DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, 18, 19, 28, 30 have been amended. Claim 4, 14, 21 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-13, 15-20, 22, 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei et al. (US20190149380) in view of Kim et al. (US20230041310).
Regarding claim 1, 18, Babaei teaches An apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the one or more processors ([0139] “he wireless device 406 may include at least one communication interface 407, at least one processor 408, and at least one set of program code instructions 410 stored in non-transitory memory 409 and executable by the at least one processor 408. Communication interface 402 in base station 401 may be configured to engage in communication with communication interface 407 in wireless device 406 via a communication path that includes at least one wireless link 411”), to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a base station, a command to switch from the first BWP ([0383] “In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”),
wherein the first BWP is associated with a first bandwidth ([0318] “a bandwidth part may be associated with one or more numerologies, wherein the one or more numerologies may comprise sub-carrier spacing, CP type, or slot duration indication. In an example, an UE may expect at least one DL bandwidth part and at least one UL bandwidth part being active among a set of configured bandwidth parts for a given time instant”) and a first slot format dedicated for the first BWP ([0433] “In an example, one or more cells in the plurality of cells may be configured with BWP. A first cell in the one or more cells may be configured with a plurality of BWPs. In an example, one or more BWPs in the plurality of BWPs of the first cell may be configured with different slot formats. In an example, the PDCCH carrying slot format indication for the first cell may indicate a plurality of slot formats for the plurality of BWPs of the first cell. In an example, the PDCCH may comprise a DCI, the DCI comprising one or more fields indicating the plurality of slot formats”);
and switch from the first BWP to the second BWP ([0383] “In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”),
wherein: the first bandwidth is switched to a second bandwidth, the first slot format is switched to a second slot format, or the first bandwidth is switched to the second bandwidth and the first slot format is switched to the second slot format (Fig. 18 “BWP1 ID”, “BWP2 ID”, “SFI for BWP1”, “SFI for BWP2”, [0437] “the slot format indication may be dynamically indicated to the wireless device via physical layer signaling and/or may be semi-statically configured for the wireless device. The legacy procedures indicate slot format indication per cell. When a wireless device is configured with a plurality of bandwidth parts, the slot format indication signaled/configured for the wireless device applies to an active bandwidth part”).
Babaei does not teach transmit, to the base station, via uplink control information (UCI), a message requesting to switch from a first bandwidth part (BWP) to a second BWP.
Kim teaches transmit, to the base station, via uplink control information (UCI), a message requesting to switch from a first bandwidth part (BWP) to a second BWP ([0130] “In the PHY layer, uplink control information (UCI) is mapped to PUCCH, and downlink control information (DCI) is mapped to PDCCH”, [0367-368] “During the scheduling request procedure, a wireless device may transmit a scheduling request to a network via the PUCCH … For example, a wireless device may transmit the scheduling request to the network before switching the active BWP of the certain cell. In this case, the PUCCH may be configured on the dormant BWP of the certain cell”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase power saving of the system.
Regarding claim 11, 28, Babaei teaches An apparatus for wireless communication by a base station, comprising: one or more processor; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the one or more processor ([0139] “ a base station 401 and a wireless device 406, as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. A communication network 400 may include at least one base station 401 and at least one wireless device 406. The base station 401 may include at least one communication interface 402, at least one processor 403, and at least one set of program code instructions 405 stored in non-transitory memory 404 and executable by the at least one processor 403”), to cause the apparatus to:
establish a communication link with a user equipment (UE), the communication link defined by a first bandwidth part (BWP) ([0382] “RRC signaling may configure one BWP to be activated when the SCell is activated”),
wherein the first BWP is associated with a first bandwidth ([0318] “a bandwidth part may be associated with one or more numerologies, wherein the one or more numerologies may comprise sub-carrier spacing, CP type, or slot duration indication. In an example, an UE may expect at least one DL bandwidth part and at least one UL bandwidth part being active among a set of configured bandwidth parts for a given time instant”) and a first slot format dedicated for the first BWP ([0433] “In an example, one or more cells in the plurality of cells may be configured with BWP. A first cell in the one or more cells may be configured with a plurality of BWPs. In an example, one or more BWPs in the plurality of BWPs of the first cell may be configured with different slot formats. In an example, the PDCCH carrying slot format indication for the first cell may indicate a plurality of slot formats for the plurality of BWPs of the first cell. In an example, the PDCCH may comprise a DCI, the DCI comprising one or more fields indicating the plurality of slot formats”);
and transmit, to the UE, a command to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP ([0383] “In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”),
wherein the switch is: from the first bandwidth to a second bandwidth associated with the second BWP ([0383] “for a UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs may be configured by dedicated RRC for a UE. In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”),
from the first slot format to a second slot format dedicated for the second BWP (Fig. 18 “BWP1 ID”, “BWP2 ID”, “SFI for BWP1”, “SFI for BWP2”, [0437] “the slot format indication may be dynamically indicated to the wireless device via physical layer signaling and/or may be semi-statically configured for the wireless device. The legacy procedures indicate slot format indication per cell. When a wireless device is configured with a plurality of bandwidth parts, the slot format indication signaled/configured for the wireless device applies to an active bandwidth part”), or from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth ([0383] “for a UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs may be configured by dedicated RRC for a UE. In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”) and from the first slot format to the second slot format (Fig. 18 “BWP1 ID”, “BWP2 ID”, “SFI for BWP1”, “SFI for BWP2”, [0437] “the slot format indication may be dynamically indicated to the wireless device via physical layer signaling and/or may be semi-statically configured for the wireless device. The legacy procedures indicate slot format indication per cell. When a wireless device is configured with a plurality of bandwidth parts, the slot format indication signaled/configured for the wireless device applies to an active bandwidth part”).
Barbaei does not teach receive, from the UE, via uplink control information (UCI), a message requesting to switch from the first BWP to a second BWP;
Kim teaches receive, from the UE, via uplink control information (UCI), a message requesting to switch from the first BWP to a second BWP([0130] “In the PHY layer, uplink control information (UCI) is mapped to PUCCH, and downlink control information (DCI) is mapped to PDCCH”, [0480] “The processor may be configured to control the transceiver to receive, from a wireless device, a scheduling request via a PUCCH on a first BWP”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase power saving of the system.
Regarding claims 2, 19, Babaei does not teach wherein the message includes: a first request to switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth, a second request to switch from the first slot format to the second slot format, or a third request to switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth and the first slot format to the second slot format, and wherein the switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is made according to the first request, the second request, or the third request
Kim teaches wherein the message includes: a first request to switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth, a second request to switch from the first slot format to the second slot format, or a third request to switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth and the first slot format to the second slot format ([0130] “In the PHY layer, uplink control information (UCI) is mapped to PUCCH, and downlink control information (DCI) is mapped to PDCCH”, [0367-368] “During the scheduling request procedure, a wireless device may transmit a scheduling request to a network via the PUCCH … For example, a wireless device may transmit the scheduling request to the network before switching the active BWP of the certain cell. In this case, the PUCCH may be configured on the dormant BWP of the certain cell”),
and wherein the switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is made according to the first request, the second request, or the third request ([0371] “In step S1304, a wireless device may switch the active BWP of the certain cell from the dormant BWP to another BWP upon triggering the scheduling request procedure. At least one PDCCH may be configured on the other BWP”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase power saving of the system.
Regarding claims 3, 20, Barbaei does not teach wherein the message requesting to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is based on one or more of uplink traffic between the UE and the base station, a battery level of the UE.
Kim teaches wherein the message requesting to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is based on one or more of uplink traffic between the UE and the base station, a battery level of the UE ([0358] “the dormant bandwidth part may be activated by the BWP switching. The BWP switching may be controlled (1) by the PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant, (2) by the bwp-InactivityTimer, (3) by RRC signalling, and/or (4) by the MAC entity itself upon initiation of Random Access procedure. Upon activation of the dormant BWP, the wireless device may not need to monitor PDCCH for the corresponding cell.”, [0011] “ The dormant bandwidth part may be suggested to reduce UE battery consumption. ), or power headroom of the UE.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase power saving of the system.
Regarding claim 5, 22 Barbaei does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus
Kim teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to periodically transmit a BWP switch request based on one or more of a change of uplink traffic between the UE and the base station ([0358] “For example, the dormant bandwidth part may be activated by the BWP switching. The BWP switching may be controlled (1) by the PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant, (2) by the bwp-InactivityTimer, (3) by RRC signalling, and/or (4) by the MAC entity itself upon initiation of Random Access procedure.” ), a change of a battery level of the UE, or a change of a power headroom of the UE.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase power saving of the system.
Regarding claim 8, 25 Barbaei teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to receive a mapping ([0356] “he logical channel and/or logical channel group to SR configuration mapping may be (re)configured in response to switching of the active BWP. In an example, when the active BWP is switched, the RRC dedicated signaling may (re-)configure the logical channel and/or logical channel group to SR configuration mapping on the new active BWP”) between: (i) one or more of a UE power consumption metric ([0308] “a UE may retune to default BWP which may be the narrow BWP, for power savings, keeping the Scell active and may be ready to be opened briskly when additional data burst arrives”) or a base station power consumption metric and (ii) the second bandwidth, the second slot format, or the second bandwidth and the second slot format, wherein the switch from the first BWP to the second BWP (“[0216] “when the configured BWP is associated with a different numerology from default BWP, a semi-static pattern of BWP switching to default BWP may be considered. For example, to check RMSI at least periodically, switching to default BWP may be considered”) is based at least in part on one or more of the UE power consumption metric ([0308] “a UE may retune to default BWP which may be the narrow BWP, for power savings, keeping the Scell active and may be ready to be opened briskly when additional data burst arrives”) or the base station power consumption metric.
Regarding claim 9, 26, Barbaei teaches wherein the UE power consumption metric comprises one or more of a battery level of the UE, or a power headroom of the UE, and wherein the base station power consumption metric comprises a power saving mode ([0253] “UE power saving during active state (which may comprise ON duration and when inactivity timer is running when C-DRX is configured). For example, with a C-DRX enabled, a UE may consume significant amount of power monitoring PDCCH without decoding any grant. To reduce the power consumption during PDCCH monitoring, two BWPs may be configured: a narrower BWP for PDCCH monitoring, and a wider BWP for scheduled data. In such a case, the UE may switch back-and-forth between the narrower BWP and the wider BWP, depending on the burstiness of the traffic”).
Regarding claim 10, 27, Barbaei teaches wherein the command to switch from a first bandwidth part (BWP) is received via downlink control information (DCI) ([0226] “UE may identify a BWP identity from DCI to simplify the indication process. The total number of bits for BWP identity may depend on the number of bits that may be employed within the scheduling DCI (or switching DCI)”).
Regarding claim 12, 29, Barbaei teaches wherein the command to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP indicates the second BWP for the switching, and wherein the command to switch ([0383] “In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”) further indicates whether to maintain the first slot format for the second BWP ([0397] “In an example, it may be possible all the slots in a multi-slot slot-format have the same slot format. In an example, the entries in the table may be of different length including a mix of single slot SFI and multi-slot SFI”).
Regarding claim 13, 30 Barbaei teaches
wherein the message includes: a first request to switch from the first bandwidth to a second bandwidth associated with the second BWP, a second request to switch from the first slot format to a second slot format associated with the second BWP, or a third request to switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth and the first slot format to the second slot format (“[0216] “when the configured BWP is associated with a different numerology from default BWP, a semi-static pattern of BWP switching to default BWP may be considered. For example, to check RMSI at least periodically, switching to default BWP may be considered”); and
Barbaei does not teach wherein the command to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is transmitted in response to the message.
Kim teaches wherein the command to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is transmitted in response to the message ([0371] “In step S1304, a wireless device may switch the active BWP of the certain cell from the dormant BWP to another BWP upon triggering the scheduling request procedure. At least one PDCCH may be configured on the other BWP”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase power saving of the system.
Regarding claim 15, Barbaei teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to transmit, to the UE, a mapping ([0356] “he logical channel and/or logical channel group to SR configuration mapping may be (re)configured in response to switching of the active BWP. In an example, when the active BWP is switched, the RRC dedicated signaling may (re-)configure the logical channel and/or logical channel group to SR configuration mapping on the new active BWP”) between: (i) one or more of a UE power consumption metric ([0308] “a UE may retune to default BWP which may be the narrow BWP, for power savings, keeping the Scell active and may be ready to be opened briskly when additional data burst arrives”)or a base station power consumption metric, and (ii) the second bandwidth, the second slot format, or the second bandwidth and the second slot format (“[0216] “when the configured BWP is associated with a different numerology from default BWP, a semi-static pattern of BWP switching to default BWP may be considered. For example, to check RMSI at least periodically, switching to default BWP may be considered”).
Regarding claim 16, Barbaei teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, from the UE, the UE power consumption metric ([0320] “For example, for non-CA UE with a smaller BW capability and potentially for CA UE, NR may support a measurement gap for RRM measurement and potentially other purposes (e.g., path loss measurement for UL power control) using SS block (if it is agreed that there is no SS block in the active BW part(s)), [0241] “ In an example, for the CSI measurement within one BWP, if the CSI-RS/SRS is collided with data/RS in another BWP, the collision region in another BWP may be rate matched. For example, CSI information over the two BWPs may be known at a gNB side by UE reporting”), and wherein the switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is based at least in part on a mapping between one or more of the received UE power consumption metric or the base station power consumption metric ([0308] “a UE may retune to default BWP which may be the narrow BWP, for power savings, keeping the Scell active and may be ready to be opened briskly when additional data burst arrives”).
Regarding claim 17, Barbaei teaches wherein the command to switch from the first BWP is transmitted via downlink control information ([0226] “UE may identify a BWP identity from DCI to simplify the indication process. The total number of bits for BWP identity may depend on the number of bits that may be employed within the scheduling DCI (or switching DCI)”).
Claim(s) 6-7, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbaei in view of Kim further in view of Zhang et al. (US20220166594).
Regarding claim 6, 23, Barbaei teaches wherein the command to switch from the first BWP instructs the UE to: switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth ([0383] “In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”), switch from the first slot format to the second slot format, or switch from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth and from the first slot format to the second slot format ([0318] “a bandwidth part may be associated with one or more numerologies, wherein the one or more numerologies may comprise sub-carrier spacing, CP type, or slot duration indication. In an example, an UE may expect at least one DL bandwidth part and at least one UL bandwidth part being active among a set of configured bandwidth parts for a given time instant”) and a first slot format dedicated for the first BWP ([0433] “In an example, one or more cells in the plurality of cells may be configured with BWP. A first cell in the one or more cells may be configured with a plurality of BWPs. In an example, one or more BWPs in the plurality of BWPs of the first cell may be configured with different slot formats. In an example, the PDCCH carrying slot format indication for the first cell may indicate a plurality of slot formats for the plurality of BWPs of the first cell. In an example, the PDCCH may comprise a DCI, the DCI comprising one or more fields indicating the plurality of slot formats”), and wherein the instructions,
when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to transmit, in response to the BWP switching command([0383] “In an example, a single scheduling DCI may switch the UE's active BWP from one to another”),
Barbaei, Kim does not teach an indication of a UE preference for one or more of the first bandwidth, the second bandwidth, the first slot format, or the second slot format, and wherein the switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is made according to one or more of the BWP switching command or the UE preference.
Zhang teaches an indication of a UE preference for one or more of the first bandwidth, the second bandwidth, the first slot format, or the second slot format ([0422] “The terminal device sends second indication information to the network device, where the second indication information indicates the recommended configuration parameter of the at least one newly configured BWP”, [0013] “for example, may be at least one piece of information such as a subcarrier spacing (or a value of μ), a center frequency, or a bandwidth, [0231] “ifferent BWPs may support different numerologies (numerology). The numerology is a concept newly introduced into NR, and may be specifically understood as a set of parameters used in a communication system. For example, the numerology may include a subcarrier spacing, a symbol length, a cyclic prefix (cyclic prefix, CP) length, a resource block (resource block, RB) quantity, a slot (slot) length, a frame format, and the like”), and wherein the switch from the first BWP to the second BWP is made according to one or more of the BWP switching command or the UE preference ([0439] “The network device sends an acknowledgment message to the terminal device, where the acknowledgment message indicates that the switching delay of the terminal device between the first BWP and the second BWP is the first duration”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Barbaei, Kim to incorporate the teachings of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 7, 24, Barbaei, Kim does not teach wherein the indication of the UE preference further comprises one or more of a third bandwidth associated with a third BWP, or a third slot format dedicated for the third BWP, and wherein: the first bandwidth is switched to the second bandwidth or the third bandwidth, the first slot format is switched to the second slot format or the third slot format, or the first bandwidth is switched to the second bandwidth or the third bandwidth, and the first slot format is switched to the second slot format or the third slot format.
Zhang teaches wherein the indication of the UE preference further comprises one or more of a third bandwidth associated with a third BWP, or a third slot format dedicated for the third BWP ([0422] “The terminal device sends second indication information to the network device, where the second indication information indicates the recommended configuration parameter of the at least one newly configured BWP”, [0013] “for example, may be at least one piece of information such as a subcarrier spacing (or a value of μ), a center frequency, or a bandwidth, [0231] “ifferent BWPs may support different numerologies (numerology). The numerology is a concept newly introduced into NR, and may be specifically understood as a set of parameters used in a communication system. For example, the numerology may include a subcarrier spacing, a symbol length, a cyclic prefix (cyclic prefix, CP) length, a resource block (resource block, RB) quantity, a slot (slot) length, a frame format, and the like”),
and wherein: the first bandwidth is switched to the second bandwidth or the third bandwidth, the first slot format is switched to the second slot format or the third slot format, or the first bandwidth is switched to the second bandwidth or the third bandwidth, and the first slot format is switched to the second slot format or the third slot format ([0422] “The terminal device sends second indication information to the network device, where the second indication information indicates the recommended configuration parameter of the at least one newly configured BWP”, [0013] “for example, may be at least one piece of information such as a subcarrier spacing (or a value of μ), a center frequency, or a bandwidth, [0233] “supported in the NR system may include 15 kHz, 30 kHz, 60 kHz, 120 kHz, 240 kHz, 480 kHz, and the like”,[0231] “ifferent BWPs may support different numerologies (numerology). The numerology is a concept newly introduced into NR, and may be specifically understood as a set of parameters used in a communication system. For example, the numerology may include a subcarrier spacing, a symbol length, a cyclic prefix (cyclic prefix, CP) length, a resource block (resource block, RB) quantity, a slot (slot) length, a frame format, and the like”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barbaei to incorporate the teachings of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order increase the flexibility of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument
Babaei and Zhang does not teach a base station receiving via UCI a message requesting to switch from a first BWP to a second BWP. Zhang does not teach that its terminal device requests to switch from a first BWP to a second BWP.
Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See update rejection. For this specific limitation Zhang is no longer relied upon newly added reference Kim is used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411