DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (WO 2015/127794), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 7; Lee teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a light-curing coating composition comprising 22 parts polyester acrylate (13.2% by weight), 20 parts epoxy acrylate (12% by weight), 28 parts styrene (16.9% by weight), 8 parts zinc oxide (4.8% by weight), and 4 parts methyl benzoylformate (2.4% by weight) [Ex4]. All weight % were calculated by Examiner based on 166 parts of the total composition.
Regarding claim 8; the Examiner makes note that “when printed on a substrate and cured to obtain a cured film…” is a future intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; see MPEP §2111.02, 7.37.09.
It is the Examiner’s position that wherein the “film withstands equal to or greater than 10 isopropanol double rubs and/or methyl ethyl ketone double rubs” would necessarily be achievable by the composition of Lee. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. film withstanding greater than or equal to 10 isopropanol and/or methyl ethyl ketone double rub tests, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Regarding claims 9 and 10; Lee teaches the coating composition has strong adhesion to a substrate, thus producing an article (i.e. cured coating on a substrate) [p3,line42-45].
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 20180082880A), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7; Kim et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment [0061; Ex2], a UV-curable coating composition comprising 45 parts (wt%) urethane acrylate oligomer, 25 parts (wt%) acrylic acrylate oligomer, 10 parts (wt%) tetrahydrofurfuryl, 7 parts (wt%) hexanediol diacrylate, 5 parts (wt%) methyl benzoyl formate, 3 parts (wt%) hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone (additional photoinitiator), 1 part (wt%) NANO TINT pigment, which is substituted by zinc oxide [0039].
Regarding claim 8; the Examiner makes note that “when printed on a substrate and cured to obtain a cured film…” is a future intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; see MPEP §2111.02, 7.37.09.
It is the Examiner’s position that wherein the “film withstands equal to or greater than 10 isopropanol double rubs and/or methyl ethyl ketone double rubs” would necessarily be achievable by the composition of Lee. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. film withstanding greater than or equal to 10 isopropanol and/or methyl ethyl ketone double rub tests, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Regarding claims 9-10; Kim et al. teaches, in the preferred embodiment, preparation of a coating composition wherein the composition is applied to a PET film and cured, producing an article [0057-0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180082880A), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as applied to claim 1 above.
Kim et al. teaches the basic claimed energy-curable ink/coating composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5; Kim et al. teaches the composition may include a combination of pigments [0039], thus further comprising a second pigment in addition to zinc oxide. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a second pigment, to the composition disclosed by Kim et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Kim et al. teaches the composition may suitably contain a mixture of pigments [0039].
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767