DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 24-28, 31 and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim(s), or amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim(s) in independent form. The claim 24 has not been further treated on the merits.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though, the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CH070565/2021, filed on 11/16/2021 in Switzerland.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 05/08/2024; and 05/29/2024 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 06/04/2018 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arita et al. [US 2015/0092437].
Regarding claim 1, Arita et al., disclose a device (1, figures 1-9) for use in an electronic application, the device comprising:
a housing (100, figures 1-5 and 8-9) having walls determining an inner space (a cavity between a top cover 110 and a bottom member 120, figures 1-5), wherein the housing has at least one slot (321 & 322, figure 1-3) configured to receive a connector (figures 3-4), and a mounting section (323, figures 1-2);
a printed circuit board (a PCB 200, figures 2 and 5) arranged in the housing, the PCB configured to control and operate the device, wherein the PCB comprises connecting terminals (311, figures 2-3); and
a modular electrical interface (311 & 321 & 321, figures 2-3), comprising:
at least one connector (322, figure 3) configured to supply power and/or carry signals to the PCB, the connector having lead wires (311b, figure 2), wherein the connector is received in the slot of the housing, wherein the lead wires have a solder-free connection (the lead wires 311 is fixed onto the PCB by a fixing portion 312, figure 2) to corresponding connecting terminals of the PCB; and
a tension protection module (12 & 10, figure 4) fixed to the mounting section of the housing; and wherein the connector is a direct PCB connector.
Regarding claim 9, Arita et al., disclose wherein the mounting section of the housing comprises a frame part (321, figure 2), and the tension protection module is fixed to the frame part (12, figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Arita et al., disclose wherein the tension protection module comprises two or more socket portions (12 & 22, figure 4) fixed to corresponding mounting sections of the housing.
Regarding claim 12, Arita et al., disclose wherein the tension protection module comprises a window (the socket portion in the tension protection module is a female connector which is cooperated with a male connector 311. Therefore, the socket portion provides a plurality of received openings or window) configured to expose a portion of the connector (figure 8-9).
Regarding claim 13, Arita et al., further disclose wherein the tension protection module comprises a connection part (a connection part is connected between a tension protection part 12 and a cable end 11, figure 4) having an opening configured to receive at least one cable, and a fixing element configured to fix the at least one cable in a position relative to the tension protection module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arita et al., in view of Kameyama [US 2002/0101041].
Regarding claim 3, Arita et al., disclose wherein the tension protection module is removably fixed to the mounting section (figure 4).
Arita et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the tension protection module is removably fixed to the mounting section by a latching connection.
Kameyama disclose an electronic device (Z, figures 1-10) comprising at least one mounting section (34, figure 1), wherein the mounting section is provided to co-operate with a tension protection module (8, figure 1), and wherein the tension protection module is removably fixed to the mounting section by a latching connection (20 & 35, figure 1).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a latching connection design of Kameyama to the tension protection module of an electronic device of Arita et al., in order to secure a tension protection module and a mounting section of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 5, Arita et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the tension protection module is fixed to the mounting section of the housing by a fixation, wherein the fixation includes at least a first connecting element which comprises a latch connector or a snap connection, and a second connecting element which comprises a positive fit connection.
Kameyama further discloses wherein the latching connection includes at least a first connecting element (20, figure 1) which comprises a latch connector or a snap connection, and a second connecting element which comprises a positive fit connection (35, figure 1).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a latching connection design of Kameyama to the tension protection module of an electronic device of Arita et al., in order to secure a tension protection module and a mounting section of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 14, Arita et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the latch connector or snap connector is configured to engage with a corresponding third
connecting element of the mounting section, and the positive fit connector is configured
to engage with a corresponding fourth connecting element of the mounting section.
Kameyama further discloses wherein the latching connection includes at least a first connecting element (20, figure 1) which comprises a latch connector or a snap connection, and a second connecting element which comprises a positive fit connection (35, figure 1).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a latching connection design of Kameyama with a corresponding third and/or fourth connecting element(s) of the mounting section in an electronic device of Arita et al., in order to secure a plurality of tension protection modules and their corresponding mounting sections in the electronic device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co. 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 16, Arita et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the latch connector or snap connector comprises a pivotable lever which is actuatable to disengage the latch connector or snap connector from the third connecting element.
Kameyama further discloses wherein the latching connection includes at least a first connecting element (20, figure 1), wherein the first connecting element is actuatable to disengage the latch connector or snap connector (a pivotable lever 23, figure 1), and a second connecting element which comprises a positive fit connection (35, figure 1).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the latching connection design of Kameyama to connect to a third connecting element of an electronic device of Arita et al., in order to secure more tension protection modules and their corresponding mounting sections of the electronic device.
Regarding claims 17-18, Arita et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the positive fit connector comprises a lug having an opening configured to provide a positive fit engagement with the fourth connecting element.
Kameyama further discloses wherein the latching connection comprising a positive fit connector, wherein the positive fit connector comprises a lug (35, figure 1) having an opening (35a, figure 1) configured to provide a positive fit engagement with a corresponding connecting element (25c, figure 1); and wherein the connecting element comprises a protrusion (25c, figure 1) which engages the opening of the lug.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the latching connection design of Kameyama in an electronic device of Arita et al., in order to secure more tension protection modules and their corresponding mounting sections of the electronic device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arita et al., in view of Zerebilov et al. [US 2013/0084744].
Regarding claim 20, Arita et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the connector comprises an insulation housing having connection elements configured to connect with corresponding connection elements provided in the slot of the housing configured to fix the connector in the corresponding slot of the housing and/or fix the connector to the tension protection module.
Zerebilov et al., disclose an electronic device (99, figures 1-6) comprising at least one connector (108, figures 1 and 4-6) , wherein the at least one connector comprises an insulation housing (112, figures 1-6) having connection elements (132, figures 3-4 and 6) configured to connect with corresponding connection elements (139/140, figures 4 and 6) provided in a slot of a housing (111, figures 4-6) configured to fix the at least connector in the corresponding slot of the housing and/or fix the connector to the tension protection module (figures 4-6).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an insulative connector design of Zerebilov et al. in the electronic device of Arita et al., in order to prevent electronic shorts, electrical hazards, and interferences of the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claim 19 discloses the combination features of “wherein the opening of the lug is defined by a bracket portion which may be actuated using a tool configured to disengage the lug from the protrusion.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 18, 17, 14, 5 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Abendschein et al. [US 5,419,717] disclose hybrid connector between optics and edge card;
Blossfeld et al. [US 2011/0170269] disclose electronic assembly and method of manufacturing same;
Rosenthal et al. [US 9,345,151] disclose housing and construction kit for a control apparatus; and
Pittenger [US 10,193,261] discloses genderless electric terminals for vehicle.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/Hung S. Bui/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841