DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 11, 14-15, and 19 have been withdrawn from current consideration (see below).
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 16-18, and 20 remain under current consideration by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-18 and 20) (see note below) and Species A (Fig. 10), together encompassing claims 1-10, 12-13, 16-18, and 20, in the reply filed on 14 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 14-15, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 May 2026.
Note: Examiner notes that Group I was previously listed as encompassing claims 1-18 and Group II as claims 19-20 in the Office Action mailed 31 March 2026. However, this grouping was improper and claim 20 has been re-grouped into Group I, since claim 20 depends from claim 3 and is drawn to the quick connector of Group I, not the method of Group II.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claim 6: Claim 6 should be amended as follows:
--6. The quick connector according to claim 4, wherein each locking assembly further comprises an intermediate actuator comprising at least one intermediate elastic element; wherein each intermediate actuator is arranged between each wedge and each locking claw of the corresponding locking assembly; and wherein each intermediate actuator is configured such that, when the base plate of the respective wedge slides within the inclined passage of the respective locking assembly, then the intermediate actuator receives a compression force causing the intermediate actuator to push the locking claws, thereby causing the locking claws to mesh with the grooved surface of the mooring interface in the lock position.--
Re Claim 13: Claim 6 should be amended as follows:
--13. The quick connector according to claim 12, wherein the fluid-dynamic device comprises fluid-dynamically actuated pistons, wherein the quick connector further comprises a collet arranged and attached on top of the base structure, and wherein each fluid-dynamically actuated piston has a first end connected to the collet and a second end connected to the actuator ring.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 6: Claim 6 recites the limitations "the base plate" in line 5 and “the inclined passage” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret claim 6 as though it depends from claim 5, rather than claim 4, since claim 5 provides proper antecedent bases for these limitations.
Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claims 7-10: These claims are considered indefinite because of their dependency from indefinite claim 6.
Re Claim 17: Claim 17 recites the limitations "the yaw member" in lines 2-3 and “the elastic coupling elements” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret claim 17 as follows:
--17. The quick connector according to claim 16, further comprising a collet arranged and attached on top of the base structure; wherein a yaw member has a cylindrical portion coaxially arranged inside a cylindrical portion of the base structure; and wherein elastic coupling elements are arranged between the yaw member and the base structure and/or between the yaw member and the collet..--
Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claim 18: This claim is considered indefinite because of its dependency from indefinite claim 17.
Examiner notes that any prior art rejections made in this Office Action are made in view of the claims, as best understood by the Examiner, in view of the above indefiniteness rejections.
Claim Interpretation – Functional Language
From the outset, it should be noted that some of the language in the claims is functional in nature. For example, the language related to a, “offshore floating structure” and a “pre-laid mooring system” is functional in nature and limited patentable weight is given to this section of the claim. Additionally, Examiner notes that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and thus, a prior art device must only be capable of performing the stated function in order to read on the functional limitation. In this instance, the prior art discloses every structural limitation of the claim and thus this limitation fails to distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. Please see MPEP 2114.
[Examiner notes that this section of the Office Action does not constitute a rejection or objection, but is merely meant to indicate the manner in which the claims have been interpreted by the Examiner.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Owens (US Patent 4,441,742).
Re Claim 1: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5) for coupling, in alignment with a longitudinal axis (for example, along the longitudinal axis of through bore 8), an offshore floating structure to a pre-laid mooring system (see note above related to these functional elements), the quick connector comprising:
a base structure (13) configured to be coupled to an upper body (for example, as shown for body 1) of the offshore floating structure;
a mooring interface (2) configured to be attached to a lower body of the pre-laid mooring system; and
a locking mechanism (12) fluid-dynamically actuated to couple and decouple the base structure from the mooring interface,
wherein the locking mechanism (12) comprises:
a grooved surface (at groove 6) formed in the mooring interface (2);
locking claws (26) movably mounted on the base structure (13); and
a fluid-dynamic device (43) associated to the base structure and operatively connected to move the locking claws (26) between a release position (see Fig. 2) in which the locking claws are withdrawn from the grooved surface of the mooring interface and a lock position (see Fig. 1) in which the locking claws are meshed with the grooved surface of the mooring interface
Re Claim 2: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the locking claws (26) are radially arranged, distributed around the longitudinal axis and facing towards the grooved surface (6) wherein the mooring interface (8) has a ring shaped portion (at 7) sized to coaxially connect therein a region of the base structure where the locking claws are mounted, and the grooved surface is formed on a surface of the ring shaped portion of the mooring interface facing towards the locking claws (26).
Re Claim 4: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5), wherein each locking claw (26) is included in a locking assembly (comprising body 26, connector pin 33, and segment unit 25) and is guided to slide at least partially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein the quick connector further comprises wedges (comprising driving ring 40 in combination with retracting ring 53) configured to be mounted to the base structure (13) so as to move at least partially parallel to the longitudinal axis, wherein the fluid-dynamic device (43) is operatively connected to lower down and raise up the wedges, wherein each wedge comprises at least one expansion wedge surface (55) and at least one retraction wedge surface (41), wherein each locking assembly comprises at least one expansion inclined surface (52) and at least one retraction inclined surface (37), and wherein the at least one expansion wedge surface is configured and arranged to interact with the at least one expansion inclined surface of the locking assembly and the at least one retraction wedge surface is configured and arranged to interact with the at least one retraction inclined surface so as to move the locking claws outwards and inwards.
Re Claim 5: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5), wherein each wedge is configured as a part comprising a main wedge body (53) and a base plate (54, 41; see Figs. 1-2 and 4); wherein the base plate protrudes laterally from the main wedge body, thereby forming one or two lateral wings (see Fig. 4), the expansion and retraction wedge surfaces (55, 41) being respectively configured as opposing faces of the base plate (see Fig. 1); and wherein the expansion and retraction inclined surfaces (52, 37) of each locking assembly are configured to form an inclined passage (at 52; Fig .1) configured to receive the base plate of a respective wedge.
Re Claim 12: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the wedges are attached to an actuator ring (42) arranged around the base structure (13) and guided to move parallel to the longitudinal axis, and the fluid-dynamic device (43) is arranged to move the actuator ring (40).
Re Claim 13: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the fluid-dynamic device (43) comprises fluid-dynamically actuated pistons (44, 45), wherein the quick connector further comprises a collet (14) arranged and attached on top (Examiner notes that no particular frame of reference has been previously defined in the claims and thus, if a frame of reference is used that is inverted from that shown in Fig. 1, the support plate 14 can be considered to be on “top” of the ring 13) of the base structure (13), and wherein each fluid-dynamically actuated piston (44, 45) has a first end (at the lower end of cylinder 44, as shown in Fig. 1) connected to the collet (14) and a second end (at 46) connected to the actuator ring (42).
Re Claim 16: Owens discloses a quick connector (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the quick connector is configured such that the offshore floating (for example, as shown for body 1; see note above related to this functional element) is enabled to weathervane about the longitudinal axis (note that body 1, together along with the connector body 12, would be capable of rotating relative to body 2, even upon actuation to the lock position of Fig. 1, since the arcuate segment body 26 is designed to prevent axial withdrawal between the bodies 1 and 2 along the longitudinal axis, but does not have any structure to prevent relative rotation about the longitudinal axis).
Claims 1-3, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cuiper (US Patent 8,720,574).
Re Claim 1: Cuiper discloses a quick connector (200; see Figs. 1-8) for coupling, in alignment with a longitudinal axis (for example, along the longitudinal axis of spool body 10 and wellhead member 80), an offshore floating structure to a pre-laid mooring system (see note above related to these functional elements), the quick connector comprising:
a base structure (40) configured to be coupled to an upper body (for example, as shown for spool body 10) of the offshore floating structure;
a mooring interface (80) configured to be attached to a lower body of the pre-laid mooring system; and
a locking mechanism (40, 50, 60) fluid-dynamically actuated to couple and decouple the base structure from the mooring interface,
wherein the locking mechanism (40, 50, 60) comprises:
a grooved surface (at 81) formed in the mooring interface (80);
locking claws (65) movably mounted on the base structure (40); and
a fluid-dynamic device (50) associated to the base structure and operatively connected to move the locking claws (65) between a release position (see Fig. 4 and the left-hand side of Fig. 8) in which the locking claws (65) are withdrawn from the grooved surface (81) of the mooring interface and a lock position (see Figs. 5-7 and the right-hand side of Fig. 8) in which the locking claws (65) are meshed with the grooved surface (81) of the mooring interface
Re Claim 2: Cuiper discloses a discloses a quick connector (200; see Figs. 1-8), wherein the locking claws (65) are radially arranged, distributed around the longitudinal axis and facing towards the grooved surface (81) wherein the mooring interface (80) has a ring shaped portion (the radially recessed portion, that includes locking profile 81) sized to coaxially connect therein a region of the base structure (40) where the locking claws (65) are mounted, and the grooved surface (81) is formed on a surface of the ring shaped portion of the mooring interface facing towards the locking claws (65).
Re Claim 3: Cuiper discloses a discloses a quick connector (200; see Figs. 1-8), wherein each of the locking claws (65) comprises a plurality of locking ribs (see Figs. 1-8) configured to engage with the grooved surface (81).
Re Claim 16: Cuiper discloses a quick connector (200; see Figs. 1-8), wherein the quick connector is configured such that the offshore floating (for example, as shown for spool body 10; see note above related to this functional element) is enabled to weathervane about the longitudinal axis (note that spool body 10, together along with the connector 40, would be capable of rotating relative to wellhead member 80, even upon actuation to the lock position, since the split lock ring 65 is designed to prevent axial withdrawal between the spool body 10 and wellhead member 80 along the longitudinal axis, but does not have any structure to prevent relative rotation about the longitudinal axis).
Re Claim 20: Cuiper discloses a discloses a quick connector (200; see Figs. 1-8), wherein the locking ribs (of split lock ring 65; see Figs. 1-8) are configured to define a tooth-shaped pattern, and wherein the tooth-shaped pattern is configured to have an inclination such that the tooth-shaped pattern leans towards a direction contrary to a direction of connection of the base structure with the mooring interface along the longitudinal axis (see Figs. 1-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 17-18, as best understood by the Examiner, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (as well as to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections discussed above).
Claim 6 requires an “intermediate actuator” comprising at least one “intermediate elastic element”. Neither Owen, Cuiper, nor any other prior art device of record teaches or discloses a quick connector as claimed having the required features of claim 6 related to these elements. Nor would it have been obvious to modify the device of Owen, Cuiper, or any other prior art device of record in such a manner since there would have been no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Claims 7-10 would be allowable at least due to their dependence from claim 6.
Claim 17 requires a “yaw member” having a “cylindrical portion” that is “coaxially arranged inside a cylindrical portion of the base structure”, and further comprises “elastic coupling elements” arranged between the yaw member and the base structure and/or the collet. Neither Owen, Cuiper, nor any other prior art device of record teaches or discloses a quick connector as claimed having the required features of claim 17 related to these elements. Nor would it have been obvious to modify the device of Owen, Cuiper, or any other prior art device of record in such a manner since there would have been no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Claim 18 would be allowable at least due to their dependence from claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678