DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A (Claims 2-6 and 34) in the reply filed on 9-24-2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 and 34 are pending and Claims 7-33 and 35 were cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a moving mechanism in Claim 1; a medium conveyance mechanism in Claim 2; a cutter unit driving mechanism in Claim 2; a medium winding mechanism in Claim 3; a medium feeding mechanism in Claim 34; a medium conveyance mechanism in Claim 34; a cutter unit driving mechanism in Claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 1, applicant introduces the workpiece as “a long medium” thereafter use the term “medium.” It is unclear if this is the same workpiece. The examiner suggests using the same term throughout the claim to refer to the same structure. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 2, “a cutter unit driving mechanism that moves the cutter unit in the width direction of the medium,” is indefinite in view of Claim 1, which claims “a moving mechanism for relatively moving the cutter unit to the medium in a width direction.” As best understood, Applicant is claiming the same structure using two different terms. The scope of the claims are indefinite as its unclear what the difference in scope between a moving mechanism and a cutter unit driving mechanism is. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 2, “in the first thrusting process, the cutter blade is thrust into the upstream medium,” is indefinite. It is unclear if Applicant is claiming a second thrusting of the cutter blade into the upstream medium or referring back to the previously introduced thrusting of the in Claim 1. If referring back to the first thrusting process in Claim 1, it is unclear how this further limits the claim. The claim was examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 2, “the upstream medium is cut from the first thrusting spot to the first end surface,” is indefinite in view of Claim 1 which claims the first thrusting spot as a starting point. It is unclear how this further limits the claim. Is this a “second” second cutting process? The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 3, “the first thrusting process, the cutter blade is thrust into an end portion of the upstream medium on the first direction side, in the first cutting process, the cutter blade is relatively moved with respect to the upstream medium from the first thrusting spot to the first end surface toward the conveyance direction downstream side and the second direction side,” is indefinite. It is unclear if this clause is restating what occurred in the previous claims form which Claim 3 depends (claims 2-3) or if this claim requires these processes to occur again – for the second time. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 5, “,the cutter holder is rotatable with respect to the unit frame with the thickness direction of the medium as an axial direction of rotation,” is indefinite. As best understood the thickness direction of the medium is in the “Z” direction in Applicant’s Fig. 6. Rotation about this axis would not move the blade into or out of the workpiece. The claim was interpreted as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 34, applicant introduces the workpiece as “a long medium” thereafter use the term “medium.” It is unclear if this is the same workpiece. The examiner suggests using the same term throughout the claim to refer to the same structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018083251 A in view of JP 2013215892 A.
In re Claim 1, JP 2018083251 A teaches a medium cutting method for cutting a medium in a medium cutting device (see Fig. 2, #31-33) including a cutter unit (see Fig. 2, #31-33) having a cutter blade (see Fig. 2, #31) for cutting a long medium and a moving mechanism (see Figs. 2, #32) for relatively moving the cutter unit to the medium in a width direction of the medium orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the medium (see translation which states “The cutter unit 30 includes a cutter 31 that cuts the medium 3 and a carriage 32 (first moving unit) that moves the cutter 31 along the width direction.”) and a thickness direction of the medium and the longitudinal direction of the medium (see Figs. 1-8), the medium cutting method comprising:
a first cutting process of cutting the medium in a direction inclined with respect to the width direction of the medium by relatively moving the cutter blade with respect to the medium in the longitudinal direction of the medium (see Fig. 8A, the cut between 3C and P3) and the width direction of the medium with a first thrusting spot as a starting point (the start of the cut at “3C” in Fig. 8a), which is a spot thrust by the cutter blade in the first thrusting process.
JP 2018083251 A is silent as to a first thrusting process of thrusting the cutter blade into the medium so as to penetrate the medium.
However, JP 2013215892 A teaches that it is known in the art of cutting conveying webs to move the cutter toward and away from the workpiece (see JP 2013215892 A, Fig. 1, #43 and the arrows illustrate moving the cutting device #43 toward and away from the workpiece). In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to move the cutting blade with a first thrusting process of thrusting the cutter blade into the medium to penetrate the medium. Doing so allows the cutting device to cut a part “out of” the workpiece. In other words, the use is can cut workpieces that are smaller than the width of the web as illustrated in Figs. 2a-c of JP 2013215892 A.
In re Claim 2, modified JP 2018083251 A, teaches comprising:
a second cutting process of relatively moving the cutter blade to the medium in the width direction of the medium to cut the medium in an entire region in the width direction of the medium (see JP 2018083251 A, Fig. 8a, which cuts across the medium in an entire region), wherein the moving mechanism includes a medium conveyance mechanism that conveys the medium in the longitudinal direction of the medium (see JP 2018083251 A, Figs. 1-2, #21/23) and a cutter unit driving mechanism that moves the cutter unit in the width direction of the medium (see JP 2018083251 A, Fig. 1-2, #32/33) and when an upstream side in a conveyance direction of the medium is defined as a conveyance direction upstream side, a downstream side in a conveyance direction of the medium is defined as a conveyance direction downstream side, one side in the width direction of the medium is defined as a first direction side, an other side in the width direction of the medium is defined as a second direction side (see JP 2018083251 A, Figs. 1-2, and 8, teaching an upstream side, a downstream side a first direction side and a second direction side), the medium disposed on the conveyance direction upstream side with respect to a cutting position of the medium in the second cutting process is defined as an upstream medium, and an end surface on the conveyance direction downstream side of the upstream medium after the second cutting process is finished is defined as a first end surface (as best understood, JP 2018083251 A, making the cuts illustrated in Figs. 8A-C reads on this limitation),in the first thrusting process, the cutter blade is thrust into the upstream medium, and in the first cutting process, the upstream medium is cut from the first thrusting spot to the first end surface (as best understood, the insertion of the blade of JP 2018083251 A into the workpiece, as taught by JP 2013215892 A reads on this limitation).
In re Claim 3, modified JP 2018083251 A, in re Claim 1, teaches comprising:
a second thrusting process of thrusting the cutter blade into the upstream medium so as to penetrate the upstream medium (cutting the a second portion of the workpiece in a return manner illustrated in 8A of JP 2018083251 A reads on a second thrusting process of the cutter blade); and
a third cutting process of cutting the upstream medium in a direction inclined with respect to the width direction of the medium by relatively moving the cutter blade with respect to the upstream medium in the longitudinal direction of the medium and the width direction of the medium with a second thrusting spot as a starting point, which is a spot thrust by the cutter blade in the second thrusting process, wherein the medium cutting device includes a medium winding mechanism that rotates a winding core material to which an end portion of the medium on the conveyance direction downstream side is fixed and winds the medium around the core material (cutting the a second portion of the workpiece in a return manner illustrated in 8A of JP 2018083251 A reads on a second thrusting process of the cutter blade),
in the first thrusting process, the cutter blade is thrust into an end portion of the upstream medium on the first direction side, in the first cutting process, the cutter blade is relatively moved with respect to the upstream medium from the first thrusting spot to the first end surface toward the conveyance direction downstream side and the second direction side (see JP 2018083251A, Fig. 8A), in the second thrusting process, the cutter blade is thrust into an end portion of the upstream medium on the second direction side, and in the third cutting process, the cutter blade is relatively moved with respect to the upstream medium from the second thrusting spot to the first end surface toward the conveyance direction downstream side and the first direction side (cutting the a second portion of the workpiece in the in a return manner illustrated in 8A of JP 2018083251 A reads on a third cutting process).
In re Claim 4, modified JP 2018083251 A, in re Claim 1, teaches a fourth cutting process of moving the cutter blade toward the first direction side with respect to the upstream medium with the first thrusting spot as a starting point to cut the upstream medium in the width direction of the medium from the first thrusting spot to an end surface of the upstream medium on the first direction side after the first thrusting process and before the first cutting process (cutting the a different portion of the workpiece in a return manner illustrated in 8A of JP 2018083251 A reads on a forth cutting process of the cutter blade); and
a fifth cutting process of moving the cutter blade toward the second direction side with respect to the upstream medium with the second thrusting spot as a starting point to cut the upstream medium in the width direction of the medium from the second thrusting spot to the end surface on the second direction side of the upstream medium after the second thrusting process and before the third cutting process(cutting a different portion of the workpiece in a second return manner illustrated in 8A of JP 2018083251 A reads on a fifth cutting process of the cutter blade).
In re Claim 6, modified JP 2018083251 A, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the second cutting process includes: a third thrusting process of thrusting the medium with the cutter blade so as to penetrate the medium; a sixth cutting process of moving the cutter blade toward the first direction side with respect to the medium to cut the medium in the width direction of the medium with a third thrusting spot as a starting point, which is a spot thrust with the cutter blade in the third thrusting process; and a seventh cutting process of moving the cutter blade toward the second direction side with respect to the medium to cut the medium in the width direction of the medium with the third thrusting spot as a starting point up to an end surface on the second direction side of the medium (the examiner notes that cutting out repeated patters of that illustrated in JP 2018083251 A. Fig. 8 that are smaller than the width of the workpiece illustrated would read on the claims).
In re Claim 34, JP 2018083251 A teaches a control method of a medium cutting device including a cutter unit having a cutter blade for cutting a long medium (see Figs. 1-8), a medium feeding mechanism for holding the medium wound in a roll shape (see Figs. 2, #2A/2), a medium conveyance mechanism for conveying the medium in a longitudinal direction of the medium (see Figs. 2, #21), and a cutter unit driving mechanism for moving the cutter unit in a width direction of the medium orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the medium and a thickness direction of the medium (see Fig 2, #31), the control method comprising: when, in a conveyance direction of the medium by the medium conveyance mechanism, a side on which the cutter blade is disposed with respect to the medium feeding mechanism is defined as a conveyance direction downstream side, and a side opposite to the conveyance direction downstream side is defined as a conveyance direction upstream side, a linear cutting step of moving, by the cutter unit driving mechanism, the cutter blade in the width direction of the medium in a state where the medium is stopped to cut the medium in an entire region in the width direction of the medium (see e.g., Fig. 7 or 9) ;a medium conveyance step of conveying, by the medium conveyance mechanism, the medium by a predetermined amount toward the conveyance direction downstream side after the linear cutting step; and a convex cutting step of moving, by the cutter unit driving mechanism, the cutter blade in the width direction of the medium and conveying the medium by the medium conveyance mechanism to cut the medium in an entire region in the width direction of the medium after the medium conveyance step (see Figs. 8C),
It is unclear if JP 2018083251 A teaches wherein when the medium disposed on the conveyance direction upstream side of the cutting position of the medium in the convex cutting step is defined as a first upstream medium, and the medium disposed on the conveyance direction upstream side of the cutting position of the medium in the linear cutting step is defined as a second upstream medium, an end surface of the second upstream medium on the conveyance direction downstream side is linear parallel to the width direction of the medium (as bet understood both sides of the workpiece are parallel), an end surface of the first upstream medium on the conveyance direction downstream side has a trapezoidal shape or a triangular convex shape, and in the medium conveyance step, the medium is conveyed to a position where a predetermined interval is formed between the conveyance direction downstream end of the second upstream medium and the conveyance direction downstream end of the first upstream medium.
However, JP 2013215892 A teaches that it is known in the art of cutting conveying webs to move the cutter toward and away from the workpiece (see JP 2013215892 A, Fig. 1, #43 and the arrows illustrate moving the cutting device #43 toward and away from the workpiece). In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to move the cutting blade with a first thrusting process of thrusting the cutter blade into the medium to penetrate the medium. Doing so allows the cutting device to cut a part “out of” the workpiece. In other words, the use is can cut workpieces that are smaller than the width of the web as illustrated in Figs. 2a-c of JP 2013215892 A.
The combination of JP 2018083251 A and JP 2013215892 A would read on cutting out workpieces from the web, that are not the entire width of the web, would read on, as best understood, when the medium disposed on the conveyance direction upstream side of the cutting position of the medium in the convex cutting step is defined as a first upstream medium, and the medium disposed on the conveyance direction upstream side of the cutting position of the medium in the linear cutting step is defined as a second upstream medium, an end surface of the second upstream medium on the conveyance direction downstream side is linear parallel to the width direction of the medium (as bet understood both sides of the workpiece are parallel), an end surface of the first upstream medium on the conveyance direction downstream side has a trapezoidal shape or a triangular convex shape, and in the medium conveyance step, the medium is conveyed to a position where a predetermined interval is formed between the conveyance direction downstream end of the second upstream medium and the conveyance direction downstream end of the first upstream medium.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018083251 A in view of JP 2013215892 A, and further in view of JP 2001009775 A.
In re Claim 5, JP 2018083251 A, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the cutter unit includes a cutter holder to which the cutter blade is fixed, and a unit frame that rotatably holds the cutter holder, the cutter holder is rotatable with respect to the unit frame with the thickness direction of the medium as an axial direction of rotation, in the first cutting process and the third cutting process, the cutter blade is rotatable with respect to the unit frame, and a cutting angle of the upstream medium with respect to the width direction of the medium in the first cutting process and a cutting angle of the upstream medium with respect to the width direction of the medium in the third cutting process are constant regardless of a width of the medium.
However, JP 2001009775 A teaches that it is known in the web cutting art to provide a cutter unit that includes a cutter holder to which the cutter blade is fixed (see JP 2001009775 A, Figs. 4-5, structure that holds cutter blade #48), and a unit frame that rotatably holds the cutter holder (see JP 2001009775 A, Figs. 4-5, the entire assembly which rotatably holds the cutter), the cutter holder is rotatable with respect to the unit frame with the thickness direction of the medium as an axial direction of rotation (see JP 2001009775 A, Figs. 4-5, the blade structure rotates about point #52).
In the same field of invention, cutters for webs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of web cutting to utilize the blade structure of JP 2001009775 A. Doing so is the substation of one known cutting blade structure for another known cutting blade structure to cut a web (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
As best understood, the combination would read on :in the first cutting process and the third cutting process, the cutter blade is rotatable with respect to the unit frame, and a cutting angle of the upstream medium with respect to the width direction of the medium in the first cutting process and a cutting angle of the upstream medium with respect to the width direction of the medium in the third cutting process are constant regardless of a width of the medium.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724