DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1-2, 5 and 13-21 have been amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 is amended but still recites “Original”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2015/0222815) in view of Au (US 2015/0116468).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a system for providing rapid content switching in media assets featuring multiple content streams that are delivered over computer networks, the system comprising:
cloud-based storage circuitry configured to store a first plurality of content streams (videos from a plurality of sources are uploaded to a video server, wherein the elements of the system can reside on one or more devices or distributed across several devices so that the devices form a cloud; see at least paragraphs 0042 and 0044);
cloud-based control circuitry (the elements of the system can reside on one or more devices or distributed across several devices so that the devices form a cloud; see at least paragraphs 0042) configured to:
retrieve the first plurality of content streams for a media asset, wherein each content stream of the first plurality of content streams corresponds to a respective view of a scene in the media asset (uploading a plurality of videos to the server and selecting videos to be used in a panorama video remix, wherein the uploaded videos provide different watching angles from an event; see at least paragraphs 0043-0046);
retrieve a first frame set, wherein the first frame set comprises a first frame from each of the first plurality of content streams that corresponds to a first time mark in each of the first plurality of content streams (multiple sets of video frames from multiple videos are selected to create a panorama video, the frames of the panorama video remix are created based on one or more of the time-corresponding frames of the source videos; see at least Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
retrieve a second frame set, wherein the second frame set comprises a second frame from each of the first plurality of content streams that corresponds to a second time mark in each of the first plurality of content streams (multiple sets of video frames from multiple videos are selected to create a panorama video, the frames of the panorama video remix are created based on one or more of the time-corresponding frames of the source videos; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
generate a first combined frame based on the first frame set (the first panorama video frame is created on the bases of frames from different source videos; see at least Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
generate a second combined frame based on the second frame set (the second panorama video frame is created on the bases of frames from different source videos; see at least Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
generate a first combined content stream based on the first combined frame and the second combined frame (create panorama remix; see at least Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
receive a first user input, wherein the first user input selects a first view at which to present the media asset for display in a first user interface of a user device (selecting a watching angle by using a user interface; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0060-0061);
determine that a first content stream of the first plurality of content streams corresponds to the first view (selecting, downloading and changing the watching angle in the panorama video; see at least paragraph 0061);
in response to determining that the first content stream of the first plurality of content streams corresponds to the first view, determine a location, in a combined frame of the first combined content stream, that corresponds to frames from the first content stream (selecting, downloading and changing the watching angle in the panorama video; see at least paragraph 0061);
scale the location to a display area of the first user interface of the user device, wherein scaling the location to the display area of the first user interface of the user device comprises generating for display, to a user, the frames from the first content stream, and not generating for display, to the user, other frames from other content streams of the first plurality of content streams (the user can use the user interface to allow the video window to move from a first view to a second view and by moving away from the first view to the second view, the downloading of the first video will stop and the download of the second video will start and from that time onwards, the user will watch the video from the second view; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063); and
input/output circuitry configured to generate for display, in the first user interface of the user device, the location as scaled to the display area of the first user interface of the user device (watching the video from the second view; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063).
Wang is not clear about scaling a pixel size.
Au discloses the above missing limitation; scaling a fetched frame data to generate scaled frame data; see at least paragraphs 0019, 0029 and 0033.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by the teachings of Au by having the above limitations so to be able to provide a multi-view composed frames using a single display pipe mechanism; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses a method for providing rapid content switching in media assets featuring multiple content streams that are delivered over computer networks, the method comprising:
receiving a first combined content stream based on a first combined frame and a second combined frame (receiving panorama remixes by a plurality of apparatuses; paragraphs 0057-0059), wherein:
the first combined frame is based on a first frame set, wherein the first frame set comprises a first frame from each of a first plurality of content streams that corresponds to a first time mark in each of the first plurality of content streams, and wherein the first combined frame comprises respective first frames from each of the first plurality of content streams in first respective locations of the first combined frame (multiple sets of video frames from multiple videos are selected to create a panorama video, the frames of the panorama video remix are created based on one or more of the time-corresponding frames of the source videos; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
the second combined frame is based on a second frame set, wherein the second frame set comprises a second frame from each of the first plurality of content streams that corresponds to a second time mark in each of the first plurality of content streams, and wherein the second combined frame comprises respective second frames from each of the first plurality of content streams in second respective location of the second combined frame (multiple sets of video frames from multiple videos are selected to create a panorama video, the frames of the panorama video remix are created based on one or more of the time-corresponding frames of the source videos; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0053-0056); and
the first plurality of content streams is for a media asset, wherein each content stream of the first plurality of content streams corresponds to a respective view of a scene in the media asset (the uploaded videos provide different watching angles from an event; see at least paragraphs 0043-0046); and
processing for display, in a first user interface of a user device, the first combined content stream by scaling one of the respective first frames prior to scaling one of the respective second frames (the user can use the user interface to watch the video in multiple views; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063).
Wang is not clear about scaling a pixel size and pixel-scaled frames.
Au discloses the above missing limitation; scaling a fetched frame data to generate scaled frame data; see at least paragraphs 0019, 0029 and 0033.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by the teachings of Au by having the above limitations so to be able to provide a multi-view composed frames using a single display pipe mechanism; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a first user input, wherein the first user input selects a first view at which to present the media asset (Wang; selecting a watching angle by using a user interface; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0060-0061);
determining that a first content stream of the first plurality of content streams corresponds to the first view (Wang; selecting, downloading and changing the watching angle in the panorama video; see at least paragraph 0061);
in response to determining that the first content stream of the first plurality of content streams corresponds to the first view, determining a location, in a combined frame of the first combined content stream, that corresponds to frames from the first content stream (Wang; selecting, downloading and changing the watching angle in the panorama video; see at least paragraph 0061);
scaling the location to a display area of the first user interface of the user device (Wang; the user can use the user interface to allow the video window to move from a first view to a second view and by moving away from the first view to the second view, the downloading of the first video will stop and the download of the second video will start and from that time onwards, the user will watch the video from the second view; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063);
generating for display, in the first user interface of the user device, the location as scaled to the display area of the first user interface of the user device (Wang; watch the video from multiple views; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 3, wherein scaling the location to the display area of the first user interface of the user device comprises generating for display to a user the frames from the first content stream and not generating for display to the user frames from other content streams of the first plurality of content streams (Wang; the user can use the user interface to allow the video window to move from a first view to a second view and by moving away from the first view to the second view, the downloading of the first video will stop and the download of the second video will start and from that time onwards, the user will watch the video from the second view; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a second combined content stream based on a third combined frame and a fourth combined frame (Wang; there are multiple panorama videos; see at least Fig. 3), wherein:
the third combined frame is based on a third frame set, wherein the third frame set comprises a third frame from each of a second plurality of content streams that corresponds to a third time mark in each of the second plurality of content streams (Wang; multiple sets of video frames from multiple videos are selected to create a panorama video, the frames of the panorama video remix are created based on one or more of the time-corresponding frames of the source videos; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0053-0056);
the fourth combined frame is based on a fourth frame set, wherein the fourth frame set comprises a fourth frame from each of the second plurality of content streams that corresponds to a fourth time mark in each of the second plurality of content streams (Wang; multiple sets of video frames from multiple videos are selected to create a panorama video, the frames of the panorama video remix are created based on one or more of the time-corresponding frames of the source videos; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0053-0056); and
processing for display, in a second user interface of the user device, the second combined content stream, wherein the second combined content stream is processed simultaneously with the first combined content stream (Wang; multiple devices can download and display the panorama videos with multiple angles; see at least Fig. 2 and paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving a second user input, wherein the second user input selects a second view at which to present the media asset (Wang; the user can use the user interface to allow the video window to move from a first view to a second view and by moving away from the first view to the second view, the downloading of the first video will stop and the download of the second video will start and from that time onwards, the user will watch the video from the second view; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 0060-0063);
determining that a second content stream of the second plurality of content streams corresponds to the second view (Wang; selecting, downloading and changing the watching angle in the panorama video; see at least paragraph 0061);
in response to determining that the second content stream of the second plurality of content streams corresponds to the second view, replacing the first user interface with the second user interface (Wang; by selecting another watching angle by moving the scene horizontally or vertically; see at last Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the first plurality of content streams comprises four content streams (Wang; see at least Fig. 4), and wherein the first combined frame comprises an equal portion for the first frame from each of the first plurality of content streams (Wang; the first panorama video has a frame from video 1, video 2 and video 3; see at least Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the first combined content stream comprises a third plurality of content streams for the media asset, wherein each content stream of the third plurality of content streams corresponds to the respective view of the scene in the media asset, and wherein each content stream of the third plurality of content streams is appended to one of the first plurality of content streams (Wang; panorama video 1 has many frames from Video 1, Video 2 and Video 3 each of which correspond to a different view as explained in claim 1; see at least Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a playlist, wherein the playlist comprises pre-selected views at which to present the media asset, and wherein the pre-selected views were automatically determine based on the first combined content stream; and
determining a current view for presenting based on the playlist (Wang; receiving remixes of panorama videos, wherein the panorama videos correspond to multiple views of the video; as explained in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a first user input, wherein the first user input selects a first view at which to present the media asset (Wang; selecting a watching angle by using a user interface; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0060-0061);
determining a current view and zoom level at which the media asset is currently being presented (Wang; the user can use the user interface to allow the video window to move from a first view to a second view and by moving away from the first view to the second view, the downloading of the first video will stop and the download of the second video will start and from that time onwards, the user will watch the video from the second view; see at least Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs0048 and 0060-0063);
determining a series of views and corresponding zoom levels to transition through when switching from the current view to the first view (Wang; by selecting a watching angle by using a user interface; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0048 and 0060-0061); and
determining a content stream corresponding to each of the series of views (Wang; by selecting a watching angle by using a user interface; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the series of views to transition through when switching from the current view to the first view is based on a number of total content streams available for the media asset (Wang; if there are 3 panorama videos, as shown in Fig. 3, the user will only be able to switch between the only 3 panorama videos).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Au disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining a combined audio track to present with the first combined content stream, wherein the combined audio track comprises a first audio track corresponding to the first combined frame and a second audio track corresponding the second combined frame, wherein the first audio track is captured with a content capture device that captured the first frame set, and wherein the second audio track is captured with a content capture device that captured the second frame set (Wang; detecting a common audio scene in the source videos that are captured and uploaded by multiple sources; see at least paragraphs 0040, 0046, 0051 and 0064).
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426