DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 7 May 2024 and 6 June 2025 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. They have been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 210 in Figure 4 has been used to designate both the first sub-battery module (corresponding to 210) and the second sub-battery module (220). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein each of the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module comprises […]" (emphasis added) in the second line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation "which further comprises a connection member electrically connecting the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module […]" (emphasis added) in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites “wherein at least one side plate of the pair of side plates comprises an opening portion that exposes a surface of an adjacent battery cell among the battery cells of the battery cell stack supported by the pair of side plates to contact a cooling liquid” (emphasis added) in lines 4-6. In the instant specification paragraph beginning on line 7 of page 14, the cooling liquid recited in Claim 10 is suggested to be the same as the cooling liquid introduced in Claim 1 (see the paragraph beginning on line 6 of page 10 in the instant specification). The use of the indefinite article “a” in the recitation of Claim 10 is thus vague as to whether it is referencing the same cooling liquid recited in Claim 1. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the cooling liquid recited in Claim 10 is interpreted to be the same cooling liquid recited in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Published Patent Application Kang (KR20210048855A – English translation furnished with Office Action) in view of U.S. Published Application Enomoto et al. (US20150188203A1), further in view of U.S. Published Application Kim et al. (US20190181405A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses an immersion-cooled battery module (battery module cooled by insulating oil filled into space parts that surround the cells – see abstract) comprising: a battery assembly (abstract); a module case (frame 200 – [0030]) having an opening (first space 410 – [0038], see annotated Figure 4 below) at least at one end ([0038] – see annotated Figure 4 of Kang below) and accommodating the battery assembly in an internal space (abstract) connected to the opening ([0038]); and a sealing cover (310 – see annotated Figure 4; [0038]) that has at least one of an inlet ([0018]) for introducing a cooling liquid into the internal space ([0018]) and an outlet ([0018]) for discharging the cooling liquid introduced into the internal space to the outside of the module case ([0018]).
US12218331B2 Kang annotated Figure 4
While Kang discloses a sealing cover inserted into the opening to cover the opening (310 – see annotated Figure 4; [0035-36]), Kang does not explicitly disclose that the sealing cover is airtightly covering the opening, nor wherein the battery assembly comprises: a plurality of sub-battery modules each having a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked and disposed side by side in one direction; and an insulating block made of an insulating material and disposed between the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module adjacent to each other among the plurality of sub-battery modules.
Enomoto discloses an immersion-cooled battery module (abstract) comprising a module case (outer case – [0032]). Enomoto further discloses wherein the module case is airtightly sealed via an adhesive (29 – [0023]) and optionally a sealing member ([0024]) to create an airtight battery chamber ([0025]). Kang and Enomoto are both analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely immersion-cooled battery modules comprising a module case. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the battery of Kang such that it is airtight and immersible as taught by Enomoto because the combination of known elements (airtight seals) to arrive at the predictable result (immersible battery) is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Kim discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising: a battery assembly ([0017]); a module case (abstract) accommodating the battery assembly in an internal space (abstract). Kim further discloses wherein the battery assembly comprises: a plurality of sub-battery modules (abstract; 110 -see annotated Figure 2 of Kim below) each having a battery cell stack ([0017]) in which a plurality of battery cells ([0017]) are stacked and disposed side by side in one direction ([0017] – see annotated Figure 2 below); and an insulating block (partition block – [0059]; 180 – see annotated Figure 2 below) and disposed between the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module adjacent to each other among the plurality of sub-battery modules ([0059] – see annotated Figure 2 below), teaching that coupling sub-battery modules in such a way enhances structural stability and improves energy density.
US20190181405A1 Kim et al. annotated Figure 2
While Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulating block (partition block in the disclosure) is composed of insulating material, Kim does disclose that the partition block may be configured to allow a cable for electric connection or a busbar for power connection between the sub-battery modules ([0059]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention for the partition block to be made of an insulating material, due to needing a cable or busbar to facilitate electrical connection.
Both Kim and the current invention are analogous because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a plurality of sub battery modules. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery module of modified Kang such that it has the structure disclosed above of Kim for the purposes of enhancing structural stability and energy density as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1, but does not disclose that the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1 further comprises a connection member electrically connecting the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module, wherein the insulating block has a support groove where at least a portion of the connection member is inserted and supported.
Kim further discloses a connection member ([0059]) electrically connecting the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module ([0059]), wherein the insulating block (180; [0059]) has a support groove (see annotated Figure 2), but does not explicitly disclose that at least a portion of the connection member is inserted and supported in the support groove. However, Kim does disclose that the insulating block may be configured to allow the connection member for electric or power connection between sub-battery modules to pass therethrough ([0059]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of modified Kang such that it comprises a connection member electrically connecting the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module as disclosed by Kim, as well as where at least a portion of the connection member is inserted and supported for the purposes of electric or power connection, as motivated by Kim.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the insulating block comprises a communication groove (see annotated Figure 2) that is provided in an edge portion of the insulating block (see annotated Figure 2), but does not explicitly disclose that the communication groove is in close contact with the inner surface of the module case and that it allows the cooling liquid to pass from the first sub-battery module side to the second sub-battery module side.
However, Kim depicts approximately equal widths of the insulating block (180) and the sub-battery module (110) in the exploded view of the battery module in Figure 2 (see annotated Figure 2 below), as well as the inner surface of the module case (140 -see annotated Figure 2) directly opposing the communication groove of the insulating block (see annotated Figure 2). Additionally, Kim depicts that the communication groove of the insulating block (180) is directly adjacent to the stack of the sub-battery module (110). It then stands to reason that based on the size of the insulating blocks and sub-battery modules, the communication groove will be in close contact with the inner surface of the module case and that the cooling liquid can pass from the first sub-battery module side to the second sub-battery module side.
US20190181405A1 Kim et al. further annotation of Figure 2
For these reasons, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have recognized that the insulating block communication groove is in close contact with the inner surface of the module case and that it allows the cooling liquid to pass from the first sub-battery module side to the second sub-battery module side.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Kang further discloses wherein the cooling liquid comprises an insulating oil (I – see [0030]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Kang further discloses that a battery pack can comprise the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1 ([0050]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Kang further discloses that a vehicle can comprise the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1 ([0051] )
_____
Claims 2-3, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) in view of Enomoto et al. (US20150188203A1) and Kim et al. (US20190181405A1) as applied to Claims 1, further in view of U.S. Published Application Jeon et al. (US20200365844A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1 but does not disclose wherein each of the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module comprises a busbar frame that supports at least one busbar connecting electrode leads of battery cells forming a battery cell stack and is coupled to the insulating block.
Kim further discloses wherein each of the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module comprises a busbar frame (“end plate” 113 – see annotated Figure 3 of Kim below) that supports at least one busbar ([0044]; 114 – see annotated Figure 3 of Kim) connecting electrode leads ([0044]) of battery cells forming a battery cell stack ([0044]), teaching that the busbar frame can guide and protect the battery cell stack ([0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of modified Kang such that it has the structure disclosed above of Kim for the purposes of electrically connecting the battery cells, as well as guiding and subsequently protecting the battery cell stack.
However, the further-modified Kang still does not explicitly disclose that the busbar frame is coupled to the insulating block.
US20190181405A1 Kim et al. annotated Figure 3
Jeon discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising a battery assembly ("cell assembly" - [0042]), an insulating block disposed between a first battery cell and a second battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0009-0010]). Jeon further discloses, wherein each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell comprises a busbar frame (unit plate – see [0064]) that supports at least one busbar (connection member – see [0066]) connecting electrode leads ([0066]) of battery cells ([0066]) and is coupled to the insulating block ([0067-0068]).
Jeon is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a battery assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have applied the known technique of coupling the busbar frame to the insulating block, as demonstrated in Jeon, to the immersion-cooled battery module of modified Kang for the predictable result of coupling the busbar frame to the insulating block (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 2. Jeon further discloses wherein the insulating block has a coupling groove ([0067-0068]) but does not disclose wherein the busbar frame has a coupling protrusion extending toward the insulating block and where the coupling protrusion is inserted and coupled. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to recognize that if the busbar frame is coupled to the insulating block via the coupling groove of the insulating block, the busbar frame would necessarily need to have a protrusion extending towards the insulating block in order to couple with the insulating block’s coupling groove.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1, but does not disclose the limitations of Claim 7 (see detailed mapping of specific limitations hereafter). Jeon discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising a battery assembly ("cell assembly" - [0042]), an insulating block disposed between a first battery cell and a second battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0009-0010]). Jeon further discloses a plurality of circuit boards ([0084]) corresponding to the plurality of sub- battery modules ([0084]) to be configured to sense electrical signals related to the corresponding sub-battery modules, respectively ([0084]), disclosing that the circuit boards are for monitoring the voltage and temperature of a battery. Jeon is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a battery assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the immersion-cooled battery module of modified Kang such that it has the structure disclosed above of Jeon in order to monitor the voltage and temperature of the battery. As a result of this modification, the plurality of circuit boards corresponding to the plurality of sub-battery modules would then necessarily be accommodated in the internal space of the immersion-cooled battery of modified Kang.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein each of the plurality of sub-battery modules comprises a pair of side plates (130 and 140 – see annotated Figure 2 of Kim) supporting both ends of the corresponding battery cell stack (see annotated Figure 2 of Kim) in the stacking direction (see annotated Figure 2 of Kim), but does not disclose wherein at least one side plate of the pair of side plates comprises an opening portion that exposes a surface of an adjacent battery cell among the battery cells of the battery cell stack supported by the pair of side plates to contact a cooling liquid.
Jeon discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising a battery assembly ("cell assembly" - [0042]), an insulating block disposed between a first battery cell and a second battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0009-0010]). Jeon further discloses wherein at least one side plate of the pair of side plates comprises an opening portion ([0118]) that exposes a surface of an adjacent battery cell among the battery cells of the battery cell stack supported by the pair of side plates ([0118]) to contact a cooling liquid ([0118, 0152]) for the purposes of enhancing cooling efficiency of the cell assembly ([0152]). Jeon is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a battery assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of modified Kang such that it has the structure disclosed above by Jeon for the purposes of enhancing cooling efficiency of the cell assembly.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1, but does not disclose an end cover that has a through hole through which the inlet or outlet of the sealing cover passes and is coupled to the opening into which the sealing cover is inserted to cover the opening.
Jeon discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising a battery assembly ("cell assembly" - [0042]), an insulating block disposed between a first battery cell and a second battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0009-0010]). Jeon further discloses an end cover (70; [0141]) that has a through hole (flow path connection portion - [0147]) through which the inlet or outlet of the sealing cover (80; [0143]) passes and is coupled ([0147]) to the opening (ends of the cell assembly – [0144]) into which the sealing cover is inserted to cover the opening ([0144]) for the taught purposes of completing an exterior of the battery module ([0140]) and providing a path for supplying cooling liquid to the battery module ([0148]), for the purpose of supplying cooling water to the battery module. Jeon is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a battery assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of modified Kang such that it has the structure disclosed above because doing so amounts to nothing more than combining known elements according to their established function for the predictable results of completing the exterior of a battery module (MPEP 2143(I)(A)) and for the taught purpose of providing a path for supplying cooling liquid to the battery module.
_____
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) in view of Enomoto et al. (US20150188203A1) and Kim et al. (US20190181405A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of U.S. Published Application Kang ‘741 et al. (US20200176741A1).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the module case comprises a stopper that protrudes from the inner surface of the module case and supports the insulating block, thereby restricting movement of the insulating block.
Kang ‘741 discloses a battery pack ([0020]) comprising: a battery assembly (at least one battery cell – see [0020]); a pack case ([0020]) accommodating the battery assembly in an internal space ([0051]). Kang ‘741 further discloses wherein the pack case comprises a stopper ([0027]) that protrudes ([0072]) from the inner surface of the pack case ([0072]), teaching that the stopper restricts upward movement of a component internal to the pack case ([0027]), thereby restricting movement of the internal component ([0027]). Kang ‘741 is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery enclosures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery module of modified Kang such that it has the structure disclosed above because the combination of known elements (stoppers) to arrive at a predictable result (restricting movement) is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
_____
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) in view of Enomoto et al. (US20150188203A1), Kim et al. (US20190181405A1), and Jeon et al. (US20200365844A1) as applied to Claim 7 above, further in view of non-patent literature “Flat Flexible Cables (Premo-Flex) and Interconnects” (ElementI4 – copy furnished with Office Action) .
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 7. Jeon further discloses a first circuit board ([0014]) sensing a first electrical signal ([0014]) related to the first sub-battery module among the plurality of circuit boards and a second circuit board ([0014]) sensing a second electrical signal ([0014]) related to the second sub-battery module among the plurality of sub-battery modules, but does not disclose a flat flexible cable (FFC) configured to electrically connect the first circuit board and the second circuit board and transmit the second electrical signal to the first circuit board.
ElementI4 discloses wherein circuit boards are electrically interconnected (first paragraph of the “Scope” section, pg. 2). ElementI4 further discloses that flat flexible cables (FFCs) can be used to electrically connect a first circuit board and a second circuit board (second paragraph of “3.2 Rigid vs. Flexible Interconnects” section – pg. 3), teaching that FFCs are advantageous in situations that require high flexibility, have space constraints, and are subject to vibrations. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of modified Kang such that it comprises a flat flexible cable configured to electrically connect a first circuit board sensing a first electrical signal related to the first sub-battery module among the plurality of circuit boards and a second circuit board sensing a second electrical signal related to the second sub-battery module among the plurality of sub-battery modules and transmit the second electrical signal to the first circuit board in order to take advantage of the FFC’s flexibility, as well minimizing vibrations and space used.
_____
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) in view of Enomoto et al. (US20150188203A1), Kim et al. (US20190181405A1), Sato et al. (US20180047958A1), and Jeon et al. (US20200365844A1) as applied to Claim 8 above, further in view of non-patent literature “Ruggedized Waterproof Connectors for Secure Connections” (Positronics – copy of article furnished with Office Action).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kang discloses the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 8 wherein the first circuit board is configured to transmit the first electrical signal and second electrical signal (see [0014] of Jeon), but does not disclose a waterproof connector coupled to the sealing cover, wherein the first circuit board is configured to transmit the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal to outside through the waterproof connector. Jeon further discloses a connector ([0141]) coupled to the sealing cover ([0141]), wherein the first circuit board is configured to transmit electrical signal to the outside through the connector ([0141]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery module of modified Kang to feature the connector coupled to the sealing cover as taught by Jeon, because the combination of known elements (connector) to arrive at a predictable result (providing a conduit for transmission of electrical signals)is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143(I)(A)). However, the further-modified Kang still does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector is a waterproof connector.
“Ruggedized Waterproof Connectors for Secure Connections” (hereafter referred to as Positronics) discloses connectors for battery packs (first paragraph of “Custom Waterproof Connectors” section, fifth page), teaching that waterproof connectors are essential to protecting electrical connections from liquids, moisture, and humidity (first paragraph of first page). Positronics is analogous to the current invention because they are both related to the same field of endeavor, namely connectors in battery applications. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have made the connector of modified Kang waterproof as taught by Positronics for the purpose of protecting electrical connection from liquids, moisture, and humidity.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action).
Regarding Claim 1, both the instant Claim 1 and copending claim 1 disclose an immersion-cooled battery module comprising: a battery assembly; a module case having an opening at least at one end and accommodating the battery assembly in an internal space connected to the opening; and a sealing cover and is inserted into the opening to airtightly cover the opening, wherein the battery assembly comprises: a plurality of sub-battery modules each having a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked and disposed side by side in one direction ; and an insulating block made of an insulating material and disposed between the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module adjacent to each other among the plurality of sub-battery modules. However, copending claim 1 does not disclose that the sealing cover has at least one of an inlet for introducing a cooling liquid into the internal space and an outlet for discharging the cooling liquid introduced into the internal space to the outside of the module case.
Kang discloses an immersion-cooled battery module (battery module cooled by insulating oil filled into space parts that surround the cells – see abstract) comprising: a battery assembly (abstract); a module case (frame 200 – [0030]) having an opening (first space 410 – [0038] , see annotated Figure 4) at least at one end ([0038] – see annotated Figure 4 of Kang) and accommodating the battery assembly in an internal space (abstract) connected to the opening ([0038]); and a sealing cover (310 – see annotated Figure 4; [0038]). Kang further discloses that the sealing cover has at least one of an inlet ([0018]) for introducing a cooling liquid into the internal space ([0018]) and an outlet ([0018]) for discharging the cooling liquid introduced into the internal space to the outside of the module case ([0018]). Kang is analogous to the current invention because they are all related to the same field of endeavor, namely immersion-cooled battery modules comprising a module case. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery module of copending claim 1 such that it has the structure disclosed above because the combination of known elements (inlets and outlets) to arrive at a predictable result (introducing and discharging cooling liquids, respectively) is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 5 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant Claim 1 and copending claim 5 disclose the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1, which further comprises a connection member electrically connecting the first sub-battery module and the second sub-battery module, wherein the insulating block has a support groove where at least a portion of the connection member is inserted and supported.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 5, both the instant Claim 5 and copending claim 7 disclose the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1, wherein the insulating block comprises a communication groove that is provided in an edge portion of the insulating block in close contact with the inner surface of the module case allows the cooling liquid to pass from the first sub-battery module side to the second sub-battery module side. Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Kang ‘741 et al. (US20200176741A1).
Regarding Claim 6, modified copending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the module case comprises a stopper that protrudes from the inner surface of the module case and supports the insulating block, thereby restricting movement of the insulating block.
Kang ‘741 discloses a battery pack ([0020]) comprising: a battery assembly (at least one battery cell – see [0020]); a pack case ([0020]) accommodating the battery assembly in an internal space ([0051]). Kang ‘741 further discloses wherein the pack case comprises a stopper ([0027]) that protrudes ([0072]) from the inner surface of the pack case ([0072]), teaching that the stopper restricts upward movement of a component internal to the pack case ([0027]), thereby restricting movement of the internal component ([0027]). Kang ‘741 is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery enclosures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery module of copending claim 1 such that it has the structure disclosed above because the combination of known elements (stoppers) to arrive at a predictable result (restricting movement) is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 7, modified copending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Furthermore, copending claim 9 discloses a circuit board accommodated in the internal space to be configured to sense electrical signals related to the plurality of sub-battery modules but does not disclose a plurality of circuit boards that correspond to the plurality of sub-battery modules configured to sense electrical signals related to the corresponding sub-battery modules. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of copending claim 9 such that there is plurality of circuit boards that correspond to the plurality of sub-battery modules configured to sense electrical signals related to the corresponding sub-battery modules, because doing so amounts to no more than the duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144(VI)(B)). Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 7 above, further in view of “Flat Flexible Cables (Premo-Flex) and Interconnects” (ElementI4 – copy furnished with Office Action).
Regarding Claim 8, copending claim 9 discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 7, further disclosing a first circuit board sensing a first electrical signal related to the first sub-battery module among the plurality of circuit boards and a second circuit board sensing a second electrical signal related to the second sub-battery module among the plurality of sub-battery modules, but does not disclose a flat flexible cable (FFC) configured to electrically connect the first circuit board and the second circuit board and transmit the second electrical signal to the first circuit board.
ElementI4 discloses wherein circuit boards are electrically interconnected (first paragraph of the “Scope” section, pg. 2). ElementI4 further discloses that flat flexible cables (FFCs) can be used to electrically connect a first circuit board and a second circuit board (second paragraph of “3.2 Rigid vs. Flexible Interconnects” section – pg. 3), teaching that FFCs are advantageous in situations that require high flexibility, have space constraints, and are subject to vibrations. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of copending claim 9 such that it comprises a flat flexible cable configured to electrically connect a first circuit board sensing a first electrical signal related to the first sub-battery module among the plurality of circuit boards and a second circuit board sensing a second electrical signal related to the second sub-battery module among the plurality of sub-battery modules and transmit the second electrical signal to the first circuit board in order to take advantage of the FFC’s flexibility, as well minimizing vibrations and space used. Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
_____
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) and Sato et al. (US20180047958A1) as applied to Claim 8 above, further in view of Jeon et al. (US20200365844A1) and “Ruggedized Waterproof Connectors for Secure Connections” (Positronics – copy of article furnished with Office Action).
Regarding Claim 9, copending 9 discloses wherein the first circuit board is configured to transmit the first electrical signal and second electrical signal but does not disclose a waterproof connector coupled to the sealing cover through which the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are transmitted to the outside.
Jeon discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising a battery assembly ("cell assembly" - [0042]), an insulating block disposed between a first battery cell and a second battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0009-0010]). Jeon further discloses a connector ([0141]) coupled to the sealing cover ([0141]), wherein the first circuit board is configured to transmit electrical signal to the outside through the connector ([0141]). Jeon is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a battery assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery module of copending claim 9 such that it has the structure disclosed above because the combination of known elements (connector coupled to the sealing cover) to arrive at a predictable result (transmission of electrical signal) is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). However, the further-modified copending claim 9 still does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector is a waterproof connector.
“Ruggedized Waterproof Connectors for Secure Connections” (hereafter referred to as Positronics) discloses connectors for battery packs (first paragraph of “Custom Waterproof Connectors” section, fifth page), teaching that waterproof connectors are essential to protecting electrical connections from liquids, moisture, and humidity (first paragraph of first page). Positronics is analogous to the current invention because they are both related to the same field of endeavor, namely connectors in battery applications. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have made the connector of modified copending claim 9 waterproof as taught by Positronics for the purpose of protecting electrical connection from liquids, moisture, and humidity. Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
_____
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 10, copending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Furthermore, copending claim 11 discloses wherein each of the plurality of sub-battery modules comprises a pair of side plates supporting both ends of the corresponding battery cell stack in the stacking direction, wherein at least one side plate of the pair of side plates comprises an opening portion that exposes a surface of an adjacent battery cell among the battery cells of the battery cell stack supported by the pair of side plates to contact a cooling liquid. Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action), further in view of Jeon et al. (US20200365844A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified copending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1, but does not disclose an end cover that has a through hole through which the inlet or outlet of the sealing cover passes and is coupled to the opening into which the sealing cover is inserted to cover the opening.
Jeon discloses a battery module (abstract) comprising a battery assembly ("cell assembly" - [0042]), an insulating block disposed between a first battery cell and a second battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0009-0010]). Jeon further discloses an end cover (70; [0141]) that has a through hole (flow path connection portion - [0147]) through which the inlet or outlet of the sealing cover (80; [0143]) passes and is coupled ([0147]) to the opening (ends of the cell assembly – [0144]) into which the sealing cover is inserted to cover the opening ([0144]) for the taught purposes of completing an exterior of the battery module ([0140]) and providing a path for supplying cooling liquid to the battery module ([0148]). Jeon is analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules comprising a battery assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the immersion-cooled battery of copending claim 1 such that it has the structure disclosed above because doing so amounts to nothing more than combining known elements according to their established function for the predictable results of completing the exterior of a battery module and providing a path for supplying cooling liquid to the battery module (MPEP 2143(I)(A)). Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 12, modified copending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1. Kang further discloses wherein the cooling liquid comprises an insulating oil (I – see [0030]). Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 13, modified copending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery according to Claim 1. Furthermore, copending claim 13 discloses wherein a battery pack can comprise the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1. Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/691,624 (Lee et al.) in view of Kang (KR20210048855A - English translation furnished with Office Action) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 14, modified pending claim 1 discloses the immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1. Furthermore, copending claim 14 discloses wherein a vehicle can comprise an immersion-cooled battery module according to Claim 1. Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754