DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of WO21/195024 and US2005/0191310.
The claims of the present application are drawn to compositions comprising the compound of formula I and cyclodextrin. Dependent claims provide the compound is TQL-1055 (claim 2) and wherein the cyclodextrin is various common cyclodextrins such as α, β, or γCD. The claims also provide formula I is a potassium salt and where the composition further comprises an antigen such as one associated with a bacteria or virus and where the virus is SARS-CoV-2 or Varicella Zoster. The compositions are taught to be pH stable for at least 12, 24, or 36 months, and to have a pH between approximately 7-8. Also claimed are methods of conferring resistance to an infection with the same.
‘024 teaches to make formulations of the same compound of formula I and suggests incorporating cyclodextrin therein – see for example claims 1, 16, and 19 therein. ‘024 also teaches their compositions have a pH of between approximately 7-8, and also 7-7.5, 7.5-8, and 7.4 (see page 55, lines 4-16). The formulations are taught to optionally comprise the potassium salts of the compounds (see page 49, line 31). The compositions are taught to optionally include antigens and be administered to induce a response to an antigen (see page 53, lines 20-32). Regarding the limitations of the composition being stable after certain periods of time – this would be seen to be met upon the making of the obvious compositions as it is a result of the compositions ingredients. What is not exemplified is the actual cyclodextrin containing composition.
‘310 discloses saponin (QS-21) compositions comprising cyclodextrins, preferably hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin which is taught to reduce QS-21 (the saponin therein) lysis in red blood cels in vitro (see [0029]). Table 1 therein discloses the use of various cyclodextrins in their saponin containing adjuvant compositions. ‘310 teaches their compositions can enhance the immune response to any antigen and provide various antigens to be used with their compositions including viral antigens (see [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to make the compositions claimed with ‘024 and ‘310 before them since they both suggest the same. ‘310 teaches various cyclodextrin adjuvant systems for saponins, and ‘024 teaches the saponins claimed herein, and also suggest adding cyclodextrin thereto. The art teaches the same compounds herein can be used in adjuvant systems for inducing a response in a subject and suggest adding cyclodextrin thereto. For example, claim 19 of ‘024 is drawn to the species of claim 2 herein together with an additional agent wherein cyclodextrin is one of 12 agents to chose from to be added to the composition. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to add any of the 12 recited agents, including cyclodextrin as required herein, and would especially be motivated to use cyclodextrin in view of the beneficial effects taught by ‘310. Further, it would have been obvious to add various antigens, such as those from SARS-CoV-2 or Varicella Zoster in an effort to induce an immune response in patients having these diseases as both references teach various types of antigens can be utilized. Likewise, all of the different cyclodextrins are seen to be obvious variants as there is nothing in the present application which shows a criticality or anything unexpected from one cyclodextrin to another, thus it would be obvious to use various art known cyclodextrins in the compositions of ‘024.
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693