DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on August 14, 2026 was received. Claims 6 and 14 were amended. Claims 1-5 and 9-10 were canceled. Claims 11-13 were withdrawn. No claim was added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued on June 17, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 6, “Chemical Formulas 2 to 39” should be corrected to “Chemical Formulas 2 to 36”.
Claim 6, lines 6-7, “a precursor compound for molybdenum-based thin films” should be corrected to “a molybdenum precursor”’; and step iii-a), “a molybdenum precursor” should be corrected to “the molybdenum precursor”.
Claim 6, after step vii), “wherein the molybdenum-based thin film….on a substrate” should be corrected to “wherein the molybdenum-based thin film….on the substrate”.
Claims 6, each one of the chemical formulas 2 to 36, should be clearly labeled by number, for example
.
Claim 7, “the thin film is an oxide film, a nitride film or a metal film” should be corrected to “the molybdenum-based thin film is molybdenum metal, molybdenum oxide or molybdenum nitride” so that the limitation is consistent with claim 6.
Claim 14, step i-b), should include “selected from Chemical Formulas 2 to 36” when describing “a molybdenum precursor”.
Claim 14, line 10, “Chemical Formulas 2-39” should be corrected to “Chemical Formulas 2 to 36”.
Claim 14, line 10, “a precursor compound for molybdenum-based thin films” should be corrected to “the molybdenum precursor”.
Claim 14, after step vii), “wherein the molybdenum-based thin film….on a substrate” should be corrected to “wherein the molybdenum-based thin film….on the substrate”.
Claim 14, each one of the chemical formulas 2 to 36, should be clearly labeled by number, for example
.
Claim 15, “the thin film is an oxide film, a nitride film or a metal film” should be corrected to “the molybdenum-based thin film is molybdenum metal, molybdenum oxide or molybdenum nitride” so that the limitation is consistent with claim 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, while the claim defines the film quality improver being a saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, it also defines that the film quality improver being one or more selected form the group consisting of 2-chloro-2-methylpropane, 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc (limitation of step i-a), however, Chemical Formula 1 as defined in the claim includes a much broader group of chemical compounds than the list “2-chloro-2-methylpropane, 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc” in step i-a, for example, Chemical Formula 1 includes A as silicon, but none of the listed chemical compound in step i-a comprises silicon. Thus, it is unclear if the claim is intended to include all the possible compounds as defined by Chemical Formula 1, or just the listed compounds in step i-a as the quality improver. In addition, step 1-a defines the film quality improver being “a saturated compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1” but also “one or more selected from the group consisting..”, thus, it is unclear if the film quality improver is limited to just one compound or “one or more”. For purpose of examination, the film quality improver is interpreted as the saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1. However, Applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter. Specifically, remove one of the definitions for the film quality improver from the claim.
Regarding claim 14, while the claim defines that the film quality improver being a saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, it also defines that the film quality improver being one or more selected from form the group consisting of 2-chloro-2-methylpropane, 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc (limitation of step iii-b), however, Chemical Formula 1 as defined in the claim includes a much broader group of chemical compounds than the list “2-chloro-2-methylpropane, 2-chloro-2-methylbutane etc” in step iii-b, for example, Chemical Formula 1 includes A as silicon, but none of the listed chemical compound in step i-a comprises silicon. Thus, it is unclear if the claim is intended to include all the possible compounds as defined by Chemical Formula 1, or just the listed compounds in step i-a as the quality improver. In addition, step iii-b defines the film quality improver being “a saturated compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1” but also “one or more selected from the group consisting..”, thus, it is unclear if the film quality improver is limited to just one compound or “one or more”. For purpose of examination, the film quality improver is interpreted as a saturated compound represented by Chemical Formula 1. However, Applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter. Specifically, remove one of the definitions for the film quality improver from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeon (KR102138149) on claims 6-8 and 14-16 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeon (KR102138149) in view of Dezelah (US20190003050).
Regarding claim 6, Yeon teaches a method of forming a thin film (paragraph 0001) using a metal thin film precursor, wherein the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051). Thus, Yeon teaches the thin film comprises molybdenum (molybdenum based thin film). Yeon teaches to inject an inhibitor to the deposition chamber to be adsorbed on the surface of the substate (paragraphs 0017, 0046 and 0090), wherein the inhibitor facilitates to improve step coverage and thickness uniformity of the thin film being formed on a substate having complex structure (paragraph 0001), which reads on the limitation of film quality improver (injecting a film quality improver into a chamber and injecting the film quality improver onto a surface of a loaded substrate). Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed limitation of Chemical Formula 1 (A is carbon or silicon, B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, C is halogen, n is 1, o is 1 and m is 3), Yeon further teaches the specific example of the inhibitor is 2-chloro-2-methylbutane (paragraph 0034). Yeon teaches to vaporize the inhibitor to form a protected area (shield area) on the surface of the substrate in the chamber (paragraphs 0083, 0046, 0103, figure 2) (step i-a). Yeon teaches to performing first purge of an inside of the chamber using a purge gas (paragraphs 0046, figure 2) (step ii-a), vaporizing thin film precursor (molybdenum precursor) and adsorbing the precursor to an area outside the shielding area (figure 2, paragraphs 0083 and 0046) (step iii-a), performing second purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (step iv-2), supplying a reaction gas into the chamber (step v-a) and performing third purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (step vi-a) to form the thin film on the surface of the substate (step vii-a) (molybdenum based thin film) (paragraphs 0103, 0046, 0051, see figure 2). Some of the recitations in Yeon uses Ti as example but would be clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the steps and method are applicable to all other thin film precursor as recited in paragraph 0051, including molybdenum, as Yeon’s general teaching is directed to other metal based films, including molybdenum. Yeon teaches the thin film is a metal oxide, metal nitride film (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053), and the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051) (the thin film comprises molybdenum oxide, molybdenum nitride).
Yeon teaches the molybdenum-based thin film is deposited by atomic vapor deposition (ALD) and the metal precursor can be metal carbonyl compound (paragraph 0051-0052), but does not explicitly teaches the claimed molybdenum precursor (Chemical Formula 2 to 36). However, Dezelah teaches a method of preparing molybdenum thin film by ALD (paragraph 0001), wherein the molybdenum film includes molybdenum nitride or molybdenum oxide (paragraph 0059). Dezelah teaches the molybdenum precursor is carbonyl compound with formula
with R1 and R2 and R3 being Cl or methyl and M being Mo (paragraph 0011), which reads on the claimed molybdenum precursor
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of Yeon so that the film quality improver is for the molybdenum carbonyl compound as a precursor compound being used to form the molybdenum-based thin film because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 7, Yeon teaches the thin film is a metal oxide, metal nitride film (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053), and the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051). Dezelah teaches thin film includes molybdenum nitride or molybdenum oxide (paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 8, Yeon teaches the inhibitor is transferred into the atomic layer deposition (ALD) chamber by vapor flow control (VFC) or LDS (liquid delivery system) method (paragraphs 0048 and 0093).
Regarding claim 14, Yeon teaches a method of forming a thin film (paragraph 0001) using a metal thin film precursor, wherein the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051). Thus, Yeon teaches the thin film comprises molybdenum (molybdenum based thin film). Yeon teaches to inject an inhibitor to the deposition chamber to be adsorbed on the surface of the substate (paragraphs 0017, 0046 and 0090), wherein the inhibitor facilitates to improve step coverage and thickness uniformity of the thin film being formed on a substate having complex structure (paragraph 0001), which reads on the limitation of film quality improver (injecting a film quality improver into a chamber and injecting the film quality improver onto a surface of a loaded substrate). Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed limitation of Chemical Formula 1 (A is carbon or silicon, B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, C is halogen, n is 1, o is 1 and m is 3), Yeon further teaches the specific example of the inhibitor is 2-chloro-2-methylbutane (paragraph 0034). Yeon teaches to inject and vaporize a thin film precursor and adsorbing the precursor on the surface of the substrate in the chamber (molybdenum precursor) (paragraphs 0103, 0046, 0051, figure 2) (step i-b), Yeon teaches to perform first purge of an inside of the chamber using a purge gas (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (step ii-b). Yeon teaches to vaporize and inject the inhibitor onto the surface of the substrate in the chamber (paragraphs 0103 and 0046, figure 2) (step iii b), performing second purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (iv-b). Yeon teaches to supply a reaction gas into the chamber (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (step v-b). Yeon teaches to perform third purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (step vi-b) and forming the thin film (molybdenum based thin film) on the surface of the substate (step vii) (paragraphs 0103, 0046, 0051, see figure 2). Some of the recitations in Yeon use Ti as example but would be clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the steps and method are applicable to all other thin film precursor as recited in paragraph 0051, including molybdenum, as Yeon’s general teaching is directed to other metal based films, including molybdenum. Yeon teaches the thin film is a metal oxide, metal nitride film (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053), and the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051) (the thin film comprises molybdenum oxide, molybdenum nitride).
Yeon teaches the molybdenum-based thin film is deposited by atomic vapor deposition (ALD) (paragraph 0051) and the metal precursor can be metal carbonyl compound (paragraph 0051-0052), but does not explicitly teaches the claimed molybdenum precursor (Chemical Formula 2 to 36). However, Dezelah teaches a method of preparing molybdenum thin film by ALD (paragraph 0001), wherein the molybdenum film includes molybdenum nitride or molybdenum oxide (paragraph 0059). Dezelah teaches the molybdenum precursor is a carbonyl compound with formula
with R1 and R2 and R3 being Cl or methyl and M being Mo (paragraph 0011), which reads on the claimed molybdenum precursor
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of Yeon so that the film quality improver is for the molybdenum carbonyl compound as a precursor compound being used to form the molybdenum-based thin film because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 15, Yeon teaches the thin film is a metal oxide, metal nitride film (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053), and the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051). Dezelah teaches thin film includes molybdenum nitride or molybdenum oxide (paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 16, Yeon teaches the inhibitor is transferred into the atomic layer deposition (ALD) chamber by vapor flow control (VFC) or LDS (liquid delivery system) method (paragraphs 0048 and 0093).
Double Patenting
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411 in view of Yeon (KR102138149) and Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411, except the film is Ti based film and the Mo precursor. The first purging, second purging and supplying a reaction gas into the chamber are overlapped with the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 11746411. However, titanium and molybdenum in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor are considered as functionally equivalent as evidenced thin film material by Yeon (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411 in view of Yeon because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788 in view of Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with the scope of claims 1-11 U.S. Patent No.12252788, except the molybdenum precursor. The first purging, second purging and supplying a reaction gas into the chamber are overlapped with the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12252788. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788 because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 in view of Yeon (KR102138149) and Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 (tert-butyl bromide reads on chemical formula 1), except the film is molybdenum based film and the molybdenum precursor. The first purging, second purging and supplying a reaction gas into the chamber are overlapped with claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 in view of Yeon because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12448685 in view of Yeon (KR102138149) and Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12448685 (the growth inhibitor reads on chemical formula 1), except the film is Mo based film and the Mo precursor. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12448685 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12448685 in view of Yeon because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435 in view of Yeon (KR102138149) and and Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435, except the film is Mo based film and the Mo precursor. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435 in view of Yeon because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856 in view of Yeon (KR102138149) and Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856 (the growth inhibitor reads on chemical formula 1), except the film is Mo based film and the Mo precursor. The first purging, second purging and supplying a reaction gas into the chamber are overlapped with claim 8 of Application No. 18910856. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856 in view of Yeon because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715 view of Yeon (KR102138149) and Dezelah (US20190003050). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715 (the growth inhibitor reads on chemical formula 1), except the film is Mo based film and the Mo precursor. The first purging, second purging and supplying a reaction gas into the chamber are overlapped with claim 8 of Application No. 18950715. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051).one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molybdenum precursor (same as the claimed precursor, see 103 rejection above) for ALD a molybdenum nitride of oxide film as suggested by Dezelah in the method of claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715 in view of Yeon because Dezelah teaches such precursor has improved thermal stability, higher volatility, increased vapor pressure, and increased deposition rates for the ALD (paragraph 0010).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Yeon manufactured a TiN thin film or SiN thin film as shown in Table 2 of Examples 1 to 7, with titanium tetrahalides as preferred thin film precursor compounds.
Yeon provides the thin film with reduced by-products and impurities while reducing the deposition rate, while the claimed molybdenum containing thin film with an increased deposition rate. Thus, Yeon thin film is different from the claimed invention.
Yeon does not teach the new limitations.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
Yeon clearly teaches the method is applicable to other metal, such as molybdenum, using metal precursor such as metal carbonyl compound (paragraph 0052). It is well settled that nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art and disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123 II). Thus, the examples of forming TiN does not renders the claimed invention distinct from Yeon. New reference Dezelah teaches the claimed molybdenum precursor.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., reducing/increasing by products and impurities, increasing/decreasing deposition rate) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
New reference Dezelah teaches the new limitations, molybdenum precursor. Yeon teaches other limitations, including the film quality improver as claimed (see rejections above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717