DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, it is unclear whether the “two or more electrodes” of the electrocardiogram measurement module and the “two or more electrode pads” of the electrical stimulation module can be the same electrodes or are required to be separate, distinct electrodes. In other words, it is unclear whether the electrocardiogram measurement module includes circuitry and two electrodes and the electrical stimulation module includes circuitry and two electrodes that may be the same electrodes as used in the electrocardiogram measurement module, or are required to be separate electrodes.
In regards to claim 9, it is unclear if or how the claim further limits the structure set forth in the apparatus claims. For instance, it is unclear whether this is a method step recited in an apparatus claim, an intended use drawn to electrodes and pads being capable of being placed in such a configuration if the user so chooses, whether the claim implies some sort of (unrecited) substrate to place the electrodes and pads in the recited configuration, or whether the claim somehow limits the control module’s functionality when the electrodes are placed in such a configuration.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Lapanashvili et al. (US 2007/0198064, hereinafter “Lapanashvili”).
In regards to claim 1, Lapanashvili discloses an electrocardiogram monitoring device (Figs. 2A and 4), comprising:
an electrocardiogram measurement module (Fig. 4, elements 28 and 30; par. 0070) including two or more electrodes (elements 30; par. 0070) for electrocardiogram measurement to measure electrocardiogram of a user at a predetermined electrocardiogram signal acquisition cycle (pars. 0070 and 0001; the cycle being R-R intervals);
an electrical stimulation module (Fig. 4, elements 70 and 40; par. 0071) including two or more electrode pads (Fig. 1; elements 40), configured to contact with a skin of the user and provide electrical stimulation (Fig. 1; par. 0071); and
a control module configured to control operations of the electrocardiogram measurement module and the electrical stimulation module (Fig. 4; element 36),
wherein the control module is configured to control the electrical stimulation module to output the electrical stimulation between signal acquisition timings of the acquisition cycle (Fig. 2C; electrical stimulation 44 provided between R-waves) based on an electrocardiogram measurement result for the user from the electrocardiogram measurement module (Fig. 2C, par. 0077; “timed to start at the end of the T-phase of the ECG”).
In regards to claim 2, the electrical stimulation includes transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) (Fig. 2A, par. 0100).
In regards to claim 9 (as best understood) in the electrocardiogram monitoring device, a straight line connecting the two or more electrodes for measuring the electrocardiogram and a straight line connecting the two or more electrode pads providing the electrical stimulation appear to expressly be arranged perpendicular to each other (see annotated Fig. 2A below), and the electrodes and pads are capable of being placed as the clinician desires, including in such a configuration.
In regards to claim 10, the device further comprises a communication module configured to transmit and receive data with a user terminal or external system through a network (Fig. 2A, element 104, par. 0118, “reference numeral 104 signifies an internet connection”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lapanashvili in view of Hisamoto et al. (US 2022/0339449, hereinafter “Hisamoto”). Lapanashvili discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, but does not expressly disclose that the electrical stimulation module is configured to provide the electrical stimulation with a pulse width of 150 to 400 µs and a frequency of 15 to 25 Hz to the user.
However, Hisamoto in the same field of endeavor of neural stimulation teaches providing an electrical stimulation module that is configured to provide the electrical stimulation with a pulse width of 150 to 400 µs and a frequency of 15 to 25 Hz to the user (par. 0117; the operator can set the parameters via menu including the claimed ranges) to provide the predictable results of an effective stimulation signal suitable for the particular patient being treated (par. 0117). Further, Hisamoto recognizes that these are “results effective variables” and it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lapanashvili by providing an electrical stimulation module that is configured to provide the electrical stimulation with a pulse width of 150 to 400 µs and a frequency of 15 to 25 Hz to the user to provide the predictable results of an effective stimulation signal suitable for the particular patient being treated.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lapanashvili in view of Brockway et al. (US 2022/0054090, hereinafter “Brockway”). Lapanashvili discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein the electrocardiogram measurement module is configured to filter noise of an electrocardiogram signal by an adaptive noise canceller that uses an output signal of the electrical stimulation as a reference signal.
However, Brockway in the same field of endeavor of ECG signal denoising teaches providing an electrocardiogram measurement module that is configured to filter noise of an electrocardiogram signal by an adaptive noise canceller that uses an output signal of the electrical stimulation as a reference signal (Figs. 6 and 7A; see the bypass path triggered by a blanking pulse from the modulation system 410) to provide the predictable results of more accurately removing stimulation noise from an ECG signal in real time (par. 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lapanashvili by providing an electrocardiogram measurement module that is configured to filter noise of an electrocardiogram signal by an adaptive noise canceller that uses an output signal of the electrical stimulation as a reference signal to provide the predictable results of more accurately removing stimulation noise from an ECG signal in real time.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lapanashvili in view of Ziv (US 2019/0001131, hereinafter “Ziv”).
In regards to claim 5, Lapanashvili discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, including wherein the control module is configured to control the electrical stimulation module to output the electrical stimulation between the signal acquisition timings of the acquisition cycle based on the electrocardiogram measurement result for the user during the monitoring of the electrocardiogram measurement module (Fig. 2C and see above in regards to claim 1), but does not expressly disclose wherein the electrocardiogram measurement module includes a monitoring mode and a rest mode, wherein in the monitoring mode, the electrocardiogram measurement module acquires an electrocardiogram signal of the user at a measurement cycle timing of a predetermined pattern and measures electrocardiogram, and in the rest mode, the electrocardiogram measurement module stops measuring the electrocardiogram.
However, Ziv in the same field of endeavor of monitoring in combination with neurostimulation teaches providing an electrocardiogram measurement module (Fig. 3, elements 310 and 334) that includes a monitoring mode and a rest mode, wherein in the monitoring mode, the electrocardiogram measurement module acquires an electrocardiogram signal of the user at a measurement cycle timing of a predetermined pattern and measures electrocardiogram, and in the rest mode, the electrocardiogram measurement module stops measuring the electrocardiogram (par. 0104; “method 200 may involve switching/alternating between the stimulation mode and the monitoring mode. Following a (preset) period of stimulation, the module may automatically switch back to the monitoring mode to obtain updated values of the monitored heart parameters. The stimulation parameters are accordingly adjusted (i.e. taking into account the updated values). The module may then switch back to the stimulation mode and resume applying stimulation, and so on.”) to provide the predictable results of minimizing the required contacts to be placed on the patient (par. 0114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lapanashvili by providing an electrocardiogram measurement module that includes a monitoring mode and a rest mode, wherein in the monitoring mode, the electrocardiogram measurement module acquires an electrocardiogram signal of the user at a measurement cycle timing of a predetermined pattern and measures electrocardiogram, and in the rest mode, the electrocardiogram measurement module stops measuring the electrocardiogram to provide the predictable results of minimizing the required contacts to be placed on the patient.
In regards to claim 7, Lapanashvili discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except wherein during the monitoring mode, when the electrocardiogram measurement result for the user from the electrocardiogram measurement module returns to a predetermined normal range, the control module controls the electrical stimulation module to stop providing the electrical stimulation to the user.
However, Ziv in the same field of endeavor of monitoring in combination with neurostimulation teaches wherein during the monitoring mode, when the electrocardiogram measurement result for the user from the electrocardiogram measurement module returns to a normal range, controlling the electrical stimulation module to stop providing the electrical stimulation to the user (par. 0101), and it is further well known in the art to provide automatic control based on measurement thresholds to provide the predictable results of providing stimulation only when needed (par. 0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lapanashvili by, during the monitoring mode, when the electrocardiogram measurement result for the user from the electrocardiogram measurement module returns to a predetermined normal range, the control module controls the electrical stimulation module to stop providing the electrical stimulation to the user to provide the predictable results of providing stimulation only when needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Whiting et al. (US 2013/0325078) is another example of denoising of monitoring a patient during stimulation.
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792