Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-30 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20200178287 A1, hereinafter, "PARK") in view of LIN et al. (US 20210306191 A1, hereinafter, "LIN").
Regarding claim 1, PARK teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (paragraph 0727; figure 28, base station (BS) (or eNB): 2810), comprising:
a memory (paragraph 0729; figure 28, memory: 2812);
and at least one processor coupled to the memory (paragraph 0729; figure 28, processor: 2811) and configured to:
transmit downlink control information (DCI) comprising an antenna value associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port mapping configuration,
PARK writes, “Based on Table 19, a DCI field for informing a mapping pattern of a DMRS to a UE may be constructed according to the following method” (paragraph 0415). PARK continues, “In a DCI format, a DCI field may be defined, which includes antenna port(s), the number of layers, and/or the number of symbols, and so on. In the case that different multiplexing schemes (e.g., CDM-T, CDM-F and/or FDM, etc.) are available for two or more layers, antenna port(s) may be defined in the same DCI field together for all multiplexing schemes” (paragraph 0416).
the DMRS port mapping configuration comprising orthogonal codes over a frequency domain and an orthogonal code sequence having a length (N) of orthogonal codes applied in the frequency domain, wherein the orthogonal code sequence having a value of N>2;
PARK writes, “A frequency domain sequence is used as the base sequence in order to spread the ACK/NACK signal in the frequency domain” (paragraph 0181). PARK continues, “... the ACK/NACK signal may be spread by using an orthogonal sequence (w0, w1, w2, and w3) having the length of 4 with respect to 4 symbols. Further, the RS is also spread through an orthogonal sequence having the length of 3 or 2. This is referred to as orthogonal covering (OC)” (paragraph 0182).
PARK fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and transmit an indication comprising a DMRS port identifier (ID) field associated with the DMRS port mapping configuration,” and “wherein at least one of the DMRS port ID field, the orthogonal code sequence, or the antenna value configured to identify a DMRS port.”
However, in analogous art, LIN teaches and transmit an indication comprising a DMRS port identifier (ID) field associated with the DMRS port mapping configuration,
LIN writes, “In some embodiments, the DMRS port ID can be provided by an antenna port field in downlink control channel information, such as DCI format 0_1, using one or more tables identifying the DMRS port from the antenna port field…” (paragraph 0075).
wherein at least one of the DMRS port ID field, the orthogonal code sequence, or the antenna value configured to identify a DMRS port.
LIN writes, “In some embodiments, the DMRS port ID can be provided by an antenna port field in downlink control channel information, such as DCI format 0_1, using one or more tables identifying the DMRS port from the antenna port field…” (paragraph 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK to include aspects described by LIN that “relates generally to the technology of wireless communication, and in particular, to a method for determining demodulation reference signal for multiple access transmission.” LIN provides the motivation for modification stating, “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the signature, and DMRS configuration may be configured correspondingly, to obtain low-crosstalk DMRS signals for different terminal devices, thus, the number of the supported terminal devices may be improved” (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Additionally, PARK teaches further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (paragraph 0729; figure 28, RF unit: 2813).
Regarding claim 3, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein the antenna value is also associated with a number of DMRS code division multiplex (CDM) groups.
LIN writes, “FIG. 5 is an exemplary mapping of DMRS with code division multiplexing (CDM). As shown in FIG. 5, two types of mapping are shown, type 1: comb based with 2 CDM (Code Division Multiplexing) groups; type 2: non-comb based with 3 CDM* groups” (paragraphs 0136-0137). LIN adds, “FIG. 6 is another exemplary mapping of DMRS with code division multiplexing (CDM). As shown in FIG. 6, an example of double-symbol, type 1 DMRS multiplexing with both frequency division orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) and time division orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) is illustrated. Wherein r(i) is one sample of the DMRS sequence, and one PRB is illustrated on 2 OFDM symbols with DMRS. As can be seen 2 OCC code in frequency domain, 2 OCC code in time domain, and 2 CDM groups provide 8 DMRS ports” (paragraph 0143).
Regarding claim 4, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Additionally, PARK teaches provide an indication indicating a value associated with the orthogonal code sequence,
PARK writes, “The ACK/NACK signal which is frequency-domain spread is spread in the time domain by using an orthogonal spreading code. As the orthogonal spreading code, a Walsh-Hadamard sequence or DFT sequence may be used. For example, the ACK/NACK signal may be spread by using an orthogonal sequence (w0, w1, w2, and w3) having the length of 4 with respect to 4 symbols. Further, the RS is also spread through an orthogonal sequence having the length of 3 or 2. This is referred to as orthogonal covering (OC)” (paragraph 0182).
wherein the orthogonal codes comprise at least one of orthogonal cover codes or cyclic shifting codes,
PARK writes, “Table 4 represents the information transmitted through DCI format 0” (paragraph 0125). PARK adds, “Cyclic shift (CS) for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and an index of orthogonal cover/orthogonal cover code (OC/OCC), which has 3 bits” (paragraph 0135).
wherein the value corresponds with a row index of a Walsh matrix for the orthogonal cover codes,
PARK writes, “Referring to Table 3 above, the following information is transmitted through DCI format 0” (paragraph 0126). PARK notes, “Cyclic shift (CS) for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and an index of orthogonal cover/orthogonal cover code (OC/OCC), which has 3 bits” (paragraph 0135). PARK adds, “The ACK/NACK signal which is frequency-domain spread is spread in the time domain by using an orthogonal spreading code. As the orthogonal spreading code, a Walsh-Hadamard sequence or DFT sequence may be used. For example, the ACK/NACK signal may be spread by using an orthogonal sequence (w0, w1, w2, and w3) having the length of 4 with respect to 4 symbols. Further, the RS is also spread through an orthogonal sequence having the length of 3 or 2. This is referred to as orthogonal covering (OC)” (paragraph 0182).
wherein the value corresponds with a cyclic shift value for the cyclic shifting codes.
PARK writes, “Referring to Table 3 above, the following information is transmitted through DCI format 0” (paragraph 0126). PARK adds, “Cyclic shift (CS) for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and an index of orthogonal cover/orthogonal cover code (OC/OCC), which has 3 bits” (paragraph 0135).
Regarding claim 6, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 4,
Additionally, PARK teaches wherein the indication indicating the value associated with the cyclic shift value or the row index of the Walsh matrix is within the DCI.
PARK writes, “Referring to Table 3 above, the following information is transmitted through DCI format 0” (paragraph 0126). PARK adds, “Cyclic shift (CS) for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and an index of orthogonal cover/orthogonal cover code (OC/OCC), which has 3 bits” (paragraph 0135).
Regarding claim 13, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 4,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein an antenna ports field within the DCI corresponds to multiple DMRS ports for larger ranks,
LIN writes, “In some embodiments, the DMRS port ID can be provided by an antenna port field in downlink control channel information, such as DCI format 0_1, using one or more tables identifying the DMRS port from the antenna port field, such as Tables 7.3.1.1.2-6 through 7.3.1.1.2-23 of 3GPP TS 38.212 revision 15.2.0” (paragraph 0075).
wherein at least one extra bit within the DCI is associated with the DMRS ports for smaller ranks.
LIN writes, “In some embodiments, the DMRS port ID can be provided by an antenna port field in downlink control channel information, such as DCI format 0_1, using one or more tables identifying the DMRS port from the antenna port field, such as Tables 7.3.1.1.2-6 through 7.3.1.1.2-23 of 3GPP TS 38.212 revision 15.2.0” (paragraph 0075).
Claim 14 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 15 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 4 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK and LIN as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of KIM et al. (US 10623157 B2, hereinafter, "KIM").
Regarding claim 5, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 4,
PARK and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the value associated with the cyclic shift value or the row index of the Walsh matrix comprises α≥ 2.”
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the value associated with the cyclic shift value or the row index of the Walsh matrix comprises α≥ 2.
KIM writes, “Ports are multiplexed in each comb based on CDM. CDM 1 to CDM 6 are generated in a frequency domain or frequency and time domains. For example, CDM 1 to CDM 6 may be defined in the frequency domain only, and may be defined using CS (cyclic shift) of DM-RS sequence or OCC (Orthogonal Cover Code) of a length 6 such as Walsh code” (column 9, lines 56-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK and LIN to include aspects described by KIM that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for transmitting and receiving a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) in a next generation communication system and an apparatus therefor.” KIM provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to the embodiment of the present invention, a DM-RS may more efficiently be transmitted in a next generation communication system” (column 3, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 7, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 4,
PARK and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the indication indicating the value associated with the cyclic shift value or the row index of the Walsh matrix is within radio resource control (RRC) signaling.”
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the indication indicating the value associated with the cyclic shift value or the row index of the Walsh matrix is within radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
KIM writes, “The present invention suggests a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of downlink DM-RS information through DCI (Downlink Control Information) or a higher layer signal such as MAC/RRC layer signal if the UE receives a DM-RS to decode data information and control information” (column 9, lines 22-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK and LIN to include aspects described by KIM that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for transmitting and receiving a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) in a next generation communication system and an apparatus therefor.” KIM provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to the embodiment of the present invention, a DM-RS may more efficiently be transmitted in a next generation communication system” (column 3, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 8, PARK and LIN teach the apparatus of claim 4,
Additionally, PARK teaches wherein the DCI comprises at least one extra bit to indicate the value associated with the row index of the Walsh matrix for the orthogonal cover codes or the cyclic shift value for the cyclic shifting codes,
PARK writes, “Table 4 represents the information transmitted through DCI format 0” (paragraph 0125). PARK adds, “Cyclic shift (CS) for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and an index of orthogonal cover/orthogonal cover code (OC/OCC), which has 3 bits” (paragraph 0135).
PARK and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the at least one extra bit corresponds to the DMRS port.”
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the at least one extra bit corresponds to the DMRS port.
KIM writes, “Ports are multiplexed in each comb based on CDM. CDM 1 to CDM 6 are generated in a frequency domain or frequency and time domains. For example, CDM 1 to CDM 6 may be defined in the frequency domain only, and may be defined using CS (cyclic shift) of DM-RS sequence or OCC (Orthogonal Cover Code) of a length 6 such as Walsh code” (column 9, lines 56-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK and LIN to include aspects described by KIM that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for transmitting and receiving a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) in a next generation communication system and an apparatus therefor.” KIM provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to the embodiment of the present invention, a DM-RS may more efficiently be transmitted in a next generation communication system” (column 3, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 9, PARK, LIN, and KIM teach the apparatus of claim 8,
Additionally, KIM teaches wherein presence of the at least one extra bit is based on radio resource control (RRC) configuration,
KIM writes, “The present invention suggests a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of downlink DM-RS information through DCI (Downlink Control Information) or a higher layer signal such as MAC/RRC layer signal if the UE receives a DM-RS to decode data information and control information. The present invention may be applied to a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of uplink DM-RS information through DCI” (column 9, lines 22-29).
wherein the RRC configuration indicates whether the at least one extra bit is present within the DCI.
KIM writes, “The present invention suggests a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of downlink DM-RS information through DCI (Downlink Control Information) or a higher layer signal such as MAC/RRC layer signal if the UE receives a DM-RS to decode data information and control information. The present invention may be applied to a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of uplink DM-RS information through DCI” (column 9, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 10, PARK, LIN, and KIM teach the apparatus of claim 8,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein an antenna ports field within the DCI corresponds to multiple DMRS ports.
LIN writes, “In some embodiments, the DMRS port ID can be provided by an antenna port field in downlink control channel information, such as DCI format 0_1, using one or more tables identifying the DMRS port from the antenna port field, such as Tables 7.3.1.1.2-6 through 7.3.1.1.2-23 of 3GPP TS 38.212 revision 15.2.0” (paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 11, PARK, LIN, and KIM teach the apparatus of claim 10,
Additionally, KIM teaches wherein selection of one of the multiple DMRS ports within the DCI is indicated based on radio resource control (RRC) configuration.
KIM writes, “The present invention suggests a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of downlink DM-RS information through DCI (Downlink Control Information) or a higher layer signal such as MAC/RRC layer signal if the UE receives a DM-RS to decode data information and control information. The present invention may be applied to a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of uplink DM-RS information through DCI” (column 9, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 12, PARK, LIN, and KIM teach the apparatus of claim 10,
Additionally, KIM teaches wherein selection of one of the multiple DMRS ports within the DCI is indicated based on medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE).
KIM writes, “The present invention suggests a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of downlink DM-RS information through DCI (Downlink Control Information) or a higher layer signal such as MAC/RRC layer signal if the UE receives a DM-RS to decode data information and control information. The present invention may be applied to a method for enabling an eNB to notify a UE of uplink DM-RS information through DCI” (column 9, lines 22-29).
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 9/4/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475