DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-11, without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the phrase “essentially insoluble in the aqueous continuous phase at the dispersion pH” to refer to a solubility of 10 g/L or less at room temperature (see Applicant’s specification at pg. 9, lines 24-27).
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the term “thixotropic” to refer to any composition that exhibits shear-thinning behavior (see Applicant’s specification at pg. 5, lines 12-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 2-5, the phrase “such as” renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations after the term “such as” are necessitated by the claims or not. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting any limitation after the phrase “such as” to be optional. To correct, the Examiner suggests deleting every use of the phrase “such as” and the limitations that follow in claims 2-5.
In claims 7-8, the phrase “preferably” renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations after the term “preferably” are necessitated by the claims or not. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting any limitation after the phrase “preferably” to be optional. To correct, the Examiner suggests deleting every use of the phrase “preferably” and the limitations that follow in claims 7-8.
In claim 10, the term “nanogel” is unclear. It is unclear what exactly constitutes a nanogel – a specific viscosity? A specific texture? A specific rheologic profile? When is a dispersion considered a nanogel versus not a nanogel? As such, the term is indefinite. To correct, the Eaxminer suggests deleting the claim or clarifying what exactly constitutes a nanogel. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting any composition that has a lignin concentration above 10 wt% in the dispersion to constitute a nanogel (see Applicant’s specification at pg. 14, lines 1-2). Claim 11 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sipponen et al. (Sipponen, Mika Henrikki, et al. “All-lignin approach to prepare cationic colloidal lignin particles: Stabilization of durable Pickering emulsions.” Green Chemistry, vol. 19, no. 24, 2017, pp. 5831–5840, https://doi.org/10.1039/c7gc02900d) (hereinafter referred to as “Sipponen”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 6, and 8, Sipponen teaches a colloidal dispersion (see Sipponen at pg. 5839, left column, last paragraph, teaching the formation of an emulsion containing c-CLPs, i.e., cationic colloidal lignin particles, as emulsifiers) comprising
• a first lignin, a second lignin and an aqueous liquid continuous phase (see Sipponen at pg. 5839, left column, last paragraph, teaching the formation of an emulsion containing 1:1 oil to water, where the emulsion further contains c-CLPs as emulsifiers; also see Sipponen at pg. 5838, right column and pg. 5839, left column, last paragraph, teaching the c-CLPs (i.e., cationic CLPs) as being colloidal lignin particles formed from kraft lignin coated with a cationic lignin, i.e., a first and second lignin);
• the colloidal dispersion has a dispersion pH, wherein the dispersion pH ranges from 1 to 10 (regarding claim 2) (see Sipponen at pg. 5838, left column, para. 2 and 5839, right column, paragraph 1, teaching the emulsions as having a pH, such as a pH of 2 to 6), wherein
• the first lignin is a lignin that in absence of the second lignin would be essentially insoluble in the aqueous continuous phase at the dispersion pH, wherein the second lignin is a lignin that in absence of the first lignin would be soluble in the aqueous continuous phase at the dispersion pH, wherein the first lignin is kraft lignin (regarding claim 6), and wherein the second lignin is a cationic lignin (regarding claim 8) (see Sipponen at pg. 5838, right column and pg. 5839, left column, last paragraph, teaching the c-CLPs (i.e., cationic CLPs) as being colloidal lignin particles formed from kraft lignin coated with a cationic lignin; these are the same lignins claimed by Applicants; accordingly, it necessarily follows that the lignins of Sipponen meet the claimed solubility properties; products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, see MPEP § 2112.01(II)), and wherein
• the colloidal dispersion is a system in which colloidal lignin nanoparticles comprising the first lignin and the second lignin are dispersed in the aqueous liquid continuous phase (see Sipponen at pg. 5833, right column, teaching the c-CLPs as being nanoparticles with a particle size of 274 nm; further, it necessarily follows that at least some of the c-CLP nanoparticles are dispersed in the aqueous phase upon formation of the emulsion).
Regarding claim 3, see Sipponen at pg. 5839, left column, last paragraph, teaching the formation of an emulsion containing an oil phase and a water phase; the water phase contains only water; accordingly, the water phase necessarily contains 100 vol% of water.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
dicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collias et al. (US-20020084045-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Collias”) in view of Doherty et al. (US-20100166968-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Doherty”).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, and 7, Collias teaches a dispersion (see Collias at para. 0043, teaching a composition comprised of lignin derivatives and a solvent system) comprising
• a first lignin, a second lignin and an aqueous liquid continuous phase (see Collias at para. 0082, teaching the composition to comprise lignosulfonate and kraft lignin, as well as a solvent system comprised of water and an organic solvent; also see the examples of Collias, e.g., Example 7 at para. 0097, teaching example compositions containing lignosulfonate, kraft lignin, and a solvent system composed of majority water), wherein
• the dispersion has a dispersion pH, wherein the pH is from 1 to 10 (regarding claim 2) (see Collias at para. 0046, teaching the pH of the composition to range from 6 to 8), wherein
• the first lignin is a lignin that in absence of the second lignin would be essentially insoluble in the aqueous continuous phase at the dispersion pH, wherein the second lignin is a lignin that in absence of the first lignin would be soluble in the aqueous continuous phase at the dispersion pH, wherein the first lignin is kraft lignin (regarding claim 6), and wherein the second lignin is a lignosulfonate (regarding claim 7) (see Collias at para. 0082, teaching the composition to comprise a combination of lignosulfonate and kraft lignin; these are the same lignins claimed by Applicants; accordingly, it necessarily follows that the lignins of Collias meet the claimed solubility properties; products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, see MPEP § 2112.01(II)).
While Collias teaches the composition outlined above, Collias fails to explicitly teach the dispersion as being a colloidal dispersion in which colloidal lignin nanoparticles comprising the first lignin and the second lignin are dispersed in the aqueous liquid continuous phase.
However, Doherty teaches a composition for treating a paper product, the composition comprising lignin mixed in an aqueous solution (see Doherty at para. 0035). Doherty further teaches the composition to provide a moisture and/or oil resistant barrier to the paper product (see Doherty at para. 0001). Moreover, Doherty teaches the lignin to be in colloidal form, and that a preferred particle size is 20 to 50 nm, as such particles have the ability to penetrate surfaces, particularly those containing cellulose fibres, have the ability to form films and stable mixtures, and have adequate rheological and viscoelastic properties (see Doherty at para. 0030).
Collias teaches their composition as enhancing the physical strength properties and the humidity resistance of lignocellulosic fibers such as paper, and that the composition may be coated onto the paper (see Collias at para. 0001 and 0070). Moreover, Collias teaches their lignin may be finely dispersed in the solvent system (see Collias at para. 0046). Thus, Collias teaches a similar composition as Doherty.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use colloidal lignin nanoparticles of the first and second lignin having a particle size of 20 to 50 nm in the composition of Collias. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have the ability to penetrate surfaces, particularly those containing cellulose fibres, to have the ability to form films and stable mixtures, and to have adequate rheological and viscoelastic properties (see Doherty at para. 0030).
Regarding claim 3, see Collias at para. 0057, teaching the solvent system as comprising a blend of water and an organic solvent; also see Collias at para. 0058, teaching the organic solvent to represent 5 to 80 wt% of the solvent system; accordingly, Collias necessarily teaches the water to represent 20 to 95 wt% of the solvent system in the case that only a single solvent is used (100 – 5 = 95; 100 – 80 = 20); also see Collias at para. 0032, teaching ethanol as a suitable organic solvent; water has a density of 1 g/mL and ethanol has a density of 0.789 g/mL; accordingly, in the case that water and ethanol make up the entire solvent system, where ethanol is 5 to 80 wt% and water is 20 to 95 wt% in the system, the vol% of water ranges from 16.5 to 93.7 vol% (20 g water / (1 g/mL) = 20 mL water; 80 g ethanol / (0.789 g/mL) = 101.4 mL ethanol; 20 mL water/(20 mL water + 101.4 mL ethanol) • 100 = 16.5 vol% water minimum; 95 g water / (1 g/mL) = 95 mL water; 5 g ethanol / (0.789 g/mL) = 6.34 mL ethanol; 95 mL water/(95 mL water + 6.34 mL ethanol) • 100 = 93.7 vol% water maximum); this range of 16.5 to 93.7 vol% water overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, see Collias at para. 0083, teaching the ratio of lignosulfonate to kraft lignin to range from 5:1 to 1:5, which falls completely within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, see Collias at para. 0082, teaching the lignosulfonate and the kraft lignin to comprise 1 to 80 wt% of the active composition, which falls completely within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 9, see Collias at para. 0053, teaching the use of spent sulfite liquor solution as the lignosulfonate in their examples; thus, Collias reasonably teaches via their example embodiments the use of a spent liquor from a sulfite-pulping process.
Regarding claims 10-11, see Collias at para. 0082, teaching the lignosulfonate and the kraft lignin to comprise 1 to 80 wt% of the active composition; also see Collias at para. 0083, teaching the ratio of lignosulfonate to kraft lignin to range from 5:1 to 1:5; these are the same lignins, concentrations, and ratios as claimed by Applicants (see instant claims 4-7); these further encompass concentrations and ratios used in Applicants examples, which are described as nanogels (see Applicant’s specification at pg. 14, lines 1-3, stating that at lignin concentrations above 10 wt% for a combination of kraft lignin and lignosulfonate, the system forms a gel-like dispersion); the gel-like and thixotropic nature of a composition are notably properties of the composition; since the composition of Collias is the same as that claimed, it necessarily follows that the claimed properties are met; products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, see MPEP § 2112.01(II).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen-Sarkanen et al. (US-10119027-B2) teach a composition containing alkylated lignin (see Chen-Sarkanen at Abstract).
Dimitri (US-4957557-A) teach a lignin dispersion of submicron particles (see Dimitri at Abstract).
/JEFFREY EUGENE BARZACH/Examiner, Art Unit 1731