DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 05/22/2025 and 10/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over SEITH (US 20210132569 A1)* in view of MAKITA (JP 2005351683)*.
*disclosed by applicant
With regard to Claim 1, SEITH teaches:
An electric tool system (SEITH, FIGs 1-4, [0001]: “relates to the field of power tool calibration, particularly to systems and methods to provide efficient and cost-effective calibration of high torque power tools” (i.e., “electric tool”))
comprising: a fastening unit configured to fasten a work target with driving force generated by a power source (SEITH, Abstract: “system includes…power source”; and [0002]: “Fastening at designed torque levels”; Examiner interprets “fastening unit” applying broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) to mean a device or instrument which fastens; and [0066]:: “snugs a bolt or fastener (i.e., “work target”) to a value, possibly 20% of final torque, then continues rotating the bolt or fastener a prescribed angle”; and [0089]: “force being measured”; Examiner interprets “driving force” to be general and well known by one of ordinary skill in the art for any instrument which produces torque, by fundamental definition.)
a sensor unit configured to detect a physical quantity corresponding to fastening torque with which the fastening unit fastens the work target (SEITH, [0073]: “system 10 will measure the torque” (i.e., “a physical quantity); and [0066] fastener (i.e., “work target”) Examiner interprets “sensor unit” using BRI to mean generally any device, instrument or apparatus which detects a system value, with “fastening unit interpreted as above.)
a torque calculator configured to calculate a torque measured value by applying
a result of detection of the physical quantity by the sensor unit to a calculating method; (SEITH, [0011]: “mechanical tool interface, a user interface and central processor unit; the mechanical interface couplable to a high torque power tool…torque transducer operatively connected to the central processor; the central processor configured to process signals received from the torque transducer”; [0080]: “power tool 70 controller calculates—based on the power tool 70 torque transducer 94 output signals and the calibration factor already in the power tool 70 memory 88—that the power tool target torque”; Examiner interprets “calculating method” applying BRI to mean any process which result in a torque value, as taught by reference. Examiner interprets “sensor unit” as above.)
an input unit configured to accept entry of a torque true value; (SEITH, [0023]: “automatic calibration system further comprises connecting a data communications cable from the calibration system to the power tool and coupling the power tool to a mechanical interface…receives torque output from an output spindle of the power tool.”; Examiner interprets “input unit” using BRI to mean generally a device, apparatus or instrument which receives data or information, as taught by reference.; [0073]: “compare actual torque with the “target torque” (the torque the power tool 70 is set to deliver)” (i.e., “torque true value”))
a comparison processor configured to compare the torque measured value with
the torque true value; (SEITH, [0076]: “control unit runs the power tool 70 until it reaches the torque to which it is set…then a comparison is made between the torque to which the power tool 70 is set to apply (the targeted torque) and the torque measured by the calibration system 10 (the actual torque)”)
a correction processor configured to make, based on a result of comparison made by the comparison processor, correction to the calculating method to make a difference between the torque measured value and the torque true value equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value. (SEITH, teaches at least determination of difference between measured torque and torque true value, see [0015]: “central processor is configured to receive a target torque setting from a power tool being calibrated, to process signals from the torque transducer and to calculate a calibration correction factor based on the signals and the target torque and specifics of the power tool, and to upload the calculated calibration factor to the power tool.”; and see, as above, [0076]: “If any differences between the targeted torque and the actual torque are detected, the calibration system 10 calculates a corrected factor (or new factor) that is communicated to the memory unit that corrects any drift or other inaccuracy that is shown by the actual torque compared to the target torque.”; Examiner interprets “correction processor” applying BRI to mean generally any device, instrument, or apparatus which performs a calculation resulting in a correction. Examiner interprets “threshold” applying BRI as analogous to comparison reference of “target value”, which is likewise predetermined. )
SEITH does not explicitly disclose:
a fastening unit configured to fasten a work target onto a specified member
MAKITA teaches:
a fastening unit configured to fasten a work target onto a specified member (MAKITA, in same technical field [0001]: “relates to a technique for managing the torque measurement accuracy of a tightening tool having a torque measuring means”; and MAKITA teaches explicitly fastening “onto a specified member”, see [0045]: “tightening tool 10 operates in the same manner as during normal tightening work (here, work for tightening a bolt for assembling the engine to the vehicle body)”; Examiner interprets “specified member” to be analogous to reference, teaching joining of two specified parts, where “work target” may be considered as either the fastener or one of the parts, “engine” or “vehicle”, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of SEITH to include that the fastening unit would be configured to fasten a work target onto a specified member”, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because this would make use of the automated function of an electric tool, specifically in an industrial/manufacturing setting, where a plurality of such tools may be implemented, each with a specific fastening function, as discussed by MAKITA (see [0034], for example). Moreover, while SEITH does not explicitly identify a “specified member” which is fastened, it would be generally understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the purpose of fastening is to affix one object to another, making the combination of the detail found in MAKITA obvious to combine with the disclosure of SEITH.
With regard to Claim 13, SEITH teaches:
An electric tool management method (SEITH, as above, FIGs 1-4, [0001]: “relates to the field of power tool calibration, particularly to systems and methods to provide efficient and cost-effective calibration of high torque power tools” (i.e., “electric tool”))
comprising: detection processing including detecting a physical quantity corresponding to fastening torque with which a fastening unit fastens a work target with driving force generated by a power source; (SEITH, as above in Claim 1, “power source”; and [0002]: “Fastening at designed torque levels”; Examiner interprets “fastening unit” as above; and [0066]:: “snugs a bolt or fastener (i.e., “work target”) to a value, possibly 20% of final torque” and [0089]: “force being measured”; Examiner interprets “driving force” as discussed above, and see [0073]: “system 10 will measure (i.e., “detection process”) the torque” (i.e., “a physical quantity”))
torque calculation processing including calculating a torque measured value by applying a result of detection of the physical quantity obtained in the detection processing to a calculating method; (SEITH teaches torque calculation as above Claim 1, [0011] and [0080], where Examiner interprets “calculating method” as discussed above.)
operating command input processing including accepting entry of a torque true value; (SEITH, [0024]: “central processor processing the signals from the torque transducer to determine the actual torque output received from the power tool”; Examiner interprets “operating command input” with guidance from specification in at least [00009-10] to mean generally a computer implemented process, analogous to automated monitoring process taught by reference.)
comparison processing including comparing the torque measured value with the torque true value; (SEITH, as above, [0076]: “comparison is made between the torque to which the power tool 70 is set to apply (the targeted torque) and the torque measured by the calibration system 10 (the actual torque)”)
correction processing including making, based on a result of comparison obtained in the comparison processing, correction to the calculating method to make a difference between the torque measured value and the torque true value equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value. (SEITH teaches correction process, as above, determination of difference between measured torque and torque true value, see [0015]: “central processor is configured to receive a target torque setting from a power tool being calibrated, to process signals from the torque transducer and to calculate a calibration correction factor based on the signals and the target torque and specifics of the power tool, and to upload the calculated calibration factor to the power tool.”; and see, as above, [0076]: “If any differences between the targeted torque and the actual torque are detected, the calibration system 10 calculates a corrected factor (or new factor) that is communicated to the memory unit that corrects any drift or other inaccuracy that is shown by the actual torque compared to the target torque.”; Examiner interprets “correction processor” applying BRI to mean generally any device, instrument, or apparatus which performs a calculation resulting in a correction.)
SEITH does not explicitly disclose:
fastening unit fastens a work target onto a specified member
MAKITA teaches:
fastening unit fastens a work target onto a specified member (MAKITA, as above, Claim 1, and [0045]; Examiner interprets “specified member” to be analogous to reference, as discussed above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of SEITH to include that the fastening unit fastens a work target onto a specified member, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because this would make use of the automated function of an electric tool, allowing for pre-determined functionality directed to a specific industrial/manufacturing setting, where a plurality of electric tools may be implemented, each with a specific fastening function, as discussed by MAKITA (see [0034], for example). Moreover, while SEITH does not explicitly identify a “specified member” which is fastened, it would be generally understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the purpose of fastening is to affix one object to another, making the combination of the detail found in MAKITA obvious to combine with the disclosure of SEITH.
With regard to Claim 2, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 1,
SEITH further teaches:
wherein the input unit is configured to accept, as the entry, at least one of a user's manual entry or connection of a storage medium on which the torque true value is stored. (SEITH, [0060]: “Using calibration factors stored in the electronic control systems 90, such as in power tool 70 data memory 88, the electronic control systems 90 can monitor the torque output from the output spindle 78 when the power tool 70 is in operation to ensure that an intended torque (the “target torque”) is applied to a particular fastener being torqued by the power tool 70. The target torque may be input or changed via the user input module 91”; Examiner interprets “the entry” as meaning a value of the “true torque” as described in Claim 1 and analogous to reference “target torque”.)
With regard to Claim 3, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
SEITH teaches as above (see Claim 1):
an electric tool including the fastening unit and the sensor unit; (As above, Claim 1, Abstract, [0002], and [0066])
system including the input unit, comparison process, and correction processor (SEITH, as above, Claim 1, see [0015], [0023, [0073], and [0076].)
SEITH further teaches:
wired communication with the system (FIG. 2 with [0051]: “system-to-tool communications system may be a physical (wired) system (such as USB) of any protocol.”; and see [0055]: “system 10 can provide wired, wireless, cellular or other connectivity to data records to access all service records for a power tool 70 being calibrated”)
SEITH, as modified by MAKITA and taught above, does not explicitly teach:
a management system including the input unit, the comparison processor, and the correction processor,
wherein the electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system.
MAKITA teaches:
a management system including the input unit, the comparison processor, and the correction processor, (MAKITA, [0004]: “provides an apparatus for managing a tightening tool having torque measuring means…management device is provided on the management device side (i.e., “ provided separately”)…management device side to input torque measured by the torque measurement device (i.e., “input unit”)”; FIG. 8 with [0025]: “a torque value is
calculated from the relational expression between the output signal of the torque sensor 18 and the output signal of the torque sensor 18 stored in the processing circuit 24 and the output torque…torque value calculated in step S8 is corrected using calibration coefficient data…tightening torque set value (set torque value) calculated in step S4 is compared with the output torque value obtained by correction in step S8.”; Examiner interprets “input unit”, “comparison processor”, and “correction processor” applying BRI, as above, analogous to reference function and process.)
wherein the electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system.(MAKITA, as above, [0004]: “management device is provided on the management device side” and [0005]: “measuring the same torque by the torque measuring means on the tightening tool side is obtained from the tightening tool side” ; and see [0016]: “management device can communicate with a communication device provided in the tightening tool”; and [0024]: “stored in the memory circuit 30 … transmission / reception circuit 34 may transmit / receive electronic information by wire”; Examiner interprets “provided separately” as above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include a management system including the input unit, the comparison processor, and the correction processor, and a system where an electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because the separate testing device could be used for either a plurality of tools, or be connected to a different tool in the case of tool replacement, which would have the benefit of lowering cost, and take advantage of a centralized monitoring process for electric tools.
With regard to Claim 4, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
SEITH teaches as above,
a communications cable for use to connect the electric tool to the system by a wired method. (FIG. 2 with [0051]: “system-to-tool communications system may be a physical (wired) system (such as USB) of any protocol.”; and see [0055]: “system 10 can provide wired, wireless, cellular or other connectivity to data records to access all service records for a power tool 70 being calibrated”)
MAKITA teaches the management system, as above and further teaches:
a communications cable for use to connect the electric tool to the management system by a wired method. (MAKITA, as above [0004] and [0005]; and [0016]: “management device can communicate with a communication device provided in the tightening tool”; and [0024]: “stored in the memory circuit 30 … transmission / reception circuit 34 may transmit / receive electronic information by wire”; and explicitly, a cable, FIGs 1,2 with [0031]: “when the CPU 94 performs arithmetic processes, a brake unit 60, and a communication cable 88”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include a management system including the input unit, the comparison processor, and the correction processor, and a system where an electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because the detached management system provides the advantage, as suggested by MAKITA (for example, see [0053]) of storing and processing information on a plurality of tightening tools, such that a group of tools could be handled by the management system, and allow for quick determination of any abnormality or deterioration state of a plurality of tools from a centralized device.
With regard to Claim 5, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 4.
SEITH further teaches:
at least one of the electric tool or the management system includes a connector to which the communications cable is connected. (SEITH, as above, tool connected via cable, [0010]: “electrical tool interface cable”; and [0024]: “downloading tool specific identifying information from the power tool to the calibration system over the connected data communications cable”)
With regard to Claim 6, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
SEITH teaches as above:
the torque calculator; (SEITH, as above, ”; [0080]: “power tool 70 controller calculates—based on the power tool 70 torque transducer 94 output signals and the calibration factor already in the power tool 70 memory 88—that the power tool target torque”)
a communications unit configured to receive, a corrected calculating method as a version of the calculating method subjected to the correction by the correction processor, (SEITH, as above, [0023]: “automatic calibration system further comprises connecting a data communications cable from the calibration system to the power tool and coupling the power tool to a mechanical interface…receives torque output from an output spindle of the power tool.”; and [0076]: “calibration system 10 calculates a corrected factor (or new factor) that is communicated to the memory unit that corrects any drift or other inaccuracy that is shown by the actual torque compared to the target torque.”)
SEITH further teaches:
the torque calculator is configured to, in response to reception of the corrected calculating method at the communications unit, calculate the torque measured value by the corrected calculating method. (SEITH, [0013]: “central processor is configured to upload at least one calibration correction factor to a power tool being calibrated, such calibration correction factor being specific to the particular power tool and a targeted output torque of the power tool.”; and [0016]: “configured to identify an appropriate calibration process for the particular power tool being calibrated…compute a new calibration correction factor for the power tool at [at that target torque output], and to upload the new calibration correction factor to the data memory unit of the power tool”; and [0073]: “power tool 70, using this new and corrected calibration factor, should then produce an actual torque (as may be subsequently checked on the present calibration system 10) that corresponds with the target torque to which the power tool 70 has been set.”.)
SEITH, as modified by MAKITA and taught above, does not explicitly teach, as noted above,
a communications unit configured to receive, from the management system, a corrected calculating method as a version
MAKITA teaches:
a communications unit configured to receive, from the management system, a corrected calculating method as a version (MAKITA, teaches management system, as above, [0004], [0005], FIG. 8 with [0025]; and see [0016]: “management device can communicate with a communication device provided in the tightening tool”; and see [0013], calculating torque from a correction index stored in the storage means is provided”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include that the communications unit is configured to receive, from the management system, a corrected calculating method as a version m, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because, as discussed above, one of ordinary skill would see the benefit of a centralized management system. It would be obvious to incorporate that inventive idea of a management system, as disclosed by MAKITA, with the disclosure of SEITH, where the communications and correction calculation processes and steps are taught, as an obvious way to generalize and expand the usefulness of the invention of SEITH to arrive and the claimed invention.
With regard to Claim 7, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
SEITH teaches as above:
wherein the input unit is provided for at least one of the electric tool or the management system. (SEITH teaches, as above, input for at least electric tool, see [0023]; Examiner interprets “input unit” as discussed above.)
With regard to Claim 8, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
SEITH further teaches:
wherein the electric tool is configured to establish wireless communication with the system. (SEITH, [0051]: “system-to-tool communications system may also comprise a wireless link such as Bluetooth or other wireless protocol communications link.”)
SEITH does not explicitly teach:
wireless communication with the management system.
MAKITA further teaches:
wireless communication with the management system. (MAKITA, teaches management system connected with tool as above, [0004], [0005], FIG. 8 with [0025]; and see “[0012] In the above apparatus, it is preferable that the teaching unit includes a communication unit capable of wirelessly and / or wiredly communicating with a communication unit included in the tightening tool.”; and see Claim 8.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include wireless communications with the management system, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because, as discussed above, one of ordinary skill would see the benefit of a centralized management system to centralize control using the wireless communication already taught by SEITH. It would be obvious to incorporate that inventive idea of a management system, as disclosed by MAKITA, with the disclosure of SEITH, as an obvious way to generalize and expand the usefulness of the invention of SEITH to arrive and the claimed invention.
With regard to Claim 9, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
SEITH does not explicitly teach:
method of the communication between the electric tool and the management system is changeable from the wireless communication to the wired communication, and vice versa.
MAKITA teaches:
method of the communication between the electric tool and the system is changeable from the wireless communication to the wired communication, and vice versa. (MAKITA, [0012] “includes a communication unit capable of wirelessly and / or wiredly communicating with a communication unit included in the tightening tool. Thereby, the index calculated by the calculating means can be taught to the tightening tool via the communication means, and the torque measurement accuracy of the tightening tool can be managed easily”; Examiner interprets “changeable” to be analogous to reference use of “wirelessly and/or wiredly” to mean having the option of both wired and wireless communication simultaneously or separately between management system and tool.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include method of the communication between the electric tool and the system is changeable from the wireless communication to the wired communication, and vice versa, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because, as suggested by MAKITA, the option to use either wired or wireless communication means would facilitate easy management of torque measurements and calculations (for example, see MAKITA, [0012]). SEITH does teach both wired and wireless communications between system and tool (For example, FIG2, and [0051]), but MAKITA explicitly teaches the use of both methods with a management system, such that one of ordinary skill would find obvious reasons to combine the two disclosures to arrive at the claimed invention.
With regard to Claim 10, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
the system further includes an operations history generator configured to generate an operations history that associates specific details, received through the communication with the electric tool, of the operation performed by the electric tool with a time when the operation has been performed. (SEITH, see FIG.2, and [0016]: “central processor, based on data downloaded from the power tool being calibrated…configured to…upload the new calibration correction factor to the data memory unit”, and [0022]: “storing a torque calibration certificate issued by the calibration system”; and [0025]: “system uploads a calibration certificate relating to the power tool to data records”, and [0049]: “central processor 18, which may also comprise data memory and operating system data storage”; [0054]: “databases to download from data archives data relating to the power tools and upload data regarding the power tools”, and [0055]: “data records to access all service records for a power tool”; Examiner interprets “history generator” applying BRI and plain meaning to mean generally storing of records analogous to reference.)
SEITH does not teach explicitly, as noted above,
the management system further includes an operations history generator configured to generate an operations history
MAKITA teaches:
the management system further includes an operations history generator configured to generate an operations history (MAKITA teaches a management system, as above, see [0004], FIG. 8 with [0025]; and [0010]: “accumulation storage means for accumulating and storing an index taught to the tightening tool by the teaching means, and integrated index calculation means for accumulating an index group accumulated and stored in the accumulation storage means…second storage means” And FIG.2 with [0022]: “memory circuit 30 is a non-volatile storage circuit for recording electronic information…stores, for example, calibration coefficient data, usage count data, tool data, and the like”; Examiner interprets “history generator” as above, analogous to reference storage of system information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include the management system further includes an operations history generator configured to an operations history, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because, as noted above, the use of a management system provides convenient, centralized data processing making it an obvious and efficient system for storage of system data for efficient access and use in subsequent operations.
With regard to Claim 11, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
SEITH teaches, as above,
the system further includes a correction history generator configured to generate a correction history that associates, with each other, specific details of the correction made by the correction processor to the calculating method, the electric tool subjected to the correction, and a time when the correction has been made. (Examiner interprets “history generator” as above; SEITH teaches storing details of correction data, see, [0013]: “central processor is configured to upload at least one calibration correction factor to a power tool being calibrated, such calibration correction factor being specific to the particular power tool”; and [0016]: “compute a new calibration correction factor for the power tool at [at that target torque output], and to upload the new calibration correction factor to the data memory unit of the power tool.”)
SEITH, as above, does not explicitly teach:
the management system further includes a correction history generator
MAKITA teaches:
the management system further includes a correction history generator (MAKITA teaches management system, as above, see [0004], FIG. 8 with [0025]; and teaches storage of correction data, see [0013]: “Basic relationship storage means for storing the basic relationship, index storage means for storing a correction index transmitted from an external device”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include the management system further includes a correction history generator, as is explicitly taught by MAKITA, because as noted above, incorporation of a centralized management system for record and information storage would be an efficient way to leverage the system of SEITH to be more efficient and accessible for on-going tool processes.
With regard to Claim 12, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
SEITH further teaches:
the electric tool further includes a calculation history generator configured to generate a calculation history that associates the torque measured value calculated by the torque calculator. (SEITH, as above teaches “history generator”, interpreted as above, storing calculated torque data, see )
SEITH does not explicitly teach:
associates the torque measured value calculated by the torque calculator with a time when the torque measured value has been calculated
MAKITA teaches:
associates the torque measured value calculated by the torque calculator with a time when the torque measured value has been calculated (MAKITA teaches time associated with torque data, see FIG.4 with [0035]: “tool management data 104 includes the date and time (148 and 150 in the figure)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include a history generator that associates the torque measured value calculated by the torque calculator with a time when the torque measured value has been calculated, as is taught by MAKITA, because the data record for comparing actual and desired torque values would be more complete, providing efficient tracing and an overall improvement in quality control for monitoring an electric tool using a centralized management system. In addition, one of ordinary skill would see this as a convenient and efficient way to improve historical data, since time information would allow for monitoring of trends over various time periods, which would improve the invention disclosed by SEITH without incurring significant additional cost or labor to the system therein.
With regard to Claim 14, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 13.
SEITH further teaches:
non-transitory storage medium in which a program is stored, (FIG.2 with [0049]: “central processor 18, which may also comprise data memory and operating system data storage”) the program being designed to cause a computer system to perform the electric tool management method of claim 13. ([0054]: “calibration system 10 also comprises updatable programmed systems to start up and operate the calibration system 10, guide a user through the steps of calibrating one or more power tools, access and store data on each power tool 70B (or 70), and access on-site, cloud or other databases to download from data archives data relating to the power tools and upload data regarding the power tools”)
With regard to Claim 15, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
SEITH teaches as above:
an electric tool including the fastening unit and the sensor unit; a system including the input unit, the comparison processor, and the correction processor (SEITH teaches electric tool, fastening unit, sensor unit, input unit, as above, see Abstract, [0002], [0066], with interpretations as discussed above; and teaches comparison and correction processing, see [0076], and [0015], as discussed above.)
system configured to establish wired communication
SEITH does not explicitly teach:
a management system
the electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system.
MAKITA teaches as above:
a management system (MAKITA teaches management system, as above, [0004], FIG. 8 with [0025])
the electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system. (MAKITA, as above, teaches centralized management system, see [0004] and [0005], and FIG.8 with [0025], with interpretation of “provided separately” as discussed above.; and, as above, [0012] “includes a communication unit capable of wirelessly and / or wiredly)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include a managements system, and that the electric tool is provided separately from the management system and is configured to establish wired communication with the management system, as is taught by MAKITA, as discussed above, a separate, centralized management system would allow for convenient oversight of a plurality of tools, which would have the advantage of broadening applications in a variety of industrial settings, and provide an obvious cost effective improvement in combination with the system and method as disclosed by SEITH.
With regard to Claim 16 and 17, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claims 4 and 5, respectively, as above.
the electric tool further includes: the torque calculator; and a communications unit configured to receive, from the management system, a corrected calculating method as a version of the calculating method subjected to the correction by the correction processor,
the torque calculator is configured to, in response to reception of the corrected calculating method at the communications unit, calculate the torque measured value by the corrected calculating method.
SEITH does not explicitly teach:
communications unit configured to receive, from the management system
MAKITA teaches:
communications unit configured to receive, from the management system (MAKITA teaches separate management system, as above, see[0004], FIG. 8 with [0025]); and teaches communication with management system, as above, see [0012]: “unit includes a communication unit capable of wirelessly and / or wiredly communicating with a communication unit included in the tightening tool.”; and [0016]: “management device includes a communication device…management device can communicate with a communication device provided in the tightening tool.”; and see Claim 8.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of SEITH, as modified and taught above, to include communications unit configured to receive, from the management system, as is taught by MAKITA, as discussed above, a separate, centralized management system would allow for convenient oversight of a plurality of tools, which would have the advantage of broadening applications in a variety of industrial settings, and provide an obvious cost effective improvement in combination with the system and method as disclosed by SEITH. As taught by MAKITA, implementing a management system with communication capability would result in a more reliable management of a tool system, with improved measurement accuracy (see MAKITA [0015]) and would be an obvious way to improve the system/method of SEITH.
With regard to Claims 18, 19, and 20, SEITH in view of MAKITA teaches the limitations of Claims 4, 5, and 6, respectively, as above.
SEITH teaches as above: the input unit is provided for at least one of the electric tool or the management system. (SEITH teaches input unit for at least an electric tool, and see, [0023]: “data communications cable from the calibration system to the power tool and coupling the power tool to a mechanical interface” and [0073]: “calibration system will…then calculate a new and corrected calibration factor for the power tool 70 and upload that new and corrected calibration factor to the memory 88 or otherwise to the electronic control system 90 of the power tool 70”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ARAI (US 20190262979 A1) – teaches communication and control directed to an electric tool with determination of torque.
DEY (US 20160342151 A1) – teaches wireless control of a programmable tool with diagnostic communication and trouble shooting.
SASAKI (US 20230234203 A1) – teaches control and management of a tool system with data exchange and data processing to diagnose functionality of tool
WANG (Wang, et al., “Research on Multi-functional Controller of Bolt Tightening and Torque Value Detection of High Voltage Tower.” 2021 IEEE 4th International Electrical and Energy Conference (CIEEC) (2021): 1-5.28 May 2021.) – teaches general overview of methods for control and management of torque-producing industrial electric tools, including time dependent methods, and hardware and software implementations for reduction of error and multifunctional control techniques directed to fastening.
/TONI D SAUNCY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857