DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an ice or cold water circuit” (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-18 recite the limitation “A heating system” in line 1. Please amend to --- The heating system ---.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “A method for integrating a heating system into a drying plaint” in line 1. Please amend to --- The method for integrating the heating system into the drying plaint ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation “control device” in claims 9 and 19 which has been interpreted to mean or include a flow regulation device, a constant flow rate valve, a 3-way valve 6. (Page 7, lines 1-8 and page 11, lines 13-17 of Specification of the instant application)
The limitation “a flow regulation device” in claim 10 which has been interpreted to mean or include a 3-way valve 6. (Page 7, lines 1-8 and page 11, lines 13-17 of Specification of the instant application)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 9, 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “wherein the primary fluid is an operating medium in a transcritical cycle”, and the claim also recites “preferably comprising R744” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the connection " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the outlet of " in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the inlet of " in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the process medium " in line 2. It is unclear whether the process medium is the first process medium or the second medium. Therefore, the claim is rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the connection " in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the outlet of " in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the inlet of " in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradshaw (US 4,173,924).
Regarding claim 1, Bradshaw shows a heating system (fig. 1) comprising a heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1), the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) comprising a heat pump (40, fig. 1), operating with a primary fluid (refrigerant inside item 40, fig. 1, col. 5, lines 44-61), a secondary fluid (liquid inside items, 50, 54, 34, 32, fig. 1, col. 6, lines 1-20) and a first sink heater (50, fig. 1), the heat pump (40, fig. 1) being connected to the first sink heater (50, fig. 1),
wherein the first sink heater (50, fig. 1) is configured to preheat a first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1), the heating system (fig. 1) further comprising a second sink heater (64, fig. 1),
wherein the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) is configured to transfer heat to a second process medium (air from item 50 to item 64, fig. 1), the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) further comprising a heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) being connected to the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) and being configured to transfer heat from an exhaust medium (exhaust liquid of item 64, fig. 1) of the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) to the secondary fluid (liquid inside items, 50, 54, 34, 32, fig. 1, col. 6, lines 1-20) used to provide heating to the first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1),
wherein the heat pump (40, fig. 1) is connected to the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) in a parallel configuration (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Bradshaw shows wherein the first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1) is an air stream.
Regarding claim 4, Bradshaw shows wherein the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) is a plate, fin-and-tube (fin-and-tube as shown in fig. 1), shell and tube, dimple plate, or tube in tube heat exchanger (62, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Bradshaw shows wherein the heating system (fig. 1) is configured to be installed in a drying plant (10, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Bradshaw shows wherein the drying plant (10, fig. 1) comprises a spray drying apparatus (paint spray booth, col. 4, lines 54-59).
Regarding claim 7, Bradshaw shows wherein the second process medium (air from item 50 to item 64, fig. 1) is the same as the first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1), the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) is arranged after the first sink heater (50, fig. 1) in the flow direction of the first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1) and the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) generates the exhaust medium (exhaust liquid of item 64, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Bradshaw shows wherein the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) is configured to recover only sensible or sensible and latent heat from the exhaust medium (exhaust liquid of item 64, fig. 1) leaving the second sink heater (64, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Bradshaw shows wherein the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) further comprises a control device (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1) for controlling by one or more of flow, pressure, or temperature the connection of the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) with the first sink heater (50, fig. 1) and the heat pump (40, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Bradshaw shows wherein the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) comprises an inlet (inlet of item 62, fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of item 62, fig. 1), and the control device (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1) is a flow regulation device (“V” of item 60, fig. 1) installed between the heat pump (40, fig. 1) and the first sink heater (50, fig. 1), the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) further comprising a first temperature sensor (58, fig. 1) positioned at the outlet (outlet of item 62, fig. 1) of the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Bradshaw shows wherein the control device (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1) is configured to operate such that a temperature (dew point temperature, col. 6, lines 54-61, claim 24) of the first temperature sensor (58, fig. 1) is in accordance with a predefined temperature setpoint (predetermined dew point temperature, claim 24).
Regarding claim 13, Bradshaw shows wherein the heat pump (40, fig. 1) comprises an inlet (inlet of item 40 at item 54, fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of item 40 at item 54, fig. 1), the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) further comprising a second temperature sensor (70, fig. 1) positioned at the outlet (outlet of item 40 at item 54, fig. 1) of the heat pump (40, fig. 1), wherein the control device (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1) is configured to operate such that a temperature of the first temperature sensor (58, fig. 1) is in accordance with a temperature at the second temperature sensor (70, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Bradshaw shows wherein the first sink heater (50, fig. 1) constitutes a preheater for drying gas to the spray drying apparatus (paint spray booth, col. 4, lines 54-59), wherein the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) constitutes a process gas heater for drying gas to the spray drying apparatus (paint spray booth, col. 4, lines 54-59), and wherein the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) constitutes an economizer having an inlet (inlet of item 62, fig. 1) connected to the outlet (outlet of item 64, fig. 1) of the process gas heater (item 64 constitutes the process gas heater, fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of item 62, fig. 1) configured to be connected to (via item 52, fig. 1) the inlet (inlet of item 50, fig. 1) of the preheater (item 50 constitutes the preheater, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Bradshaw shows wherein the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) comprises a fluid network (as shown in fig. 1) and control devices (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1), wherein the heat pump (40, fig. 1) is connected to the fluid network (as shown in fig. 1), wherein the control devices (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1) can control the flow, flow direction, pressure and temperature of parts of the fluid network (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Bradshaw shows a method for integrating a heating system (fig. 1) into a drying plant (10, fig. 1), the heating system (fig. 1) comprising a heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1), the heat pump system (62, 64, 40, 50, 32, fig. 1) comprising a heat pump (40, fig. 1) operating with a primary fluid (refrigerant inside item 40, fig. 1, col. 5, lines 44-61) and a secondary fluid (liquid inside items, 50, 54, 34, 32, fig. 1, col. 6, lines 1-20), a first sink heater (50, fig. 1) and a heat exchanger (62, fig. 1), the method comprising;
connecting the heat pump (40, fig. 1) with the first sink heater (50, fig. 1), wherein the first sink heater (50, fig. 1) is configured to preheat a first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1),
a second process medium (air from item 50 to item 64, fig. 1) entering a second sink heater (64, fig. 1),
the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) being configured to transfer heat to the second process medium (air from item 50 to item 64, fig. 1),
connecting the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) to the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) such that the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) can transfer heat from an exhaust medium (exhaust liquid of item 64, fig. 1) of the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) to the secondary fluid (liquid inside items, 50, 54, 34, 32, fig. 1, col. 6, lines 1-20) used to provide heating to the first process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1),
connecting the heat pump (40, fig. 1) to the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) in a parallel configuration (as shown in fig. 1), and
controlling by one or more of flow, pressure, or temperature the connection of the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) to the heat pump (40, fig. 1) with a control device (66, 68, 60, 54, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Bradshaw shows wherein the drying plant (10, fig. 1) comprises a spray drying apparatus (paint spray booth, col. 4, lines 54-59) and wherein the first sink heater (50, fig. 1) constitutes a preheater for drying air to the spray drying apparatus (paint spray booth, col. 4, lines 54-59), wherein the second sink heater (64, fig. 1) constitutes a process air heater for drying air to the spray drying apparatus (paint spray booth, col. 4, lines 54-59), and wherein the heat exchanger (62, fig. 1) constitutes an economizer having an inlet (inlet of item 62, fig. 1) connected to the outlet (outlet of item 64, fig. 1) of the process air heater (item 64 constitutes the process air heater) and an outlet (outlet of item 62, fig. 1) configured to be connected to (via item 52, fig. 1) the inlet (inlet of item 50, fig. 1) of the preheater (item 50 constitutes the preheater, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Newcomb (US 2017/0205103).
Regarding claim 2, Bradshaw discloses wherein the primary fluid (refrigerant inside item 40, fig. 1, col. 5, lines 44-61) is an operating medium.
Bradshaw discloses the primary fluid is an operating medium in a transcritical cycle, preferably comprising R744.
Newcomb teaches the primary fluid is an operating medium in a transcritical cycle (Newcomb, Transcritical CO2, fig. 19), preferably comprising R744.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heating system of Bradshaw with the primary fluid is an operating medium in a transcritical cycle, as taught by Newcomb, for providing an operating medium with high coefficient of thermal expansion and negligible compressibility which would result in enabling efficient heating and cooling. Thus, the heating system operates in a more thermally efficient manner and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw as applied to claim 10 above, and in view of Raghavachari (US 2009/0217679).
Regarding claim 12, Bradshaw discloses the limitations of the heating system according to claim 10 above, but does not disclose wherein the heat pump system further comprises a temperature transmitter connected with the first temperature sensor.
Raghavachari teaches wherein the heat pump system (Raghavachari, fig. 1) further comprises a temperature transmitter (Raghavachari, 66, fig. 1) connected with the first temperature sensor (Raghavachari recites “Temperature transmitters 64, 66, 68, 70, 72, 74 and comprise devices configured to sense and transmit temperatures of refrigerant.”, [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heating system of Bradshaw with wherein the heat pump system further comprises a temperature transmitter connected with the first temperature sensor, as taught by Raghavachari, for amplifying a temperature responsive signal given by the temperature sensor which would result in effectively controlling an operation of the heating system. Thus, the heating system operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw as applied to claim 6 above, and in view of Newcomb (US 2017/0205103).
Regarding claim 15, Bradshaw discloses wherein the process medium (air from item 48 to item 50, fig. 1) (air from item 50 to item 64, fig. 1) constitutes a gaseous stream (air or gaseous stream, fig. 1), wherein the secondary fluid (liquid inside items, 50, 54, 34, 32, fig. 1, col. 6, lines 1-20) constitutes liquid (liquid, col. 5, lines 54-61) and wherein the primary fluid (refrigerant inside item 40, fig. 1, col. 5, lines 44-61) of the heat pump (40, fig. 1) comprises refrigerant (refrigerant, col. 5, lines 44-61).
Bradshaw does not disclose the secondary fluid constitutes water and wherein the primary fluid of the heat pump comprises carbon dioxide.
Newcomb teaches the secondary fluid (Newcomb, fluid inside item 32, 34, fig. 19) constitutes water (Newcomb, hot water, cold water, fig. 19) and wherein the primary fluid (Newcomb, fluid inside heat pump under items 28, 30, fig. 19) of the heat pump (Newcomb, heat pump under items 28, 30, fig. 19) comprises carbon dioxide (Newcomb, CO2, fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heating system of Bradshaw with the secondary fluid constitutes water and wherein the primary fluid of the heat pump comprises carbon dioxide, as taught by Newcomb, for improving a greater heat transfer between the components of the heat pump system which would result in effectively drying an object to be dried within a shorter period of time. Thus, the heating system operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw as applied to claim 6 above, and in view of Voges et al. (GB2052704 A; hereinafter Voges).
Regarding claim 16, Bradshaw discloses the limitations of the heating system according to claim 6 above, but does not disclose wherein the heat pump system further comprises a circulation pump connected with the first sink heater and the heat pump.
Voges teaches wherein the heat pump system (Voges, 17, 18, 19, 20, fig. 2) further comprises a circulation pump (Voges, 12a, fig. 2) connected with the first sink heater (Voges, W12, fig. 2) and the heat pump (Voges, 17, 18, 19, 20, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heating system of Bradshaw with wherein the heat pump system further comprises a circulation pump connected with the first sink heater and the heat pump, as taught by Voges, for effectively circulating the fluid inside the heat pump system which would result in effectively controlling a temperature of an operation of a drying process and thus a high quality product is produced. Thus, the heat system operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw as applied to claim 6 above, and in view of Tamburini (US 2021/0285722).
Regarding claim 17, Bradshaw discloses wherein the heat pump (40, fig. 1) is further connected to one or multiple heat sources (32, fig. 1),
Bradshaw does not disclose the heat source being connected to the heat pump via an ice or cold water circuit.
Tamburini teaches the heat source (Tamburini, 5, fig. 3) being connected to the heat pump (Tamburini, 4, fig. 3) via an ice or cold water circuit (Tamburini, cold water circuit of item 6, fig. 3, [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heating system of Bradshaw with the heat source being connected to the heat pump via an ice or cold water circuit, as taught by Tamburini, for effectively controlling a temperature of a process drying air which would result in effectively drying an object to be dried within a shorter period of time. Thus, the heating system operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762