DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the application filed 5/7/2024.
2. Claims 1-15 have been examined and are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-4, 9-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goyal U.S Patent No. 11,132,450.
As to claim 1, Goyal teaches a resource sharing method, comprising:
associating a first kernel interface in a first container (access control engine 110 of kernel 104, Fig. 1 and associated specifications) with a virtual interface in a second container (file system 112a of isolated virtual environment 112, Fig. 1 and associated specifications), wherein processes in the first container communicate with each other through the first kernel interface (…A mount point can be a directory in the host file system 107 that is accessible by the host operating system 102 and to which an additional file system can be mounted. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the mount point for file system 112a is directory 108a. The mounting of the file system 112a at directory 108a is represented by arrow 117. In some examples, the host file system 107 can include another mount point (e.g., directory 108c) for mounting another file system 116a associated with another isolated virtual environment 116…, line 67 column 2 to line 9 column 3); and
controlling a process in the second container to call the virtual interface, to
enable an application in the second container to access a target process in the first container (…The slave propagation method can include propagating at least a portion of the file system 112a of the isolated virtual environment 112 so that a file system that is subsequently mounted within the host environment 106 becomes accessible to the isolated virtual environment 112…, lines 11-17 column 4).
As to claim 2, Goyal further teaches creating the virtual interface in the second container (…The access control engine 110 can be executed to launch the isolated virtual environment 112 (e.g., a container) …, lines 10-11 column 3).
As to claim 3, Goyal further teaches assigning the first kernel interface to the virtual interface (…The access control engine 110 can additionally or alternatively receive commands from a user indicating that a file system 112a (e.g., at least a portion of the file system 112a) of the isolated virtual environment 112 is to be propagated to outside of the isolated virtual environment 112…, lines 27-31 column 3).
As to claim 4, Goyal further teaches acquiring the first kernel interface according to an association relationship between a first file system interface and the first kernel interface in the first container, wherein a process in the first container accesses the first kernel interface through the first file system interface (…A mount point can be a directory in the host file system 107 that is accessible by the host operating system 102 and to which an additional file system can be mounted. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the mount point for file system 112a is directory 108a. The mounting of the file system 112a at directory 108a is represented by arrow 117. In some examples, the host file system 107 can include another mount point (e.g., directory 108c) for mounting another file system 116a associated with another isolated virtual environment 116…, line 67 column 2 to line 9 column 3).
As to claim 9, Goyal further teaches one or more processors; and a memory having stored thereon one or more programs which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the resource sharing method (…The processor 204 can execute instructions stored in the memory 208 to perform the operations…, lines 65-67 column 5).
As to claim 10, Goyal further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the resource sharing method (…A computer-readable medium can include electronic, optical, magnetic, or other storage devices capable of providing the processor 204 with computer-readable instructions or other program code…, lines 14-18 column 6).
As to claim 11, Goyal further teaches an application process of the processes communicates with a service process of the processes through the first kernel interface in the first container, so as to enable an application corresponding to the application process in the first container to call a service corresponding to the service process in the first container (…A mount point can be a directory in the host file system 107 that is accessible by the host operating system 102 and to which an additional file system can be mounted. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the mount point for file system 112a is directory 108a. The mounting of the file system 112a at directory 108a is represented by arrow 117. In some examples, the host file system 107 can include another mount point (e.g., directory 108c) for mounting another file system 116a associated with another isolated virtual environment 116…, line 67 column 2 to line 9 column 3).
As to claim 12, Goyal further teaches executing an operation which enables the process in the second container to access the first kernel interface in the first container by calling the virtual interface (…A mount point can be a directory in the host file system 107 that is accessible by the host operating system 102 and to which an additional file system can be mounted. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the mount point for file system 112a is directory 108a. The mounting of the file system 112a at directory 108a is represented by arrow 117. In some examples, the host file system 107 can include another mount point (e.g., directory 108c) for mounting another file system 116a associated with another isolated virtual environment 116…, line 67 column 2 to line 9 column 3).
As to claim 14, Goyal further teaches controlling an application process in the second container to call the virtual interface, to enable the application process in the second container to communicate with a service process which is the target process in the first container, so as to enable an application corresponding to the application process in the second container to call a service corresponding to the service in the first container (…A mount point can be a directory in the host file system 107 that is accessible by the host operating system 102 and to which an additional file system can be mounted. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the mount point for file system 112a is directory 108a. The mounting of the file system 112a at directory 108a is represented by arrow 117. In some examples, the host file system 107 can include another mount point (e.g., directory 108c) for mounting another file system 116a associated with another isolated virtual environment 116…, line 67 column 2 to line 9 column 3).
As to claim 15, Goyal further teaches each of the processes in the first container and the process in the second container is an application process or a service process in an operating system of the first container and the second container (…the access control engine 110, the kernel 104, or both can interact with other software applications 212 stored in memory 208 to enable one or more features of the present disclosure. For example, the access control engine 110 can interface with a virtual-environment application stored in memory 208 for launching an isolated virtual environment within a host environment of the host operating system 102. The access control engine 110 can also interface with the kernel 104 to configure one or more characteristics of the isolated virtual environment, such as an accessibility characteristic of the isolated virtual environment. The memory 208 can include any number and combination of applications, engines, modules, or other program code for enabling one or more features of the present disclosure..., lines 43-57 column 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 5-8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent No. 9,817,840 discloses caching of common files of the Virtual Private Servers.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or fax to:
AFTER-FINAL faxes must be signed and sent to (571) 273 - 8300.
OFFICAL faxes must be signed and sent to (571) 273 - 8300.
NON OFFICAL faxes should not be signed, please send to (571) 273 – 3762
/Andy Ho/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2194