DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claims 6 and 10: The applicants are advised to correct the spelling of “hextene” to “hexene”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 16, 21, 23, 27-30, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/107052 (hereinafter referred to as “WO ‘052”) in view of Tinkl et al. (US 2016/0289397).
As to Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 21, 23, 30, and 34: WO ‘052 discloses a hose (corresponding to the claimed article), comprising a silane-crosslinked polyolefin elastomer composition (Paragraphs [0001] and [00111]), corresponding to the claimed crosslinked reaction product. The silane-crosslinked polyolefin elastomer composition (crosslinked reaction product) taught by WO ‘052 comprises a silane-grafted polyolefin elastomer, wherein the silane-grafted polyolefin elastomer comprises a first polyolefin that can be a polyolefin elastomer (POE) including an olefin block copolymer (OBC), ethylene/alpha-olefin copolymer, or a mixture of these materials, and a silane crosslinker (Paragraphs [0032] and [0033]). Since the grafted silane taught by WO ‘052 is the same as the claimed grafted silane, the grafted silane of WO ‘052, like the claimed grafted silane, is also capable of enabling intramolecular silane crosslinking of the POE. WO ‘052 also discloses that the OBC comprises an ethylene/alpha-olefin repeating unit comprising ethylene-octene copolymer or ethylene-hexene copolymer, and the ethylene alpha-olefin copolymer comprises an ethylene-octene copolymer or ethylene-hexene copolymer (Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]). WO ‘052 further discloses employing 30-70% by weight of POE, OBC, and ethylene-alpha olefin copolymer (which is encompassed by the claimed 10-85 wt% of POE and OBC and overlaps with the claimed 30-50% by weight of the ethylene-alpha olefin copolymer), and 0.5-5 wt. % of the silane crosslinker (which is inclusive of the claimed 0.1-4 wt.% of the silane crosslinker) (Paragraphs [0033]-[0039] and [0067]). Moreover, WO ‘052 discloses adding an additive selected from, among other things, plasticizers, pigments, waxes, antiblocking agent, antistatic agents, processing aids, smoke inhibitors (suppressants), and flame retardants (Paragraphs [0074] and [0078]), and condensation catalyst that may be selected from, among other things, organic titanates (Paragraph [0068]), which according to paragraph [0119], of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2025/0368789, corresponds to the claimed moisture cure catalyst. WO ‘052 further discloses a method for making a hose (article) comprising a silane-crosslinked POE composition (crosslinked reaction product) of POE and silane crosslinker, involving the steps of blending and extruding, among other things, the first polyolefin comprising POE and a silane crosslinker to form an extruded crosslinkable polyolefin blend, grafting the blend with silane such that POE is silane grafted, molding (shaping) the silane-grafted blend, and curing the shaped, silane grafted blend such that POE is silane crosslinked (Paragraphs [0007] and [0079]-[00100]).
However, WO ‘052 does not specifically mention the addition of a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) comprising virgin PVB, recycled PVB or a bio-based PVC, as required by the claims of the present application. WO ‘052 also does not specifically mention the amount of the PVB required by present claim 2.
Nevertheless, Tinkl et al. disclose the use of 0.01-100 wt. % of recycled or virgin polymers selected from, among other things, polyvinyl butyral (PVB), for the purposes of preparing shaped articles including hoses (Paragraphs [0021], [0053], [0100]-[0101], [0118], and [0212]). The amount of the recycled or virgin PVB taught by Tinkl et al. used overlaps with the claimed 5-60 wt% of PBV. See MPEP section 2144.05 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the claimed amount of the recycled or virgin PBV taught by Tinkl et al. to the composition and method of WO ‘052, with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for preparing shaped articles including hoses.
As to Claim 16: WO ‘052 discloses employing additional polyolefins (Paragraph [0054]), but do not specify them as including those recited in claim 16, i.e., virgin or recycled polyolefin. Nevertheless, Tinkl et al. teach using recycled or virgin polymers selected from, among other things, polyolefin, for the purposes of preparing shaped articles including hoses (Paragraphs [0021], [0053], [0100]-[0101], [0118], and [0212]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the virgin or recycled polyolefin taught by Tinkl et al. as the additional polyolefins in the composition and method of WO ‘052, with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for preparing shaped articles including hoses.
As to Claims 27-29: These claimed properties would have naturally followed from the suggestion of WO ‘052 and Tinkl et al. since the collective teachings of WO ‘052 and Tinkl et al. would have suggested identical or substantially identical article to those claimed for the reasons set forth above. See MPEP section 2145, II (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious”). See also MPEP section 2113.01 “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
As to Claim 35: WO ‘052 does not specify using profile extrusion for shaping as required by the claimed method. Nevertheless, Tinkl et al. teach employing known extrusion techniques including the claimed profile extrusion for shaping polymer-based composition into various shaped articles including hoses (Paragraph [0211] and [0212]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any known extrusion techniques, including the claimed profile extrusion, as taught by Tinkl et al., in the method of WO ‘052, with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for preparing various shaped articles including hoses.
4. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/107052 (hereinafter referred to as “WO ‘052”) in view of Tinkl et al. (US 2016/0289397) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 16, 21, 23, 27-30, and 34-35 above, and further in view of Howard et al. (WO 2018/053395: utilized US 2019/0249741 as its Equivalent).
It is noted that Howard et al. (WO 2018/053395) is used for date purposes only and all paragraph numbers cited below refer to its Equivalent, namely US 2019/0249741.
The disclosures with respect to WO ‘052 and Tinkl et al. in paragraph 3 are incorporated here by reference.
WO ‘052 broadly discloses the addition of flame retardants (Paragraph [0078]), but does not specify them as including a non-halogenated flame retardant as required by claim 31.
Nevertheless, Howard et al. disclose adding flame retardants including non-halogenated flame retardant to elastomeric articles, such as hoses, having good mechanical properties and met fire protection standards (Paragraphs [0002], [0008], [0020] and [0059]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the flame retardants, including non-halogenated flame retardant, taught by Howard et al. in the composition and method suggested by WO ‘052 and Tinkl et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully forming elastomeric articles, such as hoses, having good mechanical properties and met fire protection standards.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1, 5-6, 11, 16, 23, and 27-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 9, 14, and 18-19 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/723,151 (hereinafter referred to as “US Appl. ‘151”; corresponding to US PG PUB 2025/0101216) in view of Tinkl et al. (US 2016/0289397).
The claims of the present application and US Appl. ‘151 are directed to an article comprising a crosslinked reaction product of a polyolefin elastomer comprising olefin block copolymer (OBC), and a silane crosslinker, wherein the OBC is silane grafted and the grafted silane enables the intramolecular silane crosslinking of the OBC. The claims of the present application and US Appl. ‘151 also recite that OBC comprises ethylene alpha-olefin repeating unit comprising ethylene-octene copolymer, ethylene-hexene copolymer, and ethylene-butene copolymer, 0.01-4 wt.% of the silane crosslinker, and further comprising a plasticizer.
However, the claims of the US Appl. ‘151 do not specifically mention the addition of a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) comprising virgin PVB, recycled PVB or a bio-based PVC, as required by the claims of the present application.
Nevertheless, Tinkl et al. disclose the use of recycled or virgin polymers selected from, among other things, polyvinyl butyral (PVB), for the purposes of preparing shaped articles including hoses (Paragraphs [0021], [0053], [0100]-[0101], [0118], and [0212]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the recycled or virgin PBV taught by Tinkl et al. to the composition of the claims of US Appl. ‘151, with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for preparing shaped articles including hoses.
As to present claim 16: The claims of US Appl. ‘151 only mention a polyolefin but do not specify the polyolefin as those recited in present claim 16, i.e., virgin or recycled polyolefin. Nevertheless, Tinkl et al. teach using recycled or virgin polymers selected from, among other things, polyolefin, for the purposes of preparing shaped articles including hoses (Paragraphs [0021], [0053], [0100]-[0101], [0118], and [0212]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the virgin or recycled polyolefin taught by Tinkl et al. as the additional polyolefins in the composition of US Appl. ‘151, with a reasonable expectation of successfully using the same for preparing shaped articles including hoses.
As to present claims 27-29: These claimed properties would have naturally followed from the suggestion of US Appl. ‘151 and Tinkl et al. since the collective teachings of US Appl. ‘151 and Tinkl et al. would have suggested identical or substantially identical article to those presently claimed for the reasons set forth above. See MPEP section 2145, II (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious”). See also MPEP section 2113.01 “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764