DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 01 October 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stringham (US 1,242,493):
Regarding claim 1, Stringham discloses a massless mixing system comprising a power source (52,53); a mixing vessel (11); a magnetic responsive element (19) at least partially disposed within said mixing vessel; and a massless drive in communication with said mixing vessel, wherein said massless drive comprises: a collar (12) forming a channel; and a conductive wire (18) at least partially disposed around said collar.
Regarding claim 2, said massless drive applies an electromagnetic field onto said mixing vessel (see page 2, lines 90-115).
Regarding claim 3, said massless drive is at least partially disposed around said mixing vessel (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, said massless drive is at least partially disposed beneath said mixing vessel (see Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, said massless drive comprises a solenoid (18).
Regarding claim 6, said massless drive comprises a multi-coil multi-phase drive (see page 1, line 101-102 and Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 8, a circuit is disclosed (see Fig. 6 and page 2 lines 58-99).
Regarding claim 9, said circuit controls a power supplied to said massless drive (see Fig. 6 and page 2 lines 58-99).
Regarding claim 10, a first housing (10) is at least partially disposed around said massless drive.
Regarding claim 11, a second housing (30) is at least partially disposed above said mixing vessel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringham (US 1,242,493) in view Arnold (US 2020/0011773). The system of Stringham was discussed above. Stringham does not disclose plural massless drives controlling a vertical and a horizontal movement of said magnetic responsive element. Arnold teaches plural massless drives (245a and 245b) controlling a vertical and a horizontal movement of a magnetic responsive element (see [0012]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system such that plural massless drives (245a and 245b) control a vertical and a horizontal movement of a magnetic responsive element as taught by Arnold (see [0012]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringham (US 1,242,493) in view of Maynard (US 9,078,985). The system of Stringham was discussed above:
Regarding claim 12, Stringham does not disclose a filter. Maynard teaches providing a magnetic mixing system with a filter (164). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the system with a filter as taught by Maynard to purify mixed material upon discharge from the vessel.
Regarding claim 13, Maynard further teaches that the filter (164) is above a mixing vessel (see Fig. 1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringham (US 1,242,493) in view of Vellinger (US 2002/0118594). The system of Stringham was discussed above. Programmable software is not disclosed. Vellinger teaches providing a massless mixing system with programmable software (see [0011], [0013], [0026]-[0028]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the system with programmable software to frequency, field strength, and/or duration as taught by Vellinger at [0011], [0013] and [0026]-[0028].
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774