DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a point cloud data acquisition unit that has a preset detection range and acquires point cloud data that . . .”; and “a controller that acquires information on a reference monitoring area . . .” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of the four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. MPEP 2106. Three categories of subject matter are found to be judicially recognized exceptions to 35 U.S.C. § 101 (i.e. patent ineligible) (1) laws of nature, (2) physical phenomena, and (3) abstract ideas. MPEP 2106(II). To be patent-eligible, a claim directed to a judicial exception must as whole be directed to significantly more than the exception itself. See 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, 79 Fed. Reg. 74618, 74624 (Dec. 16, 2014). Hence, the claim must describe a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Id
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 1 is directed to a point cloud data acquisition unit that has a preset detection range and acquires point cloud data, and a controller that acquires information on a reference monitoring area that is an area set to include a work machine located within the detection range, identifies an operation range of the work machine as an excluded area based on the point cloud data, and excludes the excluded area from the reference monitoring area to set an actual monitoring area for the work machine, without additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, a point cloud data acquisition unit that has a preset detection range and acquires point cloud data, is referring to gathering data under insignificant Extra-solution activity e.g. pre-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and a controller that acquires information on a reference monitoring area that is an area set to include a work machine located within the detection range, identifies an operation range of the work machine as an excluded area based on the point cloud data, and excludes the excluded area from the reference monitoring area to set an actual monitoring area for the work machine, referring to mental process as abstract idea, by visually observing the gathered data, the concepts are performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). Therefore, claim 1, meets the requirement of the step 2A, prong one of the guidelines for including an abstract idea.
The claim is then considered under step 2A, prong two, for integrating the judicial exception into a practical application. Limitations that the courts have found indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application include:
• An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
• Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
• Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
• Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
• Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
The courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application:
• Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f);
• Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g); and
• Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Based on the above qualifying conditions, Examiner does not believe that the language of claim 1 includes any of the qualifying conditions above. Therefore claim 1 fails step 2A, prong two.
Additionally, claim 1 is considered under step 2B to include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Limitations that the courts have found to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
i. Improvements to the functioning of a computer, e.g., a modification of conventional Internet hyperlink protocol to dynamically produce a dual-source hybrid webpage, as discussed in DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258-59, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106-07 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (see MPEP § 2106.05(a));
ii. Improvements to any other technology or technical field, e.g., a modification of conventional rubber-molding processes to utilize a thermocouple inside the mold to constantly monitor the temperature and thus reduce under- and over-curing problems common in the art, as discussed in Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981) (see MPEP § 2106.05(a));
iii. Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, e.g., a Fourdrinier machine (which is understood in the art to have a specific structure comprising a headbox, a paper-making wire, and a series of rolls) that is arranged in a particular way to optimize the speed of the machine while maintaining quality of the formed paper web, as discussed in Eibel Process Co. v. Minn. & Ont. Paper Co., 261 U.S. 45, 64-65 (1923) (see MPEP § 2106.05(b));
iv. Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, e.g., a process that transforms raw, uncured synthetic rubber into precision-molded synthetic rubber products, as discussed in Diehr, 450 U.S. at 184, 209 USPQ at 21 (see MPEP § 2106.05(c));
v. Adding a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, e.g., a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of various computer components for filtering Internet content, as discussed in BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350-51, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1243 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); or
vi. Other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, e.g., an immunization step that integrates an abstract idea of data comparison into a specific process of immunizing that lowers the risk that immunized patients will later develop chronic immune-mediated diseases, as discussed in Classen Immunotherapies Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1066-68, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1499-1502 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(e)).
Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d));
iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or
iv. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-90, 198 USPQ 193, 197-98 (1978) (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Based on the above conditions, Examiner is unable to identify one or more claimed elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim language leaning over to non-qualifying condition i.e. “ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). Specifically, Para [0044] of Applicant’s published disclosure recites “the monitoring area 70 may be manually set”. Therefore, the setting of the areas does not seem to require a controller. Even so, the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. Hence the claim fails step 2B as well, and is not eligible under 101.
Regarding claim 2, reciting, the controller detects intrusion of an object into the actual monitoring area based on the point cloud data in the actual monitoring area, referring to mental process of abstract idea since a human by monitoring the area depicted on a display, as a device that is customary and ordinary device for displaying data, can observe the any object present or entering the area. Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
Regarding claim 4, reciting, wherein the controller is capable of identifying a plurality of different ones of the excluded areas according to a plurality of different operations of the work machine, and sets the excluded area according to current operation of the work machine, as referring to mental process of observing, analyzing and judging by setting the areas mentally as abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
Regarding claim 5, reciting, wherein the controller identifies a position of the work machine within the detection range, and sets the reference monitoring area according to a result of the identification to acquire information on the reference monitoring area, as referring to mental process of observing, analyzing, and judging therefore, the reference monitoring area according to a result of the identification mentally as abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12,243,403 B2 to Yoshizawa et al (hereinafter ‘Yoshizawa’).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizawa discloses a monitoring area setting system (Fig. 1 or 2) comprising: a point cloud data acquisition unit (Fig. 2, Processing unit 16b) that has a preset detection range and acquires point cloud data that is data indicating a distance from a predetermined reference point to a target object within the detection range (column 2, lines 52-57, wherein the safety monitoring device according to any one of (1) to (4), in which the moving body recognition analysis unit extracts point cloud data representing a moving body from three-dimensional data measured with a lidar, as the range and distance is inherently known from any point to the reference point i.e. the Lidar, which is the safety sensor, and creates a bounding box having a size necessary for surrounding the point cloud data); and a controller (Fig. 2, Control unit 11) that acquires information on a reference monitoring area that is an area set to include a work machine located within the detection range, (column 26, lines 1-6, wherein at a construction site, a manufacturing site, and the like, various management areas are assumed, such as an area, as the reference monitoring area, where a heavy machine (for example, a crane) works, an area where a work vehicle such as a forklift moves around, and an area where all moving bodies should not enter for vibration suppression, security, and the like), identifies an operation range of the work machine as an excluded area based on the point cloud data (column 3, lines 1-8, and Fig. 3, wherein the safety monitoring device according to (5), in which the moving body recognition analysis unit: identifies a large object larger than a person, inherently as in the work machine, by using any one or more or all of the five pieces of data including the width, the depth, and the height of the bounding box, and the height of the bottom surface and the height of the top surface of the bounding box, calculates, as a distance between the person and the large object, and detecting the exclusion area A62) and excludes the excluded area from the reference monitoring area to set an actual monitoring area for the work machine (column 9, lines 65 through column 10, line 6, wherein the safety monitoring device 10 does not issue a warning even when a moving body is sensed outside the alarm activation target area. A plurality of alarm activation target areas can be set. Setting of the alarm activation target area is valid only in the sensing target area, inherently monitoring area that is including the work machine area. Note that when the alarm activation target area is set to overlap the alarm activation exclusion area, inherently as excluded area from alarm monitoring, the alarm activation exclusion area is prioritized, and thus the safety monitoring device 10 does not issue a warning.). As much as Applicant may disagree with the Examiner’s assessment of Yoshizawa disclosing operation range of the work machine, Yoshizawa specifically disclose in column 3, lines 1-14, wherein the safety monitoring device according to (5), in which the moving body recognition analysis unit: identifies a large object larger than a person by using any one or more or all of the five pieces of data including the width, the depth, and the height of the bounding box, inherently as preset range of the object, and the height of the bottom surface and the height of the top surface of the bounding box, calculates, as a distance between the person and the large object, a distance obtained by subtracting a radius of a circumscribed circle of the bottom surface or the top surface of the bounding box of the person from a minimum value of a distance between a center of the bottom surface or the top surface of the bounding box of the person and each side of the bottom surface or the top surface of the bounding box of the large object, inherently as the operation range of the work machine). Therefore, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the operation range of the work machine and the bounding box of a person in order to determine the distance between the person and the large object (column 3, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshizawa discloses wherein the controller detects intrusion of an object into the actual monitoring area based on the point cloud data in the actual monitoring area (column 2, lines 52-64, wherein the safety monitoring device according to any one of (1) to (4), in which the moving body recognition analysis unit extracts point cloud data representing a moving body from three-dimensional data measured with a lidar, which is the safety sensor, and creates a bounding box having a size necessary for surrounding the point cloud data, determines a minimum value and a maximum value of each of five pieces of data including a width, a depth, and a height of the bounding box, and a height of a bottom surface and a height of a top surface of the bounding box, as a size of a person by using any one or more or all of the five pieces of data, and determines that the size of the moving body, inherently as the intruding object, is within a determined range as a determination condition of person).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshizawa discloses wherein the controller is capable of identifying a plurality of different ones of the excluded areas according to a plurality of different operations of the work machine, and sets the excluded area according to current operation of the work machine (column 10, lines 29-33, wherein although only one alarm activation exclusion area A62 is set in the example illustrated in FIG. 3, the area setting unit 12 can set a plurality of alarm activation exclusion areas for one sensing target area (measurement space)).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshizawa discloses wherein the controller identifies a position of the work machine within the detection range, and sets the reference monitoring area according to a result of the identification to acquire information on the reference monitoring area (column 3, lines 33-45, wherein the moving body recognition analysis unit changes an alarm level according to the distance between the person and the large object. The moving body recognition analysis unit calculates a speed of the moving body from a distance over which a center position of the bounding box has moved for a certain time. The safety monitoring device including: a video processing unit that superimposes a position of the moving body, inherently as either the moving person or the moving work machine, sensed by the safety sensor on video data).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art or the prior art of record specifically, Yoshizawa does not disclose:
. . . . wherein in a case where the work machine performs a series of operations including a plurality of operations, the controller identifies a range in which the operation range of each of the plurality of operations is superimposed as the excluded area, of claim 3 combined with other features and elements of the claim.
Contact Information
/SHERVIN K NAKHJAVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672