DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement entered on May 28th, 2026 has been considered. A copy of the cited statement(s) including the notation indicating its respective consideration is attached for the Applicant's records.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvin (US 5,045,842)
Claim 2: Galvin teaches an input device comprising:
a body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1);
a first control button attached to the body for placing a hand (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elm 14); and
a plurality of second control buttons arranged along an outer edge of the first control button and attached to the body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elms 16, 18), wherein
a top surface portion of each of the plurality of second control buttons is arranged above an extended line along a top surface portion of the first control button (As modified).
Galvin teaches the invention as presented above and including the positioning of first and second buttons such that secondary control buttons placed along an outer edge of a first control button are placed at a different height than the first control button (Galvin Figure 1). While Galvin does not expressly teach positioning the buttons such that a top surface portion of each of the plurality of second control buttons is arranged above an extended line along a top surface portion of the first control button, this arrangement is understood to represent mere obvious Changes in Shape and/or Rearrangement of Parts, as defined by MPEP 2144.04 Subsection IV.B & VI.C. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effect filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the inputs such that a top surface portion of each of the plurality of second control buttons is arranged above an extended line along a top surface portion of the first control button in order to provide the predictable and expected result of improving the control device ergonomics and/or improve the ability of the use to locate the buttons when engaging the controller with their hand.
Claims 1, and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvin (US 5,045,842) in view of VTECH (CA 2460893).
Claim 1: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches an input device comprising:
a body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1);
a first control button having a top surface portion for placing a hand and attached to the body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elm 14); and
a plurality of second control buttons arranged along an outer edge of the first control button and attached to the body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elms 16, 18), wherein
the plurality of second control buttons have outer circumferential portions extending outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the body (-Noting the radiused curves present in both the sidewalls 28 and the buttons 16, 18 themselves- Galvin Abstract; Figures 1, 3; Elements 16, 28 & VTECH Figure 1; Element 15-18, 30).
While Galvin is arguably silent regarding the incorporation of buttons with outer circumferential portions specifically positioned such that they extend outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the body, in an analogous invention VTECH teaches the this feature was known (VTECH Figure 1; Element 15-18, 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned and shaped the buttons beyond a circumferential edge of a body as taught by VTECH in the invention of Galvin in order to provide the expected and predictable advantage of facilitating repositioning of attached input devices as taught by VTECH (VTECH Abstract; Paragraph [0016]) and/or improve user ergonomics.
Claim 3: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of second control buttons are attachable to and removable from the body (-as modified below- Galvin Abstract; Figures 1, 2; Elements 16, 28 & VTECH Figs 1, 5).
Both the references of Galvin & VTECH teach the utilization of a controller with buttons attached thereto as cited above. While the combination doesn’t explicitly teach that the buttons are removed/removable from the body, the feature is understood to represent the obvious Making Separable, as defined by MPEP 2144.04 Subsection V.C. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the buttons of Galvin & VTECH both attachable and removable because such would have provided the predictable and expected advantage of enabling the end user to customize the button installed an/or replace broken/damaged buttons without having to purchase a new controller.
Claim 4: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device of claim 3, wherein
the body has an engagement portion that engages with each of the plurality of second control buttons (-secondary button- Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elms 16, 18 & - engagement portion- VTECH Figs 1 Elements 11, 10A),
in a state where the second control button is attached to the body, the engagement portion is arranged between the first control button and the second control button, and is in contact with the second control button (VTECH Figs 1 Elements 12, 11, 10A), and
the engagement portion moves between a lock position where the engagement portion is engaged with the second control button, and an unlock position positioned closer to the first control button than to the lock position (-Describing the rotation of 10A through a 180 degree arc- VTECH Abstract; Paragraphs [0001], [0013]-[0014], [0028]).
Galvin teaches the incorporation of a plurality of secondary buttons as cited above. While Galvin is silent regarding the incorporation of an engagement portion for supporting the secondary buttons and moves in an unlock position to closer to the first button, this feature as particularly claimed is taught by VTECH (-Describing the rotation of 10A through a 180 degree arc wherein during the transition it is closer to the first button as described- VTECH Abstract; Paragraphs [0001], [0013]-[0014], [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the movable engagement portion supporting a secondary input as particularly claimed and as taught by VTECH in the invention of Galvin because such would have provided the predictable and expected advantage of facilitating repositioning of attached input devices as taught by VTECH (VTECH Abstract; Paragraph [0016]) and/or improve user ergonomics.
Claim 5: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device of claim 4, wherein the body has a shaft member that rotates about an axis crossing an upward/downward direction and a direction toward a central portion of the body, and the engagement portion is formed on the shaft member (Understood as referencing the joint and/or portion joining the engagement member to the body VTECH Element 12; Figures 1-2, 4).
Claim 6: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of second control buttons have inclined surfaces extending below outer circumferential portions of the second control buttons and in a direction toward a central portion of the body (As modified).
Galvin teaches the invention as presented above and including the positioning of first and second buttons such that secondary control buttons placed along an outer edge of a first control button are placed at a different height than the first control button (Galvin Figure 1). While Galvin does not expressly teach positioning the buttons such that they have inclined surfaces extending below outer circumferential portions of the second control buttons and in a direction toward a central portion of the body, this arrangement is understood to represent mere obvious Changes in Shape and/or Rearrangement of Parts, as defined by MPEP 2144.04 Subsection IV.B & VI.C. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the inputs such that they have inclined surfaces extending below outer circumferential portions of the second control buttons and in a direction toward a central portion of the body in order to provide the predictable and expected result of improving the control device ergonomics and/or improve the ability of the use to locate the buttons when engaging the controller with their hand.
Claim 7: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device of claim 1, wherein the outer edge of the first control button includes a curved portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second control buttons includes an arc-like inner edge arranged along the curved portion of the outer edge of the first control button (VTECH Figure 1; Element 19 & 22).
While Galvin is silent regarding the incorporation the outer edge of the first control button includes a curved portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second control buttons includes an arc-like inner edge arranged along the curved portion of the outer edge of the first control button in an analogous invention VTECH teaches that this feature was known arrangement of buttons (VTECH Figure 1; Element 19 & 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the outer edge of the first control button includes a curved portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second control buttons includes an arc-like inner edge arranged along the curved portion of the outer edge of the first control button as taught by VTECH in the invention of Galvin in order to provide the expected and predictable advantage of increasing the amount of available button space in a radial arrangement of buttons and/or improve user ergonomics.
Claim 8: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device of claim 2, wherein the outer edge of the first control button includes a curved portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second control buttons includes an arc-like inner edge arranged along the curved portion of the outer edge of the first control button (VTECH Figure 1; Element 19 & 22).
While Galvin is silent regarding the incorporation the outer edge of the first control button includes a curved portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second control buttons includes an arc-like inner edge arranged along the curved portion of the outer edge of the first control button in an analogous invention VTECH teaches that this feature was known arrangement of buttons (VTECH Figure 1; Element 19 & 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the outer edge of the first control button includes a curved portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second control buttons includes an arc-like inner edge arranged along the curved portion of the outer edge of the first control button as taught by VTECH in the invention of Galvin in order to provide the expected and predictable advantage of increasing the amount of available button space in a radial arrangement of buttons and/or improve user ergonomics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 22nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Commencing on pages 4 and 6 of the above dated response the Applicant presents that the applied prior art Galvin while teaching the presentation of a first button palm pad, and additional secondary buttons arranged along an outer edge of the first button does not teach the placement of the secondary buttons such that they are not physically separate from the edges of the first button.
Responsive to the preceding, it is respectfully noted that placement of a second set of buttons along the edge of a first button as particularly claimed does not require that there is no physical separation between the first button and the second buttons (or that the buttons are present on the same plane) as argued but rather speaks the to placement of secondary buttons in an arrangement at or about an outer edge of the first button such as reflected by the arrangement of buttons in Galvin. Further in in the case where the claim was amended to this specifically argued arrangement wherein the secondary buttons are not physically separate from the first button and are coplanar with one another, such would represent the obvious changes in aesthetic design and/or mere rearrangement of part as defined in MPEP 21044.04 that would not in of itself be sufficient render the claimed invention non-obvious over the applied prior art.
In view of the preceding the rejection of claims is respectfully maintained as presented herein above.
Conclusion
The following prior art is made of record and though not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rak (US 20080048976) teaches an ergonomic cursor navigation controller for a handheld mobile communication device; and
Anderson (US 20020158845 ) teaches an adjustable, divided, convex keyboard.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ROBERT E. MOSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT E MOSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715