Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
The claim have not been restricted.
With regard to the species requirement, Applicant's election without traverse of the species requirement in the reply filed on 5 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants’ species election is as follows:
Applicant identifies claims 1-14 and 17-18 as reading on the elected species. As such, claims 1-14 and 17-18 have been examined with respect to 6-(4-(tert-butyl) phenoxy)pyridin-3-amine (also known as CB-103) as the elected species of Notch signaling pathway inhibitor. In addition, claims 1-7, 11-14 and 17-18, which are generic to Notch signaling pathway inhibitors, have been examined with respect to RO4929097.
Applicant is reminded that, upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional corresponding species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. However, no generic claim has been found allowable. See rejections below.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claim 15-16 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Priority
The instant application claims priority as follows:
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from the IDS(s) received 06/05/2024 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough. A signed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 11-14 and 17-18 are each drawn to compositions, but each claim recites an intended use for the claimed compositions. For example:
Claim 11 includes the recitation “for use as a medicament.”
Claim 12 includes the recitation “for use in a method for the prevention, delay of progression or treatment of cancer in a subject.”
Claim 13 includes the recitation “for use according to claim 12, wherein the cancer is a solid tumor.”
Claim 14 includes the recitation ”for use according to claim 13, wherein the solid tumor is selected from the group consisting of breast cancer, Adenoid cystic carcinoma, colorectal cancer, lung cancer, hepatocellular carcinoma, cholangiocellular carcinoma, brain tumors, gastric cancers, and prostate cancer.”
Claim 17 includes the recitation “for use according to claim 12, wherein the cancer is selected from the group consisting of breast cancer, Adenoid cystic carcinoma, colorectal cancer, lung cancer, hepatocellular carcinoma, cholangiocellular carcinoma, brain tumors, gastric cancers, prostate cancer, T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukaemia (T-ALL), acute myeloid leukemia (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia, Splenic marginal zone B cell lymphomas, and Follicular lymphomas.”
Claim 18 includes the recitation “for use according to claim 12, wherein the cancer is breast cancer, acute myeloid leukemia (AML) or T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukaemia (T-ALL).”
The recitations, as identified above, that reflect the intended use of the claimed compositions are not afforded patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The rejected claims fail to recite any structural or functional features that would further limit the claim pharmaceutical compositions. Rather, as discussed above in the Claim Interpretation section, the recitations that reflect the intended use of the claimed compositions, and thus are not further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NCT01198184 (ClinicalTrials.gov; ID: NCT01198184; last update posted on 2014-05-30).
With respect to claim 1, NCT01198184 teaches “giving gamma-secretase/Notch signalling pathway inhibitor RO4929097 and temsirolimus together in treating patients with advanced solid tumors.”
With respect to claim 2-6, temsirolimus is a serine-threonine kinase inhibitor and is among the kinase inhibitors recited.
With respect to claim 7, RO4929097 is an inhibitor of gamma secretase-mediated Notch signaling.
With respect to claims 11-14 and 17-18, as discussed above in the Claim Interpretation section, the recitations that reflect the intended use of the claimed compositions are not afforded patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966). See MPEP 2143.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. See MPEP 2143.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation (TSM) in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
First Rejection under 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidransky (US-20200022990-A1 as provided in the IDS submitted 5 June 2024).
Brief Discussion of the Cited References
Sidransky teaches, among other aspects of the claimed invention, compounds encompassed by Formula (I), including Compound (1), which is a potent and selective inhibitor of gamma secretase-mediated Notch signaling. See Para [0367]. Sidransky teaches that “a composition of the present invention comprises one or more compounds represented by the structure of Formula (I) as described herein and one or more targeted therapeutics. In one embodiment, said targeted therapeutic comprises an inhibitor of mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR). In one embodiment, the mTOR inhibitor comprises Everolimus. In another embodiment, the mTOR inhibitor comprises sirolimus (rapamycin). In another embodiment, the mTOR inhibitor comprises temsirolimus. See Para [0079].
Comparison Between the Claimed Invention and the Prior Art
With respect to claim 1, Sidransky teaches combined therapeutics comprising Compound (1), which is an inhibitor of Notch signaling, and temsirolimus, which is a serine- threonine kinase inhibitor.
With respect to claim 2-6, temsirolimus is a serine-threonine kinase inhibitor and is among is among the kinase inhibitors recited.
With respect to claim 7, Compound (1), taught by Sidransky, is inhibitor of gamma secretase-mediated Notch signaling.
With respect to claims 11-14 and 17-18, as discussed above in the Claim Interpretation section, the recitations that reflect the intended use of the claimed compositions are not afforded patentable weight.
Differences between the Claimed Invention and the Prior Art
Sidransky teach a prophetic example, rather than a working example, of a composition comprising as inhibitor Notch signaling inhibitor and temsirolimus.
Conclusion of Obviousness
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to create a composition comprising a Notch signaling inhibitor and temsirolimus, as encompassed by claims 1-7, 11-14 and 17-18.
Sidransky teaches the desirability to create combined therapies comprising Notch signaling inhibitor and a kinase inhibitor. Sidransky teaches a finite number of kinases for testing, including temsirolimus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention by combining. As such, the claimed invention was obvious at the time of filing.
Second Rejection under 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbro et al. (Chimia 74 (2020) 779–783, October 28, 2020, as provided in the IDS submitted 5 June 2024) in view of the combined teachings of Sidransky (US-20200022990-A1 as provided in the IDS submitted 5 June 2024), NCT01198184 (ClinicalTrials.gov; ID: NCT01198184; last update posted on 2014-05-30), and Lehal et al. (PNAS, vol. 117, no. 28, July 14, 2020, pp 16292–16301 as provided in the IDS submitted 5 June 2024).
Brief Discussion of the Cited References
The teaching of NCT01198184 are provided in the above rejection under 35 USC § 102 and are herein incorporated by reference.
The teaching of Sidransky are provided in the above first rejection under 35 USC § 103 and are herein incorporated by reference.
Lehal et al. teach, among other aspects of the claimed invention, the structure of
CB-103. See Figure 1D. The chemical name for CB-103 is 6-(4-(tert-butyl) phenoxy)pyridin-3-amine.
Fabbro et al. teach that CB-103 is an inhibitor of the Notch transcription complex. See Table 2. Fabbro et al. teach that “Cellestia Biotech has identified and pre-clinically validated a
first-in-class orally active small molecule inhibitor, CB-103, that acts as protein–protein interaction inhibitor of the NTC without causing intestinal toxicity. CB-103 is a highly selective pan-Notch inhibitor with a favorable therapeutic index compared to other Notch targeting inhibitors currently being tested in the clinic. In animal studies, CB-103 has demonstrated anti-cancer activity at well-tolerated doses circumventing the dose limiting toxicities associated with GSIs and monoclonal blocking antibodies. The ability of CB-103 to act as a pan-Notch inhibitor without causing goblet cell metaplasia is linked to its unique mode of action (MoA). Genetic and pharmacological studies have associated GI tract toxicity of Notch inhibitors to the upregulation of the Atoh1 gene which normally induces goblet cell differentiation. Since CB-103 directly targets the NTC, it allows differential gene expressionof downstream transcriptional target. In vivo and ex-vivo models of intestinal organoids have shown that while CB-103 effectively inhibits Notch target genes (the Hes family and Olfm4), it does not lead to an upregulation of Atoh1 in the small intestine, thereby sparing the animals from goblet cell metaplasia. This finding has been confirmed in animal toxicology studies. In addition, due to its unique MoA, CB-103 has demonstrated the ability to target a wide spectrum of cancers with Notch activation including tumors harboring chromosomal translocations in the Notch receptors, which are usually resistant to Notch inhibition by GSIs and monoclonal antibodies.” See Fabbro et al. at page 782, column 1. Fabbro et al. further teach that “To further capitalize on its asset, the company is planning to initiate Phase-2 clinical trials with CB-103 as a single agent and in combination therapies. The combination trials are designed based on scientific rationale and supported by pre-clinical data.” See Fabbro et al. at page 782, column 1.
Comparison Between the Claimed Invention and the Prior Art
With respect to claim 1, Fabbro et al. teach that CB-103 is an inhibitor of the Notch transcription complex. Sidransky teaches combined therapeutics comprising Compound (1), which is an inhibitor of Notch signaling, and temsirolimus, which is a serine-threonine kinase inhibitor.
With respect to claim 2-6, temsirolimus is a serine-threonine kinase inhibitor and is among is among the kinase inhibitors recited.
With respect to claim 7, Fabbro et al. teach CB-103 and that CB-103 is an inhibitor of the Notch transcription complex. Compound (1), taught by Sidransky, is inhibitor of gamma secretase-mediated Notch signaling.
With respect to claim 8, CB-103 is an inhibitor of the Notch transcription complex.
With respect to claim 9 and 10, the chemical name for CB-103 is 6-(4-(tert-butyl) phenoxy)pyridin-3-amine, which is encompassed by the genus of claim 9 and is the species recited in claim 10.
With respect to claims 11-14 and 17-18, as discussed above in the Claim Interpretation section, the recitations that reflect the intended use of the claimed compositions are not afforded patentable weight.
Differences between the Claimed Invention and the Prior Art
No cited reference explicitly discloses a working example of a composition comprising CB-103 and temsirolimus.
Conclusion of Obviousness
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to create a composition comprising
CB-103 and temsirolimus.
Fabbro et al. discuss the virtues of CB-103, an inhibitor of the Notch transcription complex, as an agent for treating a variety of cancers. Moreover, Fabbro et al. announce plans to conduct clinical trials for combined therapies with CB-103. Sidransky teaches the desirability to create combined therapies comprising Notch signaling inhibitor and a kinase inhibitor. Sidransky teaches a finite number of kinases for testing, including temsirolimus. And indeed, NCT01198184, teaches combined therapies comprising a Notch signaling inhibitor and temsirolimus.
It would have been prima facie obvious to substitute one known element (namely CB-103 taught by Fabbro et al.) in place of another known element (namely, Compound (1) taught by Sidransky) to obtain the claimed invention, namely a composition comprising CB-103 and temsirolimus. Owing to the virtues of CB-103 as an agent for treating a variety of cancers as taught by Fabbro et al., and owing to the teaching to use temsirolimus in combination with an inhibitor of Notch signaling as taught by Sidransky, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation to arrive at the claimed invention. As such, the claimed invention was obvious at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claim is currently allowable.
571-272-8428. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 11:00 AM-7:00 PM.
/BSM/Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621