DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected without traverse, Group I invention and compound species, 4-((2-Cyano-4-(isoindolin-2-ylmethyl)phenoxy)methyl)-N,N-dimethylbenzamide (Compound 6), having structure shown below, on July 20, 2026.
The elected species corresponds to Formula (I), R1 is -X1-C(O)R6, X1 is a bond, R6 is - NR12R13, R12 is C1-7alkyl, R13 is C1-7alkyl, R2 is hydrogen, R3 is cyano, R4 is hydrogen, R5 is hydrogen, B is phenyl, A is a 3-10 membered carbocyclyl.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 22, 34 and 35 read on the elected invention and species.
Claims 29-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 12-13, 17-20 and 36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The elected species, compound 6 (CAS# 2925557-59-9), entered STN database on June 06, 2023. The search/examination has been expanded to non-elected species wherein moiety B is phenyl, R3 is hydrogen, halogen or OC1-7 alkyl, R4 is hydrogen; moiety A is phenyl or piperidinyl, R1 is C(O)NC1-7 alkyl, R2 is hydrogen; R5 is hydrogen, which are rejected under 35 USC §103 and on the ground of double patenting. Other non-elected species are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-14, 16-22 and 34-36 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 12-13, 17-20, 29-33 and 36 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 22, 34 and 35 are under examination in this office action.
Priority
The instant application 18/708,157 filed on May 07, 2024, is 371 of International Application No. PCT/FI2022/050741, filed November 9, 2022, which claims the benefit of Finnish Application No. 20217169, filed November 10, 2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign Application No. 20217169 is filed on May 07, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement dated 12/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. The reference listed in IDS are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the full-scope of claimed compound of Formula I. This is a written description rejection, rather than an enablement rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Applicant is directed to the MPEP 2163 and Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st "Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.
MPEP 2163.02 states “ Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.”
Independent claim 1 and dependent claims are drawn to compound of formula I comprising vast variety of moiety A and B. The Applicant is required to provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed genus that aligns with instantly claimed broad scope.
MPEP 2163 II states; “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above)”. While applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. “A representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus” MPEP 2163 II.
Instant specification discloses about 58 compounds with variety of activities wherein some compounds have high IC50 value over 350nM (See PGPub US 2025/0011285 A1, [0239], Table 1, Examples). The disclosed compounds are not representative for the full scope of compound of Formula I. For example, the disclosed compounds comprise substituted phenyl ring and
(See Compound 38, 41, 44- 47, 51) as B moiety. Instant specification does not disclose compounds comprising other 8-12 membered heterocyclic and does not commensurate with the broad definition of B moiety as 8-12 membered heterocyclyl.
Instant specification discloses compounds comprising substituted phenyl and piperidinyl ring as A moiety and only one example ( Compound 50) wherein A moiety is a cyclohexyl ring. The disclosure of phenyl ring and one example of cyclohexyl ring as A moiety does not commensurate with the broad definition of A moiety as 3-10 membered carbocyclyl; similarly, the disclosure of piperidinyl ring as A moiety does not commensurate with the broad definition of A moiety as 4-12 membered heterocyclyl.
The only disclosure of other moieties/groups, in addition to the species reduced to practice, is in the form of general formula with lists of possible groups. This kind of disclosure is not representation of any species. A "laundry list" disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species. MPEP 2163.1.A. and Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 ”.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed.Cir. 1996).
Further, claim 1 recites R1 and R2 on A moiety without defined position, wherein R1 and R2 have overlapping definition with proviso that R1 is not hydrogen when B is phenyl. It’s not clear whether the substitute on A moiety is considered as R1 or R2. It’s not clear how to differentiate hydrogen on the A moiety as R2 or R1 to be excluded from the proviso. Instant claimed B moiety comprises R3 and R4 without defined position and R3 and R4 have overlapping definition. It’s not clear whether hydrogen, halogen or nitro group on B moiety is considered as R3 or R4.
There are substantial structural variation within the genus/subgenus embraced by instant claims and instant disclosure of species do not commensurate with the claimed scope of genus/subgenus. One of ordinary skilled in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of full scope of compound of Formula I comprising vast variety of A and B moiety. The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 22, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din Belle et al. (WO2018/115591 A1, hereafter “ Din Belle’591”, Applicant’s IDS dated 12/17/2024).
Din Belle’591 teaches compound of Formula I, IA to IE, etc. or salt thereof, as CYP11A1 (cytochrome p450 monooxygenase 11A1) inhibitor, pharmaceutical composition and method of treating disease for steroid receptor, particularly androgen receptor dependent diseases and conditions(e.g. cancer) (See abstract; page 3, lines 1-25 ; page 4, lines 1-30; Compounds 1-281; Examples 1-26; claims 1-44).
Din Belle’591 teaches compound of Formula IC , ID and IE comprising isoindoline moiety(See page 16, lines 4-20),
Din Belle’591 teaches compound species, e.g. Compound 2-13, 40, 83-85, 120, 126-127, 131, 136-139, 174, 277, 282, etc. (See page 121-, Example 1-15, etc.) that is similar to instant claimed compound of Formula I, except moiety B.
Regarding claims 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11 and 14 , Din Belle’591 discloses variety of A moiety (e.g. phenyl) substituted with variety of R1 and R2 groups, e.g. substituted benzamide wherein X1 is bond (See Compound 120, 127, 174, etc.).
Regarding claim 21, Din Belle’591 discloses embodiments comprising unsubstituted isoindoline (See compound 120, 174, 282, etc.).
Regarding claim 34 and 35, Din Belle’591 discloses pharmaceutical composition comprising pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (See page 9, lines 3-5; claim 43). Din Belle’591 also teaches combination comprising compound of Formula I and at least one additional active ingredient, glucocorticoid, etc.(See page 58, line 23; page 60, lines 6-32; claim 44).
The main difference between Din Belle’591 and instant claimed compound is moiety B.
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to explore phenyl ring in place of unsaturated 4H-pyran ring in Din Belle’591 compounds, together with experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification for SAR study. Phenyl ring is one of the most commonly used unsaturated six-member ring in medicinal chemistry/pharmaceutical industry. The substitution of one unsaturated six-membered 4H-pyran ring for another six-membered ring system (phenyl) would have involved predictable selection of a commonly used six-membered phenyl ring which is within the general knowledge and skill of a POSA. Din Belle’591 teaches substituted phenyl ring with variety of R3/R4/R5 group, e.g. hydrogen, halogen, nitro, cyano, C1-7 alkyl, etc. which could have been applied as B moiety. A skilled artisan would be motivated to substitute the six-membered unsaturated pyran ring with six-membered phenyl ring and reasonably expect the phenyl-containing scaffold maintain comparable steric and special characteristics and the resulting phenyl-substituted compounds on B moiety would provide alternative CYP11 inhibitor for treating prostate cancer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention base on the combined teachings of prior art and further exploration/optimization based on general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification for SAR study. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 34 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of 1-35 of U.S. patent No. 10717726.
Reference claims are drawn to compound of formula I, IA, IC and ID, pharmaceutical composition thereof and method of treating a steroid receptor dependent condition or disease, e.g. castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC). Reference claims 13 and 14 recite compound of Formula IC and ID comprising substituted phenyl or piperidinyl that read on instant moiety A.
The main difference between reference compounds and instant compound is moiety B.
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to explore phenyl ring in place of unsaturated 4H-pyran ring in reference compounds, together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification for SAR study. Phenyl ring is one of the most commonly used unsaturated six-member ring in medicinal chemistry/pharmaceutical industry. The substitution of one unsaturated six-membered 4H-pyran ring for another six-membered ring system (phenyl) would have involved predictable selection of a commonly used six-membered phenyl ring which is within the general knowledge and skill of a POSA. A skilled artisan would be motivated to substitute the six-membered unsaturated 4H-pyran ring with six-membered phenyl ring and reasonably expect the phenyl-containing scaffold maintain comparable steric and special characteristics and the resulting phenyl-substituted compounds on B moiety would provide alternative CYP11 inhibitor for treating prostate cancer.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuity data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 34 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of 1-11 of U.S. patent No. 11098032.
Reference claims are drawn to compound of formula ID, pharmaceutical composition thereof and method of treating a steroid receptor dependent condition or disease, e.g. castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC).
Reference claim 2 recites compound species comprising substituted piperidinyl that read on instant moiety A.
The difference between reference claimed compounds and instant claimed compound is moiety B, 4H-pyran ring .
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to explore phenyl ring in place of unsaturated 4H-pyran ring in reference compounds, together with experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification for SAR study. Phenyl ring is one of the most commonly used unsaturated six-member ring in medicinal chemistry/pharmaceutical industry. The substitution of one unsaturated six-membered 4H-pyran ring for another six-membered ring system (phenyl) would have involved predictable selection of a commonly used six-membered phenyl ring which is within the general knowledge and skill of a POSA. A skilled artisan would be motivated to substitute the six-membered unsaturated pyran ring with six-membered phenyl ring and reasonably expect the phenyl-containing scaffold maintain comparable steric and special characteristics and the resulting phenyl-substituted compounds on B moiety would provide alternative CYP11 inhibitor for treating prostate cancer.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuity data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 34 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of 1-24 of U.S. patent No. 12030871.
Reference claims are drawn to compound comprising isoindoline moiety, pharmaceutical composition thereof and method of treating a steroid receptor dependent condition or disease, e.g. castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC).
The difference between reference claimed compounds and instant claimed compound is moiety B, 4H-pyran ring.
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuity data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 34 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of 1-34 of U.S. patent No. 12735408 (Application No. 18/255,218).
Reference claims are drawn to compound of formula I , pharmaceutical composition thereof and method of treating a steroid receptor dependent condition or disease, e.g. castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC).
The difference between reference compounds and instant compound is moiety B wherein pyridine ring and phenyl ring are considered as bioisosteric equivalent.
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuity data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21, 22, 34 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4, 9,13-23, 27-37 and 52 of copending U.S. Patent application No. 17/924,857. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Reference claims are directed to compound of Formula I, IA, IC, and pharmaceutical composition thereof.
Claim 37 recite compound species comprising substituted phenyl or piperidinyl that read on instant moiety A, for example,
The main difference between reference compounds and instant claimed compounds is the substituents on phenyl ring of B moiety.
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The instant application shares at least one common inventor/applicant/assignee with reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LIYUAN MOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628