DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the double patenting rejections, the amendments to the claims do not overcome the double patenting rejection, specifically in view of the newly found/applied prior art reference; see below.
Upon further consideration, the claims are rejected under 112b, 102 and 103; see below. Since these new rejections are not based on the amendments, this office action is Non-Final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/424348 in view of WO 2021/026218 to Van de Ven (or US 2022/0280807; which is the 371 of the WIPO). The only difference between the claims of the current app and the ‘348 app is that the current app requires that the electro-optical device is a computer or display screen (claim 1) and the ‘348 app requires that the electro-optical device is a handheld device (claim 3). Van de Ven makes it clear that either form/configuration, i.e. a screen or a hand-held device, are obvious substitutes (see Pars 0023, 0176, 0238, Figs. 11-12). Therefore, it would be obvious to design/configure the electro-optical device in either a computer/display screen or a hand-held device, e.g. cell phone, wearable device, panel, probe, eyeglasses, etc., as these are obvious designs/configurations for similar electro-optical devices.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claims 2, 5, 11 and 12] These claims recite the limitations “a full-width-at-half-power angle of less than 2x60 degrees”, “a full-width-at-half-power angle of less than 2x25 degrees”, “a full-width-at-half-power angle of less than 2x60 degrees” and “a full-width-at-half-power angle of 2x10 degrees or less”. It is unclear/unknown what is meant by these limitations. First, it is emphasized that “a full-width-at-half-power angle” is not a term of the art. It’s unclear if full width at half power is the same thing as full width half maximum, but for examination purposes this is being interpreted as a beam angle using full width half maximum (FWHM). Second, it’s unclear what is meant by “2x” in relation to the recited degrees. For example, is 2x60 degrees equivalent to 120 degrees? Similarly, is 2x25 degrees equivalent to 50 degrees? The examiner is unaware of beam angles being expressed as 2x a specific number of degrees, and therefore it is unclear what is meant by this “2x” format. For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting this 2x to be multiplication, therefore an angle less than 2x60 degrees is the same as an angle less than 120 degrees.
[Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 11 and 12] The limitation "the first electro-optical element" lacks antecedent basis. Additionally, the limitation “the electro-optical element” lacks antecedent basis. It is noted that the independent claim recites “at least one electro-optical element”, but never recites a first electro-optical element or even an electro-optical element. Furthermore, when claims introduce a “second electro-optical element”, confusion arises as to what “the electro-optical element” is referring to.
[Claim 10] The limitation “the first light source” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/026218* to Van de Ven.
*It is noted that US 2022/0280807, which is a 371 of the WO 2021/026218 reference, is being used for citation purposes, as it contains paragraphs.
[Claims 1 and 7] An electro-optical device
at least one electro-optical element arranged to emit electromagnetic radiation having a peak emission wavelength between 700-1400 nm (any of the disclosed light therapy devices, e.g. Pars 0023, 0176 and 0 238 and Figs. 1-5 and 8-12, having a plurality of emitters (30 or 40) that emit infrared and near-infrared (IR/NIR) light, i.e. 700-1400 nm; at least Pars 0027, 0213, 0215 and 0225. In terms of claim interpretation, any single emitter/LED or combination of plural emitters/LEDs is interpreted as the at least one electro-optical element. Specifically Pars 0023, 0176 and 0238 disclose shining light from a computer or display screen. See also claims 41-42 of the WIPO);
a control circuit (controller CPU 140; Fig. 7) configured to adjust emission characteristics of the electro-optical element (at least Pars 0031, 0231 and 0241-243)
a driver circuit (“Driver” shown in Figs. 6-7; Par 0022) configured to receive an input from the control circuit and drive the electro-optical element based on the input received from the control circuit, using a driving current that is pulsed (pulse width modulation, Pars 0042, 0215, 0255, 0264, 0292-293 and 0330-335),
wherein the control circuit comprises a timer configured to determine an on-period for the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the electro-optical element, and/or comprises a dose calculation unit configured to determine an accumulated dose of the electromagnetic radiation at the user (Timer is disclosed in at least Pars 0032-33, 0177-179 and 0231);
wherein the control circuit is configured to instruct the driver circuit to shut off the electro-optical element, if a predetermined maximum on-period is exceeded, and/or if the accumulated dose determined by the dose calculation unit indicates that a predetermined dose of the electromagnetic radiation at the user is exceeded (At least Pars 0032-33 and 0179 discuss turning off the light when a predetermine maximum on-period is exceeded, as determined by the timer)
[Claim 2] Van de Ven discloses proximity sensors (human sensor 10, identity sensor 20, Fig. 1 and/or proximity sensor 180, Fig. 8) that determines a distance between the user and the device and controlling the timer based on this distance detection (at least Pars 0030-32, 0179, 0232, e.g. “The light source can include an actuator or a timer to control how long the light is emitted, and the light source can be turned on or off, for example, based on when the door is first opened and then closed, based on when the patient/user sits in a chair inside the enclosure, and the like”)
[Claims 5 and 12] Van de Ven discloses multiple handheld devices, e.g. laptop, cell phone, wearable device, panel, probe, eyeglasses, etc. (Pars 0023, 0176, 0238, Figs. 11-12), any of which can be interpreted as “illumination devices”, as they provide illumination/light. Van de Ven also discloses that the driver circuit is configured to drive the light source with a pulse-width, frequency and radiation level (Pars 0042, 0215, 0241-243, 0264 and 0398 all discuss the different parameters of light that can be controlled/adjusted, including pulse width/duration, frequency and radiation/energy level), such that the light achieves a peak irradiation intensity above 0.1 mW/cm2 on the user (at least Pars 0129 and 0133), as well as an angle of less than 120 degrees (at least Pars 0165-175 all describe beam angles of less than 120 degrees), specifically an angle of less than 50 degrees (at least Pars 0175 and 0212, specifically “not greater than 20 degrees”)
[Claim 6] Van de Ven is silent to the claimed function. However, the examiner takes the position that Van de Ven discloses all of the necessary structure, i.e. light sources, to be capable of such an intended use; see MPEP 2114. It is emphasized that this function is not tied to the control circuit or drive circuit, therefore any light source capable of functioning in the claimed manner reads on the claim language. If applicant disagrees, see alternative 103 below.
[Claim 9] Van de Ven discloses various values of intensity (including greater than 50 mW/cm2; Par 0129) at a distance of 5meters or less (e.g. Fig. 3-5 and 10). Furthermore, the distance at which the device is held/maintained from the patient is intended use, and it’s clear from the disclosed intensity values that the device taught by Van de Ven includes all of the necessary structural elements and configurations to be capable of providing the claimed intensity values at the claimed distances; see MPEP 2114 "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
[Claim 10] Van de Ven discloses various values of intensity, including values of 1 mW/cm2 to 12 mW/cm2 (Par 0129). When these intensities are delivered for an hour or longer, i.e. 3600 seconds or longer, the resulting dose is within the claimed range of 1 to 50 J/cm2, e.g. an intensity of 10 mW/cm2 delivered for 3600 seconds (1 hour) results in a dose of 36 J/cm2. Therefore, the claimed device is capable of performing the claimed function; see MPEP 2114
[Claim 11] Van de Ven explicitly discloses the light is directed by optics (“a translucent optical lens” Par 0123; see also Par 0249). Additionally, see explanation of claims 3, 5 and 12 above.
[Claims 14 and 15] Van de Ven discloses a pulse frequency of greater than 100 Hz (up to 10 Khz) and a pulse frequency of 30 Hz (Par 0042)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van de Ven, as applied to claim 1 above.
[Claim 8] Van de Ven explicitly discloses “the illumination is turned off and remains off until a new user is detected and/or an appropriate ‘off time’ has elapsed so that a user does not overuse the therapy” (Par 0032), but is silent to the specific length of this “off time”. However, by specifically referring to it as an “appropriate” off time and relating this time to preventing overuse, Van de Ven recognizes this length of time as a result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try/choose a specific off time of at least 8 hours, as optimization of a result effective variable, specifically a POSITA would choose/try an appropriate amount of time that prevents overuse, including at least 8 hours. Additionally, Par 0030 teaches “the devices are configured to be activated automatically when a user is present (or likely to be present) and for a preset period of time so that user receives only the prescribed amount of modulated illumination per day”, making it obvious to only apply therapy once per day, such that at least 8 hours passes between the next therapy session.
[Claim 13] As discussed above, Van de Ven discloses the electro-optical device as a screen of a laptop, cell phone or television (Par 0176; claims 41-42 of the WIPO), as well as teaching different types of LEDs that can be used (Par 0123). However, the reference is technically silent to the use of micro-LEDs. The examiner takes official notice that micro-LEDs or VCSELs are light sources that are known and used for the screens taught by Van de Ven. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the light emitters, e.g. LEDs, taught by Van de Ven for a micro-LED or VCSEL, as a simple substitution of one known light source for another to obtain predictable results, i.e. light emission for display screens.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van de Ven as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2020/097575* to Petluri
*It is noted that US 2021/0402210, which is a 371 of the WO 2020/097575 reference, is being used for citation purposes, as it contains paragraphs.
Van de Ven is silent to only emitting light from one electro-optical element when another electro-optical element is above a certain brightness/luminance. However, in the same field of endeavor, Petluri teaches a similar light therapy device that compensates/balances light of different colors (Pars 0082 and 0170-171). Specifically, Petluri teaches “However, an overload of artificial blue light such as CSE by itself may be determinantal. This damage can be mitigated through LRNE exposure. Balancing and/or controlling a exposure of both artificial blue light and LRNE support wellness benefits similar to those that flow from natural, sunlight exposure” (Par 0082). The examiner interprets this as a first electro-optical element (long red near infrared energy, i.e. LRNE light) that only emits when a second electro-optical element (blue light) is emitting with a luminance above 10 cd/m2, i.e. “an overload of artificial blue light”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device taught by Van de Ven to program/control the NIR light, i.e. first electro-optical device, such that it compensates for and balances out an excess/overload of a second electro-optical device, e.g. blue light, in order to provide the disclosed wellness benefits taught by Petluri.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2007/0208395 to Leclerc discloses a light therapy system that calculates the total/cumulative dose of the treatment and a controller that automatically stops the treatment when this total dosage has been met (Pars 0085-86).
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796