DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VASTMANS (Publication No.: US 2017/0345278 A1).
Regarding claim 1, VASTMANS teaches A sensor system comprising: a sealed fiber optic closure (e.g. “optical cross-connecting box and distribution box” as in paragraph [0083] and throughout); a sensor (reference numeral 100 in Figure 12A) within the sealed fiber optic closure for detecting activity at the sealed fiber optic closure, such as whether the sealed fiber optic closure has been opened and/or whether movable components within the sealed fiber optic closure are moved.
Regarding claim 2, VASTMANS teaches The sensor system of claim 1, where the sensor system includes a controller (e.g. “Central machine room” as illustrated in Figure 17) to monitor authorized movements with respect to the sealed fiber optic closure, such as opening and closing the sealed fiber optic closure, or moving components within the sealed fiber optic closure, by a technician.
Regarding claim 3, VASTMANS teaches The sensor system of claim 1, where the sensor system includes a controller (e.g. “Central machine room” as illustrated in Figure 17) to monitor unauthorized movements with respect to the sealed fiber optic closure, such as opening and closing the sealed fiber optic closure, or moving components within the sealed fiber optic closure, and generating an alarm signal.
Regarding claim 4, VASTMANS teaches The sensor system of claim 1, wherein the sensor is an optical sensor (e.g. “optical sensor assembly” as in paragraph [0084]), in particular an optical sensor capable of sensing mechanical movement (e.g. “optical cross-connecting box is closed (or opened)” as in paragraph [0084]), and an optical sensor assembly and a monitoring device having the optical sensor (reference numeral 400 in Figure 12A), wherein the optical sensor uses an OTDR signal (e.g. “OTDR” as in paragraph [0083]) for sensing mechanical movement, and communicating the sensed mechanical movement to a remote location, such as a central office (e.g. “Central machine room” as illustrated in Figure 17).
Regarding claim 10, VASTMANS teaches The sensor system of claim 1, further comprising: an exterior optical sensor (reference numeral 1010 in Figure 22A-22C) disposed outside of the sealed fiber optic closure; and a detection fiber (reference numeral 1014 in Figure 22A-22C) extending from the exterior optical sensor to an interior of the sealed fiber optic closure.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest that the sensor includes a base and a sensing component movable relative to the base, and wherein the sensing component extends into gel sealing the sealed fiber optic closure.
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635