DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
For clarity, references to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections are provided in parenthesis.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 07/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 states that the radiation emitted has a maximum intensity of 320 nm, however the unit for light intensity is some unit of power over steradians or area. The range given suggests wavelength rather than intensity. For examination purposes, it will be assumed that the range given is for the wavelength of the radiation emitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergenek et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2009155899 A1), hereinafter as Bergenek, in view of Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180076362 A1), hereinafter as Jeon, and in further view of Collins et al. (Patent No.: US 9540252 B1), hereinafter as Collins.
With regards to claim 1, Bergenek teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor chip comprising: a semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; and see Bergenek pg. 8: “It has an active layer 1 with a sequence of semiconductor layers. The sequence of semiconductor layers contains an active zone 11 between an n-conductive layer 13 and a p-conductive layer 12.”) with an active layer (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active zone 11) for generating primary radiation (see Bergenek pg. 9: “The active zone 11 preferably contains a pn junction, a double heterostructure, a single quantum well (SQW) or, particularly preferably, a multiple quantum well structure (MQW) for generating radiation.”).
Bergenek does not teach an angle-selective filter on a first side of the semiconductor layer sequence, wherein the semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation, the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range.
Jeon teaches an angle-selective filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2; Jeon [0102]) on a first side (the top facing side) of a semiconductor layer sequence (see Jeon Fig. 9, plurality of semiconductor layers 30, 40, 50; Jeon [0102]), the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range (see Jeon Fig. 7b, where “vertically polarized light of a greater incident angle is reflected more.” (Jeon [0099])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the angle-selective filter taught by Jeon to the optoelectronic semiconductor chip of Bergenek in order to control the direction of emission and the wavelengths emitted.
Bergenek and Jeon do not teach that a semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation.
Collins teaches that a semiconductor chip (see Collins Fig. 2, UVLED pixel 12; Collins [0026]) emits radiation in the UV range during operation (see Collins [0026]: “Commercially available UVA, UVB, and UVC LEDs may be used as a UV light source in various embodiments. FIGS. 1 and 2 are examples of the assignee's own UVB and UVC LEDs that may be used.”, where on would choose UVC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radiation wavelength of Bergenek and Jeon with the range taught by Collins in order to commit germicide without releasing radiation harmful to humans (see Collins [0002]: “UV LEDs with emission wavelengths in the range of 230-350 nm are expected to find a wide range of applications, most of which are based on the interaction between UV radiation and biological material. Typical applications include surface sterilization, water purification, medical devices and biochemistry, light sources for ultra-high density optical recording, white lighting, fluorescence analysis, sensing, and zero-emission automobiles. UV radiation has disinfection properties that inactivate bacteria, viruses, and other microorganisms. Since most microorganisms are affected by radiation around 260 nm, UV radiation is in the appropriate range for germicidal activity.”).
With regards to claim 2, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, further comprising: a growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; Bergenek pg. 8), wherein the growth substrate is arranged between the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2) and the filter (where the filter of Jeon would be deposited on the growth substrate and so the growth substrate would be between the filter and the semiconductor layer sequence.).
With regards to claim 5, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, further comprising: a deflection structure (see Bergenek Fig. 2, structuring 20 and first photonic crystal 4) for deflecting the radiation generated in the semiconductor chip (see Bergenek pg. 11: “Scattering elements are formed by means of basic units 21 of the structuring 20, which scatter electromagnetic radiation emitted by the active zone 11.”, where scattering changes the direction of the radiation and so deflects it.).
With regards to claim 6, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 5, wherein the deflection structure (see Bergenek Fig. 2, structuring 20 and first photonic crystal 4) comprises a structuring (see Bergenek Fig. 2, structuring 20) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; Bergenek pg. 8).
With regards to claim 9, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, wherein the radiation (see Collins [0026]: “Commercially available UVA, UVB, and UVC LEDs may be used as a UV light source in various embodiments. FIGS. 1 and 2 are examples of the assignee's own UVB and UVC LEDs that may be used.”, where on would choose UVC.) emitted by the semiconductor (see Bergenek Fig. 2) has a maximum intensity at no more than 320 nm (see Collins [0011]: “The devices described herein may be configured to emit… UV C (peak wavelength between 210 and 290 nm) radiation.”, where 290nm is less than 320nm.).
With regards to claim 10, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, further comprising: a growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; Bergenek pg. 8).
With regards to claim 11, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 5, wherein the optoelectronic semiconductor chip comprises a growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; Bergenek pg. 8), the deflection structure (see Bergenek Fig. 2, structuring 20 and first photonic crystal 4) comprises a structuring (see Bergenek Fig. 2, first photonic crystal 4) of one side (the uppermost surface) of the growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 12, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 10, wherein at least one side surface (on the left side) of the growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) is mirror-coated (see Bergenek Fig. 2, lateral reflector layer 10).
With regards to claim 13, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1.
Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins do not teach that the semiconductor chip is a thin-film chip.
However, in a different embodiment, Bergenek teaches that the semiconductor chip is a thin-film chip (see Bergenek pg. 7: “In a further embodiment, the semiconductor chip is free of a growth substrate. In the present case, "free of a growth substrate" that a growth substrate possibly used for growing the active layer is removed from the active layer or at least greatly thinned. In particular, it is thinned in such a way that it is not self-supporting on its own or together with the active layer. The remaining remainder of the greatly thinned growth substrate is unsuitable, in particular as such, for the function of a growth substrate. In particular, the semiconductor chip is a so-called thin-film light-emitting diode chip.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to remove the growth substrate (Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) of the device of Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins as taught by a different embodiment of Bergenek in order to create a more compact chip with a directional radiation characteristic (see Bergenek pg. 8: “the semiconductor chip according to the present application can represent an efficient thin-film light-emitting diode chip with a directional radiation characteristic.”).
With regards to claim 14, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, wherein the predefined angular range (see Jeon Fig. 7b) comprises angles of at most 30° with respect to the main emission direction (see Bergenek pg. 11: “By means of the mixing layer 2, the transition layer 3 and the first photonic crystal 4, a proportion of about 35% (based on the light intensity) of the electromagnetic radiation decoupled from the front side 7 during operation is present at an angle α to a surface normal 100 of a main extension plane of the semiconductor chip having a value of 0° ≦ α ≦ 30°.”, through the combination of Bergenek’s layers and Jeon’s filter, radiation with angles higher than 30 degrees are reflected back into the device.).
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180076362 A1), hereinafter as Jeon, in view of Collins et al. (Patent No.: US 9540252 B1), hereinafter as Collins.
With regards to claim 1, Jeon teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor chip comprising: a semiconductor layer sequence (see Jeon Fig. 9, plurality of semiconductor layers 30, 40, 50; Jeon [0102]) with an active layer (see Jeon Fig. 9, active layer 40; Jeon [0105]) for generating primary radiation (see Jeon [0105]: “and an active layer 40 (e.g. InGaN(In)/GaN multiple quantum well structure) which is interposed between the first semiconductor layer 30 and the second semiconductor layer 50 and generates light by electron-hole recombination.”, where light is a form of electromagnetic radiation.), an angle-selective filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2; Jeon [0102]) on a first side (the top facing side) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Jeon Fig. 9), wherein the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range (see Jeon Fig. 7b, where “vertically polarized light of a greater incident angle is reflected more.” (Jeon [0099])).
Jeon does not teach that a semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation.
Collins teaches that a semiconductor chip (see Collins Fig. 2, UVLED pixel 12; Collins [0026]) emits radiation in the UV range during operation (see Collins [0026]: “Commercially available UVA, UVB, and UVC LEDs may be used as a UV light source in various embodiments. FIGS. 1 and 2 are examples of the assignee's own UVB and UVC LEDs that may be used.”, where on would choose UVC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radiation wavelength of Jeon with the range taught by Collins in order to commit germicide without releasing radiation harmful to humans (see Collins [0002]: “UV LEDs with emission wavelengths in the range of 230-350 nm are expected to find a wide range of applications, most of which are based on the interaction between UV radiation and biological material. Typical applications include surface sterilization, water purification, medical devices and biochemistry, light sources for ultra-high density optical recording, white lighting, fluorescence analysis, sensing, and zero-emission automobiles. UV radiation has disinfection properties that inactivate bacteria, viruses, and other microorganisms. Since most microorganisms are affected by radiation around 260 nm, UV radiation is in the appropriate range for germicidal activity.”).
With regards to claim 3, Jeon and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, wherein the filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2) is a dielectric filter (see Jeon [0113]: “In this exemplary embodiment, the first non-conductive reflective film R1 may be composed of a stack of alternating first material layer 93a/second material layer 93b pairs. For example, it can be made up of a combination of a higher refractive index material (the second material layer 93b) such as Ta2O5, HfO, ZrO, SiN or the like and a lower refractive index dielectric thin film (the first material layer 93a; typically, SiO2).”, where one would choose the first non-conductive reflective film R1 to comprise of HfO and SiO2, which would make it a dielectric filter.), the filter comprises a plurality of dielectric layers (see Jeon [0113]).
With regards to claim 4, Jeon and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 3, wherein the filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2) comprises at least one layer comprising HfO (see Jeon [0113], where one would choose HfO to make up the second material layer 93b) and at least one layer comprising SiO2 (see Jeon [0113], where one would choose SiO2 to make up the first material layer 93a).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins, in view of Lopez et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160155901 A1), hereinafter as Lopez.
Image A: closeup of Lopez Fig. 10, showcasing beveled mesa edge.
With regards to claim 7, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 5.
Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins do not teach that the deflection structure comprises a beveled mesa edge of the semiconductor layer sequence.
Lopez teaches a beveled mesa edge (see Lopez Fig. 10 and Image A) of a semiconductor layer sequence (see Lopez Fig. 10, thinned N-type layer 18 and N-type layer surface 28; Lopez [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor layer sequence of Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins with the beveled mesa edge taught by Lopez in order to extend Bergenek’s rear reflector layer 5 which allows radiation to be contained and reflect back into the device.
Together, Bergenek, Jeon, Collins, and Lopez teach that the deflection structure (see Bergenek Fig. 2, structuring 20 and first photonic crystal 4) comprises a beveled mesa edge (see Lopez Fig. 10 and Image A) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; Bergenek pg. 8).
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergenek et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2009155899 A1), hereinafter as Bergenek, in view of Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180076362 A1), hereinafter as Jeon, and in further view of Collins et al. (Patent No.: US 9540252 B1), hereinafter as Collins.
With regards to claim 1, Bergenek teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor chip comprising: a semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 3, active layer 1; and see Bergenek pg. 8: “It has an active layer 1 with a sequence of semiconductor layers. The sequence of semiconductor layers contains an active zone 11 between an n-conductive layer 13 and a p-conductive layer 12.”) with an active layer (see Bergenek Fig. 3, active zone 11) for generating primary radiation (see Bergenek pg. 9: “The active zone 11 preferably contains a pn junction, a double heterostructure, a single quantum well (SQW) or, particularly preferably, a multiple quantum well structure (MQW) for generating radiation.”).
Bergenek does not teach an angle-selective filter on a first side of the semiconductor layer sequence, wherein the semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation, the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range.
Jeon teaches an angle-selective filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2; Jeon [0102]) on a first side (the top facing side) of a semiconductor layer sequence (see Jeon Fig. 9, plurality of semiconductor layers 30, 40, 50; Jeon [0102]), the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range (see Jeon Fig. 7b, where “vertically polarized light of a greater incident angle is reflected more.” (Jeon [0099])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the angle-selective filter taught by Jeon to the optoelectronic semiconductor chip of Bergenek in order to control the direction of emission and the wavelengths emitted.
Bergenek and Jeon do not teach that a semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation.
Collins teaches that a semiconductor chip (see Collins Fig. 2, UVLED pixel 12; Collins [0026]) emits radiation in the UV range during operation (see Collins [0026]: “Commercially available UVA, UVB, and UVC LEDs may be used as a UV light source in various embodiments. FIGS. 1 and 2 are examples of the assignee's own UVB and UVC LEDs that may be used.”, where on would choose UVC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radiation wavelength of Bergenek and Jeon with the range taught by Collins in order to commit germicide without releasing radiation harmful to humans (see Collins [0002]: “UV LEDs with emission wavelengths in the range of 230-350 nm are expected to find a wide range of applications, most of which are based on the interaction between UV radiation and biological material. Typical applications include surface sterilization, water purification, medical devices and biochemistry, light sources for ultra-high density optical recording, white lighting, fluorescence analysis, sensing, and zero-emission automobiles. UV radiation has disinfection properties that inactivate bacteria, viruses, and other microorganisms. Since most microorganisms are affected by radiation around 260 nm, UV radiation is in the appropriate range for germicidal activity.”).
With regards to claim 8, Bergenek, Jeon, and Collins teach the optoelectronic semiconductor chip according to claim 1, further comprising: a mirror coating (see Bergenek Fig. 3, lateral reflector layer 10) on one side (on the left side) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 3, active layer 1; Bergenek pg. 8) for reflecting the radiation generated in the semiconductor chip (see Bergenek pg. 6: “In a semiconductor chip with a lateral reflector layer, the proportion of electromagnetic radiation that is coupled out through the side surfaces is particularly small. In this way, a particularly large proportion of the electromagnetic radiation is coupled out of the semiconductor chip in a directed manner by means of the first photonic crystal. In this way, particularly well-directed radiation can be achieved.”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergenek et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2009155899 A1), hereinafter as Bergenek, in view of Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180076362 A1), hereinafter as Jeon, and in further view of Collins et al. (Patent No.: US 9540252 B1), hereinafter as Collins.
With regards to claim 16, Bergenek teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor chip comprising: a semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1; and see Bergenek pg. 8: “It has an active layer 1 with a sequence of semiconductor layers. The sequence of semiconductor layers contains an active zone 11 between an n-conductive layer 13 and a p-conductive layer 12.”) with an active layer (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active zone 11) for generating primary radiation (see Bergenek pg. 9: “The active zone 11 preferably contains a pn junction, a double heterostructure, a single quantum well (SQW) or, particularly preferably, a multiple quantum well structure (MQW) for generating radiation.”), a growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2).
Bergenek does not teach an angle-selective filter on a first side of the semiconductor layer sequence, wherein the semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation, the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range, the growth substrate is arranged between the semiconductor layer sequence and the filter.
Jeon teaches an angle-selective filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2; Jeon [0102]) on a first side (the top facing side) of the semiconductor layer sequence (see Jeon Fig. 9, plurality of semiconductor layers 30, 40, 50; Jeon [0102]), wherein the angle-selective filter is configured to let pass only radiation that hits the filter in a predefined angular range (see Jeon Fig. 7b, where “vertically polarized light of a greater incident angle is reflected more.” (Jeon [0099])).
Together, Bergenek and Jeon teach that the growth substrate (see Bergenek Fig. 2, transition layer 3) is arranged between the semiconductor layer sequence (see Bergenek Fig. 2, active layer 1) and the filter (see Jeon Fig. 9, first non-conductive reflective film R1 and second non-conductive reflective film R2; where one would deposit the filter on top of the growth substrate therefore sandwiching the growth substrate between the semiconductor layer sequence and the filter.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the angle-selective filter taught by Jeon to the optoelectronic semiconductor chip of Bergenek in order to control the direction of emission and the wavelengths emitted.
Bergenek and Jeon do not teach that a semiconductor chip emits radiation in the UV range during operation.
Collins teaches that a semiconductor chip (see Collins Fig. 2, UVLED pixel 12; Collins [0026]) emits radiation in the UV range during operation (see Collins [0026]: “Commercially available UVA, UVB, and UVC LEDs may be used as a UV light source in various embodiments. FIGS. 1 and 2 are examples of the assignee's own UVB and UVC LEDs that may be used.”, where on would choose UVC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radiation wavelength of Bergenek and Jeon with the range taught by Collins in order to commit germicide without releasing radiation harmful to humans (see Collins [0002]: “UV LEDs with emission wavelengths in the range of 230-350 nm are expected to find a wide range of applications, most of which are based on the interaction between UV radiation and biological material. Typical applications include surface sterilization, water purification, medical devices and biochemistry, light sources for ultra-high density optical recording, white lighting, fluorescence analysis, sensing, and zero-emission automobiles. UV radiation has disinfection properties that inactivate bacteria, viruses, and other microorganisms. Since most microorganisms are affected by radiation around 260 nm, UV radiation is in the appropriate range for germicidal activity.”).
Conclusion
/E.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818