DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 05/07/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2024 and 09/12/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
In re to claims 13-19 and 21, method claims 13-19 and 21 are rejected based on the following case law, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 14-17 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 4 and 16 lines 7 and 9 “a case” should be “the case”. Claim 14 lines 1-3 “a charge path”, “a transfer path” and “a direction” this should be “the charge path”, “the transfer path” and “the direction”. Claim 15 line 2 “a discharge path” should be “the discharge path”. Claim 17 line 2 “a charging voltage level” should be “the charging voltage level”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 13-18 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malinin US 2016/0141975.
Regarding Claims 1 and 13, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5) A power conversion circuit (Fig. 4) used for converting an AC input voltage to a DC output voltage (AC to Out), comprising: a flying capacitor (C1); an energy storage capacitor (C2); and a rectifier (S1,D1-D2 and 400) configured to turn on a charge path through which the flying capacitor is charged by the AC input voltage (e.g. during off time of D1) or a transfer path from the flying capacitor to the energy storage capacitor (when D1 is on) selectively according to a direction of the AC input voltage (500, see fig. 5), so as to provide the DC output voltage across ends of the energy storage capacitor ( 508, see fig. 5), wherein the rectifier is further configured to stabilize the DC output voltage within a set range (with 400) by controlling a discharge path of the flying capacitor to ground (with the control of the S1 switch and 400). (For Example: Par. 46-53)
Regarding Claims 2 and 14, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5) wherein in a case that the AC input voltage is a negative voltage (fig. 5, 514), the rectifier couples the flying capacitor between two ends of an AC power supply and charges the flying capacitor by the AC power supply (504 increasing), in a case that the AC input voltage is a positive voltage (Fig. 5, 512), the rectifier couples the flying capacitor and the energy storage capacitor in series between two ends of the AC power supply (with 506 increasing) and charges the energy storage capacitor by the flying capacitor (D1 in on state). (For Example: Par. 46-53)
Regarding Claims 3 and 15, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5) wherein the rectifier is configured to control the discharge path (S1 conducting) of the flying capacitor to ground according to a charging voltage level of the energy storage capacitor (with 400). (For Example: Par. 46-53)
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5)wherein the rectifier comprises: a rectifying element (D1) connected between the flying capacitor (C1) and the energy storage capacitor (C2); and a switching element (S1) connected between the flying capacitor and a second end of said AC power supply (Fig. 4), wherein in a case that the AC input voltage is the positive voltage (512) and the switching element is in an off state (502), the flying capacitor transfers energy to the energy storage capacitor (with 506), in a case that the AC input voltage is the positive voltage (512) and the switching element is in an on state (502), the flying capacitor discharges to ground through the switching element (Fig. 4, s1 on state). (For Example: Par. 46-53)
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5)wherein the rectifier further comprises: a comparator (402), configured to control the switching element (s1) to be on and off according to a voltage on the energy storage capacitor (410). (For Example: Par. 46-53)
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5) wherein the comparator is a hysteresis comparator (402, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malinin in view of Benabdelaziz US 20060034109.
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5) the circuit.
Malinin does not teach wherein the switching element comprises a field effect transistor, and the rectifying element comprises a diode or a field effect transistor.
Benabdelaziz teaches (Figure 4) wherein the switching element (M) comprises a field effect transistor, and the rectifying element comprises a diode or a field effect transistor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Malinin to include wherein the switching element comprises a field effect transistor, and the rectifying element comprises a diode or a field effect transistor, as taught by Benabdelaziz to reduce switching losses.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malinin in view of Dai US 2019/0252995.
Regarding Claims 10-12 and 21-23, Malinin teaches (Figures 3-5) the circuit.
Malinin does not teach further comprising a voltage monitoring circuit, wherein the voltage monitoring circuit is configured to maintain the DC output voltage within a predetermined range, and wherein the voltage monitoring circuit comprises: one or a combination of some of an overvoltage protection circuit, an under-voltage protection circuit, a voltage regulator and a DC-DC converter; and wherein the DC-DC converter comprises a topology selected form a group consisting of Buck-type, Boost-type, Buck-Boost-type, non-inverting Buck-Boost-type, forward-type, flyback-type topologies.
Benabdelaziz teaches (Figure 4) further comprising a voltage monitoring circuit(202), wherein the voltage monitoring circuit is configured to maintain the DC output voltage within a predetermined range (higher than Vmin Fig. 5, par. 74), and wherein the voltage monitoring circuit comprises: one or a combination of some of an overvoltage protection circuit, an under-voltage protection circuit, a voltage regulator and a DC-DC converter (202); and wherein the DC-DC converter comprises a topology selected form a group consisting of Buck-type, Boost-type, Buck-Boost-type (202), non-inverting Buck-Boost-type, forward-type, flyback-type topologies. (For Example: Par. 70-80)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Malinin to include further comprising a voltage monitoring circuit, wherein the voltage monitoring circuit is configured to maintain the DC output voltage within a predetermined range, and wherein the voltage monitoring circuit comprises: one or a combination of some of an overvoltage protection circuit, an under-voltage protection circuit, a voltage regulator and a DC-DC converter; and wherein the DC-DC converter comprises a topology selected form a group consisting of Buck-type, Boost-type, Buck-Boost-type, non-inverting Buck-Boost-type, forward-type, flyback-type topologies, as taught by Benabdelaziz to provide the desired level of output signal.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838