DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Torigoe (JP2002213840A).
Regarding claim 1, Torigoe discloses a heat exchanger (see Fig. 8-9, 14-16) comprising: a tank (tank portions 7 & 9) having a depressed portion (connecting portion 29) formed by bending a widthwise center portion concavely inward in a longitudinal direction, and partition walls (see walls of 7 & 9 adjacent 29) disposed to be spaced apart from each other with the depressed portion interposed therebetween; and a header (portion 13) coupled to the tank and having a plurality of compartments separated in a width direction by the partition walls, and tube insertion holes (holes 14) into which tubes (tubes 2,3) are inserted, wherein the tank has a contact portion (see contacting portions surrounding openings 26a & 27a) where the partition walls are in contact with each other in the width direction in at least a partial region in the longitudinal direction, and the tank includes a communication hole (hole through 26a & 27a) formed through the partition walls in the width direction at the contact portion to allow the plurality of compartments to communicate with one another.
Regarding claim 2, Torigoe discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe further discloses the tank further comprises a connection portion (see portion between two adjacent openings 26a/27a, Fig. 8) configured to connect the contact portion and the partition walls spaced apart from each other with the depressed portion interposed therebetween, and wherein the connection portion is formed such that an interval between the partition walls spaced apart from each other gradually decreases in a direction from the partition walls, which are spaced apart from each other, toward the contact portion.
Regarding claim 4, Torigoe discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe further discloses the header and the tank comprise through-holes (passages 25) formed through the depressed portion and a portion of the header facing the depressed portion so that an external space of the header and a concave space of the depressed portion of the tank communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Torigoe discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe further discloses the header has a concave portion (connecting portion 20) formed concavely inward in a longitudinal direction of a widthwise center portion, and the concave portion of the header is in contact with and corresponds to the depressed portion (29) of the tank.
Regarding claim 6, Torigoe discloses the limitations of claim 5, and Torigoe further discloses the header and the tank comprise through-holes (passages 25) formed through the concave portion and the depressed portion so that a concave space of the concave portion of the header and a concave space of the depressed portion of the tank communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 12, Torigoe discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe further discloses a baffle (partition plate 11 or 12) interposed between the header and the tank and configured to separate the plurality of compartments, which are internal spaces, in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 13, Torigoe discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe further discloses the contact portion (as detailed above) where the partition walls are in contact with each other in the width direction is sealed as surfaces, which are in contact with each other while facing each other, are joined (via brazing – Page 6).
Regarding claim 14, Torigoe further discloses a heat exchanger (see Fig. 1, 8-9, 14-16) comprising: a first header tank (7 & 9) having two rows formed by dividing an internal space into first and second compartments by coupling the header and the tank according to any one of claims claim 1; a second header tank (8 & 10) disposed to be spaced apart from the first header tank and having two rows formed by dividing an internal space in the width direction; a plurality of tubes (2 & 3) each having two opposite ends connected and fixed to the first header tank and the second header tank; and heat radiating fins (23) interposed between the tubes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torigoe (JP2002213840A) in view of Torigoe (JP2001050686A), hereinafter Torigoe2.
Regarding claim 3, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe does not teach a height of the contact portion of the tank is a height from a lower end of the depressed portion to a portion that excludes a round portion where a flat portion of an upper end of the tank is connected to the contact portion.
Torigoe2 teaches (see Fig. 3) a height of the contact portion (21 & 22) of the tank is a height from a lower end of the depressed portion to a portion that excludes a round portion where a flat portion of an upper end of the tank (9,11) is connected to the contact portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the contact portion configuration of Torigoe2, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe does not teach the communication hole formed in the partition wall of the tank has a shape surrounded by the partition wall in all directions.
Torigoe2 teaches (see Fig. 11) the communication hole (26) formed in the partition wall of the tank has a shape surrounded by the partition wall (portion of 21 & 22) in all directions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the communication hole of Torigoe2, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torigoe (JP2002213840A) in view of Makihara (JP2003214794A).
Regarding claim 7, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Torigoe does not teach wherein a first fixing portion protrudes toward the tank from a periphery of the through-hole formed in the concave portion of the header, and the first fixing portion of the header passes through the through-hole formed in the depressed portion of the tank and is bent in the longitudinal direction such that the concave portion of the header and the depressed portion of the tank are tightly attached to each other.
Makihara teaches (see Fig. 7) a first fixing portion (31f) protrudes toward the tank from a periphery of the through-hole formed in the concave portion of the header, and the first fixing portion of the header passes through the through-hole formed in the depressed portion of the tank and is bent in the longitudinal direction such that the concave portion of the header and the depressed portion of the tank are tightly attached to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the fixing portion of Makihara, in order to securely braze the assembly (Page 6).
Regarding claim 8, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe does not teach a second fixing portion extends from any one of the partition walls of the tank toward the inside of the communication hole, and the second fixing portion passes through the communication hole and is bent toward the other partition wall to surround the other partition wall such that the partition walls are tightly attached to each other in the width direction in which the partition walls face each other.
Makihara teaches a second fixing portion (31f, Fig. 7) extends from any one of a wall toward the inside of the communication hole, and the second fixing portion passes through the communication hole and is bent toward the other wall to surround the other partition wall such that the partition walls are tightly attached to each other in the width direction in which the walls face each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the fixing portion of Makihara to the communication holes of Torigoe, in order to securely braze the assembly (Page 6).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torigoe (JP2002213840A) in view of Lim (KR20090045852A).
Regarding claim 9, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe does not teach any one of the communication holes formed in the partition walls of the tank is formed to be smaller in size than the other communication hole, and a caulking portion passes from any one communication hole to the other communication hole among the communication holes and is bent to the outside of the communication hole, such that the partition walls are tightly attached to each other in the width direction in which the partition walls face each other.
Lim teaches any one of the communication holes (see sizes of 131 & 132 Fig. 8a/8b) formed in the partition walls of the tank is formed to be smaller in size than the other communication hole, and a caulking portion (surrounding portion thereof) passes from any one communication hole to the other communication hole among the communication holes and is bent to the outside of the communication hole, such that the partition walls are tightly attached to each other in the width direction in which the partition walls face each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the different size holes of Lim, in order to improve the brazing properties (Page 4).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torigoe (JP2002213840A) in view of Hirayama (US20140020425A1).
Regarding claim 11, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Torigoe does not teach the communication hole formed in the partition wall of the tank is surrounded by the partition wall in three direction and opened at one side adjacent to the header.
Hirayama teaches (see Fig. 3-4) the communication hole (34) formed in the partition wall of the tank (wall of 33) is surrounded by the partition wall in three direction and opened at one side adjacent to the header (26/27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the communication hole of Hirayama, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torigoe (JP2002213840A) in view of Nagasawa (EP1065453A2).
Regarding claim 15, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 14, and Torigoe further teaches (Fig. 9) an inlet port (5) for a heat exchange medium, which communicates with the first compartment, is formed in a first row (7) of the first header tank, a discharge port (6), which communicates with the second compartment, is formed in a second row (9) of the first header tank, the first and second compartments, which are the internal spaces of the first header tank, are separated in longitudinal direction by a baffle (11/12) interposed between the header and the tank.
Torigoe does not teach a first throttle, which decreases a cross-sectional area of the internal space, is formed in a first row of the second header tank at one longitudinal side based on the baffle, and a second throttle, which decreases a cross-sectional area of the internal space, is formed in a second row of the second header tank at the other longitudinal side based on the baffle.
Nagasawa teaches (see Fig. 1) a first throttle (51a/52a), which decreases a cross-sectional area of the internal space, is formed in a first row (right row of 30) of the second header tank at one longitudinal side based on the baffle (14/15), and a second throttle (52a/53a), which decreases a cross-sectional area of the internal space, is formed in a second row (left row of 30) of the second header tank at the other longitudinal side based on the baffle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Torigoe to include the throttles of Nagasawa, in order to improve distribution (¶[0053]).
Regarding claim 16, Torigoe teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Torigoe further teaches wherein flow paths (see respective flow paths denoted by arrows and circled numbers 1-9 through 7-10) for the heat exchange medium, through which the heat exchange medium introduced through the inlet port of the first header tank is discharged to the discharge port of the first header tank, comprise: a first path through which the heat exchange medium flows from the first row of the first header tank to the first row of the second header tank; a second path through which the heat exchange medium having passed through the first path flows from the first row of the second header tank to the first row of the first header tank; a third path through which the heat exchange medium having passed through the second path flows from the second row of the first header tank to the second row of the second header tank while passing through the communication hole that connects the first and second rows of the first header tank; and a fourth path through which the heat exchange medium having passed through the third path flows from the second row of the second header tank to the second row of the first header tank.
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763