20220053600DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As claims 6 and 29, these claims depend on claim 1 and 19 which include “receiving access mode switching information sent by a network accessed by the UE” that never occurs at the same time with “detecting that the UE performs the preset operation or receives the switching instruction and generating the access mode switching information, comprises at least one of: detecting a switching instruction acting on a user interface (UI) of the UE, and generating the access mode switching information; determining that the network accessed by the UE is the PLMN, detecting a start operation of an application (APP) supported by the SNPN, and generating the access mode switching information; determining that the network accessed by the UE is the SNPN, detecting a close operation of an APP supported by the SNPN, and generating the access mode switching information; or determining that the network accessed by the UE is the SNPN, detecting an exit operation of an APP supported by the SNPN, and generating the access mode switching information.”.
Claims 6 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. This limitation can not occur when UE receives access mode switching information from a network accessed by the UE. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 6 and 29 recite the limitation "the preset operation or receives the switching instruction” does not refer to any previous element. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 19, 24-25 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Tseng [US 2022/0360962].
As claims 1 and 19, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] discloses an access mode switching method, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving access mode switching information sent by a network accessed by the UE [Par. 0265-0267 discloses serving network requests UE to switch current access mode to new access mode]; receiving network information of a target network to be accessed sent by the network accessed by the UE, wherein the target network is a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) [Fig 5, Ref 540 and Fig. 6, Ref 640]; and switching the network accessed by the UE between the SNPN and the PLMN based on the access mode switching information and the network information [Fig 5-6 discloses UE switches the access mode between the SNPN and the PLMN based on the access mode switching information and the network information].
As claims 2 and 25, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] discloses switching the network accessed by the UE between the SNPN and the PLMN, comprises one of: determining that the network accessed by the UE is the SNPN [Fig 5 discloses switching from SNPN to PLMN], and switching the network accessed by the UE from the SNPN to the PLMN [Fig 5 discloses switching from SNPN to PLMN]; or, determining that the network accessed by the UE is the PLMN [Fig 6 discloses switching from PLMN to SNPN], and switching the network accessed by the UE from the PLMN to the SNPN [Fig 6 discloses switching from PLMN to SNPN].
As claim 30, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] discloses the network information includes a network identifier that indicates the PLMN or the SNPN accessed by the UE after switching [Fig 5-6, SNPN or PLMN ID, Ref 540 or 640].
As claims 7 and 24, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] discloses an access mode switching method, performed by a network element, comprising: sending access mode switching information to a user equipment (UE) [Par. 0265-0267 discloses serving network requests UE to switch current access mode to new access mode], and sending network information of a target network to be accessed to the UE, wherein the target network is a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) [Fig 5, Ref 540 and Fig. 6, Ref 640], wherein the access mode switching information is configured to indicate the UE to switch a network accessed by the UE between the SNPN and the PLMN [Par. 0265-0267 discloses serving network requests UE to switch between the SNPN and PLMN].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-9 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng [US 2022/0360962] in view of Wang [US 2024/0205811].
As claims 4 and 27, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] fails to disclose what Wang [US 2024/0205811] discloses receiving the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE comprises receiving a steering of roaming (SoR) message containing the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE [Par. 0091 and 0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising receiving a steering of roaming (SoR) message containing the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE as disclosed by Wang [US 2024/0205811] into the teaching of Tseng. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
As claim 8, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] fails to disclose what Wang [US 2024/0205811] discloses sending the access mode switching information to the UE comprises: sending the access mode switching information to the UE according to contract data of the UE [Par. 0081-0083, 0121, 0141-0142 discloses UE and service provider have a service agreement “contract” which requires UE to switch network between PLMN and SNPN].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising sending the access mode switching information to the UE according to contract data of the UE as disclosed by Wang [US 2024/0205811] into the teaching of Tseng. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
As claim 9, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] fails to disclose what Wang [US 2024/0205811] discloses sending the access mode switching information to the UE comprises: sending a steering of roaming (SoR message containing the access mode switching information to the UE [Par. 0084, 0091 discloses network send SOR to UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising receiving a steering of roaming (SoR) message containing the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE as disclosed by Wang [US 2024/0205811] into the teaching of Tseng. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
Claim(s) 6 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng [US 2022/0360962] in view of Ganig [US 2022/0053600].
As claims 6 and 29, Tseng [US 2022/0360962] fails to disclose what Ganig [US 2022/0053600] discloses detecting that the UE performs the preset operation or receives the switching instruction, and generating the access mode switching information, comprises at least one of: detecting a switching instruction acting on a user interface (UI) of the UE, and generating the access mode switching information [Fig 5 discloses UE receives access mode change from SNPN access mode to PLMN access mode by USER]; [strike out text is not consideration because at least one of or statement].
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 19, 24-25 and 2930 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganig [US 2022/0053600] in view of Tseng [US 2021/0289404].
As claims 1 and 19, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] discloses an access mode switching method, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving access mode switching information sent by a network accessed by the UE [Fig 8, Ref 809 discloses network notifies UE need to switch of SNPN access mode]. However, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] fails to disclose what Tseng [US 2021/0289404] discloses receiving access mode switching information sent by a network accessed by the UE [Par. 0072 discloses serving network requests UE to switch current access mode to new access mode]; receiving network information of a target network to be accessed sent by the network accessed by the UE, wherein the target network is a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) [Fig 3, Ref 308 and 328]; and switching the network accessed by the UE between the SNPN and the PLMN based on the access mode switching information and the network information [Fig 3 discloses UE switches the access mode between the SNPN and the PLMN based on the access mode switching information and the network information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising receiving a request for switching mode and scanning for the target network based on broadcast information then, switching access mode based on the request and broadcast information as disclosed by Tseng [US 2021/0289404] into the teaching of Ganig [US 2022/0053600]. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
As claims 2 and 25, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] discloses switching the network accessed by the UE between the SNPN and the PLMN, comprises one of: determining that the network accessed by the UE is the SNPN [Fig 8, Ref 802 discloses UE in SNPN mode which accessed SNPN network], and switching the network accessed by the UE from the SNPN to the PLMN [Fig 8, Ref 806 discloses when SNPN access mode is disable then UE switches accessed network from SNPN to PLMN]; or, determining that the network accessed by the UE is the PLMN [Fig 8, 817 discloses current access mode PLMN], and switching the network accessed by the UE from the PLMN to the SNPN [Fig 8, Ref 812 discloses when SNPN access mode is enable then UE switches accessed network from PLMN to SNPN].
As claim 30, Tseng [US 2021/0289404] discloses the network information includes a network identifier that indicates the PLMN or the SNPN accessed by the UE after switching [Fig 3, SNPN or PLMN ID, Ref 312 or 334].
As claims 6 and 29, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] discloses detecting that the UE performs the preset operation or receives the switching instruction, and generating the access mode switching information, comprises at least one of: detecting a switching instruction acting on a user interface (UI) of the UE, and generating the access mode switching information [Fig 5 discloses UE receives access mode change from SNPN access mode to PLMN access mode by USER]; [strike out text is not consideration because at least one of or statement].
As claims 7 and 24, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] discloses an access mode switching method, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving access mode switching information sent by a network accessed by the UE [Fig 8, Ref 809 discloses network notifies UE need to switch of SNPN access mode]. However, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] fails to disclose what Tseng [US 2021/0289404] discloses discloses an access mode switching method, performed by a network element, comprising: sending access mode switching information to a user equipment (UE) [Par. 0265-0267 discloses serving network requests UE to switch current access mode to new access mode], and sending network information of a target network to be accessed to the UE, wherein the target network is a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) [Fig 5, Ref 540 and Fig. 6, Ref 640], wherein the access mode switching information is configured to indicate the UE to switch a network accessed by the UE between the SNPN and the PLMN [Par. 0265-0267 discloses serving network requests UE to switch between the SNPN and PLMN].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising receiving a request for switching mode and scanning for the target network based on broadcast information then, switching access mode based on the request and broadcast information as disclosed by Tseng [US 2021/0289404] into the teaching of Ganig [US 2022/0053600]. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
Claim(s) 4, 8-9 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404] as applied to claim 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Wang [US 2024/0205811].
As claims 4 and 27, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404] fail to disclose what Wang [US 2024/0205811] discloses receiving the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE comprises receiving a steering of roaming (SoR) message containing the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE [Par. 0091 and 0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising receiving a steering of roaming (SoR) message containing the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE as disclosed by Wang [US 2024/0205811] into the teaching of Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404]. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
As claim 8, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404] fail to disclose what Wang [US 2024/0205811] discloses sending the access mode switching information to the UE comprises: sending the access mode switching information to the UE according to contract data of the UE [Par. 0081-0083, 0121, 0141-0142 discloses UE and service provider have a service agreement “contract” which requires UE to switch network between PLMN and SNPN].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising sending the access mode switching information to the UE according to contract data of the UE as disclosed by Wang [US 2024/0205811] into the teaching of Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404]. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
As claim 9, Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404]fail to disclose what Wang [US 2024/0205811] discloses sending the access mode switching information to the UE comprises: sending a steering of roaming (SoR message containing the access mode switching information to the UE [Par. 0084, 0091 discloses network send SOR to UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising receiving a steering of roaming (SoR) message containing the access mode switching information sent by the network accessed by the UE as disclosed by Wang [US 2024/0205811] into the teaching of Ganig [US 2022/0053600] and Tseng [US 2021/0289404]. The motivation would have been to reduce error.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414