DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 04/27/2026 had been considered and made of records.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourqui [US 10,424,986].
Regarding claim 1, Bourqui discloses a device (10, figures 1-5) for use in an electronic application, the device comprising:
a housing (12, figures 1-2) having walls determining an inner space (a cavity holds a plurality of components 14, 16 and 20, figures 1-2), wherein the housing has at least one slot (a slot to hold a cutout portion 24, figures 1-2) configured to receive a connector (24/26, figures 1-2), and a mounting section (figures 1-2);
a printed circuit board (a PCB 22, figures 1-4) arranged in the housing, the PCB configured to control and operate the device, wherein the PCB comprises connecting terminals (26, figures 1-4); and
a modular electrical interface (30/28, figures 1-4), comprising:
at least one connector (30, figures 1-4) configured to supply power and/or carry signals to the PCB, the connector having lead wires (28, figures 1-4), wherein the connector is received in the slot of the housing, wherein the lead wires have a solder-free connection (column 1, lines 59-60; and the lead wires 28 is fixed to the interface connector 30, figures 1-4) to corresponding connecting terminals of the PCB; and
a tension protection module (a portion to hold the lead wires 28, figures 1-4) fixed to the mounting section of the housing; and wherein the connector is a direct PCB connector.
Regarding claim 3, Bourqui discloses wherein the tension protection module is removably fixed to the mounting section (see attached figure(s) 1 & 3 or 4).
Regarding claim 9, Bourqui further discloses wherein the mounting section of the housing comprises a frame part (see attached figure(s) 1 or 3), and the tension protection module is fixed to the frame part (figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Bourqui discloses wherein the tension protection module comprises two or more socket portions (two pair of latches are disposed both side of the tension protection module which hold the lead wires 28, figures 3-4) fixed to corresponding mounting sections of the housing.
Regarding claim 13, Bourqui discloses wherein the tension protection module comprises a connection part (a connection part is connected between a tension protection part (see attached figure 3) and a cable end 28, figures 1-4) having an opening configured to receive at least one cable, and a fixing element configured to fix the at least one cable in a position relative to the tension protection module.
Regarding claim 5, Bourqui discloses a device (10, figures 1-5) for use in an electronic application, the device comprising:
a housing (12, figures 1-2) having walls determining an inner space (a cavity holds a plurality of components 14, 16 and 20, figures 1-2), wherein the housing has at least one slot (a slot to hold a cutout portion 24, figures 1-2) configured to receive a connector (24/26, figures 1-2), and a mounting section (figures 1-2);
a printed circuit board (a PCB 22, figures 1-4) arranged in the housing, the PCB configured to control and operate the device, wherein the PCB comprises connecting terminals (26, figures 1-4); and
a modular electrical interface (30/28, figures 1-4), comprising:
at least one connector (30, figures 1-4) configured to supply power and/or carry signals to the PCB, the connector having lead wires (28, figures 1-4), wherein the connector is received in the slot of the housing, wherein the lead wires have a solder-free connection (column 1, lines 59-60; and the lead wires 28 is fixed to the interface connector 30, figures 1-4) to corresponding connecting terminals of the PCB; and
a tension protection module (a portion to hold the lead wires 28, figures 1-4) fixed to the mounting section of the housing; and
wherein the connector is a direct PCB connector, and wherein the tension protection module is fixed to the mounting section of the housing by a fixation (figures 2 and 4), wherein the fixation includes at least a first connecting element which comprises a latch connector (a pair of latches, see above figure 3) or a snap connection, and a second connecting element which comprises positive fit connection (at least one extended portion of the frame part 24, figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Bourqui discloses wherein the latch connector or snap connector is configured to engage with a corresponding third connecting element of the mounting section, and the positive fit connector is configured to engage with a corresponding fourth connecting element of the mounting section (there are two pair of latches which are corresponding two positive fits from both side of the frame parts, figures 2 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourqui, in view of Zerebilov et al. [US 2013/0084744].
Regarding claim 20, Bourqui discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the connector comprises an insulation housing having connection elements configured to connect with corresponding connection elements provided in the slot of the housing configured to fix the connector in the corresponding slot of the housing and/or fix the connector to the tension protection module.
Zerebilov et al., disclose an electronic device (99, figures 1-6) comprising at least one connector (108, figures 1 and 4-6) , wherein the at least one connector comprises an insulation housing (112, figures 1-6) having connection elements (132, figures 3-4 and 6) configured to connect with corresponding connection elements (139/140, figures 4 and 6) provided in a slot of a housing (111, figures 4-6) configured to fix the at least connector in the corresponding slot of the housing and/or fix the connector to the tension protection module (figures 4-6).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an insulative connector design of Zerebilov et al. in the electronic device of Bourqui, in order to prevent electronic shorts, electrical hazards, and interferences of the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 19 is allowed as indicated in the previous office action mailed on 01/20/2026.
Claims 12 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 12 discloses the combination features of “wherein the tension protection module comprises a window configured to expose a portion of the connector.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
The claim 16 discloses the combination features of “wherein the latch connector or snap connector comprises a pivotable lever which is actuatable to disengage the latch connector or snap connector from the third connecting element.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 14 and 5, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
The claim 17 discloses the combination features of “wherein the positive fit connector comprises a lug having an opening configured to provide a positive fit engagement with the fourth connecting element.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 14 and 5, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claim 18 depends on the allowed claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Examiner, 2841/2800