DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending and examined herein.
Priority
The present application, filed 05/07/2024, is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/081178, filed 11/08/2022, which claims foreign priority of GB2116020.5, filed 11/08/2021. The benefit is acknowledged and the claims examined herein are treated as having an effective filing date of 11/08/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the analytical Anti-dCol3 immunoassay and at least certain embodiments of detecting cancer by comparing Anti-dCol3 binding values from the twelve experimentally studied cancer populations with values associated with healthy subjects, does not reasonably provide enablement for the full scope of detecting and/or monitoring cancer recited in claims 1–9, including claim 1’s unrestricted cancer genus and the claimed embodiments involving values associated with known disease severity, values obtained from the patient at a previous time point, and/or predetermined cut-off values across the claimed scope. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In particular, the specification provides sufficient technical disclosure for contacting patient samples with denatured type III collagen and measuring antibodies that bind denatured type III collagen using immunoassays. The specification additionally provides experimental evidence supporting at least certain cancer-detection embodiments. Specifically, the specification provides evidence supporting detection of bladder cancer, breast cancer, colorectal cancer, head and neck cancer, kidney cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, and stomach cancer based on comparison of Anti-dCol3 binding values with values associated with healthy subjects. Applicant evaluated Anti-dCol3 in 223 patients representing these twelve solid-tumor types and 33 healthy controls, found Anti-dCol3 levels significantly decreased in the tested cancer groups relative to healthy controls, and obtained an aggregate AUROC of 88% for discriminating the cancer cohort from the healthy cohort. Thus, the basis of this rejection is not that Applicant failed to enable every use of Anti-dCol3 for cancer detection. Rather, the issue is whether that disclosure enables the substantially broader scope actually encompassed by claims 1–9.
Independent claim 1 expressly recites a method of immunoassay for detecting and/or monitoring cancer in a patient, including correlating the measured amount of binding with values associated with normal healthy subjects, values associated with known disease severity, values obtained from the patient at a previous time point, and/or a predetermined cut-off value. Claim 1 does not expressly require that the patient be previously undiagnosed or that the patient’s cancer status be unknown before performance of the assay. Nor does the present rejection depend upon imposing such a requirement. The specification’s experimental cancer-versus-healthy data and AUROC analysis provide evidence supporting certain detecting embodiments falling within the claim. However, claim 1 is not limited to those demonstrated embodiments. It encompasses cancer generally, without limitation to the twelve experimentally studied cancers, namely bladder cancer, breast cancer, colorectal cancer, head and neck cancer, kidney cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, and stomach cancer, and additionally encompasses clinically distinct correlation and monitoring embodiments for which comparable enabling guidance or working examples are not provided.
Accordingly, the relevant enablement question is not whether Applicant has shown that Anti-dCol3 can ever be used in connection with cancer detection, but whether the disclosure reasonably enables the full claimed genus—across cancer types and across the alternative healthy-reference, disease-severity, prior-time-point, and predetermined-cutoff embodiments—without undue experimentation.
The enablement requirement is such that the specification of the described invention in such terms that one skilled in the art can make and use the invention to ensure that the invention is communicated to the interested public in a meaningful way (MPEP 2164).
The standard for determining whether the specification satisfies the enablement requirement is determined in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)), to assess whether any necessary experimentation required by the specification is "reasonable" or is "undue." The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required include: (1) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure, (2) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, (3) the existence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the level of one of ordinary skill, (7) the level of predictability in the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. While all of these factors are considered a sufficient amount for a prima facie case are discussed below.
The breadth of the claims
Claim 1 is directed broadly to a method of immunoassay for detecting and/or monitoring cancer in a patient using anti-denatured type III collagen antibodies (Anti-dCol3). The claim is not restricted to the twelve cancer types actually investigated by Applicant, nor is it limited to the particular cancer-versus-healthy comparison for which Applicant provides experimental data. Claim 1 requires the measured amount to be correlated with one or more clinically meaningful reference categories, including values associated with normal healthy subjects, values associated with known disease severity, values obtained from said patient at a previous time point, and/or a predetermined cut-off value.
The specification confirms that these alternatives are intended to have patient-level clinical meaning. Applicant defines a predetermined cut-off as an amount of binding that is determined statistically to be indicative of a high likelihood of a disease (i.e. a cancer) or a particular severity thereof in a patient (p. 6). Applicant further explains that the measured value may correspond to at least a 70% probability, at least a 75% probability, at least an 80% probability, at least an 85% probability, at least a 90% probability, and at least a 95% probability of the presence of said disease or said particular severity thereof (p. 6). Applicant likewise defines values associated with normal healthy subjects as standardised quantities of binding determined by the method described supra for samples from subjects considered to be healthy, i.e. without disease (or, more specifically, without cancer) and values associated with known disease severity or prognosis as standardised quantities of binding determined by the method described supra for samples from patients known to have disease (i.e. a cancer) of a known severity (p. 6).
Applicant therefore provides definitional guidance for several claimed reference categories, but the breadth of claim 1 extends substantially beyond the particular cancer-versus-healthy cohort comparison actually demonstrated. In particular, the claim encompasses unstudied cancer types, severity-based interpretation, serial patient-specific comparison, monitoring, and predetermined-cutoff embodiments across the full cancer genus.
Claim 1 is additionally unrestricted as to cancer type. Claim 7 narrows the cancer to bladder cancer, breast cancer, colorectal cancer, head and neck cancer, kidney cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, or stomach cancer. These are the cancer types represented in Applicant’s disclosed clinical cohort, and therefore the cancer-type breadth concern applicable to claim 1 does not independently apply to claim 7. Claim 7 nevertheless retains claim 1’s detecting and/or monitoring language and each of the alternative correlation pathways. Thus, claim 7 continues to encompass disease-severity, previous-time-point, monitoring, and predetermined-cutoff embodiments not comparably demonstrated by the working examples.
Dependent claims 2–6 and 8–9 narrow the assay format, detection antibody, patient/sample, or immunoassay modality, but do not eliminate the broader clinical-use embodiments inherited from claim 1.
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is a biomarker-based immunoassay method in which the amount of endogenous patient antibodies recognizing denatured type III collagen is measured and then clinically interpreted to detect and/or monitor cancer. The invention is therefore not merely directed to whether patient antibodies can physically bind denatured type III collagen. The specification itself identifies the clinical purpose as a method of immunoassay for detecting and/or monitoring cancer in a patient (p. 3), and the specification separately describes a treatment embodiment in which the assay is performed in order to detect whether the patient has cancer (p. 8).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor / the existence of working examples
The specification provides detailed direction for making and analytically operating the Anti-dCol3 assay. Applicant describes development of the Anti-dCol3 assay, including immobilizing denatured collagen, exposing the collagen to patient serum, and detecting bound antibodies. The technical performance of the assay was evaluated for inter-assay and intra-assay variation, measurement range, dilution recovery, analyte stability, antibody stress recovery, and interference (pp. 12-20; Table 2). The specification further demonstrates that denaturation materially increases assay sensitivity. Applicant states that thermal denaturation of the collagens increased considerably the sensitivity of the assays compared to native proteins (p.18), and that rheumatoid-arthritis samples displayed substantially higher binding of autoantibodies to denatured rather than native collagen (p. 18; Fig. 1A). Thus, the analytical ability to detect Anti-dCol3 itself is well taught.
The specification also provides a meaningful working example relevant to cancer detection. Applicant’s clinical evaluation included a cohort of patients with different solid tumor types consisting of 223 subjects, including bladder, breast, colorectal, head-and-neck, kidney, liver, lung, melanoma, ovarian, pancreatic, prostate, and stomach cancer patients, together with 33 age-matched healthy controls (p. 15; Table 1). The cancer samples were collected pre-treatment. Applicant states that the difference between healthy controls and the different cancer groups was tested using the nonparametric Kruskal-Wallis test with Dunn’s multiple comparisons test (p. 16). Applicant further performed AUROC analysis to evaluate the diagnostic power for discriminating between cancer patients and healthy controls (p. 16).
The results show that Anti-dCol3 levels were significantly decreased in each enumerated cancer group compared to healthy controls (p. 20; Fig. 3A). Applicant further reports that the ROC analysis was done using 223 cancer vs. 33 healthy controls and that the Anti-dCol3 assay provided a high diagnostic power for discriminating between cancer and healthy with an AUROC of 88%, p<0.0001 (p. 20; Fig. 4A). This evidence weighs in favor of enablement for at least certain detecting embodiments involving the tested cancer populations and healthy-control comparison. The rejection therefore does not rest on the proposition that Applicant has provided only an analytically measurable antibody response with no cancer-related working example. The problem instead concerns the substantial portions of the claim scope for which no comparable working example or technical guidance is supplied.
Although Applicant defines a predetermined cutoff conceptually (p. 6), the working examples do not identify an actual Anti-dCol3 numerical cutoff for cancer, do not report the sensitivity and specificity at a selected Anti-dCol3 cutoff, and do not apply such a cutoff as an operative patient-level rule. Accordingly, the disclosed AUROC analysis supports the existence of discriminatory information but does not itself provide enabling guidance for every predetermined-cutoff embodiment encompassed by claim 1, particularly across cancer types and severities. Similarly, although Applicant describes values associated with known disease severity or prognosis (p. 6), the clinical study does not establish Anti-dCol3 values that correspond to particular disease severities. Table 1 includes stage information (p. 16), but the reported Anti-dCol3 results do not provide a patient-level Anti-dCol3 rule for determining stage or severity.
The deficiency is still clearer for monitoring. Claim 1 expressly permits comparison with values obtained from said patient at a previous time point. Yet Applicant states that the tested cancer serum samples were collected pre-treatment (p. 16). The specification contains no working example in which serial Anti-dCol3 measurements from the same cancer patient are used to determine progression, regression, recurrence, remission, treatment response, or another longitudinal change in cancer status.
The state of the prior art / the level of predictability in the art
The state of the prior art and the level of predictability demonstrate that extrapolation from Applicant’s demonstrated cancer-detection embodiments to the full claimed scope would not have been routine or reasonably predictable. The prior art demonstrates that, before the effective filing date, persons of ordinary skill possessed the technical ability to measure serum autoantibodies, including antibodies recognizing denatured type III collagen. However, the art did not provide a settled or predictable rule permitting a demonstrated autoantibody relationship in particular populations to be extrapolated across different cancers, disease-severity states, and longitudinal monitoring contexts.
Suou et al. (Antibodies to Denatured Bovine Collagens in Sera of Patients with Liver Disease. Clinical and Experimental Immunology. Vol. 39, No. 1, January 1980) is especially probative because it directly evaluates endogenous patient antibodies to denatured type III collagen. Suou expressly teaches that batches of tanned sheep red blood cells were coated with each collagen (1 µg/ml), which had been previously denatured by warming at 45°C for 30 min (p. 120). Suou then reports the incidence and mean titre of haemagglutinating antibody to denatured Type III collagen in sera of 101 patients with liver disease and of 35 normal controls (p. 120). Thus, measuring endogenous antibodies reactive with denatured type III collagen was known.
Suou further illustrates why the clinical significance of such an antibody measurement was context-dependent rather than universally predictable. Table 1 reports positivity for denatured Type III collagen antibodies of 74% in chronic active hepatitis, 56% in liver cirrhosis, and 63% in hepatoma (p. 121; Table 1). Suou further states that the positive rate and mean titre of antibody in patients with chronic active hepatitis, liver cirrhosis, and primary hepatoma were significantly high compared with the normal controls (pp. 120-121). The response therefore was not specific to malignancy. Suou additionally reports There was also significant correlation between the antibody titres and the serum levels of γ-globulin (p. 120), further showing that Anti-dCol3-type reactivity could vary with broader immunological phenomena rather than cancer status alone. The Discussion further explains that anti-collagen antibodies may occur also as a non-specific autoantibody, like antinuclear antibody or smooth muscle antibody and concludes that pathophysiological significance of these antibodies in liver disease remains to be determined (p. 123). This evidence does not negate Applicant’s demonstrated cancer-detection embodiments. Rather, it shows that the meaning of an anti-denatured-Type-III-collagen measurement depended upon disease context and therefore would not automatically provide enablement for extrapolation to every cancer type, disease-severity state, or monitoring embodiment encompassed by claim 1.
Tan et al. (Serum Autoantibodies as Biomarkers for Early Cancer Detection. The FEBS Journal. Vol. 276, No. 23, December 2009) provides strong evidence regarding the general predictability of serum autoantibodies as cancer diagnostic biomarkers. Tan expressly states that a single autoantibody test lacks the sensitivity and specificity required for cancer screening and diagnosis (p. 6882). Tan further states that typically, autoantibodies against a particular tumor-associated antigen (TAA) are found in only 10–30% of patients and explains that the reason for this low sensitivity lies in the heterogenic nature of cancer, whereby different proteins are aberrantly processed or regulated in patients with the same type of cancer (p. 6882).
Tan further states hence, no protein is likely to be commonly perturbed or immunogenic across a particular cancer type and explains that certain TAAs may also be nonspecific, as they arise both in cancer and in other diseases, including systemic lupus erythematosus, Sjogren’s syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis, type 1 diabetes mellitus, and autoimmune thyroid disease (p. 6882). Tan additionally notes that in some circumstances, autoantibodies may be detected in normal individuals (p. 6882). The art therefore recognized heterogeneity not simply across different cancers but even among patients having the same cancer.
Tan explains that although a single autoantigen would lack adequate sensitivity and specificity, a panel of TAAs may overcome this problem (p. 6882) and that the application of several antibodies or autoantigens would detect cancer with higher efficiency than a single biomarker (p. 6883). Tan further states that the inclusion of antigens must be selective for optimization of sensitivity and specificity because not all antigens targeted by antibodies are cancer-specific (p. 6883). Particularly significant to the amount of experimentation required, Tan later reports that one of the main reasons appears to be the inherent heterogeneity of patients and tumor tissue samples (p. 6892) and explains that samples of sera from a large cohort of patients, including those with different types of cancer, with inflammatory and autoimmune diseases, and healthy subjects, have to be included to validate the sensitivity and specificity of promising cancer-diagnostic candidates for clinical and epidemiological applications (p. 6893). Thus, Tan supports the conclusion that extending a demonstrated autoantibody biomarker relationship to additional tumor populations or clinically distinct uses ordinarily required substantial empirical validation rather than simple extrapolation.
Ingrosso et al. (Local Radiotherapy Increases the Level of Autoantibodies to Ribosomal P0 Protein but Not to Heat Shock Proteins, Extracellular Matrix Molecules and EGFR/ErbB2 Receptors in Prostate Cancer Patients. Oncology Reports. Vol. 29. No. 3, March 2013) is particularly relevant to both collagen III autoreactivity and the monitoring aspect of claim 1. Ingrosso studied sera from prostate cancer patients against several extracellular-matrix molecules, including collagen III. The authors report significant differences between healthy donors and untreated patients were detected for the IgG serum levels to CI (median value 0.43 vs. 0.55, p=0.0046), CIII (0.35 vs. 0.47, p=0.0006) and other extracellular-matrix antigens (p. 1169). Thus, in this prostate-cancer study, collagen III autoantibody levels were higher in cancer patients than controls.
Ingrosso additionally reports that the increased autoantibody level to CI, CIII, CV, FN and LM in prostate cancer patients was not associated with prostate-specific antigen (PSA) level and Gleason score (p. 1169). This is important because Applicant’s claim encompasses correlation with values associated with known disease severity. Ingrosso demonstrates that an anticollagen response can differ between cancer and controls without necessarily tracking established clinical disease variables. The monitoring context is still less predictable. Ingrosso states that 8 months after therapy the IgG serum levels to CI (median value 0.55 vs. 0.51, p=0.0009), CIII (median value 0.47 vs. 0.44, p=0.0003) and FN (median value 0.22 vs. 0.19, p=0.0003) significantly decreased, whereas no significant difference was observed in the level of IgG to CIV, CV and LM (p. 1170). Other antibodies behaved differently still. The abstract reports that the level of P0 autoantibodies increased after therapy in 10 patients while treatment of patients did not change the levels of antibodies against EGFR, ErbB2 and PSA (p. 1167). Ingrosso concludes that the modification of antibody level to self-molecules after standard treatment of prostate cancer patients is influenced by the type of antigen (p. 1167). Ingrosso also states expressly that immune response to radiation tissue damage is not predictable and remains incompletely understood (p. 1168). Thus, the prior art did not establish that a longitudinal change in an endogenous autoantibody, including an anticollagen antibody, had a universal or readily predictable interpretation as progression, regression, or therapeutic response.
Fernandez-Madrid et al. (Autoimmunity to Collagen in Human Lung Cancer. Cancer Research. Vol. 56, No. 1, January 1996) independently reinforces the biological variability of collagen autoreactivity in cancer. Fernandez-Madrid measured serum antibodies against human collagen types I–V in 67 patients with biopsy-proven lung cancer and 50 reference subjects. The paper reports that mean serum antibodies binding fibrillar collagen types I–III and V were significantly higher than in controls and that only 43.2% of patients were positive for one or more anticollagen antibodies (p. 121). For Type III specifically, Table 3 reports a mean antibody level of 0.397 in the lung-cancer cohort versus 0.300 in the normal reference cohort, while only 25.4% of the 67 lung-cancer patients met the study’s positivity criterion for Type III collagen antibodies (p. 123, Table 3).
More significantly, the clinical relationship differed according to collagen type. Fernandez-Madrid reports that the levels of Type IV and Type V collagen antibodies contributed to the variance of progression-free survival in opposite directions (p. 121). The authors subsequently state that no antibody was found to be exclusive to a histological cell type and the significance of the presence of autoantibodies in cancer patients is not well understood (p. 125). They further state that the relationship of clinical parameters of serum antibodies binding collagen types IV and I appears to be different from those binding type V collagen and expressly identify an important question is whether these antibodies are markers for lung cancer or whether they are found in other malignancies (p. 125). Regarding longitudinal changes, the authors state that although decreased Type III and IV collagen antibody levels could be relates to the immunosuppressive effects of chemotherapy, other alternative possibilities exist (p. 125). Fernandez-Madrid therefore further demonstrates that collagen autoantibody behavior in cancer was antigen-, histology-, and outcome-dependent and did not possess a settled clinical interpretation.
Considered together, Suou, Tan, Ingrosso, and Fernandez-Madrid establish that, although persons of ordinary skill knew how to perform autoantibody assays and Applicant has itself demonstrated a useful Anti-dCol3 association for particular cancer populations, the art did not make extrapolation of that relationship throughout the full claimed genus routine or predictable. In particular, the references show biological heterogeneity across diseases and cancers, differing directions and prevalences of collagen-autoantibody responses, lack of consistent association with disease-severity variables, and context-dependent longitudinal responses after treatment. This Wands factor therefore weighs against enablement of the full claimed scope.
The level of ordinary skill in the art
The level of ordinary skill would have been relatively high. A person of ordinary skill would have possessed advanced education (e.g., PhD or M.D.) and practical experience in fields such as clinical immunology, oncology, biomarker development, immunoassay methodology, molecular biology, and biostatistical analysis. The specification itself employs technically routine but sophisticated methods including immunoassay development, antibody binding analysis, Kruskal-Wallis testing, Dunn’s multiple-comparisons testing, AUROC analysis, assay precision studies, interference analysis, dilution recovery, and analytical validation (pp. 12–20). The prior art similarly shows that persons in this field knew how to conduct ELISA, establish control populations, determine cutoffs, perform ROC analysis, use multiplex markers, and evaluate clinical variables.
However, a high level of skill does not cure the limited predictability of extending Applicant’s disclosed results throughout the considerably broader clinical scope of the claims. Indeed, the references discussed above demonstrate that highly skilled investigators repeatedly required empirical patient cohorts, clinical stratification, statistical modeling, and validation to determine whether a particular autoantibody signal had diagnostic or longitudinal meaning. Thus, the level of skill permits implementation of Applicant’s disclosed Anti-dCol3 assay and the embodiments actually supported by the working examples, but does not eliminate the substantial empirical work needed to establish the additional cancer-type, disease-severity, cutoff, and longitudinal-monitoring embodiments encompassed by claims 1–9.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the claimed invention
The quantity of experimentation necessary to practice the full scope of the claimed invention, beyond the embodiments actually supported by Applicant’s disclosure, would be extensive. For claim 1’s cancer genus beyond the twelve experimentally investigated cancers, a person of ordinary skill would have to determine empirically whether Anti-dCol3 differs meaningfully from appropriate noncancer controls for each additional cancer type, whether the direction and magnitude of the association are preserved, and what interpretive criteria provide clinically meaningful discrimination. The prior art demonstrates why such extension could not simply be assumed from the disclosed twelve-cancer cohort.
For the claimed predetermined-cutoff embodiments, further work would be required to establish suitable Anti-dCol3 thresholds for the relevant populations and clinical use, characterize sensitivity and specificity and false-positive/false-negative behavior, and determine whether the applicable cutoff varies with cancer type, patient population, stage, or other biological state. Although Applicant’s AUROC analysis demonstrates discriminatory ability for the disclosed pooled cancer-versus-healthy population, it does not provide a generally applicable cutoff across the full scope of claim 1. Suou demonstrates that anti-denatured-Type-III-collagen antibodies occur prominently in chronic active hepatitis and cirrhosis as well as hepatoma and may occur as a non-specific autoantibody (p. 123). Tan expressly teaches that clinically promising autoantibody candidates require samples of sera from a large cohort of patients, including those with different types of cancer, with inflammatory and autoimmune diseases, and healthy subjects, have to be included to validate the sensitivity and specificity (p. 6893).
For the claimed disease-severity alternative, further experimentation would be required to determine whether Anti-dCol3 corresponds reproducibly with stage, tumor burden, prognosis, or another clinically meaningful severity measure. Applicant provides no such relationship, and Ingrosso reports that increased Type III collagen autoantibody levels were not associated with PSA level and Gleason score (p. 1169). For the claimed monitoring alternative, further longitudinal patient studies would be required to establish whether a change in Anti-dCol3 corresponds to progression, remission, recurrence, treatment response, or another change in cancer status, in what direction such a change occurs, over what time interval it occurs, and whether the relationship depends on cancer type or therapy. Applicant provides only pre-treatment clinical samples. Ingrosso and Fernandez-Madrid demonstrate why the answer could not simply be predicted: autoantibody responses changed differently according to antigen and treatment context, and alternative explanations existed for longitudinal anticollagen changes. The experimentation needed would therefore go beyond merely confirming or optimizing Applicant’s disclosed successful cancer-versus-healthy embodiment. It would be required to establish additional biological and clinical relationships throughout substantial, presently unsupported portions of the claim scope. This weighs strongly against enablement being commensurate with the breadth of the claims.
Claims 2–9 do not overcome the deficiency. Claim 2 limits the immunoassay to a solid-phase format. Claim 3 further recites a detection antibody. Claims 4–6 further limit the detection antibody or label. Claim 8 limits the biofluid to serum or plasma, and claim 9 specifies radioimmunoassay, fluorescence immunoassay, or enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay. These limitations further define how Anti-dCol3 may be measured, but the analytical ability to measure Anti-dCol3 is not the basis of the rejection. Each claim continues to encompass at least portions of claim 1’s broader clinical-use scope for which the specification does not provide commensurate enabling disclosure. Claim 7 warrants separate treatment because it narrows the cancer genus to the twelve cancers represented in Applicant’s experimental cohort. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 7 is not based on lack of working examples for its recited cancer types. Rather, claim 7 continues to encompass claim 1’s disease-severity, previous-time-point, predetermined-cutoff, and monitoring alternatives. The specification provides no longitudinal Anti-dCol3 monitoring example, no demonstrated Anti-dCol3 relationship to known cancer severity, and no operative Anti-dCol3 cutoff applied across the recited cancers. Thus, claim 7 remains broader than the enabling disclosure notwithstanding its limitation to the experimentally studied cancer types.
Therefore, considering the Wands factors as a whole, the specification provides substantial enabling disclosure. It teaches how to analytically measure patient antibodies reactive with denatured type III collagen and provides working experimental evidence supporting at least certain embodiments in which Anti-dCol3 measurements distinguish the twelve studied cancer populations from healthy controls. The rejection is therefore not based on a total absence of enabled cancer-detection subject matter.
However, claims 1–9 extend materially beyond that enabled disclosure. Claim 1 encompasses cancer without restriction to the experimentally investigated tumor types and further encompasses disease-severity correlation, prior-patient-time-point comparison, longitudinal cancer monitoring, and predetermined-cutoff embodiments for which the specification provides materially less direction and no comparable working examples. Claim 7 removes the untested-cancer breadth but retains those additional unsupported clinical-use alternatives, and claims 2–6 and 8–9 merely narrow assay mechanics or sample characteristics while inheriting the broader clinical scope.
The prior art does not render these additional embodiments routine or predictably inferable from Applicant’s successful examples. Rather, Suou, Tan, Ingrosso, and Fernandez-Madrid demonstrate that autoantibody responses are biologically heterogeneous and context-dependent; that anti-denatured Type III collagen responses can occur in malignant and nonmalignant disease; that collagen autoantibody responses can differ in direction and prevalence among cancer populations; that such responses do not necessarily correlate with established disease-severity measures; and that longitudinal autoantibody behavior after treatment varies according to antigen and biological context.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill, even possessing the technical ability to perform Applicant’s Anti-dCol3 immunoassay and the expressly demonstrated cancer-versus-healthy embodiments, would have been required to undertake substantial additional empirical investigation to establish the unsupported portions of the claimed genus. The scope of the enabling disclosure is therefore not commensurate with the scope of claims 1–9. Claims 1–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to judicial exceptions, specifically a law of nature and an abstract idea in the form of a mental process, without significantly more. Claim 1 recites the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3 antibody response in a patient and the claimed evaluation of that biological information for cancer presence and/or status in the patient. Claims 2–6 and 8–9 further specify laboratory techniques, reagents, sample types, and immunoassay formats used to obtain the Anti-dCol3 measurement, while claim 7 specifies particular cancers to which the naturally occurring relationship is applied.
This rejection is made in accordance with Patent Subject Matter Eligibility as set forth in MPEP §2106. Analysis of subject-matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. §101 requires consideration under these steps as followed:
Step 1 – Statutory Category (Refer to MPEP § 2106.03): Claims 1–9 are drawn to a process falling within a statutory category under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Step 2A, Prong One – Recitation of a Judicial Exception (Refer to MPEP § 2106.04): Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a method of immunoassay for detecting and/or monitoring cancer in a patient comprising contacting a sample from the patient with denatured type III collagen; detecting and determining the amount of binding between the denatured type III collagen and antibodies in the sample that specifically recognize and bind denatured type III collagen; and correlating the determined amount of binding with values associated with normal healthy subjects, values associated with known disease severity, values obtained from the patient at a previous time point, and/or a predetermined cut-off value.
Claim 1 therefore recites a law of nature, namely the naturally occurring biological characteristics reflected by a patient’s endogenous Anti-dCol3 antibody response as evaluated in relation to the presence and/or status of cancer in that patient. The patient naturally possesses the antibodies being measured, and the amount of those antibodies that recognize and bind denatured type III collagen is naturally occurring biological information. The claim does not create those biological characteristics. Rather, the claim detects the patient’s naturally occurring antibody reactivity and evaluates the resulting amount of binding for its cancer-related significance.
Claim 1 additionally recites an abstract idea in the mental-process grouping. Once the amount of Anti-dCol3 binding and the appropriate reference information are available, the recited act of correlating that amount with normal healthy values, known disease-severity values, prior values from the same patient, and/or a predetermined cut-off constitutes evaluation and judgment of information. The correlation may be performed conceptually by considering whether the measured value corresponds to or differs from the selected reference information and drawing the cancer-related inference contemplated by the claim. Thus, the claimed correlation represents the type of observation, evaluation, and judgment capable of being performed in the human mind.
Claim 2 incorporates the judicial exceptions of claim 1 and specifies that the immunoassay is a solid-phase immunoassay in which denatured type III collagen is bound to a solid support. The solid-phase limitation specifies how the biological information used in the judicial exceptions is acquired; it does not remove the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3 antibody information or its subsequent cancer-related correlation from the claim. Claim 3 incorporates claim 2 and further specifies detecting and determining binding using a detection antibody specifically reactive with the sample antibodies and detecting binding of that detection antibody to sample antibodies bound to denatured type III collagen on the solid support. These limitations further define the laboratory technique used to obtain the Anti-dCol3 measurement, while retaining the same naturally occurring Anti-dCol3 biological information and subsequent correlation recited by claim 1. Claim 4 specifies a human patient and a detection antibody specifically reactive with human IgG. The limitation identifies the patient species and immunoglobulin to be detected but leaves unchanged the naturally occurring endogenous Anti-dCol3 reactivity and the claimed cancer-related evaluation of that biological information.
Claim 5 further specifies that the detection antibody is monoclonal. This narrows the reagent used to obtain the antibody-binding measurement but does not remove or alter either judicial exception. Claim 6 specifies that the detection antibody is radiolabelled, linked to a fluorophore, or enzyme-linked. These limitations merely specify signal-generating mechanisms for detecting the antibody-binding information and likewise retain the natural relationship and subsequent correlation. Claim 7 narrows the cancer to bladder, breast, colorectal, head and neck, kidney, liver, lung, melanoma, ovarian, pancreatic, prostate, or stomach cancer. The limitation therefore restricts the disease context in which the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3 antibody information is evaluated, but does not change the nature of the biological information or the claimed mental evaluation of the measured antibody-binding information.
Claim 8 limits the sample to serum or plasma. The limitation identifies the source from which the naturally occurring antibody information is obtained but retains both judicial exceptions. Claim 9 limits the immunoassay to radioimmunoassay, fluorescence immunoassay, or enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay. These limitations specify laboratory formats for obtaining the Anti-dCol3 measurement but do not remove the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3/cancer relationship or the subsequent correlation of the resulting information. Accordingly, claims 1–9 recite judicial exceptions in the form of a law of nature and a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong Two – Integration into a Practical Application (Refer to MPEP § 2106.04(d)): Regarding claim 1, the additional physical activity is principally contacting a patient sample with denatured type III collagen and detecting and determining the resulting antibody binding. These steps obtain the biological information upon which the claimed cancer-related evaluation and mental correlation operate. The steps therefore function as data-gathering activity necessary to observe and evaluate the judicial exceptions. Claim 1 does not recite an improvement to immunoassay technology, an improved antigen structure, an improved detection architecture, a new analytical instrument, or another technological improvement attributable to the claimed method. The denatured type III collagen and the patient’s antibodies are used to obtain a measurement of the patient’s endogenous Anti-dCol3 response, and that measurement supplies the information subsequently correlated with the recited reference information. The fact that biological information originates from a physical patient sample does not, by itself, meaningfully integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The sample is used as the source of the naturally occurring antibodies whose binding is measured so that the resulting information can be evaluated for the recited cancer-related biological significance.
Nor does claim 1 require administering a drug, performing surgery, selecting and administering treatment, changing a therapeutic regimen, altering the patient’s physiology, or otherwise taking an action responsive to the correlation. Although the preamble states that the method is for detecting and/or monitoring cancer, the claimed method terminates with the correlation of the measured Anti-dCol3 binding with reference information. The cancer-related inference itself is therefore the endpoint of the claimed method rather than an intermediate step used to accomplish a further treatment or technological application.
Claim 2’s solid-phase immunoassay limitation further specifies the laboratory platform used to collect the antibody-binding information. Binding denatured type III collagen to a solid support does not improve the functioning of the support or immunoassay technology; rather, the support provides a physical substrate for obtaining the information to which the judicial exceptions are subsequently applied. Claim 3’s detection-antibody limitations likewise define how the sample antibodies bound to denatured type III collagen are detected and quantified. These limitations facilitate acquisition of the Anti-dCol3 measurement but do not impose a treatment or other meaningful action on the patient resulting from the cancer-related correlation.
Claims 4–6 further specify a human patient, IgG-reactive detection antibody, monoclonal detection antibody, and conventional signal labels. These limitations refine the physical measurement technique but do not change what is ultimately done with the information. The measured amount is still correlated with reference information to obtain the claimed cancer-related significance from the naturally occurring biological information. Claim 7 merely limits the disease field in which the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3 biological information is evaluated for cancer-related significance. Restricting the natural relationship to listed cancers does not apply that relationship in a manner beyond the diagnostic or monitoring field itself.
Claim 8’s serum-or-plasma limitation merely identifies the biological specimen from which the antibody information is obtained. It does not require an additional action that meaningfully applies the resulting correlation. Claim 9’s radioimmunoassay, fluorescence immunoassay, and enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay alternatives similarly define techniques by which the naturally occurring antibody-binding information may be acquired. The limitation does not improve those technologies or require a consequential treatment or other technical application of the cancer-related correlation. When claims 1–9 are considered as a whole, the additional limitations therefore amount to obtaining a patient sample, measuring endogenous antibody reactivity to denatured type III collagen, and evaluating the resulting information against reference information to obtain the cancer-related conclusion supplied by the claimed natural relationship. The claims do not recite an additional treatment, transformation, or technological improvement that meaningfully applies the judicial exceptions beyond acquisition and evaluation of biological information. Accordingly, the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B – Inventive Concept (Refer to MPEP § 2106.05): The additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. One consideration is whether the additional elements merely constitute well-understood, routine, conventional activity previously engaged in within the relevant field. The evidence discussed below is relied upon for this limited Step 2B purpose. The references are not relied upon to establish the judicial exceptions themselves, but rather to demonstrate the conventional nature of the laboratory activities surrounding the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3/cancer relationship and mental correlation.
Regarding claim 1, the physical steps of contacting a patient sample with collagen antigen and determining the resulting antibody binding do not supply an inventive concept. Ingrosso et al. provides particularly direct evidence that, years before the effective filing date, measurement of patient serum antibodies against collagen by an ELISA architecture was established laboratory activity in the cancer field. Ingrosso expressly reports sera were assayed for the presence of antibodies and that the assay was performed by ELISA as previously described (p. 1169). Ingrosso further employed human type III collagen, antigen-coated microtiter plates, human sera, anti-human IgG detection, and optical measurement. Thus, presenting collagen antigen to patient serum antibodies and measuring the resulting immunoreactivity using an immunoassay did not constitute an unconventional technological operation.
Fernandez-Madrid et al. further confirms the conventional nature of substantially the same laboratory architecture in the cancer setting. Fernandez-Madrid reports that sera from lung-cancer patients and reference subjects were tested for anticollagen antibodies using purified human collagen types I–V, including type III collagen, and that antibody levels were determined by using ELISA (p. 121). The assay used antigen-coated microtiter plates, diluted patient sera, alkaline-phosphatase-conjugated anti-human IgG, and optical measurement of the resulting antibody amount (pp. 121–122). Accordingly, claim 1 does not obtain significantly more merely from physically contacting the sample with collagen and detecting antibody binding; those steps constitute conventional acquisition of the biological information upon which the claimed law of nature and mental correlation operate.
Regarding claims 2–4, 6, and 9, the further limitations to a solid-phase immunoassay, detection antibody reactive with the sample antibodies, human IgG detection, conventional signal labels, and recited immunoassay formats likewise do not supply an inventive concept. Ingrosso and Fernandez-Madrid demonstrate the established use of antigen-coated solid supports, human serum, labeled anti-human IgG detection reagents, and ELISA for measuring anti-collagen antibodies. Fernandez-Madrid, for example, coated flat-bottom microtiter plates with antigen, added diluted patient sera, and detected bound antibodies using alkaline phosphatase-conjugated goat antihuman IgG (p. 121). These limitations therefore further specify conventional techniques for acquiring the biological information rather than an inventive application of the judicial exceptions.
Regarding claim 5, the monoclonal detection-antibody limitation likewise does not supply an inventive concept. Chevrier et al. (Sensitive Detection of Human IgG in ELISA Using a Monoclonal Anti-IgG-Peroxidase Conjugate. Hybridoma and Hybridomics, Vol. 23, No. 6, December 2004).
demonstrates that monoclonal anti-human IgG detection reagents were established before the effective filing date and teaches a monoclonal anti-human IgG-peroxidase conjugate suitable for replacing conventional anti-human IgG conjugates. Thus, claim 5 merely further specifies a conventional immunochemical detection reagent rather than adding a technological improvement or other element amounting to significantly more. Regarding claims 7 and 8, limiting the cancer to the enumerated cancer types and the biological sample to serum or plasma does not provide an inventive concept. These limitations merely narrow the disease population and biological specimen in which the naturally occurring Anti-dCol3 information is evaluated; they do not add a treatment, technological improvement, or other meaningful application of the judicial exceptions. Fernandez-Madrid, for example, expressly used sera from patients with lung cancer and healthy reference subjects for anti-collagen-antibody analysis.
When the additional limitations of claims 1–9 are considered as an ordered combination rather than in isolation, the claims still amount to contacting a biological sample containing naturally occurring patient antibodies with denatured type III collagen, detecting and quantifying the resulting antibody binding using established immunoassay reagents and formats, and correlating the resulting information with reference information to obtain the cancer-related significance supplied by the naturally occurring relationship. The ordered combination does not recite an unconventional assay architecture, an improvement in the functioning of immunoassay technology, or a treatment or other action responsive to the resulting cancer-related correlation.
Ultimately, claims 1–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to a law of nature and an abstract idea in the form of a mental process, without additional elements that integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions themselves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suou et al.
Regarding claim 1, for a method of immunoassay for detecting and/or monitoring cancer in a patient, Suou teaches studying sera from 101 patients with liver disease for antibodies to denatured collagens by passive haemagglutination assay, including sixteen patients having primary hepatoma (pp. 119–120). Suou further teaches that the anti-collagen antibodies in liver disease may have a diagnostic significance in distinguishing some types of liver disease (p. 122). Regarding step (i), Suou teaches that serum samples were obtained from 101 patients and that batches of tanned sheep red blood cells were coated with each collagen (1 µg/ml), which had been previously denatured by warming at 45°C for 30 min; the collagens included Type III collagen (p. 120).
Regarding step (ii), Suou teaches determining the incidence and mean titre of haemagglutinating antibody to denatured Type III collagen in sera of 101 patients with liver disease and expresses the antibody titres in terms of serum dilutions (pp. 120–121; Table 1). Suou further demonstrates specificity by teaching that absorption of the sera with a given collagen completely abolished the antibody activity to the same collagen and concludes that the results further indicated that these antibodies were type-specific (p. 122; Table 4).
Regarding step (iii), Suou teaches comparison with 35 normal individuals matched for age and sex served as controls (p. 120). Suou reports that for denatured Type III collagen, the abnormal rate and mean titre of antibody in the patient group were significantly higher than those in the control group, and specifically that the positive rate and mean titre of antibody in patients with chronic active hepatitis, liver cirrhosis, and primary hepatoma were significantly high compared with the normal controls (p. 120). Table 1 further reports Type III collagen antibody values for controls and hepatoma, including 0% positive sera for controls and 63% positive sera for hepatoma (p. 121; Table 1).
Regarding claim 7, Suou teaches that the patient population included sixteen primary hepatoma all with cirrhosis, with the hepatoma diagnosis histologically confirmed in eight patients and clinically established in the remaining eight (p. 120). Suou further reports for denatured Type III collagen that the positive rate and mean titre of antibody in patients with chronic active hepatitis, liver cirrhosis, and primary hepatoma were significantly high compared with the normal controls (p. 120), and Table 1 reports 10 of 16 hepatoma patients, or 63%, as positive for antibodies to denatured Type III collagen (p. 121; Table 1).
Regarding claim 8, Suou expressly teaches that serum samples were obtained from 101 patients with a wide spectrum of liver disease (p. 120). Suou further determines the incidence and mean titre of haemagglutinating antibody to denatured Type III collagen in sera of 101 patients with liver disease and of 35 normal controls (p. 120).
Accordingly, Suou discloses each and every limitation of claims 1, 7, and 8. Accordingly, claims 1, 7, and 8 are anticipated under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suou et al. in view of Choi et al. (Autoantibodies to Type II Collagen: Occurrence in Rheumatoid Arthritis, Other Arthritides, Autoimmune Connective Tissue Diseases, and Chronic Inflammatory Syndromes. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases. Vol. 47, No. 4, April 1988).
With respect to the teachings of Suou, see the discussion above, which applies equally here. However, Suou differs from the instant claim in failing to expressly teach or specify the following: that the immunoassay is a solid-phase immunoassay in which denatured Type III collagen is bound to a solid support as recited in claim 2; adding a detection antibody, wherein said detection antibody is specifically reactive with antibodies from the sample and detecting and determining the amount of binding between the detection antibody and antibodies from the sample bound to the denatured type III collagen on the solid support as recited in claim 3; wherein the detection antibody is antibody specifically reactive with human immunoglobulin G (IgG) antibodies as recited in claim 4; wherein the detection antibody is radiolabelled, is linked to a fluorophore or is an enzyme-linked antibody as recited in claim 6; wherein the immunoassay is a radioimmunoassay, fluorescence immunoassay, or an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (claim 9).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches a solid-phase immunoassay specifically for serum antibodies to denatured collagen. Choi teaches that an ELISA modified from Engvall and Perlmann was used to measure serum antibodies to collagen and that the assay was performed in 96-well, flat bottomed, microtitre trays (p. 315). Choi further teaches that denatured Col II was diluted to 5 µg/ml in coating buffer and coating was carried out at 50°C overnight, followed by addition of patient serum to the antigen-coated wells (p. 315).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suou’s assay by immobilizing Suou’s denatured Type III collagen on the solid microtiter support and employing the ELISA format taught by Choi. Choi provides an express reason to make the modification because Choi uses its solid-phase ELISA specifically to measure serum antibodies to collagen and successfully applies that format to denatured collagen. Thus, a skilled artisan seeking to measure Suou’s same class of serum anti-denatured-collagen antibodies would have been led to Choi’s solid-phase format as a directly applicable assay technique, while retaining Suou’s Type III collagen antigen. A reasonable expectation of success existed because both references detect human serum antibodies against denatured collagen, and Choi expressly demonstrates immobilization of denatured collagen and detection of the resulting serum-antibody binding.
Regarding claim 3, Choi expressly teaches this architecture. After coating the microtiter wells with denatured collagen and adding patient serum, Choi teaches 50 µl of serum diluted 1 in 100 in bovine serum albumin in PBS-Tween was then added and thereafter 50 µl of goat antihuman IgG antibody conjugated with alkaline phosphatase was added (p. 315). Choi then determines the enzyme-generated signal by measuring absorbance at 405 nm (p. 315). Thus, Choi teaches detecting human sample IgG that has bound to the immobilized collagen using a detection antibody specifically reactive with the sample antibodies and determining the amount of that binding through the enzyme-generated signal. For the reasons stated for claim 2, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to employ Choi’s secondary anti-human IgG detection architecture in Suou’s denatured-Type-III-collagen assay because Choi expressly demonstrates that this arrangement measures serum IgG antibodies bound to immobilized denatured collagen. The skilled artisan would have reasonably expected the anti-human IgG reagent to detect the IgG component of Suou’s anti-Type-III-collagen antibodies because Suou independently establishes that its anti-collagen antibody population includes IgG.
Regarding claim 4, the patients in Suou’s study are humans. While, Choi expressly teaches that patient serum is contacted with the collagen-coated wells and then detected using goat antihuman IgG antibody conjugated with alkaline phosphatase (p. 315). It would have been prima facie obvious to use Choi’s anti-human IgG detector in Suou’s modified assay because Suou expressly identifies IgG as one class of the anti-collagen antibodies being measured, while Choi expressly demonstrates that anti-human IgG is suitable for detecting serum anti-collagen IgG bound to immobilized denatured collagen. Thus, Choi provides the direct teaching connecting the reagent to the same antibody-measurement function, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Choi expressly teaches that its secondary detection reagent is goat antihuman IgG antibody conjugated with alkaline phosphatase and subsequently determines enzyme activity using p-nitrophenyl phosphate, with absorbance at 405 nm measured by a spectrophotometer (p. 315). Thus, Choi expressly teaches the claimed enzyme-linked alternative. It would have been prima facie obvious to employ Choi’s enzyme-linked anti-human IgG detector in Suou’s modified assay for the same reasons discussed above: Choi expressly teaches this detection system as part of an ELISA used to measure serum antibodies to collagen, including antibodies to denatured collagen. Choi therefore provides a specific teaching to use an enzyme-linked anti-human IgG reagent to generate a measurable signal from collagen-bound patient IgG, with a reasonable expectation of success demonstrated by Choi’s successful assay.
Regarding claim 9, Choi expressly teaches serum IgG antibodies to native and denatured human type II collagen (Col II) were measured using an enzyme linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) (p. 313). Choi further states that an ELISA modified from Engvall and Perlmann was used to measure serum antibodies to collagen (p. 315). It would have been prima facie obvious to perform Suou’s anti-denatured-Type-III-collagen antibody measurement using Choi’s ELISA because Choi expressly applies ELISA to the same pertinent analytical problem—measuring serum antibodies against denatured collagen. A skilled artisan therefore had a concrete reason to employ the ELISA format, rather than merely selecting it because ELISA was generally known. The modification would preserve Suou’s cancer-associated denatured Type III collagen antibody measurement while using Choi’s demonstrated solid-phase quantitative detection technique. A reasonable expectation of success existed because Choi expressly reports ELISA measurement of serum IgG directed against denatured collagen.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suou et al., Choi et al., as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, and 4 above, and further in view of Chevrier et al. (Sensitive Detection of Human IgG in ELISA Using a Monoclonal Anti-IgG-Peroxidase Conjugate. Hybridoma and Hybridomics, Vol. 23, No. 6, December 2004).
With respect to the teachings of Suou and Choi, see the discussion above, which applies equally here. However, Suou and Choi differs from the instant claim in failing to expressly teach or specify that the detection antibody is a monoclonal antibody.
Chevrier teaches a monoclonal anti-human IgG enzyme conjugate specifically for antigen-specific human-serum ELISA. Chevrier teaches that the murine C5-1 anti-human IgG MAb was selected for conjugation because of its high affinity, pan-IgG reactivity and lack of relevant cross-reactivity (p. 362). Chevrier further teaches that for the detection of tetanus toxoid (TT)-specific IgGs in serum, human serum was incubated in antigen-coated microplate wells and the presence of TT-specific IgG was revealed by the addition of the tested conjugates (p. 363). Figure 3 further confirms that after serum was contacted with antigen-coated wells, the bound IgG were detected with the C5-1 monoclonal HRP conjugate (Fig. 3, p. 364). Chevrier concludes that the C5-1–HRP conjugate may represent a suitable alternative to polyclonal conjugates prepared from animal sera because it could detect similar amounts of human IgG, and teaches that use of the monoclonal reagent would minimize the expected lot-to-lot variations over time (p. 367). Chevrier also reports lower background reactivity for the monoclonal C5-1 conjugate, with similar signal-to-noise ratios for detecting low levels of specific serum antibodies (pp. 365–366).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Chevrier’s monoclonal anti-human IgG conjugate for Choi’s anti-human IgG detector in the modified Suou/Choi assay to obtain Chevrier’s expressly taught advantages of reduced background and improved reagent standardization while retaining the same function of detecting antigen-bound human IgG. A reasonable expectation of success existed because Chevrier directly demonstrates successful detection of antigen-specific human serum IgG with the monoclonal conjugate and expressly identifies it as a suitable alternative to conventional anti-human IgG conjugates.
Conclusion
/E.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 September 15, 2026