficients at particular time unit/step, thus enabling prediction of the combination coefficients (see Ren, paragraphs [12-15, 199, 221-223, 228, 256]).
Regarding claim 14, Cai teaches a method performed by a network node for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report (a method performed by a network device for receiving an CSI, paragraphs [246-247, 273-274] and Fig. 2-3), the method comprising:
sending, to user equipment (UE), a configuration of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for channel measurements (transmitting, to a UE, a configuration on reference signal resources for channel measurements/estimations, paragraphs [160, 180, 214, 249]); and
receiving a CSI report from the UE (receiving a CSI report, from the UE, paragraphs [180, 214]),
the CSI report comprising one of:
an indication of a set of spatial domain basis vectors (spatial domain basis vectors, paragraphs [141-142, 149-152]), an indication of a set of frequency domain basis vectors (a set of frequency domain basis vectors, paragraphs [163-167]), an indication of a set of combination coefficients for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors (wherein the CSI report comprising at least indication of one of spatial frequency combination coefficients, paragraphs [180, 214]).
However, Cai does not explicitly teach indication of “time-domain information”.
Ren teaches a method performed by a network node for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report (a method performed by a network node for receiving CSI report, paragraphs [442-443, 450, 476-477] and Fig. 4, 6), the method comprising:
sending, to user equipment (UE), a configuration of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for channel measurements (sending, to a UE, a configuration specifying CSI reference signal resources, i.e. timing and quantity of transmissions, for channel measurement, paragraphs [203-205, 207-210, 313-318, 403]); and
receiving a CSI report from the UE (receiving a CSI report from the UE, Fig. 4, step 440 and paragraphs [338, 442-446]),
the CSI report comprising one of:
an indication of a set of combination coefficients for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors (wherein the CSI report comprising an indication of spatial frequency vector pairs, paragraph [338]), and an indication of time-domain information (and the time domain information, abstract and paragraphs [220, 273, 278, 332]), or
an indication of a plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors for one or more time steps (an indication of weighting coefficient per layer of spatial-frequency vector pair for one or more times, abstract and paragraphs [220, 273, 278, 332]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the CSI report comprising one of: an indication of a set of combination coefficients for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors or an indication of a plurality of sets of combination coefficients per layer for combining the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors for one or more time steps as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing time domain information associated with the measurement, thus provide a comprehensive feedback on a status of a channel (see Ren, paragraphs [4-7, 272-276]).
Regarding claim 15, Ren further teaches wherein, the time-domain information is determined for a compressed beam-delay domain channel which is determined based on the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors (wherein the time-domain information is determined for a delay associated with beam based on the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors, see Ren, paragraphs [152, 173, 177], which is compressed, paragraphs [188, 195, 206, 225-228]); and
the set of combination coefficients is determined for a single time step (wherein the set of combinations coefficients is determined for one time point, see Ren, paragraph [21, 50, 52, 154-161, 322, 326]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein, the time-domain information is determined for a compressed beam-delay domain channel which is determined based on the set of spatial domain basis vectors and the set of frequency domain basis vectors and the set of combination coefficients is determined for a single time step as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing time domain information associated with the measurement, thus provide a comprehensive feedback on a status of a channel (see Ren, paragraphs [4-7, 272-276]).
Regarding claim 16, Ren further teaches sending a CSI reporting configuration to the UE, wherein the CSI reporting configuration comprises at least one of:
an indication of the one or more time steps over which the time-domain information is determined (specifying a plurality of time points for time-domain measurements, paragraphs [15, 37, 48, 208, 307, 308, 319]); and
an indication of a quantity of the one or more time steps (specifying a quantity of time points for time-domain measurements, paragraphs [15, 37, 48, 208, 307, 308, 319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the CSI reporting configuration further comprises at least one of: one or more time steps over which the time-domain information is determined; and a quantity of the one or more time steps as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing necessary information for determining time-domain information (see Ren, paragraphs [15, 37, 48, 208, 307, 308, 319]).
Regarding claim 17, Ren further teaches wherein the indication of the time-domain information comprises a quantization and approximation of a time-domain correlation matrix (wherein the indication of the time-domain information, i.e. time varies of channel characteristics, comprises a quantization, paragraphs [10, 45, 422, 436, 438, 464], and approximation of a time-domain correlation matrix, paragraphs [188, 257, 274, 279, 371, 375]) by a linear combination of a set of basis vectors (by a linear combination of basis vectors, paragraphs [189, 352, 371]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the indication of the time-domain information comprises a quantization and approximation of a time-domain correlation matrix by a linear combination of a set of basis vectors as taught by Ren, with the teachings of Cai, for a purpose of providing the time-domain correlation matrix for the set of basis vectors, thus providing a comprehensive feedback on a status of a channel (see Ren, paragraphs [4-7, 15, 37, 48, 208, 272-276, 307, 308, 319]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cai and Ren further teaches wherein the indication of the time- domain information comprises indices of basis vectors selected from the set of basis vectors (wherein the indication comprises indexes of basis vector selected, see Cai, paragraphs [184, 189, 210, 214, 258], see Ren, paragraphs [27, 29, 234, 401, 419, 422]).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0263560 A1 to Cai et al. (hereafter refers as Cai) in view of US 2022/0217567 A1 to Ren et al. (hereafter refers as Ren) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0403668 A1 to Zhang et al. (hereafter refers as Zhang).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combination of Cai and Ren does not explicitly teach wherein the indication of the information comprises “eigenvectors of a time-domain correlation matrix”.
Zhang teaches an indication of the information comprises eigenvectors of a time-domain correlation matrix (CSI reporting comprising time-domain information, abstract and paragraphs [161-163], comprising eigenvectors of time-domain correlation matrix, paragraph [177]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein at least one of the set of the combination coefficients or the plurality of sets of combination coefficients comprise predictions of combination coefficients for one or more future time steps as taught by Zhang, with the teachings of set of the combination coefficients as taught by combination of Cai and Ren, for a purpose of increase efficiency by provide a detail time-domain information (see Zhang, paragraphs [161-163, 177]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0263560 A1 to Cai et al. (hereafter refers as Cai) in view of US 2022/0217567 A1 to Ren et al. (hereafter refers as Ren) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2023/0262728 A1 to Wu et al. (hereafter refers as Wu).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cai and Ren does not explicitly teach wherein the time-domain information is “compressed and quantized by a neural network based autoencoder”.
Wu teaches a time-domain information is compressed and quantized by a neural network based autoencoder (CSI is an compressed and quantized time-domain information by a neural network model based autoencoder, paragraph [215]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of time-domain information is compressed and quantized by a neural network based autoencoder as taught by Wu, with the teachings of time-domain information as taught by combination of Cai and Ren, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the time-domain information by using the neural network based autoencoder, which is trained model based process (see Wu, paragraphs [214-216]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0263560 A1 to Cai et al. (hereafter refers as Cai) in view of US 2022/0217567 A1 to Ren et al. (hereafter refers as Ren) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2024/0187048 A1 to Yang et al. (hereafter refers as Yang).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cai and Ren does not explicitly teach “applying differential encoding” to the plurality of sets of combination coefficients for at least some of the one or more time steps.
Yang teaches applying differential encoding to the plurality of sets of combination coefficients for at least some of the one or more time steps (applying differential encoding to channel quality indicators, including combination coefficients, paragraphs [43, 102, 104], across one or more time units, paragraphs [43, 153-155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of applying differential encoding to the plurality of sets of combination coefficients for at least some of the one or more time steps as taught by Yang, with the teachings of plurality of sets of combination coefficients for at least some of the one or more time steps as taught by combination of Cai and Ren, for a purpose of reducing feedback overhead while increase diversity for the encoding (see Yang, paragraphs [43, 153-155]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0364485 A1 discloses CSI measurements comprising time-varying information (see paragraphs [50-54]) and determining linear combination coefficients of the spatial and frequency basis vectors, paragraph [65-66]).
US 2022/0385343 A1 discloses spatial domain vectors (paragraphs [215-226]), and frequency domain vector set (paragraphs [238-242]), and spatial-frequency combination coefficients (paragraphs [254-261]).
US 2024/0007164 A1 discloses CSI report includes time-domain behavior (paragraphs [21-26]), indication of set of vectors in spatial domain and frequency domain, and indication of corresponding linear combination coefficients (paragraph [159]).
US 2024/0364485 A1 discloses reporting time domain formation in CSI feedback (paragraphs [82, 98, 158]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 July 10, 2026