DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/29/2026, with respect to objection to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Mirtic
et al. (Development of probiotic-loaded microcapsules for local delivery: Physical
properties, cell release and growth), Claims 1-6, and 15-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Rana et al. (US 2010/0267594 A1), and Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leyrer et al. (CN 101772522 B) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: xanthan spelling correction. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 Liu are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crews (US 2002/0076803 A1) (“Crew” herein) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0108131 A1) (“Liu” herein).
Claim 1.
Crews discloses a well treatment composition, the well treatment composition comprising:
a bio-based agent, [0041-0042]
a polymer shell encapsulating the bio-based agent, [0049, and
wherein the bio-based agent is selected from the group consisting of Bacillus pumilus DEVI, Bacillus brevis DSM 30, Rhizomucor miehei, Bacillus cereus EN18, Bacillus subtilis B30, Sporosarcina pasteurii, Lactobacillus, and combinations thereof. [0041-0042]
Crews however does not explicitly discloses a cationic macromolecule deposited on the polymer shell to form microcapsules, wherein the well treatment composition adheres to downhole surfaces due to electrostatic interactions between the microcapsules and downhole surfaces.
Liu teaches the above limitation (See paragraph Abstract, 0037, 0044-0046 → Liu teaches this limitation in that Multifunctional coatings and chemical additives, comprising of lubricant, micro/nano-textured particles, emulsifiers, hydrogel polymers, cross-linking agent to modify the hydrogel polymers, antimicrobial to preserve the bio-based materials, and water solvent, are useful in hydraulic fracturing operation. Hydrogel polymers are commercially available in the market.. Other polyacrylate and acrylamide polymers with cationic and nonionic molecular structure, are also potential candidates as hydrogel polymers. The structure of hydrolyzed polyacrylate sodium acrylamide can be linear or branched with dendrimers having hyperbranched polyester amide structure, other water-soluble polymers, such as polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) and polyethylene glycol, are also potential candidates as substitute polymers of HPAM. Besides wax, other nano-particles, such as polylactic polymers, SPI, nanofillers, lipids, sweet rice, and other bio-derivatives, might be used as macro/nanotextured materials mixed together with wax to achieve desirable hydrophobicity and hydrophilicity. Hydro-dual phobic domain materials are referred to the materials that can be described as a material that behaves as hydrophilic, also hydrophobic with a dual-phoblicity. It can be a two system by a synergistic blend or one system chemically modifying a solid surface with multifunctional attributes. For example, a silane coupling surface treatment will allow the surface of modification to become either hydrophilic or hydrophobic, leading to be a hydro-dual-phobic. As such, as the modifying surface is contact with water, it will tend to expose itself with hydrophilic attributes. As it is attached with non-polar solvent, it will tend to expose its wax or alkyl functional groups on the surrounding environments. As such, the coated molecular components can be adapted to the solvents or air with appropriate fitness to the systems. Emulsifier: An emulsifier is a surfactant chemical. It can be cationic, anionic, nonionic, zwitterionic, amphiphilic having linear long chain, branched with di-functional, tri- or multi-functional star's structures, consisting of a water-loving hydrophilic head and an oil-loving hydrophobic tail. The hydrophilic head is directed to the aqueous phase and the hydrophobic tail to the oil phase. The emulsifier positions itself at the oil/water or air/water interface and, by reducing the surface tension, has a stabilizing effect on the emulsion. In addition to their ability to form an emulsion, it can interact with other components and ingredients. In this way, various functionalities can be obtained, for examples, interaction with proteins or carbohydrates to generate connected clusters both chemically and physically. Typical emulsifiers include stearic acid oxide ethylene ester, sorbitol fatty acid ester, glyceryl stearate acid ester, octadecanoic acid ester, combination of these esters, fatty amine, acid chemical additives and compounds, alkylphenol ethoxylates such as Tergitol NP series and Triton x-100 from Dow chemicals, glycol-mono-dodecyl ether, ethylated amines and fatty acid amides.) for the purpose of providing coatings with multi-functional structure. [0021]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Crews, with the above limitation, as taught by Liu, in order provided coatings with multi-functional structures.
Since Liu teaches the same composition comprising a polymer shell encapsulating the bio-based agent, and a cationic macromolecule deposited on the polymer shell to form microcapsules, it would form microcapsules that would position adheres to downhole surfaces due to electrostatic interactions between the microcapsules and downhole surfaces.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 2.
Crews discloses the well treatment composition of claim 1. Crews however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the polymer shell comprises step-growth polymers, chain-growth polymers, and crosslinked resins selected from the group consisting of step growth polymers, chain growth polymers, and crosslinked resins melamine-formaldehyde, a urea-formaldehyde, a phenolformaldehyde resin, a melamine-phenol-formaldehyde resin, a furan-formaldehyde resin, an epoxy resin, a polysiloxane, a polyacrylate, a polyester, a polyurethane, a polyamide, a polyether, a polyimide, a polyolefin, polypropylene-polyethylene copolymers, polystyrene, functionalized polystyrene derivatives, gelatin, a gelatin derivative, cellulose, a cellulose derivative, starch or a starch derivative, a polyvinyl alcohol, an ethylene-vinylacetate copolymer, a maleic- anhydride based copolymer, a polyacrylamide, a polyacrylamide based copolymer, a polyacrylic acid, a polyacrylic acid based copolymer, a polyvinylpyrrolidone, a polyvinylpyrrolidone based copolymer, a polyacrylate based copolymer, propylene-acrylate copolymer, propylene- methacrylate copolymers, oxidized polypropylene, oxidized polyethylene, propyleneethylene oxide copolymers, styrene-acrylate copolymers and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymers, a Pickering stabilizer, silica gel, silica gel derivative, alginate, alginate derivative, agarose, agar, xantham gum, locust bean gum, gellan gum, carrageenan gum, derivatives and mixtures thereof. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 3.
Crews discloses the well treatment composition of claim 1. Crews however does not explicitly disclose wherein the cationic macromolecule deposited on the polymer shell is selected from the group consisting of amines, proteins, polysaccharides containing amino groups, amino sugars, derivatives, and mixtures thereof. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 4.
Crews discloses the well treatment composition of claim 1, wherein the well treatment composition bio based agent further comprises bacteria, fungi, archaea, biosurfactants, antibiotics, antimicrobials, descaling agents, enzymes, or combinations thereof. [0016, 0041-0042, 0046-0048]
Claim 5.
Crews discloses the well treatment composition of claim 1, wherein the well treatment composition optionally comprises nutrients for cell growth selected from the group consisting of proteins, disaccharides, hydrolyzed oligosaccharide, polysaccharides, peptides, glycoproteins, proteins, monosaccharides, fatty acids, ethers of fatty acids, their derivatives, and mixtures thereof. [0045]
Claim 6.
Crews discloses the well treatment composition of claim 1, wherein the well treatment composition optionally comprises additives selected from the group consisting of enzymes, vitamins, growth factors, antibiotics, buffer salts, divalent salts, nitrogen salts, heat resistant proteins, enzyme stabilizers, their derivatives, and mixtures thereof. [0016, 0038, 0041-0042, 0046-0048]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 11/06/2026