DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 21306714.3, filed on 6 December 2021.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 32 – 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41 – 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 41, the claim recites “in use”. The term is unclear as it is unclear as to what criteria must be satisfied such that the bellows receptacle can be considered “in use”, thus rendering the claim indefinite. It is further unclear as to whether the cryogenic liquid is an element required by the claim or is part of the functional language, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding Claim 42, the claim recites “changing a size of the inlet and the outlet connection changes an internal volume of the bellows receptacle”. It is unclear how a size of a connection can change a volume not included in that connection, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims dependent upon a rejected claim are therefore rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41, 42, and 44 - 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan (WO 2019/144791). Citations pertaining to Yuan refer to the attached English translation.
Regarding Claim 41, as best understood, Yuan discloses a variable volume and variable pressure sampling container capable of capturing a sample of cryogenic liquid, in at least Figure 1, the container comprising: a bellows receptacle comprising an inlet valve (1) and an outlet valve (1), wherein, in use, a sample of cryogenic liquid flows into the bellows receptacle through the inlet valve and is captured in the bellows receptacle (the container is capable of containing a sample of any liquid including a cryogenic liquid) [0018]; and a pressurized external chamber (2, 7, 10) surrounding the bellows receptacle (Figure 1), wherein a pressure within the pressurized external chamber is maintained at a first pressure, the first pressure being greater than a second pressure within the bellows receptacle and a process pressure of the cryogenic liquid to maintain the bellows receptacle in a compressed state during capture of the sample of cryogenic liquid in the bellows receptacle (structurally Yuan’s apparatus meets these functional claim limitations as pressures are managed by the bellows receptacle, piston cylinder, and external chamber [0018, 0019]; See MPEP 2114.I. and 2114.II.).
Regarding Claim 42, as best understood, Yuan discloses an inlet connection between the inlet valve and the bellows receptacle (connection between 1 and 2) (Figure 1); and an outlet connection between the outlet valve and the bellows receptacle (connection between 1 and 2); wherein changing a size of the inlet connection and the outlet connection (opening/closing the valve) changes an internal volume of the bellows receptacle [0018 – 0019].
Regarding Claim 44, as best understood, Yuan discloses the bellows receptacle is configured to expand to an expanded state within the pressurized external chamber when the captured sample of cryogenic liquid vaporizes and transitions from liquid phase to gas phase within the bellows receptacle [0018 – 0019], and wherein the second pressure within the bellows receptacle increases to a third pressure and the first pressure within the external chamber increases to a fourth pressure when the sample vaporizes (structurally Yuan’s apparatus meets these functional claim limitations [0018, 0019]; See MPEP 2114.I. and 2114.II.).
Regarding Claim 45, as best understood, Yuan discloses the external chamber is configured so that the fourth pressure within the external chamber counterbalances the third pressure within the bellows receptacle as the sample vaporizes (structurally Yuan’s apparatus meets these functional claim limitations [0018, 0019]; See MPEP 2114.I. and 2114.II.).
Regarding Claim 46, as best understood, Yuan discloses the bellows receptacle is further configured to store the sample in the gas phase in the expanded state (structurally Yuan’s apparatus meets these functional claim limitations [0018, 0019]; See MPEP 2114.I. and 2114.II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (WO 2019/144791).
Regarding Claim 43, as best understood, Yuan fails to expressly disclose the bellows receptacle is configured to capture between 6 - 8 cm3 of the cryogenic liquid.
Yuan is configured to collect a sample of liquid [0018, 0019].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to collect a volume of liquid, including a volume between 6 - 8 cm3 of the cryogenic liquid, for the benefit of collecting the desired amount of sample for analysis.
Regarding Claim 47, as best understood, Yuan fails to expressly disclose the bellows receptacle is configured to capture the sample of the cryogenic liquid in the liquid phase when the sample of the cryogenic liquid has a temperature between -90 °C and -260 °C.
Yuan discloses the apparatus is used to capture a sample of liquid LPG [0002, 0018]. LPG is generally liquid at temperatures below -40 °C.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Yuan so that the bellows receptacle is configured to capture the sample of the cryogenic liquid in the liquid phase when the sample of the cryogenic liquid has a temperature between -90 °C and -260 °C for the benefit of capturing LPG in its liquid state.
Claim(s) 48 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (WO 2019/144791), in view of Nimberger (US 4930361).
Regarding Claim 48, as best understood, Yuan discloses knowing the external chamber pressure [0018].
Yuan fails to expressly disclose a bellows receptacle pressure transmitter configured to measure the pressure within the bellows receptacle and an external chamber pressure transmitter configured to measure the pressure within the external chamber.
Nimberger teaches disclose a sampling side pressure transmitter (42) configured to measure the pressure within the sampling receptacle (24) and an external chamber pressure transmitter (118) configured to measure the pressure within the external chamber (26).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the applicant’s invention to modify Yuan to include a bellows receptacle pressure transmitter configured to measure the pressure within the bellows receptacle and an external chamber pressure transmitter configured to measure the pressure within the external chamber for the benefit of aiding in pressure balancing the bellow, as taught by Nimberger (Col 7, line 67 – Col 8, line 13).
Regarding Claim 49, Yuan discloses the bellows receptacle is configured to accumulate grab samples of gas, wherein the grab samples of gas are captured by a pump or compressor and enter the bellows receptacle from the pump or compressor through the inlet valve (Yuan’s apparatus is inherently configured to receive samples of gas, including grab samples which are accumulated, regardless of how they are captured, as Yuan discloses the bellows receptacle and an inlet valve. How the grab samples are captured occurs outside the scope of the claim i.e. the recited pump or compressor is not recited limiting the scope of the variable volume and variable pressure sampling container.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 50 and 51 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855