DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 12-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY on 11/11/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024 and 06/27/2024 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claims 12,14-17 and 19-21 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12,14-17 and 19-21 recite instances of “the determined radar pulse pattern” where each instance should recite “the superimposed determined radar pulse pattern” for consistency.
Claim 20 includes a typo of “thje” in the limitation, “and a device, including a control unit, for thje rail vehicle”. This should recite “the”.
Claims 12 and 21 recite the limitation, “based an a radar detection”. This limitation should recite “based on a radar detection”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the radar sensor" in "and detecting an approaching object when a superimposed determined radar pulse pattern is received in a radar detection with the radar sensor in normal mode". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 12 introduces multiple radar sensors. The same rejection applies to claims 16-17 and 21.
The term “in normal operation” in claims 12 and 19-21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal operation” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear whether “in normal operation” refers to the “normal mode” or some other operation.
Claims 15-17 recite the limitation “cooperation mode”. It is unclear what is meant by “cooperation mode” as it is not a term of art. Referring back to the disclosure, the disclosure states “Cooperation mode can be a passive operating mode” and further states, “However, in cooperation mode, the radar sensor is operated in such a way that it outputs a determined radar pulse pattern.”. Therefore, it is unclear what defines the scope of “cooperation mode”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation, “wherein a signal is given” in “wherein a signal is given when an approaching object is detected and there is a risk of collision”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what is meant by “a signal is given”.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "can be" in “at least two radar sensors which can be arranged at two vehicle ends of a rail vehicle” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
All claims dependent on a claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner would like to point out that method claims 12 and 18 include the contingent limitations of “and detecting an approaching object when a superimposed determined radar pulse pattern is received in a radar detection with the radar sensor in normal mode” (claim 12) and “wherein a signal is given when an approaching object is detected and there is a risk of collision” (claim 18). Regarding claim 12, the feature of “detecting an approaching object” is contingent on the step of “when a superimposed determined radar pulse pattern is received in a radar detection with the radar sensor in normal mode”. Regarding claim 18, the feature of “a signal is given” is contingent on the step of “when an approaching object is detected and there is a risk of collision”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of these method claims, the recited features which are contingent do not need to be performed to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation of method claims 12 and 18. Therefore, this method claim is being interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation where steps of “detecting an approaching object” (for claim 12) and “a signal is given” (for claim 18) are performed. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Continent Limitations).
For purposes of examination, a prior art rejection for these claims has been provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-14,16 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farhoud et al. (US 10656242 B2), hereinafter Farhoud.
Regarding claim 12, Farhoud discloses
A method for operating a rail vehicle with radar sensors arranged at both vehicle ends (see Fig. 7 vehicle 100 has radar sensors arranged on both vehicle ends, further see Col. 6, lines 22-28, “The vehicles are each equipped with front radar sensors 106 and rear radar sensors 107, and emit radar beams or radar signals at the front and rear in the form of output signals. There are two radar sensors 106 disposed at the front corners of the vehicle for the front system, and two other radar sensors 107 disposed at the rear corners of the vehicle for the rear system.”; NOTE: “for operating a rail vehicle” is simply intended use where the method can be implemented on a vehicle which is configured in a way to carry out the method steps), the method comprising the following steps:
carrying out an object detection of upcoming obstacles and objects by operating a radar sensor in a direction of travel in normal mode, in which an obstacle detection of approaching objects ahead in a roadway is carried out based an a radar detection (see Col. 3, lines 35-53, “FIG. 2 shows a schematic depiction of a radar sensor 10, having a transmitting antenna 11 and two receiving antennas 12, 13. The reflected, received signal 14, 15 is mixed in the receivers 17 with the outgoing signal 16 of the transmitter 18, and transformed in terms of the frequency range. This signal 21 is mixed in an HF element 19 and transferred to the digital signal processor 20 for further evaluation. The digital signal processor 20 transmits control signals 22 for controlling the radar sensor to the HF element. The radar sensor 10 thus has a signal generating device thereby, which includes the transmitter 16, the HF element 19 and the signal processor 20. The radar sensor also includes a signal receiving device thereby, which includes the receiver 17, the HF element 19 and the signal processor 20. The received signal 14, 15 represents a superimposing of reflections of relevant targets thereby, but also reflections of undesired targets, which are also referred to in radar technology as clutter, so-called disruption echoes caused by reflections of the ground, shoulder construction and rain.”); and
detecting an approaching object when a superimposed determined radar pulse pattern is received in a radar detection with the radar sensor in normal mode (col. 3, lines 49-57, “The received signal 14, 15 represents a superimposing of reflections of relevant targets thereby, but also reflections of undesired targets, which are also referred to in radar technology as clutter, so-called disruption echoes caused by reflections of the ground, shoulder construction and rain. The OS-CFAR method (Ordered Statistic-Constant False Alarm Rate) is used for detecting the relevant target. After detection, there is a base frequency signal for a relevant target, the frequency of which is obtained from the distance to the target and its relative speed.”) wherein the determined radar pulse pattern corresponds to a radar pulse pattern that deviates from a radar transmission signal in normal operation (Col. 4, lines 9-29, “FIGS. 3 and 4 show a signal curve 30 with a disruption. FIG. 3 shows an up-chirp in the frequency/time diagram, which is intersected by a CW disrupter. The CW disrupter results in a pulse-like increase 31 in the amplitude of the time signal in the region of the intersection of both signals, see FIG. 4. This increase 31, which can also extend over numerous measurement points, causes a broadband increase in the noise in the frequency range.”).
Regarding claim 13, Farhoud further discloses
The method according to claim 12, wherein a radar signal is transmitted in normal mode in accordance with an FMCW operation with a frequency ramp and a correspondingly received radar signal is evaluated in order to ascertain a distance, a speed, and a direction of movement of objects present in the detection range (see Col. 3, lines 49-62, “The received signal 14, 15 represents a superimposing of reflections of relevant targets thereby, but also reflections of undesired targets, which are also referred to in radar technology as clutter, so-called disruption echoes caused by reflections of the ground, shoulder construction and rain. The OS-CFAR method (Ordered Statistic-Constant False Alarm Rate) is used for detecting the relevant target. After detection, there is a base frequency signal for a relevant target, the frequency of which is obtained from the distance to the target and its relative speed. With a Doppler-chirp, the frequency is only dependent on the relative speed. The phase difference between the spectral components in the base band between two respective ramps is likewise obtained from the distance to and the relative speed of the relevant target.”, where two respective ramps indicates an FMCW operation where the ramp corresponds to distance and relative speed of the relevant targets).
Regarding claim 14, Farhoud further discloses
The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined radar pulse pattern corresponds to a periodic radar signal of constant frequency (see Fig. 1, where the determined radar pulse pattern corresponds to a periodic radar signal of constant frequency, further see Col. 3, lines 14-34, “FIG. 1 shows a diagram 1 illustrating an outgoing signal composed of a series of individual signals. The diagram shows the frequency f(t) of the outgoing signal as a function of time t. The individual signals f.sub.0.sup.A, f.sub.0.sup.B, f.sub.0.sup.C, f.sub.1.sup.A, f.sub.1.sup.B, f.sub.1.sup.C, etc. form a series that is emitted as an outgoing signal. If the radar sensor is operated with the so-called LFMSK transmission method (Linear Frequency Modulated Shift Keying), three nested individual signals A, B, C are emitted. A constant frequency is emitted thereby for a time period of ca. 25 μs (burst) in each case, which is then linearly modified for each of the three individual signals. It can be seen thereby that the frequencies of the signals f.sub.0.sup.A, f.sub.0.sup.B, f.sub.0.sup.C increase, wherein the frequencies again increase in the next series of signals f.sub.1.sup.A, f.sub.1.sup.B, f.sub.1.sup.C, wherein the frequency f.sub.1.sup.A is greater than the frequency f.sub.0.sup.A.”).
Regarding claim 16, Farhoud further discloses
The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined radar pulse pattern corresponds to a radar signal with variable period and/or variable frequency, wherein the variable period and/or the variable frequency is set according to a measurement of distance and/or speed and/or direction of travel of an object present in a detection range by the radar sensor operating in cooperation mode (see Col. 4, lines 9-29, “FIGS. 3 and 4 show a signal curve 30 with a disruption. FIG. 3 shows an up-chirp in the frequency/time diagram, which is intersected by a CW disrupter. The CW disrupter results in a pulse-like increase 31 in the amplitude of the time signal in the region of the intersection of both signals, see FIG. 4. This increase 31, which can also extend over numerous measurement points, causes a broadband increase in the noise in the frequency range. Reflections from relevant targets are masked as a result, and can no longer be detected in the series…The CW disruption is an example of a disruption thereby. Other disruptions can also occur. More complex disruptions may be caused, for example, by LFMCW (Linear Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave) and FCSM (Fast Chirp Sequence Modulation). With these disruptions, numerous intersections occur in the frequency curve between the outgoing signal of the victim and the disrupting signal. As a result, disruptions in the form of an amplitude increase may be received in numerous time windows, which increase the noise level such that a detection of relevant targets without correcting the receive signal becomes difficult.”).
Regarding claim 19, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 20, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 21, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farhoud et al. (US 10656242 B2) in view of KOK et al. (DE 102019008530 A1), hereinafter KOK, where citations are corresponding to provided English translation copy.
Regarding claim 15, Farhoud discloses [Note: what Farhoud fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 12,
KOK discloses,
wherein the determined radar pulse pattern is transmitted by a further radar sensor in a cooperation mode at a rear vehicle end of the rail vehicle with respect to the direction of travel (see paragraph 0018, “Two vehicles 2, each equipped with a radar system 3, are shown, with the first vehicle 2.1 being in motion and its radar system 3.1 operating in the first radar mode. The second vehicle 2.2 is located in the direction of travel F of the first vehicle 2.1 in front of the first vehicle 2.1 . The vehicle 2.2 travels slowly or is completely stationary, with its radar 3.2 operating in a second operating mode. The part of the radar 3.2 installed at the rear of the vehicle 2.2 is operated as a transponder 9 and emits microwaves 5 into the environment. These are received and evaluated by vehicle 2.1 using radar 3.1. This allows the radar 3.1 of vehicle 2.1 to have the information that another vehicle 2.2 is further ahead on its route, despite the stationary or slow-moving, and therefore difficult to detect, vehicle 2.2.”, where the transponder 9 emits the microwaves 5 according to a trigger of an approaching target which switches the mode to a secondary mode (i.e. transponder emitting microwaves 5)).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by KOK into the invention of Farhoud. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose radar systems mounted on vehicles and used for collision avoidance. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to notify other vehicles of objects ahead and thereby create a more efficient collision avoidance system.
Regarding claim 18, Farhoud discloses [Note: what Farhoud fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 12,
KOK discloses,
wherein a signal is given when an approaching object is detected and there is a risk of collision (see paragraph 0021, “Trigger criterion 4 includes at least one of the following criteria: The vehicle 2.2 is moving at a speed below a specified limit speed or is stationary; the vehicle's hazard warning lights are activated; an SOS warning system provides a warning signal; and/or an emergency or assistance system intervenes. The speed limit is adjusted to the driving situation”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by KOK into the invention of Farhoud. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose radar systems mounted on vehicles and used for collision avoidance. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order warn users and vehicles of objects ahead and thereby create a more efficient collision avoidance system.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be potentially allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Examiner, Art Unit 3648