DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The specification para [0016] is utilized to interpret “living” hinge where it is understood that a hinge that has a flexible structure, meets the requirement of “living”. rCHDM is interpreted to be recycled CHDM.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salazar Hernandez et al. US2020/0079900 A1 and further in view of Bashir et al. WO2021048336A1.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 4, Salazar Hernandez discloses (reference claim 8) a polyester resin composition with 90 to 100 mol% terephthalic acid and 90 to 100 mol% ethylene glycol, such that total mol% of each acid and glycol residues are 100 mole%, with inherent viscosity 0.70 to 0.85 dl/g (see para [0068]), which read on the claimed polyester. Salazar Hernandez teaches (para [0076]) the polyester Tm of greater than 240 oC, overlapping the claimed requirement.
Salazar Hernandez discloses injection molded articles (para [0096]) but is silent on the creation of a reclosable lid with a living hinge. Salazar Hernandez adds that the invention may be embodied in other specific forms by skilled in the art (para [0158]). Analogous reference Bashir teaches hinged container cap which can be opened and closed for a long period of time (page 3, lines 21-25) which is derived from a polyester such as polyethylene terephthalate (reference claim 2, page 21). Bashir provides Fig. 2, 3, 4A and 4B with a flexible hinge structure 21 (and groove 22), which meets the requirement of the living hinge. Advantageously, Bashir provides the motivation to generate the hinged cap from the polyester, so that both the cap and the container are made of the same polyester material which leads to easier recycling, and also results in a see-through cap (page 4, lines 27-32; page 8, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have created an injection molded reclosable lid with a living hinge from the polyester of Salazar Hernandez, as taught by Bashir to make the recycling process easier for both the container and the cap.
Regarding claim 2, Bashir teaches (page 23, claim 12) hinged container cap to be transparent, meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claim 5, Salazar Hernandez (reference claim 8) teaches incorporation of 1 to 3 mol% cyclohexanedimethanol residues, meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claims 6-7, Salazar Hernandez and Bashir are silent on the strength of the living hinge, however due to closeness of the disclosed monomers, and the intrinsic viscosity of the polymer, it would necessarily follow that the hinge provided by the combination of Salazar Hernandez and Bashir would possess the strength values as defined by the claims.
Regarding claim 8, Salazar Hernandez (reference claim 8) teaches inherent viscosity 0.70 to 0.85 dl/g, overlapping the claimed requirement. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, Bashir teaches (page 8, line 26), inclusion of recycled PET in the polyester composition, meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claim 10, as discussed when addressing claim 1, Salazar Hernandez discloses ethylene glycol. Since the claimed recycled EG(rEG) is chemically indistinguishable from EG, Salaza Hernandez’s disclosure of EG meets the claimed rEG. Applicant is reminded that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113. In the instant case the recycling of EG does not differentiate it chemically from a virgin or unrecycled EG.
Regarding claim 11, since the requirement of CHDM is optional in claim 1, the absence of CHDM in PET, meets the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 12 and 18, as discussed when addressing claim 1, Salazar Hernandez in view of Bashir, renders the claimed injection molded, reclosable lid with a living hinge, derived from PET which can be recycled, obvious. Salazar Hernandez discloses the required polyester with the required inherent viscosity.
Salazar Hernandez teaches (para [0074]) Tg of the PET to be 81 oC and a haze of less than 15% (para [0079]), reading on the claimed requirements. Salazar Hernandez provides Tm of at least 240 oC (para [0076]), overlapping the claimed requirement. Bashir teaches (page 23, claim 12) hinged container cap to be transparent, meeting the claimed requirement. A lid material derived from PET, would be recyclable in a PET stream.
Salazar Hernandez and Bashir are silent on the average lid thickness, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have optimized the lid thickness to the required range in order to decrease the amount of material utilized for the lid, both for minimizing cost and weight and for reducing the future environmental burden.
Regarding claim 13, Salazar Hernandez and Bashir are silent on the strength of the living hinge, however due to closeness of the disclosed monomers, and the intrinsic viscosity of the polymer, it would necessarily follow that the hinge provided by the combination of Salazar Hernandez and Bashir would possess the strength value as defined by the claim.
Regarding claim 14, Salazar Hernandez (reference claim 8) teaches inherent viscosity 0.70 to 0.85 dl/g, overlapping the claimed requirement. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 15, Bashir teaches (page 8, line 26), inclusion of recycled PET in the polyester composition, meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claim 16, as discussed when addressing claims 1 and 12, Salazar Hernandez discloses ethylene glycol. Since the claimed recycled EG(rEG) is chemically indistinguishable from EG, Salaza Hernandez’s disclosure of EG meets the claimed rEG. Applicant is reminded that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113. In the instant case the recycling of EG does not differentiate it chemically from a virgin or unrecycled EG.
Regarding claim 17, since the requirement of CHDM is optional in claim 12, the absence of CHDM in PET, meets the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 19, Salazar Hernandez (reference claim 8) teaches incorporation of 1 to 3 mol% cyclohexanedimethanol residues, meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claim 20, Salazar Hernandez teaches (para [0009]) incorporation of 1-10 wt% isophthalic acid to change the crystallization temperature of PET. Since the molecular weight of both terephthalic acid and isophthalic acid are the same, this would lead to 1-10 mol% of isophthalic acid when the acid residues are derived from terephthalic and isophthalic acid, which overlaps the claimed requirement. In the instant case, in the absence of showing of the criticality of the claimed range and owing to the closeness of the disclosed polyester materials, the overlapping range of the prior art is sufficient to support an obviousness rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6 and 8-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12623420 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach the same reclosable lid with a living hinge derived from identical polyester composition.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 6-8 and 12-19 of copending Application No. 18/708,376 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach the same reclosable lid with a living hinge derived from identical polyester composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9-11 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/708,370 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach the same reclosable lid with a living hinge which is recyclable and is derived from identical polyester compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/S.M.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765