DETAILED ACTION
The final Office action mailed 4/15/26 has been replaced with this Corrected final Office action.
Claim(s) 27-29, 31-44, and 47-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN212564523 (English machine translated herewith) in view of Jelinek (USPN 2717025).
In this article claim, the limitation of the claimed sealing element being formed by injection molding or compression molding has not been given patentable weight since article claims are examined for its structure rather than how it is made. See MPEP 2113. The injection molding or compression molding of the article does not impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final article.
Regarding claim 27, CN212564523 teach:
27. A sealing element (CN212564523: flange joint 30; figs 1 and 5) with a rectangular shape in an unwound state (CN212564523: in an unrolled state, flange joint 30 is shown to have a rectangular shape; fig 5), the sealing element comprising:
a first direction of extension (CN212564523: fig 5; long side of the rectangular shape),
a second direction of extension (CN212564523: fig 5; short side of the rectangular shape),
a first opening (CN212564523: fig 1; together the column limiting 34 and conduit 32 constitute an opening),
a second opening (CN212564523: fig 1; together the column limiting 34 and conduit 32 constitute an opening),
at least two sections of the sealing elements, each section having a partially cylindrical shape in the unwound state (CN212564523: fig 5) and
a cylindrical end contour (CN212564523: fig 1; in the wound state, the flange joint is cylindrical),
wherein:
the sealing element is formed by an injection moulding process or a compression moulding process (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5; flange joint is made of PP material and injection molded), and
the sealing element is manufactured from a first material (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5; flange joint is made of PP material and injection molded), and
an area between a first section of the at least two sections of the sealing element and a second section of the at least two sections of the sealing element has a reduced wall thickness (CN212564523: short specification; fig 5 shows grooves between segments to allow for folding, wherein the grooves have a reduced wall thickness compared to the segments).
However, CN212564523 does not teach the sealing element is manufactured from at least a first material and a second material, wherein the second material at least partially covers the first material in a third direction of extension, the third direction of extension arranged orthogonally to the first direction of extension and the second direction of extension. Jelinek teaches composite sealing gaskets comprised of at least a first material and a second material, wherein the second material fully covers the first material (Jelinek: col 1:45-53; col 2:9-43; and figs 1-3). Jelinek also teaches composite sealing gaskets have the benefit of structural elasticity, shape-retaining properties, and also chemical resistance (Jelinek: col 1:45-53; col 2:9-43; and figs 1-3). Since CN212564523 and Jelinek are analogous with respect to sealing elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the composite materials as taught by Jelinek into the flange joint of Volpato et al in order to form a flange joint having the benefits of structural elasticity, shape-retaining properties, and also chemical resistance.
Regarding claim 28, such is taught by the above combination of CN212564523 and Jelinek since Jelinek teaches a sealing gasket with a second material completely covering the first material.
Regarding claim 29, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 31, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 32, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 33, CN212564523 does not teach the openings having different sizes. Since the specific shape or design of an article is a mere obvious matter of choice dependent on its use and flange joints having differently sized openings are well-known in the flange joint art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the openings of CN212564523 to have differently sized openings in order to diversify its uses.
Regarding claim 34, such is taught by (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 35, CN212564523 does not teach the openings having asymmetrical shapes. Since the specific shape or design of an article is a mere obvious matter of choice dependent on its use and flange joints having differently shaped openings are well-known in the flange joint art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the openings of CN212564523 to have asymmetrically shaped openings in order to diversify its uses.
Regarding claim 36, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 37, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 38, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5; the cross-sectional profile of the conduit 32 has a round shape).
Regarding claim 39, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5; the cross-sectional profile of the supporting ring 31 has an angular shape).
Regarding claim 40, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 41, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5; the conduit 32 has grooves).
Regarding claim 42, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5; the conduit 32 also serves as tongues so the flange joint does not move when it is positioned within the clamping column 12).
Regarding claim 43, CN212564523 does not teach grooves on a radially inner side of the sealing element. Since sealing elements are meant to stay in position and inner anchoring means are well-known in the sealing element art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate grooves on the radially inner side of the flange joint of CN212564523 in order to ensure the joint does not move after placement.
Regarding claim 44, CN212564523 does not teach tongue on a radially inner side of the sealing element. Since sealing elements are meant to stay in position and inner anchoring means are well-known in the sealing element art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate tongues on the radially inner side of the flange joint of CN212564523 in order to ensure the joint does not move after placement.
Regarding claim 47, such is taught by CN212564523 since CN212564523 teaches using PP material for the flange joint (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5)
Regarding claim 48, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Claim(s) 55-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN212564523 in view of Jelinek (USPN 2717025) as applied to claim 27. The above teachings of CN212564523 and Jelinek are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 55:
55. A medium distributor (CN212564523: liquid distributor; short specification; figs 1 and 5) comprising:
a cylindrical rotary slide valve (CN212564523: rotary shaft 20; figs 1 and 5),
a housing (CN212564523: shell 10; figs 1 and 5), and
the sealing element according to claim 27 (combined teachings of CN212564523and Jelinek),
wherein the sealing element seals the cylindrical rotary slide valve with respect to the housing (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 56, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 57, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 58, such is taught by CN212564523 (CN212564523: short specification; figs 1 and 5).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27-29,31-44,47-48, and 55-58 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teaches sealing gaskets: USPN 2798257, USPN 6622893, and DE112017002570.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744