DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US20090136840A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses “a power storage device (Kim, [0012]) comprising: a case (Kim, Fig.1A, 10) including a cylindrical tube part having an opening end portion at one end thereof (Bottom of element 10 in Fig.1A of Kim) , and a bottom part closing another end of the tube part (Top of element 10 in Fig.1A of Kim); a power storage element (Kim, Fig.1A, 20) disposed in the case and including a pair of electrodes (Kim, Fig.1A, 21, 23); a band-shaped lead (Kim, Fig.1A, 27) connected to one electrode of the pair of electrodes; and a sealing member (Kim, Fig.1A, 30, 40) sealing the opening end portion of the case, wherein the sealing member includes an insulating gasket (Kim, Fig.1A, 30) and a conductive sealing plate (Kim, Fig.1A, 50), the gasket includes a compression part interposed between the tube part and the sealing plate, and a base part (Bottom parts of gasket inside can and pointed towards electrode) disposed between the sealing plate and the power storage element, the sealing plate includes a displacement part (Middle of element 50 in Fig.1A of Kim), and an outer circumferential part provided around the displacement part and held by the compression part, the displacement part of the sealing plate and the lead are electrically connected to each other (See part circled and labeled A in Fig.1A of Kim), the displacement part is configured to be displaced in a direction away from the lead in response to an increase in an internal pressure of the case, thereby electrically disconnecting the displacement part and the lead from each other, and the power storage device further comprises displacement suppressing means (Kim, Fig.1B) disposed in the case and configured to suppress displacement of the lead when the displacement part is displaced in the direction away from the lead (Kim, [0048])”.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses “the power storage device according to claim 1, wherein the base part has a through hole (Gap between the separate sides of element 30 in Fig.1A of Kim) formed therein, the lead includes a connection region in which at least one bent part is formed as the displacement suppressing means at at least one end of the lead in a width direction of the lead (Kim, Fig.1B, 27c), and the displacement part of the sealing plate and the connection region of the lead are connected to each other via the through hole”.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses “the power storage device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one bent part has a fold extending along a longitudinal direction of the lead” (Kim, Fig.1B, 27b).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses “the power storage device according to claim 2, wherein the at least on bent part has a fold inclined relative to a longitudinal direction of the lead” (Kim, Fig.4A).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses “the power storage device according to any one of claims 2 to 4, wherein the at least one bent part includes two bent parts, one of the bent parts is disposed at one end of the lead in the width direction, and the other bent part is disposed at another end of the lead in the width direction” (Kim, Fig.1B).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses “the power storage device according to any one of claims 2 to 5, wherein one end portion and another end portion of the connection region each overlap the outer circumferential part of the sealing plate as viewed from an axial direction of the case, and the base part of the gasket is sandwiched between the one end portion of the connection region and the outer circumferential part, and between the other end portion of the connection region and the outer circumferential part” (See annotated Kim Fig.1A below, outer circumferential part of the sealing plate labeled A and end portions of connection region labeled B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20090136840A1) in view of Enomoto et al (WO2019026526A1, hereinafter Enomoto, using US20210119299A1 as a translation).
Regarding claim 7, Kim does not disclose the displacement means as a reinforcing member for the base part and that the base part covers part of the principal surface of the reinforcing member on the battery side and with at least one opening. However, Enomoto discloses a cylindrical battery with an opening sealing body that seals the opening of the battery can and that this sealing body may be used to provide a highly reliable cylindrical battery in which the current cutoff mechanism operates stably (Enomoto, [0008]). Enomoto also discloses the opening sealing body including an insulating member which is produced integrally with a metal plate, where the insulating member can be on either the valve side or inner side of the metal plate (Enomoto, [0024]). Enomoto additionally discloses the metal plate being exposed at some portions on the inner side (Enomoto, [0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the cap assembly of Kim with the opening sealing body of Enomoto to provide a more reliable cylindrical battery where the cutoff mechanism operates stably because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the result of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Regarding claim 8, Enomoto discloses a metal plate, where increased internal battery pressure causes the connection portion between the metal plate and the valve member to be broken (Enomoto, [0057]). Enomoto discloses a first connection portion between the metal plate and valve member (Enomoto, [0057]), and a second connection between the positive electrode lead and the metal plate (Enomoto, [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Enomoto discloses two connections on the metal plate; one connection at the thin-walled portion at its central portion (Enomoto, [0035], Fig.5), and the other inside the holes on the metal plate which are spaced outward radially on the metal plate (Enomoto, [0048], Fig.5).
Regarding claim 10, Enomoto discloses an annular insulating section covering a peripheral portion of the metal plate (Enomoto, [0047]-[0048], Fig.5), this annular insulating section leaving exposed both the thin-walled central portion and a part of the holes on the metal plate (Enomoto, Fig.5).
Regarding claim 12, Enomoto discloses a section of the insulting member (Enomoto, P3) that covers at least part of the surface of the metal plate on the inner portion (Enomoto, [0050]) and protrudes toward the power storage side relative to a nonoverlapping section (Enomoto, Fig.6, P3 and P4).
Regarding claim 13, Enomoto discloses a portion of the insulating member covering the metal plate on the valve member side (Enomoto, [0039], Fig.3, P1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20090136840A1) in view of Enomoto et al (WO2019026526A1, hereinafter Enomoto, using US20210119299A1 as a translation) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Coakley et al (US20160073506A1, hereinafter Coakley).
Regarding claim 11, Neither Kim nor Enomoto disclose multiple holes in the insulating member to allow for connections. Coakley discloses a connection to a battery facing surface of a conductor through an opening in an insulating layer (Coakley, [0136]). Coakley discloses that there might be multiple insulating layer openings aligned with battery terminals (Coakley, [0137]), where one conductor might make connections through separate openings (Coakley, [0138]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the insulating member of Enomoto with the insulating layer of Coakley to retain insulation over intervening conductor surface while preserving access at the required connection sites because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the result of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA P BISTANY-RIEBMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752