DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements entered on May 8th, 2024; August 13th, 2024; January 14th, 2025; April 16th, 2025; June 16th, 2025; July 22nd, 2025; and November 13th, 2025 have been considered. A copy of the cited statement(s) including the notation indicating its respective consideration is attached for the Applicant's records.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvin (US 5,045,842)
Claim 2: Galvin teaches an input device comprising:
a body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1);
a first control button attached to the body for placing a hand (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elm 14); and
a plurality of second control buttons arranged along an outer edge of the first control button and attached to the body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elms 16, 18), wherein
a top surface portion of each of the plurality of second control buttons is arranged above an extended line along a top surface portion of the first control button (As modified).
Galvin teaches the invention as presented above and including the positioning of first and second buttons such that secondary control buttons placed along an outer edge of a first control button are placed at a different height than the first control button (Galvin Figure 1). While Galvin does not expressly teach positioning the buttons such that a top surface portion of each of the plurality of second control buttons is arranged above an extended line along a top surface portion of the first control button, this arrangement is understood to represent mere obvious Changes in Shape and/or Rearrangement of Parts, as defined by MPEP 2144.04 Subsection IV.B & VI.C. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effect filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the inputs such that a top surface portion of each of the plurality of second control buttons is arranged above an extended line along a top surface portion of the first control button in order to provide the predictable and expected result of improving the control device ergonomics and/or improve the ability of the use to locate the buttons when engaging the controller with their hand.
Claims 1, and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvin (US 5,045,842) in view of VTECH (CA 2460893).
Claim 1: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches an input device comprising:
a body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1);
a first control button having a top surface portion for placing a hand and attached to the body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elm 14); and
a plurality of second control buttons arranged along an outer edge of the first control button and attached to the body (Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elms 16, 18), wherein
the plurality of second control buttons have outer circumferential portions extending outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the body (-Noting the radiused curves present in both the sidewalls 28 and the buttons 16, 18 themselves- Galvin Abstract; Figures 1, 3; Elements 16, 28 & VTECH Figure 1; Element 15-18, 30).
While Galvin is arguably silent regarding the incorporation of buttons with outer circumferential portions specifically positioned such that they extend outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the body, in an analogous invention VTECH teaches the this feature was known (VTECH Figure 1; Element 15-18, 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned and shaped the buttons beyond a circumferential edge of a body as taught by VTECH in the invention of Galvin in order to provide the expected and predictable advantage of facilitating repositioning of attached input devices as taught by VTECH (VTECH Abstract; Paragraph [0016]) and/or improve user ergonomics.
Claim 3: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of second control buttons are attached to and removed from the body (-as modified below- Galvin Abstract; Figures 1, 2; Elements 16, 28 & VTECH Figs 1, 5).
Both the references of Galvin & VTECH teach the utilization of a controller with buttons attached thereto as cited above. While the combination doesn’t explicitly teach that the buttons and removed/removable from the body, the feature is understood to represent the obvious Making Separable, as defined by MPEP 2144.04 Subsection V.C. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the buttons of Galvin & VTECH removable because such would have provided the predictable and expected advantage of enabling the end user to customize an/or replace broken/damaged buttons without having to purchase a new controller.
Claim 4: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device according to claim 3, wherein
the body has an engagement portion engaged with each of the plurality of second control buttons (-secondary button- Galvin Abstract; Figure 1; Coil 6:51-59: Elms 16, 18 & - engagement portion- VTECH Figs 1 Elements 11, 10A),
in a state where the second control button is attached to the body, the engagement portion is arranged between the first control button and the second control button, and is in contact with the second control button (VTECH Figs 1 Elements 12, 11, 10A), and
the engagement portion moves between a lock position where the engagement portion is engaged with the second control button, and an unlock position positioned closer to the first control button than to the lock position (-Describing the rotation of 10A through a 180 degree arc- VTECH Abstract; Paragraphs [0001], [0013]-[0014], [0028]).
Galvin teaches the incorporation of a plurality of secondary buttons as cited above. While Galvin is silent regarding the incorporation of an engagement portion for supporting the secondary buttons and moves in an unlock position to closer to the first button, this feature as particularly claimed is taught by VTECH (-Describing the rotation of 10A through a 180 degree arc wherein during the transition it is closer to the first button as described- VTECH Abstract; Paragraphs [0001], [0013]-[0014], [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the movable engagement portion supporting a secondary input as particularly claimed and as taught by VTECH in the invention of Galvin because such would have provided the predictable and expected advantage of facilitating repositioning of attached input devices as taught by VTECH (VTECH Abstract; Paragraph [0016]) and/or improve user ergonomics.
Claim 5: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device according to claim 4, wherein the body has a shaft member that rotates about an axis crossing an upward/downward direction and a direction toward a central portion of the body, and the engagement portion is formed on the shaft member (Understood as referencing the joint and/or portion joining the engagement member to the body VTECH Element 12; Figures 1-2, 4).
Claim 6: The combination of Galvin & VTECH teaches the input device according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of second control buttons have inclined surfaces extending below outer circumferential portions of the second control buttons and in a direction toward a central portion of the body (As modified).
Galvin teaches the invention as presented above and including the positioning of first and second buttons such that secondary control buttons placed along an outer edge of a first control button are placed at a different height than the first control button (Galvin Figure 1). While Galvin does not expressly teach positioning the buttons such that they have inclined surfaces extending below outer circumferential portions of the second control buttons and in a direction toward a central portion of the body, this arrangement is understood to represent mere obvious Changes in Shape and/or Rearrangement of Parts, as defined by MPEP 2144.04 Subsection IV.B & VI.C. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the inputs such that they have inclined surfaces extending below outer circumferential portions of the second control buttons and in a direction toward a central portion of the body in order to provide the predictable and expected result of improving the control device ergonomics and/or improve the ability of the use to locate the buttons when engaging the controller with their hand.
Conclusion
ROBERT E. MOSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT E MOSSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715